New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.1 RC3 Available

A new 1.19.1 Release Candidate Viewer (RC3) is now available with fixes based on issues reported in RC0, RC1 and RC2.

Remember: Release Candidate viewers are optional updates that contain the latest round of bug fixes and/or soon-to-be-released new features. Please visit the test software page to download the Second Life 1.19.1 (RC3) Release Candidate viewer if you’re interested in helping us test these optional viewers. Source code will be available for download soon.

Changes and fixes new in 1.19.1 RC3 since RC2:

  • VWR-4125: Duplicate names in XUI files make some translated UI texts to show inappropriately
  • VWR-2273: View menu > Instant Message should be changed to “Communicate”
  • VWR-1722: Profiles are editable in two places (including Search browser)
  • VWR-4570: Fixed list of names in Friends List showing (Waiting)
  • Help menus have been combined
  • Clean up the Client and Server menu user interface: ctrl-alt-D now toggles the ‘Advanced’ menu, requesting god status does not display the ‘Admin’ menu
  • Fixed: Place Information is hidden behind the tool bar when opened from Second Life Help
  • Fixed: bulk upload of a single file (on Windows) includes the path in the item name and description
  • “Mute” button on script permission dialogs closes all dialogs from the sender
  • Fixed: Changing viewer language selection doesn’t bring up a localized F1 Help in French, Spanish

Please report any new issues in the Issue Tracker and be sure to set “Affects Version/s” to “1.19.1 Release Candidate“. Resident participation is always welcome at our weekly (Wednesdays @ 3pm PST time) inworld bug triages, too!

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, New Releases, Quality Assurance. Bookmark the permalink.

134 Responses to New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.1 RC3 Available

  1. Christos Atlantis says:

    Are the first look and beta viewers so behind?

  2. Brandon Shinobu says:

    Will this viewer update include the use of PRIM_GLOW and raise the build ceiling limit?

  3. Ricky Yates says:

    It would be good if you do not make any RC a mandatory upgrade. Some of us (like myself, using a Mobile Intel® 965 Express chipset) are forced to use the RC instead of the main viewer, because Windlight is more permissive for HW used than the old graphics engine. Why do I have to update every week, just for a few bug fixes I do not really need.

  4. Brandon Shinobu says:

    Nevermind, answered my own question (answer is no).

  5. Ashelyn Dryke says:

    D: nooo! I was hoping this one would include scriptable glow 😦

  6. Isabeau Imako says:

    Hi :))

    I don’t know if this is doable or worth the effort, but it would be nice to get a warning and 5 minute delay inworld before the older version becomes ‘out of date’,
    (unless I crashed to desktop at 3pm for another reason).

  7. Wolfie Waves says:

    @3 Ricky

    Because it is pointless to allow people to keep using the old RC version as the whole point of the RC client is so people can test it out and report bugs to LL. Allowing people to keep using old RC clients is a dumb idea as people will be submitting bug reports for bugs that may already be fixed in the current RC client. That will only make LLs job more difficult as they will have to sift though new bug reports looking for ones that haven’t already been fixed.

    Your just gonna have to put up with the updates until the client goes live.

  8. Wolfie Waves says:

    @5 Ashelyn

    If you want to use scripted glow then just use the integer 25 instead of putting PRIM_GLOW in the llSetPrimitiveParams

  9. Blabla2 Eponym says:

    The RC viewers always come after the first look, and beta viewers have had their time to test stuff.

    So from beta ->(+) first look -> RC1 -> RC2 until RC Final -> Main Viewer

  10. Geister Pfeffer says:

    Latest Onlinetime yet .. better then the last Version !

  11. Naoki Ninetails says:

    I think the site’s getting so hammered with the sudden downloads that I can’t even get the download link to work. 😦 I was in the middle of a huge project… grrr…

  12. pantaiputih korobase says:

    ya, definitely better then the last version!!

  13. Kii Lilliehook says:

    I upgraded and now I can’t buy things (0L$) any more. is this related? Anybody got the same problem?

