More Video Tutorials on the way; no Tip of the Week today!

Friendly greetings! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll start with a thank-you, and this is important because of you: Second Life Video Tutorials have been viewed a total of 2 million times on YouTube. To respond to your rising requests and flood of feedback, I made 77 in the first quarter of 2008 โ€” not counting the few-dozen that are in varying states of completion โ€” and more will come, I promise.

My goals (who I am and what I do) continue to focus on making Second Life learning fun, fast, & friendly, and of chief importance in Q208 is getting the word out to Residents new, old, and yet-to-be who could benefit from the vidtuts but aren’t finding them (yet).

You should know that:

The Tip of the Week is moving from ~Thursday to Sundays! Why? It’s because: (1) I’m timecrushed during the week, (2) I observe some potentially worthwhile trends in video viewership metrics, and (3) I want to add variety to weekends on this blog amidst service updates. This is an experimental change and it starts next week on May 6, so I apologize there’s no TotW this week.

Our video tutorials were featured in TechSmith’s Camtasia newsletter โ€” yes, I really like Camtasia and this means that Linden Lab will be alongside Google, Dell, and other important companies in embracing the power of screencast teaching. A more elaborate “How Torley makes video tutorials” guide is also available if you’re curious.

I had the serious pleasure of lecturing about machinima & video tutorials at virtual Campus Hamburg alongside Xon Emoto (Hanno Tietgens), Susi Spicoli, and Fabrice Crosby:

Awwww yeah prims + watermelons!Campus Hamburg machinima presentationCampus Hamburg machinima presentation

shame on me for not speaking more about it beforehand… but you can take this as a sign that I’ll be continuing to share the joys of Second Life and doing future speaking engagements inworld (and perhaps First Life?).

You can meet me in Second Life in a little over an hour โ€” 12 PM Pacific @ Grasmere (CLICK ME FOR LOCATION!). Come and discuss using video tutorials to teach skills… and other ways to share the wonders of our Second Life.

Coming up NEXT week: the first part of the epic LAND series!

Torley Linden https://i2.wp.com/torley-linden.s3.amazonaws.com/little-watermelon-eye.png
     Add me on:
https://i0.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-clipmarks.png https://i1.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-facebook.png https://i1.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-flickr.png https://i2.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-koinup.png https://i0.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-myspace.png https://i0.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-twitter.png https://i2.wp.com/torley.com/files/favicon-youtube.png

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas, Resident Experience, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to More Video Tutorials on the way; no Tip of the Week today!

  1. Blinders Off says:

    /me wishes all LL to be as friendly and efficient as Torley. But really doesn’t want to see SL turn into a watermelon. ;D

  2. Blinders Off says:

    Although watermelon IS pretty good stuff…

  3. Nyoko Salome says:

    hehe hey you know the chinese apparently really like watermelon?? i had just sampled some watermelon-flavored coke recently at epcot (it’s called something else there though; can’t remember what – it’s not just ‘watermelon coke’ or something in chinese;) they rebranded it…) it was very good!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Torley, you should create a short video of clips showing grid problems and a crowd with torches and pitchforks that could be put with all grid problem announcements. Kind of a “the grid is down, cut to angry mob video”.

    But seriously, you have a great communications style, maybe you can do a vidtut in laymans terms on why we have some of the problems that we see all to often.

  5. Someone who knows says:

    Transactions are down again…

  6. YAY! Torley heard my silent prayer to SLOW DOWN! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

    Awesome as always Torley!
    Oh – and I love Vegas and I promise not to dock you for not using Final Cut Studio ๐Ÿ˜› LOL!

    The weekend releases is a great idea!

  7. June Oh says:

    Got a SpaceNavigator after seing yours, I’m now trying it out, first impression it is very good.
    Can you give instruction about the use of the right button please and things to set it for.
    Love, June

  8. hugsalot says:

    Wow flash backs to “The Twilight Zone” with Rod Serling!

  9. Rose says:

    My favorite Mexican (not Tex-Mex) resturant serves WATERMELON SALSA!!!!!!

  10. Pingback: Second Life Video Tutorials: Dead as we know it! « Common.Sensible

  11. We miss you! Enjoy your vacation!

  12. @ someone who knows (nothing): The blog is not for reporting problems. Search a Linden in world, file a bug report … something other than cluttering up the blog like that.

    Additionally: Transactions are down? really? Everything has been working fine for me recently. You must be posting the same thing in each and every entry you can, even if it is true or not hmm?

    To the Lindens that may read this: sorry – I’m getting really tired of some of this. This is the only place I’d actually understand if a mandatory user log in was instated – if only to prevent such anonymous posts.

  13. Maruko Sakigake says:

    uhm…i think Torley is Japanese^^

  14. Kyder Ling says:

    Haha, nice monologue. ^^

  15. Laser Pascal says:

    #4 Sougent Harrop said:
    “But seriously, you have a great communications style, maybe you can do a vidtut in laymans terms on why we have some of the problems that we see all to often.”

