Voice-only Rolling Update, 2 a.m. – 5 a.m. Pacific Wednesday

We’re conducting some scheduled maintenance on the voice servers tomorrow, 2008-05-21, from 2:00 AM to 5:00 AM Pacific time. This maintenance consists of a web API update and a media server update. These changes will be pushed in the form of a rolling update, which means that each region will experience a voice-only downtime for a few minutes as the individual media server supporting a particular region is restarted.

This update also includes:

  • Capacity improvements for large positional (spatial) channels
  • A fix for an issue that causes problems when joining channels with single quotes in the channel name

[EDIT]

I think you’re right; this should’ve gone on the status page from the get-go.

My thought was to keep the status page for things happening Right Now, and to put the advance warning here. But checking back through some earlier posts on http://status.secondlifegrid.net/
I see it’s being used for some early advisories, not just issues in progress.

Sorry for the confusion. I’ll copy it over there.

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Resident Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Voice-only Rolling Update, 2 a.m. – 5 a.m. Pacific Wednesday

  1. richard says:

    does anyone use voice?

  2. Jayden B says:

    Shouldn’t this be on the status blog page and not the news blog page?

    Hmmm, or has Katt resigned and the blogs been remerged?

  3. Tegg B says:

    They’re going to start hiding maintenance here now where people logging in won’t know about it.

  4. Argent Stonecutter says:

    richard@1: “Your mike’s on! Use push to talk!”

  5. U M says:

    it should be………….But it seems they are changing the style from time to time.

  6. Trinity says:

    Yes, Richard.

  7. Ghost Menjou says:

    Now I have nothing against the lindens ,but that Edit made me giggle.
    But yeah I understand teepel’s point.

  8. FireFox Bancroft says:

    Does anyone use voice? Yes in fact me and my friends on SL do use voice, of course I’ve never had to beg or plead them to use it, they use it more than I do. Voice has it’s uses for hands free communication when your building for example.

  9. shiro says:

    omg! wtf this is again forget it

  10. oblysenie says:

    I think only few people uses voice

  11. shiro says:

    you are fuggin kidding me?!

  12. Jessica Hultcrantz says:

    LLUseVoice()=false;

    if (LLFind Mic()=true){ LLPutMicInWastebin();}

  13. Georgette Whitfield says:

    The blog link at the top of the screen, on the menu bar, links to the land page. Lindens please fix your links, thanks.

  14. Pepper Haas says:

    So, any idea when NORMAL chat communications, namely group IM, will finally get fixed? It’s been a full year of daily complaints from residents now, about how totally broken and screwed up group IM is, and it’s STILL not working right.
    People who wanted to use voice in sl could use Skype or other voice software. SL made a great, big mistake introducing voice and the *awful* gui changes it made necessary, and breaking regular chat (group IM) to do it. Take it OUT. Give us back NORMAL chat and working group IM and a gui that doesn’t make us miss a ton IM.

  15. @14 you are mixing the problems.

    Skype doesn’t allow you to talk to other people in a public spot. And I have people visiting everyday using voice. So that “old” debate with it arguments that voice killed SL, socially and function wise – That doesn’t hold up anymore.

    Voice is here to stay and people are using it, its as simple as that. And you always have a choice of not using it.

    Another thing is that voice is STILL a separate application that is run OUTSIDE you ordinary SL viewer. Voice doesn’t affect the IM’s. group notices etc. That is connected to the problems on the database side of things.

    There isn’t any magic problems in SL, like voice affecting your Xcite attachements or voice affecting your ability to pickup a suitable partner for an evning or two.

    What you are doing is talking about seperate things and then try to connect them into one coherent explination. That is not possible as voice is not the root to all evil things in SL.

  16. digest says:

    voice is a mess on live-events.
    voice user arent respectful against other residents.

    and voice is always looking, who and in what range another voice-user is. so it is a problem for the viewer, for the traffic as well and for the database-search too.

  17. Zi Ree says:

    I stated elsewhere that traffic for voice is neglectably low. Transferring the textures for a normal scene consumes a lot more viewer traffic than voice does. Voice chat is compressed audio, think “mp3” but even more compressed. And nobody really has problems with a parcel music stream playing alongside the normal SL experience. Voice does not use as much bandwidth as the average radio sream does.

    Normal text chat has to constantly look who is where on the sim, too. So this doesn’t really change anything.

    I have no idea how Voice chat should put significant stress on the database. Please clarify.

  18. Verdana Klaar says:

    I do not want my voice to be compressed. I want to speak freely.