  14. Indigo Mertel says:

    Not again, please!

    I thought this was fixed! It creeped back in. The viewer arbitrarily reset the graphic settings.

    I have a NVidia Quadro FX 4500. This is not a low-end 3D graphic card, it’s a high-end card used for professional 3D work. Its only fault is not being a common card, thus it is not in the list of LL’s recommended cards.

    Please stop this nonsense! It is very bad practice to reset users settings without the consent of the user. This was fixed with the previous release and now it’s back in. Every time I install a new version I have to reset all my graphic settings. VERY annoying!

  15. Jim Brock says:

    I think you have a problem with the inventory, it’s showing up weird folders like ‘firemen’ and ‘dominos’ and my inventory is a subfolder …

  16. Argent Stonecutter says:

    I’m with Indigo… please don’t reset the display settings without asking!

  17. Wolfie Waves says:

    @16

    It’s a bug, get over it

  18. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Oh, and speaking of display settings, would it be possible to get Runitai’s water back when water reflections are disabled?

    http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-5143

  19. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Oh, and speaking of display settings, would it be possible to get Runitai’s water back when water reflections are disabled?

  20. Tensai Hilra says:

    @8 Wolfie

    whats this integer 25 as related to Glow? musta missed something a few blogs back…

  21. Nother Glitch says:

    @14

    i am still at 1.18.5 (3) and what you describe just happened to me too a few days ago. Don´t even understand the impact of it. Just hear the cooler of my router louder than my telly ever since.

    I am so afraid to download anything new, i just cannot reduce the performance related preferences any further to have a half way decent sl experience. And it´s not like i am using a crap computer or an unstable internet connection.

    Anyhoo, hope havok4 really does what it promises to. Not sure lotsa people will return to sl after summer holidays if it doesn´t.

    nite 🙂

  22. Indigo Mertel says:

    I have opened an issue on JIRA about the graphic settings being arbitrarily reset by the viewer. If you are affected by this please vote http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-5861

  23. Wolfie Waves says:

    @19 Tensai

    PRIM_GLOW as with all tags such as PRIM_TYPE, PRIM_COLOR etc all have a corresponding number value, PRIM_GLOW’s value is 25
    So for your script you do this…

    llSetPrimitiveParams([25, ALL_SIDES, 1.0]);
    instead of…
    llSetPrimitiveParams([PRIM_GLOW, ALL_SIDES, 1.0]);

  24. Ochi Wolfe says:

    The Linux archive once again has all permissions set only to the file owner which renders it unusable when unpacking as root directly. This has also been the case some versions ago, please make sure the permissions are being set correctly on all machines building this archive… (By the way… when unpacking as root, all files belong to some uid and gid > 1000. Is there a way to prevent that and rather set it to some standard IDs like 0 when creating the archive?)

  25. Cai Dollinger says:

    I just downloaded the veiwer, had all my options reset and now I cant even log on to sl… am I the only that got that?

  26. Zen Linden says:

    @Indigo 14

    I haven’t added in the 4500 to the gpu list. I’ll do so, though it may be a sec before that reaches a released viewer.

    Also, we will be refactoring the way we do recommended settings in the future.

  27. super, now i crash whenever i try to upload a texture.. i have crashed about 10 times since updating in a matter of about 20 minutes.

  28. Wolfie Waves says:

    @23 Cai

    RC3 is working fine for me, have you checked your connection & firewall/router/whatever you use.

  29. Jenrose Meredith says:

    Is anyone else having trouble dragging custom colors to the palette in the release candidate? I’ve been having trouble with this since it stopped being Windlight. If there’s already a JIRA topic, point me to it please?

  30. Rianne Rayna says:

    Please investigate this wierd thing that happens to me…

    For some reason my Screen , YES my actual screen whit alll huds etc
    is COPYED on to me on my Av and all my clothes and it will not return to normal anymore, my complet avatar is ruined and the clothes can also be trown into the trashcan..

