New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.1 RC4 Available

A new 1.19.1 Release Candidate Viewer (RC4) is now available for download from the test software page.

Changes and fixes new in 1.19.1 RC4 since RC3:

  • Fixed a bug causing the viewer to update the wrong parcel.
  • Revert name of “Local Chat(history)” tab to “Local Chat”
  • Removed confusing “Start in Push-to-Talk mode” preference.
  • JA, KO, DE localizations are truncated on Preferences>Graphics tab> Run in a window descriptor
  • Commit JA,KO,DE localization changes to accommodate truncations
  • Updated Mozilla libraries

Barring any showstoppers, we expect this to be the final RC in the 1.19.1 viewer series.
Please continue to report any new issues in the Issue Tracker and be sure to set “Affects Version/s” to “1.19.1 Release Candidate.

Thanks for your help improving the Second Life viewer!

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, New Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.1 RC4 Available

  1. Kyder Ling says:

    Thanks for the updates. Keep them fixes rolling out.

  2. Kathy Morellet says:

    # Fixed a bug causing the viewer to update the wrong parcel.

    This was a critical fix. Thank you for getting this taken care of promptly.

  3. Will this reset all the graphics settings to defalt when I first run it, the way rc3 did?

  4. Kathy Morellet says:

    @3 my settings were retained after installing this one

  5. Ah – appearantly no, it doesn’t reset the graphics settings to default. Yay! (I made a backup of the settings xml files just in case this time)

  6. Firebird Nightfire says:

    I’m not quite sure what you folks did on the last bug hunt, but it worked! I haven’t had to relog nearly as often this week.

    The people who whine and complain about small fixes being done while large issues get ignored don’t realize that often the small problems are actually symptoms of larger problems, and fixing enough small problems makes the whole system work better.

  7. spritely Pixel says:

    Yes, there is a show stopper, please fix the snapshot capability, as has been reported by me and several others. when uploading a snapshot, i cannot get the 512×512 of what is in the center of my screen. It gives me the complete screen squished into a 512×512 area. I want the the the largest square possible in that 512×512, not the rectangle that makes up the complete screen. This has been reported in jira, since at least .2 of the RC. Please fix it, otherwise in world snapshots for vending machines and other square objects is just plain usless.

  8. Vylixan Fallon says:

    This version seems to be stable 😀 I managed to stay online for more then 6 hours with out the usual freeze and then forced crash. Don;t know what you did, but you did it good.

    Keep on with the good work

  9. Kyder Ling says:

    Hey, do you guys notice anything that might have upped performance? I don’t know what it is, but now I am getting a good noticeable +10-20frames per second within the RC3/Windlight Candidate. I don’t think any of my options were touched and man is it great to walk around with 60+ frames. 😀

    Thanks LL for whatever it was!

  10. Ochi Wolfe says:

    I agree with spritely. The snapshot functionality has indeed been broken for quite a few versions now, in several ways. And I think there are sufficient reports posted on JIRA regarding this problem. This should really be thoroughly checked and fixed (in all aspects of the snapshot functionality) before this version is released.

  11. shaq Merlin says:

    Hi,

    I have sometimes problem with parcel description in about land. Sometimes disappear some part of the descriptions, some tags! I guess mostly after region restart.

    Have fun,
    shaq

  12. Max Dutton says:

    The last two RC’s (RC3 and RC4) will not load on my laptop, that i have been running SL on for almost 2 years not….it starts to log in, but then it gives me a memory read error…and crashes. I have cleared Cache, checked my hard drive, downloaded all the latest windows updates ,but no help. The main client works, and the Dazzle client works…but not the RC. I have been running RC’s for many months now…this is the first round that has not worked. A

    Anybody else seeing this?

  13. Lora Chadbourne says:

    Why can’t the client just remember our preferred Advanced Sky preset choice when logging in, instead of opening in Default every time?

  14. Tillie Ariantho says:

    Snapshots still broken… and did you see that the scrollbars in the browser window are not working at all?

  15. Aenea says:

    I completely agree with Spritely and Ochi. The Snapshot function is essentially DOA — aside from messing with image proportions on upload, the behavior of size constraints is very dodgy. Please make sure this is corrected before going to a wide release.

    I’m also experiencing crashes on TPing, which I can’t figure out if they’re related to the RC or to my Mac. (iMac 2.4ghz with Radeon HD2600 and 3gb RAM)

  16. Argent Stonecutter says:

    ‘Removed confusing “Start in Push-to-Talk mode” preference.’