  19. Danball Tureaud says:

    #18 — Verdana

    Me thinks you don’t get it. You still speak freely, but the audio is compressed to save on bandwidth.

  20. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Stoltz@15: Voice has severely damaged SL, socially. Here’s how things go in an area where voice isn’t in use… you have up to a dozen people chatting, in text, all keeping track of everything though this magical 20th century technology called “chat history”. Nobody’s left out, nobody’s dominating the conversation. With voice… you have one or two people talking, everyone else listening, maybe making comments back in text because their mikes aren’t working, but the few people with good mikes and good “public speaking” voices dominate and most of the people who used to hang around have gone somewhere else.

    Talking, out loud, simply doesn’t work well many-to-many, to the point where people have had to develop elaborate rules of order to make it work with more than a few people actively engaged. At normal social gatherings in real life you get the same dynamics as you get in voice in SL: a few people dominating the discussions, most people hanging back and listening. WIth text you get a whole new dynamic, where many more people can easily take part and get their word in edgewise, and you don’t start worrying about “rules of order” until there’s many many more people involved.

    Text makes SL work *better* for groups than real life. Voice takes us back to the dark ages of the 20th century.

  21. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Zi@17: turning on voice has a definite, noticeable effect on my available bandwidth. Some days I already have to set SL’s bandwidth down around 100k to avoid packetloss. WIth voice on I have to crank it all the way back to 50k… the minimum I can set it.

    And, yes, it does take five or ten minutes to load an area as it is, thank you for asking.

  22. Sorry that this is off topic, however I can’t find anoher platform to express something about Land.

    I would like to compliment LL on their rental construction.
    I don’t know if it’s new, but I’ve never seen any open communication about it, so I suppose it’s a recent development.
    The construction does not intefere with private owners of land ๐Ÿ™‚

    My major worries are however the following:
    LL has been dumping a lot of mainland again and set a significant lower purchase prices of an Island and bid price on mainland regions , all that probably in their effort to move prices down.

    What I don’t understand is:

    1. Why this crash scenario.
    2. Why a lower purchase price of Islands and not setting the tier equal to mainland

    I don’t believe in a negative thought LL pushing private land buisness out.

    So, I would like to see this clarified by LL.

  23. AWM Mars says:

    Good to see a fix for voice, it is a very useful tool for some of us.

    The media fix, hopefully stops all the swapping between the various options, when you preset one type and it swaps almost randomly to another for no apparent reason. If it is, a very welcome fix.

  24. Solar Legion says:

    No one is left out of text only conversations Argent? Might want to amend that. Unless I set my monitor up a specific way when I start Windows I have a grand difficulty reading the on screen text well enough to follow even one conversation.

    There are others with extreme eyesight issues in SL as well.

    Our preferred method of communication WITHIN SL? Voice. Nothing whatsoever to squint at.

  25. Merwe Soderstrom says:

    Voice feature is one of my favorites in SL. If you are annoyed by voice spammers you can mute them …or do not enable voice.It’s just that easy. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And believe me there are lots of people using voice in SL! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. coventina dalgleish says:

    Well since the asset servers have been crippled, at least it appears as such, the game functions at a very low level. It takes 8 seconds for the servers to recognize a request for a second inventory window. Teleports are a joke half the time they do not work then after 3 or 4 attempts the game loses the avatar and boots you. Generally voice has been cleaned up to the point that it does not cause a freeze lock. But as with all the rest of the game things get fixed after months and months of waiting.

    Oh I saw the comment thanks for the fix well I would wait and see what kind of and how good it is in reality

    You obviously have no clue to what you are doing and while the big birthday bash is coming soon whoo hoo fix the damn game then celebrate.

  27. sunshine says:

    this is an unrelated cry for help. I have tied to set up 2 accounts to 2 different email addresses. The accounts exist but I never recieved my initial set up email, and as such was not able to set up a password. When I try to go through the “forgot your password” process I get an email with a link but when I follow the link I am unable to correctly answer the questions. They are as follows. 1. Enter the last amount Linden Lab charged to your PayPal or credit card account. or 2. Enter the region name of your Second Life home location.
    As I don’t know the answer to these I am unable to reset the password.
    I don’t live in the US so can’t phone for support and have been unable to find an email address or any online support. Any help would be appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Marx Dudek says:

    I have not used voice in SL and I am in no great hurry to do so.