    It is like a Screenshot has been taken and sticked onto me.. UNfixable , Reloging , Rebake , etc doesnt matter doesnt work..

  31. Nvidia go 7400. Windows XP Pro.

    Why were my graphics settings set back to defaults?

  32. Jessicka Graves says:

    Still doesn’t fix the stackheap memory crashing, or…anything important really, waste of time, yet again…

  33. Cai Dollinger says:

    I just went through and checked all of that and not having a bit of problems with any of it. I did check the system requirements and my vid card is no longer on the list. If this is the problem, I will be one unhappy camper. I bought my laptop to be able to run sl and now I cant even get on with Nvidia geforce 6150 go Vid card? I have updated all drivers recently (within the last three days) and all I get is the SL f.u. screen when trying to log in.

  34. Kerik Rau says:

    Hmm, 10 minutes in and I have only crashed 6 times. Amazing.

  35. Kerik Rau says:

    Seems when you right click on a parcel, it does not display the option to buy land when it is in fact for sale.

  36. Wolfie Waves says:

    @32

    I’ve been on RC3 for 2 hours now and not crashed once. Maybe there is something wrong with your computer.

  37. Qie says:

    Speaking of Linux packaging, as @#22, still missing secondlife.ico in the distribution; see http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-5641 — this can’t be intentional, somehow related to branding or something, can it?

  38. @21
    Using:
    llSetPrimitiveParams([ 25, ALL_SIDES, 1.0]);

    Allows compile, but gives me the following…
    Object: llSetPrimitiveParams error running rule #1: unknown rule.

  39. Wolfie Waves says:

    @38 Killer

    You have to be in a region that has the 1.19.2 server code for it to work.

  40. Neural says:

    What?! A mandatory update?

    Allright, confess. Who told them group chat was working? 😄

  41. Toy Halfpint says:

    additional folders now in My Inventory that belong in Library yet not allowed to move them.

  42. Nahona Nakamori says:

    got ride of mandatory upgrade use -channel commandline parametter *laugh*

  43. Kerry says:

    @17,34 its a bug get over it….Sl is full of bugs they do not fix….i have a pc that runs fine firewall/router and drivers are upto date… i have SL issues..like crashing during tp’s, when sat there doing nothing but chatting… logging into Sl is a pain every day …the answer clear all caches and try again ….thats from Sl but they have taken that option off of the start page so if you cannot get into Sl how can you do that. waiting on an outstanding ticket on this for nearly two weeks.
    Saying all that i can run SL for hours and hours with no problems at all with a super high FPS. they just need to sort the complaints that have been going on for over a year now.
    Do i upgrade to the new client after the last mess im really unsure

  44. Isabeau Imako says:

    Hi,

    I’ve been on for over an hour (RC update) and just ‘crashed’ – everything just froze and it wouldn’t let me force quit. I’m writing this here in case other iMac users experience the same thing, (I have a 17″ dual core 1 GB memory).

    I’ve had this comp since mid 2007, and have never had this happen using any application yet. I remember having to Force Quit a few times with prior windlight viewers, but in the last RC, the application would only at times suddenly crash to desktop (maybe once every week?) and also be slow to quit, but never freeze everything. Ok, there were also occasional 10 sec. freezes inworld. I finally just directly shut down completely, Cmd-Opt-Esc didn’t work.

    I had a few apps open (dictionary, browser, msn) but this is normal for me. I was making a notecard and on the Grendel’s Children sim (lol). A busy sim I know, but again, not usually a problem.

    Here’s hoping it was just a fluke and not a Mac prob on the new RC. :))

  45. Sofia Westwick says:

    Don’t use this piece of crap now I can’t even stay loged into SL and when im able to if I zoom in on anything to work on it it constantly freezes SL and everything.

    Stay away form this piece of crap

  46. Kenn Nilsson says:

    Downloaded RC3…have quite a few *.dll files that “cannot be opened for read/write” during installation. There’s one batch midway through and then another batch at the end.

    Result is that the RC doesn’t install properly and I end up with no installation at all (yes, uninstalled RC2 and tried a re-install with the same result).