    Can you elaborate on this?

    Also, re Lora@13: “Why can’t the client just remember our preferred Advanced Sky preset choice when logging in, instead of opening in Default every time?”

    I had assumed that the ability to save and restore day cycle and lighting preferences OUTSIDE the viewer would be implemented before it went to final release. It sounds like this won’t happen. How come?

  17. Spank Lovell says:

    Err I have to say guys, this is the worst incarnation yet. Its crashed on me 3 times since loading. The sim I was on (tech Expo 174,114,241) was laggy but camming around an object just causes a random crash.

  18. Drew Dwi says:

    I guess the constant freezing while camera panning doesn’t qualify as show stopper 😦

  19. Spank Lovell says:

    Drew it sounds like you and I have related problems. Mine doesnt freeze it just crashes.

  20. RC Paderborn says:

    I downloaded RC4 last night as the RC3 told me I had to. Of course since it wasn’t an official RC release, if you downloaded it any way other than via the start page of the RC3 viewer, you just got another copy of RC3. Thanks for fixing that. hehe

    Anyway, I was on for four or five hours last night using RC4 with none of the viewer freezing or crashes I had with RC3. RC4 is at least as stable for me as RC2 was. At least on my Windows machine. I’ll try it on the Mac today.

  21. Pericat Aquitaine says:

    Joshua, if I may call your attention to this as yet unresolved problem with the current RC client: VWR-5623. This describes a problem where Mac users of this this client must force-quit every time they log off.

  22. McCabe Maxsted says:

    @18: or the bug that keeps scripted objects from changing the media settings when deeded to group. I’d definitely consider that something of a showstopper since when 1.19.1.4 becomes official people won’t be able to use their radios or televisions anymore, but that’s just me…

  23. Sascha says:

    Well i can only say well done Sidewinder, you did a great job and thx for the support.

  24. Do you seriously consider making v1.19.1 the “standard” viewer while it is 20 to 50% (depending on the 3D environment) slower than v1.19.0 on single core computers with equivalent graphic quality/settings (i.e. all shaders turned off in 1.19.1) ???

    You MUST be kidding !!!

  25. We were told that windlight environment settings would be server side before it went final.

    I can imagine many region owners making great red skys and lava water or some other fantastic theme only to find that none of their guests saw this?

    What happened? Was this in another branch that was not included by mistake and will never be seen?

  26. Dekka Raymaker says:

    RC viewer’s 1, 2, 3 & 4 I always freeze on log out, I always have to force quit, I made a JIRA for it when RC2 was released.

  27. KNOWN ISSUES
    * Serious memory leaks.
    * Grid instability and poor performance
    * Teleports fail quite regularly, especially under heavy load
    * Sim performance varies wildly (NOT due to client content either)
    * Low FPS
    * Serious texture latency
    * World maps are very slow loading
    * Crashes and viewer hangs and freezes
    * Ongoing friends list issues
    * Group chat totally borked
    * Group Notices not getting to all members of a group
    * Random animations starting out of nowhere (and no, not an attack)
    * Sailing off into void space after crossing a sim line
    * Did we mention crashes? Why yes, yes we did.
    * Major bugs not being corrected month after month, year after year (prime example: llTargetOmega)
    *Bots and bot farms.
    * LL spending time on items no customers really want or care about (prime example: Dazzle).
    * LL totally ignoring customer voting results and @#$# well doing what they want anyway (prime example: voice… which was majorly voted AGAINST by LL customers).
    * Absurdist pricing on sims and land (namely: $295 and $350 a month for a piece of virtual land is ridiculous. The only thing it does is stuff LL’s pockets with $$$ and keeps most people for being able to afford a sim).
    * Total failure of LL to prevent minors from entering the grid, resulting in continual hassles with immature children (not that some of the “adults” are any more mature… it just adds to the problem and drama).

    … and the list goes on and on and on.

    Why list these things? We’re not just griping. We’re listing these things to point out issues that Second Life customers deal with every single day… issues that Linden Lab continues to ignore (or put on the back burner, or “it bothers us too” into the obscurity pile) year after year.

    And then people wonder why there are constant gripes on the blog.

    That would be why.

