Knowledge Base Article of the Week #23: Lumberjack Not Included

Hey everyone, it’s been awhile since the last Knowledge Base Article of the Week, but we haven’t forgotten about you!

Speaking of forgetting, have you ever wanted to search through your old conversations in Second Life, or wished you could see the tail end your your last IM session with someone? If so, you’ll love this week’s articles!

This week, KBAotW answers two burning questions about logging:

I personally find chat logging to be an invaluable tool, both as a personal memory boost, and for the archival of Documentation Office Hours logs on the Second Life Wiki.

If you’d like to share some of your personal tips and tricks, or if you’d just like to chat about the state of Second Life’s documentation, please join me and Jon today at 2pm in our pier-shaped office in Beaumont.

See you there!

Jeremy Linden

This entry was posted in Community, Customer Service, Resident Experience, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Knowledge Base Article of the Week #23: Lumberjack Not Included

  1. Maruko Sakigake says:

    it seems interesting^^ thank you! i will come to know more about some helpfull trick that can help me in my SL experience^^

  2. Sedary Raymaker says:

    …Oh, I get it. Logs…lumberjacks…heh. God, I’m slow today.

  3. Cinco Pizzicato says:

    Torley beat you to this one….

    🙂

  4. James Bond says:

    There’s something a little creepy about having your conversations recorded. I can see how it’s useful in a business scenario. But in a friendly social situation it makes me uncomfortable to know that people can go back to see just how much crap I came out with.

    If I had a friend in RL that started carrying a microphone in their hand 24/7 then I’d probably no longer enjoy their company.

    This chat logging is basically LL giving business owners a cheap email system. I think it would be much better to have an option that allows business owners to have their IMs sent to their email address address.

    Recording conversations was once frowned upon in SL. What’s changed?.

  5. Verena Snoke says:

    Its a very usefull option.. no more having a person talk to you and forgetting who they are..
    after an argument its good to be able to watch back where it went wrong and talk it out
    and business yes.. no more pople coming back on a businessdeal

    just wonderin.. when are we going to get a blog about copyrights and dmcas?

  6. Jeremy Linden says:

    @3 Cinco

    You’re right! Torley’s video tutorials pair up very nicely with a lot of Knowledge Base articles. In fact, I’m going to add that video tutorial to the KB and link these articles to it right now.

    We recently held a massive internal meeting between all the Lindens who are responsible for teaching Residents about Second Life, so expect even more integration in the future 🙂

  7. Dekka Raymaker says:

    “We recently held a massive internal meeting between all the Lindens who are responsible for teaching Residents about Second Life”

    Well that sounds promising. Have you thought about talking to residents yet about how they expect to be taught?

  8. How about my own “Knowledge Base Article of the YEAR”

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

    fix money its not working again!!!!!!

  9. Teach them something useful says:

    They are removing blog posts which are both on topic and non inflamatory and also true.

    I believe it is the true part they don’t appreciate.

  10. snarklipsbootyclap cryotank says:

    This conversation has been logged.

  11. BK says:

    WOW it got all the way to 8 posts before someone started moaning about something completely off topic, it’s a start at least……

  12. AnacondaCarter says:

    kinda hard to get to these sessions inworld when once again i cant log in. i pay for a product on a monthly basis and if im getting shortchanged maybe you can rebate some of my payment?after all, if you rent a car for 31 days and it stays in the garage for 10 days because you cant get it started, shouldnt you get a refund for unused time?

  13. Thili Playfair says:

    How do I log chat and instant messages?

    This does not work in your 1.20 client, several of the options does not simply work at all, one i can think of right now is ; set a custom path to save it to ; , relog it wont save, theres some others but i cant remember what they where.

  14. I love this feature – use it all the time. Though – here’s a question that doesn’t seem to be covered:

    When logging IM’s or open chat – well, there’s a finite file size. What happens when the file size is reached? Is a new file created? Or are the oldest entries purged to make room for the new ones?