  47. pantaiputih korobase says:

    for me, the new viewer works vrey well, did not like that reset feature, but no problem to adjust it to my needs again.
    the only problem now is that I can not iron my clothes with my laptop anymore. say there must have been some issue resolved that caused my machine to burn, ty LL(TM)

  48. WarKirby Magoijiro says:

    Still no scripted glow support, though apparently there’s a workaround.

    But who cares for now. This is some awesome fixes:

    * VWR-4570: Fixed list of names in Friends List showing (Waiting)

    This for a start, YAY.

    * “Mute” button on script permission dialogs closes all dialogs from the sender

    And thank you for this. Sorely needed. Let’s just hope nothing new has been broken in the process.

    Looks like a good release 😀

  49. Ashelyn Dryke says:

    yuss, glow finally worked :DD…I’ve tried ’25’ before but I guess I wasn’t in an updated region… still, would be nice to use PRIM_GLOW instead but I’m guessing that’ll be in .2 :/

    and I just crashed for no particular reason >.<

  50. Lloyd Newman says:

    STOP screwing with my preference settings every time you force an upgrade. It takes me 5-10 minutes to put them back the way _I_ want them!

  51. Ochi Wolfe says:

    Weird… my comment now has another ID o.o It was #22 before, now after ~20 other comments it’s got ID #24. Qie referred to my posting with the ID 22 which is not correct anymore, that’s why I’m wondering what’s happening there… IDs should be unambiguous *shrugs*

  52. Mr.T says:

    I felt RC3 operation slowed more than RC1 and RC2.

  53. Kugel says:

    God help us 😦 But at least the friends list is fixed 😀 ….. allegedly :-/

  54. Gracie Jun says:

    And go figure, I cannot even log in SL!! SL is spreading the love once again!!

  55. Wakizashi Yoshikawa says:

    Ok i have to agree with majority of posters here(and by that disagree with Wolfie who looks like only person that have no problems with new RC). So here is my 2 cents:
    RC – Release Candidate – note candidate part. Usually means in plain terms “well we are not so sure yet whether to release it or not for the third time” in this case. So why it is mandatory then?
    On my linux box im still on .18 branch. Why? Simply because .19 is unusable for me there. And no, that doesnt necessarily means that i have problems with GPU/CPU/DSL/Karma or whatever that is not related to SL Client. Maybe, just maybe, there is something wrong with newest RC, huh? Who knows, and who cares as long as standard viewer is not forcing us to upgrade 🙂
    There, my 2/100 of €

  56. Vivienne says:

    This is totally unusable for me, and i run an average macintosh configuration. It locks up my entire system within the first two to five minutes after log in. It crashes with system lock up as soon as i resize the app window. And this without even using these fuzzy and not working atmospheric shaders at all. RC 2 ran with exactly the same preferences setup (atmospheric shader never ran on my machine), so this is obviously a grievious setback and not related to any hardware or software problem on my system.

    If THIS crap is gonna be the next release, say goodbye to the mac useers, LL:

  57. Xavier Felwitch says:

    @55 & Others “So why it is mandatory then?”

    well its only mandatory if you choose to help out LL and try to find bugs in an update they are planning to release sometime in the future.

    could you imagine the furstrations caused if it wasnt manditory and ppl where still logging bugs from RC0 which has now been currently fixed?

    The only reason RC2 was not inforsed was because LL recognised a major memory leak but still wanted the other fixes tested.

    let me quote Bridie just in case you missed it:

    “Remember: Release Candidate viewers are optional updates that contain the latest round of bug fixes and/or soon-to-be-released new features. Please visit the test software page to download the Second Life 1.19.1 (RC3) Release Candidate viewer if you’re interested in helping us test these optional viewers. ”

    @LL the list of fixes look great, will download laters 🙂

  58. Vivienne says:

    ” if you choose to help out LL”

    RC3 only helps to kernel panic my mac, so what is the sense in “helping” LL?