    I concur – Torley, you could do a video, or video series, on common problems that people have. With the viewership of the videos as it is, and the number of people who have problems and are looking for solutions, I’m sure lots of people would see it.

    Topics like:
    – Updating drivers (with handy dandy links! and tips on how to see if your drivers are out of date)
    – The difference between client side and server side crashes
    – Explaining what an RC is, and why not everyone should feel they have to use it, especially if it just breaks and makes them upset
    – Even a basic introduction on how the SL system works, would be great

    I know you have plans, but things like this need to be done sooner rather than later. There are enough comments on the blog that show that people either don’t understand what’s going on, or don’t read other people’s responses. Another reason why you’re a good candidate for the task, perhaps? People like to listen to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. TORLEY ROCKS! says:

    You really are the driving force behind most of my creativity in SL! Thanks so much for all yoiu do!
    TORLEY RULES!!!!

  17. pantaiputih korobase says:

    did you celebrate with ‘M’ torley?
    did I said that or my alter ego? MMMM, emmmm, emmmmmm, your residents might feel better if you had a Linden surname, ahahahahahahaaha.
    something like marc atttrackts me more than just an ‘m’, ok ‘m’ is quicker to type, rofl.
    get a Linden surname, ‘m’ and bring live back to SL or kill it, it’s your turn, you are the CEO.
    good luck!

  18. Ezi Leigh says:

    Your work is my final hope for ever understanding how all this works, Torley. I would be lost without you. I wish all of SL was as helpful as you. Thanks so much for all you have done for us.
    SMOOCH!

  19. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Torley; these vidtuts have gems in them that are overlooked by most, and your enlightening the resis is a great thing. Keep up the great work, and may the Linden Gods shower you in fragrant (phantom) watermelons….

    @ Universal Infinity

    It’s our RIGHT to remain anonymous (Even if some of it is said out of spite ot malice; it IS our right to post; if it bothers you so, I might suggest you skip over “Non resident” names to ease your stress).

    Anonymous patiently awaits the server rollout….

  20. Ledo Dreadlow says:

    Hey Torley, good stuff. I started watching the vidtut’s a month ago…I know, I know…I’ve been here longer than that, but I assumed the vidtut’s would be boring and would just teach me things I already know.Sorry Torley…

    HOWEVER!, I watched one vidtut on disabling renderings of objects in-world for picture taking and building. OMG! It was great…I’ve since went to the Wiki with all the vidtut’s and started with number one…I’m as addicted to your vidtut’s as I am to Second Life…

    Thank Torley, and it’s okay to take a break…you deserve it! Keep up the good work. I’m looking forward to the next vidtut…I’ll never doubt you again (Bad Ledo)… cya in-world!

  21. Now maybe we can work on accuracy.

  22. Smells like Sagan, I think.
    /me wonders why

  23. Daniella Greene says:

    I want to really thank you Torley for these video tutorials that you keep putting out.

    I have found them to be very helpful and have made SL experience better as I know what I’m doing most of the time now ๐Ÿ˜€

  24. Wyald Woolley says:

    I imagine you are moving your tips of the week to the weekends because more people come and read them at that time. Had you thought that perhaps that’s because most people have extra time on the weekends and usually go into Sl at that time… and since the random bunch of idiots that have no regards for the “residents” have been restarting the sims on the days leading into and in the weekend days lately, the “residents” have been using that time reading the blogs and looking at the tips instead of inhabiting SLยฎ.

  25. Grant Lefavre says:

    There are a few reasons why I come to this blog. 1 is to see why I can’t log in. 2 is to see if it’s safe to spend $L and 3 is to see if Torley has put up any new vids. Thanks Torley. As for the rest of the Lindens, can we get it down to “One” reason to watch this blog?

  26. Winter Ventura says:

    What software do you use to make these?

  27. Xon Emoto says:

    Torley, it was absolutely positively awesome ;-)) to have you on Campus and at HAW University in the real life Gamecity of Hamburg. Looking forward to our next lecture with Ollie Kubrick of Eduverse and DrDoug Pennell of Ohio State and OSU Medicine on May 6th in SL … hope to cu there !

  28. iliveisl says:

    yay for Torley! i can’t say enough good or convey my praises with enough grace. Torley is SL embodied. and that makes me all smiles ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Winter: i think Torley uses Fraps to film with. i read it somewhere and it is very reasonable in price and does not slow down your frame rate very much. i then use just moviemaker (budget minded!)

    http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/User:Torley_Linden/Vidtut_process

  29. Razrcut Brooks says:

    …excessive compliments….

  30. KellyM Watkins says:

    Great vid as always Torley. Put Secondlife right where and what it is. ๐Ÿ˜€ Keep up the good work…did you get my gift in world?

Comments are closed.