  28. kirstenlee says:

    havent been too keen on the 1-19-1 series altogether, smartheap error rearing its ugly head, pristine builds on Vs2003 from SLdev commits dying with multitudes of errors , lots of issues generally RC3 was particulary evil. the horrendous memory eating in use.
    This may sound daft but does anyone package up the client log in and actually use the client inworld, not just on a private grid or in simulation see the hideous memory usage after 45mins, stutters, or crashes then turn around and say yup thats good enough and just send it to joe public as the next RC…… if its glaringly BAD why release it

  29. Severe viewer lock ups and freezes, unable to use RC 4 or any RC.

    http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-5655

    It is VERY frustrating that SL is becoming less and less usable with every RC update.

  30. Andromeda Quonset says:

    I installed and ran this new viewer. Got a major bug in it: it won’t accept keyboard input.

    I opened my inventory window, and found that I could not type any text into the white box. I found a similar problem with chat and instant messages.

  31. Isabeau Imako says:

    I’m afraid I won’t be using th RC (Windlight) anymore. It’s a shame, I really enjoyed it while I could…

    Just too many freezes and crashes, especially at log off. I’m not even going to attempt to dl RC4. I’ll stick to the regular viewer for the time being.
    (iMac OS X 10.4.11, 1 GB ram)

    I’m certain the issues and bugs are already known to LL so voting on JIRA isn’t really gonna help much unless you find a really obscure bug. (Sometimes I think JIRA is kept around to make us feel as if we have an input, lol. I could be wrong)

  32. *sigh*

    I sooooo miss Windlight, but after RC 1 I had to stop using it because of the constant crashes and freezes.

    The show-stopper for me is the broken snapshots 😦

    If that can be confirmed as fixed (for the Mac client), then I may put up with the crashes and try Windlight again.

  33. TigroSpottystripes Katsu says:

    (sorry, but I don’t feel like reading all the comments right now)

    please make sure that this will really not require more advanced machines for the same ammount of performance people get with the regular client, I have several friend on older machines that basicly can’t use Windlight enabled clients witht he settings on the minimum decently :/

    you will loose customers if you keep asking for ekipaments more and mre expensive than the previous version required to run smoothly :\

  34. Tam Hyun says:

    My skirts are still disappearing as I wear them. In version 1 and 2 it was fine but version 3 and 4 it reoccurrs. I can fix this on modifiable clothes but not for fixed outfits which are expensive. I hate walking around with clothes that are invisible.

  35. Triz says:

    I finally got the last release candidate to work for me after retrieving a previous release candidate setup exe file from my recycling bin. From a clean start (no active SL files), downloading 3 NEVER worked enough to let me log in.

  36. Aminom Marvin says:

    Why is the lossless bug for sculpt still not fixed? http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-2404
    Half a year with a MAJOR bug that seriously disables sculpts.

  37. Sean Heying says:

    Snapshots are messed up something terrible. Take a snapshot to disk and your shoes disappear off your feet and end up on the side of your body outlined in white… or your hair is offset.

    Frame rates are 10% slower than the production version, even with shaders turned off as soon as there is a little alpha or another avatar to render.

    No classic water without shaders… water looks absolutely shocking… an icky blue coloured texture sliding over the surface. You really need to put in classic water.

    And… will we ever get to the day you release source code at the same time as the compiled version?

  38. Sean Heying says:

    GRRRRR This RC version reset my very carefully tuned graphics preferences. For the love of pete please don’t touch our preferences.

  39. Rob A says:

    So when did these viewer updates become mandatory again? I now can’t login without updating, even though I’m very happy with the version I just got to work on my drivers I had to hack in the first place. Thanks for screwing up my user experience YET AGAIN LL. I hope one day something very bad happens as a result of this that screws you all as bad as it is me. Guess I get to go re-code my driver to work with this new pile of crap you call release software. Hell, still works better than the real version anyway.

  40. Jay says:

    erm no show stoppers……

    How about being unable to use any ATI graphic card drivers for integrated Motherboard/graphics cards from 7.12 to latest 8.3 which work fine with the release candidate (with shiny lcouds water etc which is really nice) for about erm 3 mins before the frame rate goes from say an avarage 10-15 >>>>>>> to >>>>> 0.5!!!!!! (FPS Client Side) and stays there for me anyway.

    So i’m stuck using 7.11 ATI drivers and the main viewer which is really much slower for me like 50% slower!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gimme a break and yeah i am entitled to whine 🙂 cause i spent a lot of time and money here and it really sucks to have viewer crash like that when it could be so good if they could just fix this bug for me.