    B…….*

  59. Tam Hyun says:

    Great – my skirts are disappearing again. After I thought that was all fixed.

  60. Wolfie Waves says:

    @All Mac users

    You guys really should use either the Windows or Linux client using an emulator, crossover is a good one for running windows programs on OSX.

    I say this for one reason. The Mac SL client is abizmal and needs a serious amount of work and optimizing to be done to it.

  61. Xavier Felwitch says:

    @58 thats why i said “if”… its your choice to make. But if you don’t log this as a bug, well don’t complain if it is still there laters.

    i made the choice so hopefully we get a less buggy product when it goes live. *shrugs*

  62. lysana says:

    @60:

    Not all of us can run Windows in emulation on our machines (as in, some of us are still on PowerPCs!), and installing a second OS just to run SL is asking quite a bit in any case.

  63. Argent Stonecutter says:

    jenrose@29: the JIRA you’re looking for is VWR-5366.

  64. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Wolfie@60: Apart from the fact that the Mac viewer DOES work well for many people, the emulators for Windows on the Mac do NOT provide OpenGL passthrough, so they’re completely Not An Option.

  65. RC Paderborn says:

    Ok here goes nothing… Been running RC 2 on my new MacBook Pro 17″ with Leopard and the nVidia 8600M GT internal video. SWEET. Even set the graphics to high by default. Ultra stable, very nice.

    So am about to do the forced upgrade. If you don’t hear back from me, then everything worked as before.

  66. #51 – Ochi I was wondering about that, it’s happened to me multiple times and I thought I was crazy or tired… I’d respond to a comment with a specific number to find that later the number was wrong and I sounded like a fool. It’s even happened while I posted a comment, I triple checked to see that I had the right post number but when I submitted and read it again – the number of the post I replied to had changed. It appears that either A) Linden is modifying / inserting / deleting posts without regards to how it changes post numbers or B) Some wiley users have found a way to post in front of someone elses post. Either way – it should be investigated, I’m positive I’m not the only one that likes being made a fool.

  67. *Sarcasm intended : )*

  68. lysana says:

    I am annoyed. Your programmers still haven’t fixed the bug where attempting to activate the Advanced menu on a Mac causes it to crash. I can’t disable camera controls or my typing animation and run the release candidate, which is the only thing that has decent performance on my G4 more than 1/3 of the time.

  69. edfred jungsten says:

    Inventory is messed up.

    stop force-readjusting my graphics settings, it is incorrect.

    stop forcing the upgrades. I am downloading new software every week to play this game? thats annoying.

  70. U M says:

    Ok first thank you for the new client. Second well les how it solves some of the issues. third, stil no fixes worth noting. gesh…………

  71. Joshua Philgarlic says:

    I don’t like that my viewing options are set to default every time I download a new RC. I KNOW that my options are more than LL proposes! It’s MY decision to use a greater Draw Distance or Atmosphere Shader = ON!

    Please, could you just let your fingers off my defaults and limit your intervention to a window “You’ve different defaults as expected. Change them or not?”.

    Thank you!

  72. crash crash crash crash crash crash crash, i have literally crashed about 40 times today and that is no exaggeration, fun fun times..

  73. Shai Khalifa says:

    Edfred @69 – these are Release Candidates that are weekly (it seems) upgrades. The main viewer only changes rarely.

    Mind you I can’t use anything since 1.18.3.5 on my MacBook Pro – I download an RC occassionally to see whether my Jira issues have self-resolved – but always disapointed.

    Downloaded the Beta even recently – same probs as with 1.19 viewers – with the addition of not being able to fly one way or another (other than up and down) without crashing.

    It’s heartening to see that Leopard + SL are reasonably ok – maybe I should upgrade my OS – I’ve tried absolutely everything else over the past 4 months.

  74. U M says:

    72 check your setting they might have been lowered or raised being on how the they were insults. Since it a auto config for your system

    Usagi

  75. @74 I dont see how going to File > Upload Texture then **CRASH** has anything to do with my settings, and besides, ive reset all my settings to how i normally have them. I would say for every texture i have uploaded today ive crashed 3 times trying to upload it.