    As for Linda’s comment @22, I agree … will there be any move to bring the tier down on islands to that of a full mainland sim? With the massive dump of new mainland and lowered (purchase) cost on islands, those who are getting hurt are those who are seeing their land devalued to the point that any sale is guaranteed to be a loss, and those who rent/sell island space to cover tier costs fighting to keep tenants because the tier fees they need to charge to break even on tier can often be cost-prohibitive to tenants/potential tenants.

  29. Toy LaFollette says:

    Voice? Oh that’s still used? Who da thunk?

  30. Ann Otoole says:

    Still arguing about voice? I mean it is here and isn’t going anywhere. There are people tht use it. Why argue? LL never listened before. They quite obviously had their reasons for implementing voice. No need to argue about it anymore IMHO.

  31. Ron Crimson says:

    Argent @ 21: you’re doing yourself a great disservice by turning the bandwidth down so low. Remember, that’s KBits you’re setting there, not KBytes. What you *should* be doing is turn it at least halfway UP… say, to 800-1000. Humor me and just do that for a day or two, with and without using voice… and you’ll see that stuff will rez MUCH faster in your viewer. Right now you’re unnecessarily choking yourself, and that’s not voice’s fault. (I support everything Zi Ree is saying, and with good reason.)

  32. Ron Crimson says:

    And sunshine @ 27: although I shouldn’t be wasting a comment on tech support *grin* let me just say this… You choose your own password during account setup so how is it possible that you don’t know it? I don’t remember having to wait for some email back when I registered on SL (granted, that was in 2006)… Try http://secondlife.com/support

  33. Sedary Raymaker says:

    @32: Maybe it was different in 2006, but these days when you create an account, you get an email with a link in it that you must follow in order to activate the account, presumably to verify that you provided a real email address. You simply won’t be able to access the account until then, password or no password.

  34. sunshine says:

    I don’t know. I wasn’t given the option to set up a password. But thank you for your reply. Usually for online subscriptions you get sent an email with a link to activate your account. With the first account I didn’t even know it had been created as it kept telling me my attempt to set up the account was unsuccessful, but when I tried to set up later with the same email address it told me that my email address was already in use, so I went to the window for people who have forgotten there username and they emailed it to my email address… it was the one I had tried to set up unsuccessfully! Then I just set up a new account with an old email address, It told me I was successful and they had sent me an email. Unfortunately the email address was with hotmail and because I hadn’t used it in a while it was temporarilly inactive and there was no email from second life.
    Anyway, thank you for your reply, I will try the link you provided.

  35. sunshine says:

    aghhh, I just tried the link, I have been to that page several times already, it is useless. The only useful info is the ph # and I’m not going use that due to cost of calling international. I am hoping that linden staff monitor this blog and can contact me by email.

  36. Youri Ashton says:

    ugh, can there be an inworld warning next time please???? I just got kicked out without a warning at all!!! crashlogger seems to having problems aswell with finding server 1 or something so what is next? trow out us all without warning? :*( rather have a warning so i can tp away from where i am =\

  37. Pingback: Is Teeple losing it? - SLUniverse Forums

  38. Aisling says:

    Not sure where to put this but on the main webpage I clicked on blog and it took me straight to Land. But when I scrolled to the very bottom of the page where it lists all the different parts of the webiste that I can access and clicked on blog, it took me to the right place.

    Just a FYI out there incase other people are having that same issue.

  39. harvz says:

    Voice is as much a social problem for SL as a technical one. voicechatters stand about doing nothing. I tried voice breifly when it was first available. the very first sound i heard was some random individual making orgasmic sounds while cyberbating. no idea what direction it was from. dint realy care. kinda gross actually. so i shut voice off. many weeks later i realised that voicers were using it to speak behind out backs, so i leave it on, but refuse to speak, tho i occasionally play my guitar thru the client. sometimes cranked up to drown out the nattering about nothing that many voicers do.

    I do notice the drain voice puts on resources. i dont care if its server or client side, lag is lagg.

    how about this. wouldnt it be nice to walk and rezz, and build and fly. and cross borders smoothly always, all the time

    now there are snobby, elitist voicezombies that rarely interact with us text people. Oh they speak and speak, but dont actually have anything to say. and when they do deign to communicate with us, they are tres condescending.

    i know voice aint goin nowhere anytime soon. but the silent majority will be the ones to continue building and creating content.

  40. Zi Ree says:

    @21 Argent Stonecutter: I know you have a lot of experience with networks and computer systems, so this is probably obvious for you. But if voice really noticeably affects your bandwidth you need to have a word with your provider (if it’s supposed to be broadband or similar). I will do a network bandwidth test on voice when I get the chance so we finally have some numbers to talk about.