    Oh well,

    C’est La vie

  41. LegsLover Lusch says:

    Firstly, I have to agree wholeheartedly with Rascal Ratelles comments. While prices for land are increasing, the high tiers, or land tax for virtual land that doesn’t exist in reality is way to high and LL should review this quickly. Maybe they should look at the exit list to help them decide.

    This new version is pretty good, haven’t had many problems yet, except; it seems to reset scripts. My steam, smoke and some white items come out pink,lol.

    Rezzing is still a problem, but has improved, I can’t finish my bacon and eggs in morning anymore,lol.

    I noticed with the new graphic settings that you can’t see as far on 128 draw as you could with the older versions, things come into view as you get closer to them.

    I use to be able to see my whole sim, not any more.

    It’s getting better but needs more work and fixes.

  42. Doanl Randt says:

    @ the LL team —

    I have been on the new RC since only yesterday, but it has to be the best I have seen yet.

    All I have seen that is rather odd is a “ghost in the machine” kind of thing. My neighbor “saw” me on a boat, sunk. He clicked me and IM’d me — I was 8 sims away. I didn’t disappear until I returned to that sim.

    Later, the same thing happened with him – he crashed, but the rest of us saw him sitting with us until he was TP’d to our location. He poofed from the chair and materialized over our heads. (Note that he was flying when the TP was sent as he was coming to a water location).

    Third incident of same: Wife works in a club – friends were there. So I went in to see them. When we went back into the club, she saw them, but I didn’t. She clicked on them and IM’d – turns out they were in a completely different region. We saw them for the entire time we were there, about an hour.

    I apologize for the long post, but I am hoping that by providing all the info I can it will help resolve whatever issue this may be, and not just be a waste of packets….

    Cheers all! And keep up the good work – Love teh new RC!!!

  43. Alexandra Rucker says:

    Oh peachy, last RC?

    So you really DON’T want Vista users on the grid then, eh?

    (This bug – http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-5743 – is still outstanding, and IS a showstopper for many people!)

    Joyyyyyy.

  44. Sukiri Qinan says:

    This isn’t a show stopper but you can’t save customized colors when building. When you go to drag the color to an open box it instead drags the entire window. I noticed this on the last version as well. Of course that doesn’t compare to it crashing all the time when I try to pan with the camera – it’s fairly unusable to me which is a shame because I’ve fallen in love with the “glow” function. 🙂

  45. U M says:

    this client works great. I wish people would learn that its not alwats Sl issues but its those taht are not updating the client to the newest version………………..people just don`t know what they are saying and doing inthe game these days.I refering to those in the game and not on the blog here……..

  46. Rip Rieko says:

    Ever since this changed from Windlight to RC I have not been able to properly change media streams. When I change streams it just restarts the last one. I make TV’s and this is really annoying. I spent a hours banging my head against my desk trying to debug this problem in my scripts only to log in on the normal client to see there was no problem.

    Please fix this ASAP

  47. Fox says:

    Linden Labs pulling another Microsoft a la Vista! what else is new!
    You should have NEVER merged Windlight with the RC code tree.

  48. U M says:

    These past two clients jsut have been problemsum…..its its nosl its just badly done codeing…….

  49. Celty Westwick says:

    Jay you certainly are not he only one who sees this issue as a complete stopper!!

    “Jay Says:
    March 29th, 2008 at 11:19 PM

    erm no show stoppers……

    How about being unable to use any ATI graphic card drivers for integrated Motherboard/graphics cards from 7.12 to latest 8.3 which work fine with the release candidate (with shiny lcouds water etc which is really nice) for about erm 3 mins before the frame rate goes from say an avarage 10-15 >>>>>>> to >>>>> 0.5!!!!!! (FPS Client Side) and stays there for me anyway.

    So i’m stuck using 7.11 ATI drivers and the main viewer which is really much slower for me like 50% slower!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gimme a break and yeah i am entitled to whine 🙂 cause i spent a lot of time and money here and it really sucks to have viewer crash like that when it could be so good if they could just fix this bug for me.”

    How many other ATI graphics card users are having this issue, it’s horrible!

  50. Yes i have to agree the client is becoming more and more stable, sim crossings are smoother. Freezing still occurs but is no where near as bad as before and mostly happens after I’ve been online for a long time.

    Not sure which version upgrade when it happened, but my saved custom sky settings are now gone.

    Some trivia: Another reason PCs are better than Macs: The SL download on a PC is half the size of a Mac’s =P

  51. Tain Thor says:

    Rc4 runs faster than rc 3 which is good, but I find my clothes are borked. What should be invisible is visible.