  76. U M says:

    oops that was suppose to be for 72…..”72 Nebadon Izumi Says:

    March 26th, 2008 at 8:41 PM
    crash crash crash crash crash crash crash, i have literally crashed about 40 times today and that is no exaggeration, fun fun times..

  77. Beezle Warburton says:

    “VWR-4570: Fixed list of names in Friends List showing (Waiting)”

    And now it’s bug-crazy as to whether or not they’re really online or I’m trying to chat to someone that isn’t there!

    Woo.

  78. Well I found the RC2 worked pretty well, once I got my graphics settings sorted out. So I’ll add my voice to the chorus: Don’t reset the graphics settings arbitrarily!!!!!!! Make it an option, give us a warning, give us the ability to save and retrieve, or just don’t do it.

    Now I’m experiencing frequent random viewer freezes – most often when I turn or rotate the camera, but also happening when I’m sitting or standing perfectly still and just chatting or IMing. I seem to recall random viewer freezes a few versions ago, a few months ago. Can’t really tell for sure if they are because of a bug in the viewer or just incorrect graphics settings though, because Someone Reset My Graphics Settings! 😦

  79. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    Sounds like what I’ve been saying all along is being proved – the main grid and central game engine simply cannot cope with the volume. So what do the boffins at Linden Labs TM do? Add a new bit of paintwork to the crumbling facade. And Wolfie – the only way you cannot be having any problems is if you are an insider posing as a paying client. Stop trying to pass the blame onto the users – it is quite clear that all blame lies with the idiots at Linden Labs TM. They quite clearly cannot produce a product that works as it is supposed to. All of these crashes and freezes? It’s not the paint work – it’s the foundations and the foundations are the Main Grid and Central Game engine.

  80. Triz says:

    After downloading the new release candidate, I am unable to log in. It gets about three quarters of the way through the log in progress bar then goes back to the login screen with this message: “Unable to connect to Second Life. Despite our best efforts, something unexpected has gone wrong.” 😦

  81. Wyald Woolley says:

    I’m amazed at how many people are using the Release Candidate and want it to be treated as a Release version. Don’t you read the text? Don’t you understand that by running the release candidate you are involved in *testing* software that is evolving through a bug fix phase?

    Yes. I know the Release Version 1.19.0 (5) is as buggy as other company’s alpha products, but the Release Candidate viewers are more bug ridden than a bed in a flop house. If you’re going to use them, you can’t complain when they release a newer candidate.

    As for resetting your graphic settings, I can see where the psudo-programmers at LL® want to insure your pushing the envelope isn’t contributing to your crashing and reporting problems as a result. Unfortunately LL® is requiring higher performance computers and graphic cards with each new version of the viewer, be it a beta, Release Candidate or Release version.

    I’m suspecting that any computer over a year old is going to give you some kind of reduced buggy performance, if not outright non-performance. If it were possible for LL® to give us some guidelines for setting our Release viewers (based on which computer version we are running), that would be highly helpful fro us using 2006 computers.

    Macbook Pro, 2.33GHz, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2Gb, ATI X1600 w/256MB, MOS10.4.11

    I connect over an older Wireless router, so I expect some serious performance hits and yet do have a reasonable SL® experience, albeit a low frame rate and occasional crashes, tunneling underground folded up, ruthed appearances, walking rapidly stiff-legged, and well… as I said a “reasonable” SL® experience. 🙂

  82. Vivienne says:

    “…apart from the fact that the Mac viewer DOES work well for many people..”

    the RC 3 simply CANNOT run for “many” people, that is a matter of fact. IF LL offers it for download and charges us for “testing” it, then the minimun rquirement from my side is that it is enabled for decent performance – and NOT kernel panic my mac, which NO other application i EVER used managed to do so frequently.