    I really hope it’s the former. 🙂

  15. James. Watch what you say, be respectful, and wary of who you talk to . Besides, it doesn’t matter, people can and will cut and paste and edit and “fabricate” anything….your friends and your integrity are what matter in the end, they can withstand it 🙂 Think of it as a courtroom log. In the US we are USED to our phones and emails being watched and recorded (sarcasm).

    *hugs*

  16. Rowan Shamroy says:

    Logging chat and IMs is a useful tool for business etc, and it is wise to remember, whenever you say anything in SL in text, it is possibly being logged. But in the case of IMs there should be some kind of notification pops up to tell all parties that the conversation is being logged. I don’t care about businss conversations but I hate the idea of having my personal conversations recorded.

  17. Sinuna Falta says:

    Chat logging is just a memory tool for the person useing it. There is no way to prevent tampering with the record or to prove that a log has or has not been edited.

    It’s a handy tool.

    It is not a reliable witness.

  18. Singerman Marquette says:

    whew, Thank God voice isnt logged as well..Was wondering when SL-Smell will be enabled. Might want to smell those sculpty apples!!

  19. nikki bechir says:

    I’d love to take advantage of it but since my skirts always keep disappearing and to maintain some modesty, I will have to pass till TAT ongoing bug is fixed. Can we book for 2012ish? mid morning? coffee?

    Why aren’t guys trousers disappearing as well? Oh wait! Most walk around with theri cocks jutting out anyways, they wouldn’t notice or care. (Idea for the day, can all those jutting cocks be made to wear a flashing light? They are a serious traffic hazard, especialy when a girl cannot wear her skirt! 🙂 )

  20. Blinders Off says:

    @ 4 James: I agree with you to an extent, but after all the drama and political games that go on in SL, I see a lot of value in having a permanent record of chat logs. It’s not an intrusion. It is a reminder to all the drama queens out there that everything they say, every problem they cause others, can now be recorded for historical purpose and protection of the innocent. Shame it has to be that way, but some people never grow up.

    In addition, it is really, really handy to be able to remember where the last IM left off. In the “old days” I was constantly confused by someone who would IM me the next day with, “OK that sounds good.”

    Uhh… what sounds good? I’ve spoken with 150 people since then. LOL. With the IM and chat log… I can easily check the subject of the conversation.

    BTW LL … lumberjack… logging… ugh. And I just ate.

  21. Torian says:

    I don’t see what all the fuss is about here. This feature has been available for at least a year.

    It is possible to record voice chat using 3rd party software, BUT that’s a felony in most states.

  22. Soy N says:

    Well… the last RC client just breaks the chat log… you must re-enable it every single time you log on.

    I think this latest one… Second Life 1.20.0 (84432) Apr 9 2008 03:59:09 (Second Life Release)… has gone to the worse, at least for me.

    Yesterday I crashed 3 times in a row for no apparent reason (got some HEAP errors…)

    And I’m not an average user. I’ve been *constantly* using windlight since 1st version in my 6-month NVIDIA powered Windows XP PC.

    I just wonder how these bugs pass your QA – Quality Assurance – team. You change the log preferences… how hard is to test it? Is that coinsidence or just pure development incompetence? Cause there’s too many coincidences on new code in SL – perhaps the team manager should pay a little more attention to details.

  23. Peacesoul Destiny says:

    I am rather upset that i am unable to wear a skirt sl. This has been the case for over aweek now. Whenever i dress my skirt appears temporarily and then becomes a hoop, at my waist. The most embarrassing of which was my arrival to Bogarts minus a skirt, as it had rezzed temporarily, and disappeared on my arrival. Being an sl shopaholic my wardrobe is adorned with many numbers from a variety of top sl designers. Which is what makes this situations increasingly annoying. Please can someone advise me of how to fix this or contact me if they are having the same prob.

    Sl or Rl is indecent to be without skirt.

Comments are closed.