    I see the slow-rezzing problem myself here and there, btw. What helps is to open the preferences window and going to network. Then move the slider a little to one side and back into its previous position. This resets the bandwidth throttle in the viewer and things spring back to life.

    Hope this helps.

  41. Stefano Ludwig says:

    Well this is Second Life. Do you have a second voice? No? So please…shut up.
    Voice brings inworld RL behavior. It’s logic. Voice means webcams and people looking for RL dates. Voice makes SL not a virtual world but just the usual (adult) chat. Voice = mix, a chaotic mix of S and RL.
    And – once again – please stop your “you can disable voice” thing: voice-chatters ignore typers – a typer is an unidentified object…if a woman, surely a guy; if a guy, surely an underage.
    Ok ok my good old SL is dead and buried. Enjoy this mix of websites and talking penguins, fantasies and “Where are you from?”.
    It takes brain to animate a true second life, to let your personalities flow and interact with others and with yourselves. It takes a microphone to animate a poor first life and keep it safe.

  42. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Solar@24: I’m not saying that everyone can use text (though enough people I meet seem to think everyone can use voice… and get occasionally belligerent when I demur). What I’m talking about is how *in a group of people using text* everyone takes part, while *in a group of people using voice* a lot of people end up just listening, and one or two people almost always dominate the discussion. The group dynamic is much more hierarchical.

    Ron@31: if I turn bandwidth up over 200 I get 40% packet loss and 7000ms (seven thousand milliseconds, that’s 7 seconds between the time I hit a control and my avatar responds) sim lag.

    Zi@40: I don’t have the option of switching providers right now. My problem isn’t slow rezzing: that’s a symptom. My problem is congestion, which leads to packetloss and high sim ping times (7000ms), slow rezzing is just one of many symptoms.

    But any kind of streaming media, including voice, just makes things worse.

    And anyone else wanting to give me helpful advice because obviously if I just did things the right way I’d LOVE voice: I got on what was not yet the Internet when Carter was president, and I’ve been a network programmer and administrator since Reagan was in the White House. Don’t try and teach your grampaw to digitize eggs.

  43. Zi Ree says:

    Curious as a kitty should be, I measured the network bandwidth used by voice (and only voice). Here are my findings. If you want to try it yourself, just post your numbers here, so we can compare:

    – Changing Sim: spikes of up to 18 kBytes/s for about 3 or 4 seconds
    – Voice enabled, nobody speaking but several in the list: < 500 bytes/s
    – Voice enabled, people speaking: 7 kBytes/s up to spikes of 14 kBytes/s, depending on the voice that’s speaking and how they are speaking

    As a comparison: A normal 1 MBit/s DSL line offers around 90 kBytes/s peak, so there shouldn’t be too much problems with voice.

    Inbetween the traffic drops to nearly zero whenever there is a pause in conversation.

    So I think, that’s not too much load. Even on a 512 kbit/s line you have plenty of bandwidth left (around 40 kBytes/s) while people are talking. But with 512 kbit/s Second Life is only barely usable anyway.

  44. Zep Cortes says:

    We are inviting the professionnal to join us in Paris at ‘La Cantine’ on the 9,20 and 27 of june to working session.
    You just have to mail us at metagangz@elegangz.com

    More info : http://www.metagangz.com

  45. Georgette Whitfield says:

    Sunshine, you need to click on the SUBMIT TICKET link on the support page: https://support.secondlife.com/ics/support/security.asp?task=ticket

    Choose Basic Account Special Questions> Account Problems> Password or whatever describes your situation best.

    Then wait for the Lindens to reply. They shouldn’t take too long. *coughs*

  46. ZenWarrior Fuosing says:

    Not to worry about disruptions, LL. No matter how much you try to push voice on us, we don’t use it and we will not notice any disruption to a service no one I know even considers using–long after its introduction. (And when I do need voice, I go outworld to use something which was designed for serious voice communications and not as a SL gimmick.) However, about those asset servers, grid stability, and login issues….

    Yea, the point is to focus on what your customers want, not what you want. LL clearly wants voice; the vast majority of its customers clearly don’t care about it. Forget voice; we want grid stability! So, thanks for reporting a disruption in something I’d never even notice if it went down for a full month–and have not ever used a year after its rollout and being (repeatedly?) touted by LL as the next best thing since sliced bread. ๐Ÿ™‚

  47. Sera says:

    Something broke the blog/support/land links on the main SL page. Just FYI.