  83. magnus says:

    The problem is that the the current client is a load of unusable crap with the freezing , stuttering and interminable lag that the only other option is to run the release candidate and deal with the crashing every fifteen minutes or so when you choose to do anything other than stand in one place. And for the moron who suggested Mac users should use a crossover to Linux r PC, you are an ass. PLain and simple. That is the most idiotic suggestion yet. LL should spend more time fixing the problems for all of their subscribers whether they are on PC, Mac or Linux. I am sure the L$5.00 is in the mail from the Lindens for your suck up performance.

  84. RC Paderborn says:

    Ok, well it wasn’t as good as RC 2 on my system.

    I did manage to go almost three hours without a crash. Then RC3 plain froze. After 10 minutes I did a force quit.

    Anomalies noted: regular viewer freezes with no pattern. Just stop and wait for the pinwheel to go away.

    When editing objects half the time my edits wouldn’t take. The object would revert seconds later.

    Local chat is very lagged on a number of sims. (BTW, I know two others with the same symptoms but using the Windows version of RC3.)

    MacBook Pro 17″, duo core 2.4Ghz, 4GB ram, OS X 10.5.2 (Leopard)

    Oh and I uploaded one texture… no problems at all with it.

  85. Flaran Riggles says:

    Skirts are still invisible. Just created a Basic skirt in Appearance and could see it. Came out of Appearance and it’s invisible. Apart from that, this RC does seem better than the last one. No problems with Inventory Folders. The occassional freezes I’ve had ever since I moved to the 1-19 viewers.

  86. Pingback: Release Candidate 1.19.1(RC3) at Geta

  87. Emi Halcali says:

    When I mouse over an avatar, their name doesn’t show. This first cropped up in RC2.

    Is this a known issue? Or do i have something set incorrectly?

  88. Donal Randt says:

    I ran the RC for about 8 hours, no crashes – and amazingly – never even froze. I used to freeze (Not Responding) fairly often with the previous versions.

    It wasn’t all perfect tho – seems that in my friend list some things like find me on map, see my online status, etc got unchecked – randomly, no pattern to it.

    The inventory…. as others have noted, it’s kind of weird. Firemen and Dominoes? And, can’t move folders without opening a new window to drag them into.

  89. Nothing has made me cry yet… keep up the good work!

  90. @7
    As professional tester, i don’t agree, it’s stupid not to have the chance to tell in the bug report if the bug was introduced in 1.19.1.RC5 or 1,19.1.RC3 etc, it’s not sure so see the bug the moment i first appears. You might have missed to do that test.

    On linux you have to edit the file gridargs.dat

  91. Tain Thor says:

    I used to love windlight as it ran faster on my system but with rc3 have found it runs slower than the main view. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

  92. Dekka Raymaker says:

    Regarding RC viewers, I really wish someone would notice VWR-5623

  93. Dekka Raymaker says:

    @ 73 My MacBook Pro actually works better via wireless than my desktop Power Mac G5 with 4GB, but then my graphics card in the G% is only 256 MB and in the pro 512 MB.

  94. Elvis Orbit says:

    So far working great for me!

  95. Dragger Lok says:

    Once again mid day is washed out and midnight is barely dark-

  96. @57: One can notice the the Release note don’t mention fixing any memory leak sine RC2. Personally there are so many with duplicates anyhow, and to little updating of status so a few getting the report in for RC, previous extra will not make much difference imho.

    The JIRA is and (have always been) to hard to find out if your problem is the same as someone else, now it’s hard to see it your problem have been seen in RC0, rc1, rc99, 1.17 and still isn’t fixed. So people report the problem many times. To get rid of duplicates the finding of old fixed problems have to be easier, all problem have to be in the public JIRA. The status of the problem have to be more open. LL should be happy for the help they have not make it hard to help, (doing the update in the morning before running to work is harder that doing it controlled and reporting bugs in the afternoon coming home from work. I would probably have changed assignment being forced into such stuff in a RL situation. Not it’s a “secret” way for change the channel making the old version work, needing a small change of a text file on linux, and a command line parameter at windows. It’s annoying and don’t help annoying it’s like that don’t like help.)