  52. U M says:

    Include skins to that list 52…………………..

  53. Marie Sims says:

    Vista always send recommends notice to me, asked me reinstall this software and why does the client gets so many RAM? And has been crashing every 30 mins…

    I had to stop using it because of the constant crashes and freezes.

  54. Pingback: The Grid Live

  55. Medhue Simoni says:

    Why did u take away all the graphics setting. I’m so irritated. Why would u not allow people to adjust things themselves. This makes absolutely no sense. Bumpmaping is all screwed up so i have to stay at the low level. As i have said b4, if this viewer becomes the main viewer, sl will lose customers. Big time. I cant understand the line of thinking here. Put windlight in and restrict setting. Where is the logic here. Hello!!! Is any1 listening. My laptop is screwed by this version. And my desktop aint liking it either. Im going to get nasty if i dont end this comment now.

  56. Kenny Devoix says:

    @56 go into your graphics tab and check the advanced box and you will see all the settings are there. There is no restricting the settings in fact there are more choices there now then in the old viewers.

  57. Medhue Simoni says:

    yep ken i found it. its little help really. Bumpmapping/shiny if the object is set to Brightness. then i see the texture thru walls or anything. Midday is the only setting where i dont look like a red alien. Also had issues with seeing or not seeing people. I have heard people bitch about these same things in the older versions and obviously it has not been fix, and probably no plans to fix. I just cant believe my sl experience is going to get even worse, by something that is supposed to make it better.

  58. Xavier Felwitch says:

    good job on this RC, used it on the weekend once released and have found it very stable. 🙂

  59. U M says:

    I said this then 3 hours later boom………………..

  60. Jay says:

    Great work on the RC, much more stable on my computer apart from one thing………there doesn’t seem to be any/much support for an ATi 3870X2 video card, hardware skinning is disabled 😦 any support for that card coming soon?

  61. Raven Primeau says:

    Has any one else been suffering *has stopped responding*s with this release?
    Also my Vista based Nvidia 8600GT PC seems to suffer this a lot, that and seeming to slip into half hibernation and leap back into life suddenly mid game.

    Other than that, the costant texture snapping and general sluggishness it seems good

  62. Tater Todd says:

    Running it under Vista here (with Nvidia 8600) and it seems a lot more stable and responsive

  63. Ealena Iwish says:

    I STILL have the problem.. and I’ve sent an EMAIL for Linden Lab… NO ANSWER. I ll copy the email here.

    In In world my name is Ealena Iwish,
    I’m having more than 1 week( almost 2 weeks.) login issues, but is not a normal issue,
    what happen is:
    I log normally, my AV begin to rezz… ( or PROBABLY NOT REZZ) and passed by 15 seconds ( or PROBABLY 1 SECOND or more but this is a case of seconds or I already appear stuck) I get stucked… I can’t move nor can’t chat… so I log off because obviously is a crash manifastation…
    Well, this is not a thing of my graphic card… or another thing with my computer because I have oanother computer and it happens too.
    Could somebody there help me? is it happening just with me?
    I’m from Brazil, State, São Paulo.
    I hope somebody help me.. or I will definitly stop with SL, I ATCUALLY STOPPED. I had been playing it since month 9, 2007.
    BUT NOT ANYMORE.

  64. DR Dahlgren says:

    Sorry, but RC4 is a total unusable POS. I have gone back to RC3 as long as I am allowed. RC4 simply freezes and crashes whenever I move my camera a few times. This bug has been in and out for some time now. How about we get that figured out for the next one.

  65. DR Dahlgren says:

    Great, now you have locked out RC3. That was not the case a few days ago. I understand wanting people to use the latest release, but guys, lets at least make it usable.

    Count me out of testing until this freeze / crash bug is fixed!!

    DRD

  66. ElvisOmar Oyen says:

    As a minority Mac user with slightly older hardware, I am incredibly dissatisfied with v.19. Log in tells me I have less than minimum CPU speed, although both machines I use to connect meet or exceed the requirements. A brand new 2 GHz iBook should not set off insuffient hardware flags. The errors I’ve been seeing prevent me from doing almost anything but IM.

  67. Milena Vlodovic says:

    I downloaded Second Life 1.19.1 and every time I try to run it, it crashes, opens the crash logger and says “Sending to alternate server, try 1…” Then everything closes. This happens every single time. what’s wrong?

  68. Musette says:

    #68

    Same thing is happening to me

Comments are closed.