    Keep up the nice work, had a nice weekend in SL with no major probs. Thanks for that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  48. coventina dalgleish says:

    You need to do more than this the game is again working as expected.

    No functionality to it asset failures teleports borked rezzing borked scripts do not load and when I log in I am a midget

    nice work LL

  49. Max Kleiber says:

    The simple set of questions that run continuously through my mind with regard to voice are:
    Why so much emphasis on maintaining voice?
    Why so little action on repairing text chat?
    Is the degradation of text chat deliberate, or merely sloppy programming?
    Is the the degradation of text chat an attempt to make people resign themselves to resorting to voice in order to communicate?

  50. DISGUSTED IN LINDEN LABSโ„ขยฎ *!@$!! says:

    simple case of to many damn blogs and places to find out what is going on……….. post it on one page not 2 or 3 we don’t want to have to search around a million places for information. Another case of pi$$ poor planning

  51. U M says:

    More BS about Voice and bandwith. You know either you don`t have a slight idea about how it effects or your ,never mind. Yes Voice takes extra bandwilth because i myself have a fiber optical connections and i see a drop in BW with i use voice. How in the world can you say it doesnt? Misinformation is worse type of remarks.

    U sagi M usashi

  52. Martin Magpie says:

    I use voice when my fingers get tired of typo’s.

  53. Martin Magpie says:

    UM; I thought it didn’t do any good to complain? Stop it. LL is wonderful, they can do no wrong, they are perfect. Voice is perfect. Matter of fact now that I bought the recommended US$100 plantronics head set I think I might just run out and buy that new fangled mouse….oh wait can’t I use a graphics tablet; it is so much nicer ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cat

  54. Ron Crimson says:

    “Ron@31: if I turn bandwidth up over 200 I get 40% packet loss and 7000ms (seven thousand milliseconds, thatโ€™s 7 seconds between the time I hit a control and my avatar responds) sim lag.”

    Argent, that means you have a serious problem with your connection itself. This has nothing to do with Second Life… it’s high time you complain to your ISP if you get that much packet loss and latency o_O sounds to me like your cable modem may be failing (I’ve seen this happen personally 3 times, 2 of those to myself – in each case replacing the modem restored full bandwidth and low ping times).

  55. U M says:

    If you read my remarks it was based on VOICE 43 Zi Ree reply……

    happy now?

  56. BADB0Y Dagger says:

    Dear LLsโ€ฆ
    There has been probs with the voice chate lately bc me and my friend r on mic in IM some times it will mess up and it will stop worken to where 1 of cant hear eatch other and we would have to end up relogn it been happen alot lately like 3 times aday and if will also ack up in other diff ways where mic will shut off for one of us and we would have to ither restart voice from the prefences or relog if that didnt work. pls look into in u been doing a joob job fixn the stuff latly
    ๐Ÿ˜€

  57. Dorus Knibber says:

    As tickets at supprt now take about 2 to 3 weeks to get handled.
    As there are no comments possible at the status page.
    As all previous entries are filled to150.

    I experience currently mayor Teleport issues. Meaning a lot odf destinations just don’t work and or when in, you cannot get out anymore.
    PLease fellow residents, as usual Linden only reacts if a lot of people are having trouble, place a comment if you are having the same problems. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  58. thabiggdogg says:

    When will there be a new Dazzle???

  59. coventina dalgleish says:

    When will you make the game work at least a minimal level this game is functioning at a level of the late version 6. Rezzing is a non entity asit is so slow why bother. The asset servers function as if in terminal suspense. I suppose you are now relying on new players who have no concept of how it is supposed to work. One might suspect with the new Conan blockbuster bring released many will just drift over there now.

  60. Suzy One says:

    @41
    You seem to have a very, very poor RL yourself, considering how bitter your remarks are concerning people using Voice.
    Why this hate ?
    I use voice with my friend only, in private talk, and never spoil anyone’s SL experience. Voicers can be respectful of others, you know. Do you ?
    On the contrary, typers spoil my Sl with “WOOOOOT”s, and macros that flood my screen with dozens of lines.
    So, please, stop dropping silly appreciations about Voicers and their RL. I think you should stop for a while, really… Sit back, take a deep breath, disable voice,… and shut up.
    SL is respect. If you know people who don’t respect you in SL, change friends. But DO respect us voicers.
    Thanks in advance.

Comments are closed.