    When it comes to software quality there is much much work that is needed at LL, i see some small steps in the right direction but it’s still mainly a developers play ground. Easy memory fixes, not being applied, problems like the IM tabs getting ignored. Give us a CEO with focus on making this stable as hell yesterday.

  97. I love how awesome fixes are always standard things that make the bread and butter of SL™®™ How’s about when this RC goes live you stop. Then start ironing out all of the bugs before you even think about the next one?

    No, thats just crazy!

  98. Wakizashi Yoshikawa says:

    @ 57
    And what about if i dont want to help finding bugs?
    Dont get me wrong, but after all this is commercial simulation. There are currency with all fluctuations, rates market etc. All this involves RL money. So, if im paying for some product, why Im I obligated as end user to update whenever RC comes out? Arent that job for beta tester and QA?
    I mean, i remember long time ago when Windows NT 5.0 reached RC5 and never hit the stores since it was poorly designed and later WIn 2k was released instead. So your line “only if you want to help LL” doesnt hold water.
    Lets assume that im selfish bastard that dont want to help LL. What are my options in this case?
    1. Get latest update RC whatever and pray it will not crash
    2. Dont get latest update, subscribe to RSS and watch when it hits RTM (Release To Manufacturing)
    Bit stiff if you ask me but seems like true.

  99. A.Q.K says:

    well here is a bit out of question ,when there will be a multicore support for SL?

  100. rard says:

    @ 57
    And what about if i dont want to help finding bugs?
    Dont get me wrong, but after all this is commercial simulation. There are currency with all fluctuations, rates market etc. All this involves RL money. So, if im paying for some product, why Im I obligated as end user to update whenever RC comes out? Arent that job for beta tester and QA?
    I mean, i remember long time ago when Windows NT 5.0 reached RC5 and never hit the stores since it was poorly designed and later WIn 2k was released instead. So your line “only if you want to help LL” doesnt hold water.
    Lets assume that im selfish bastard that dont want to help LL. What are my options in this case?
    1. Get latest update RC whatever and pray it will not crash
    2. Dont get latest update, subscribe to RSS and watch when it hits RTM (Release To Manufacturing)
    Bit stiff if you ask me but seems like true.

  101. Pingback: » Available vs. Mandatory - Living in the Metaverse

  102. aSwede says:

    @96 Wakizashi Yoshikawa

    If you don’t want to help find bugs, stay away from the RC viewers and stick to the ones that are main viewers.

    How hard can that be? Stop following download links pointing at RC viewers. Just stop! Resist the urge!

  103. Bato Brendel says:

    #2 PRIM_GLOW is server code you been told this numerous times and #8 explains to you how to ‘sneak around it’

    #14/#16 if you are in windows you can save your pref manually it ignore that little bug allthough it might be intentional because of the past issue after uninstalling the client. if someone re-installs the client all the old users prefs, first/last name, password etc were not removed. So it might be a security issue. check in C:\Documents and Settings\Owner(or whatever you log on as)\Application Data\SecondLife you’ll find your prefs in there you can just back them up into another folder or on the desktop

  104. Vylixan Fallon says:

    To bad, the latest version was forced . but no when i do a 20 minutes nothing, SL is totaly frozen and crashed. It didn’t happen with the previous version.

    But keep on with the good work, I really hope you get the memory leak out of it. Sl crashes after several ours with more then 1,4 Gb memory in use 😀 that is not normal.

  105. lone buck says:

    #97 SL(TM) is already multicore.. my quadcore loves it. it does sometimes however make 1 core go up to 100%, to get around this open taskmanager (ctrl+alt+del) and in the process list select the secondlife(TM) client, right click it, choose ‘affinity’ uncheck all but one of the cores, ok it, do the same again and re-select the cores you just unchecked. it will then spread the workload properly
    also i’ve noticed in these release candidates that occasionally the screen will be completly covered by what looks like a streatched reflection that points down to the bottom left corner of the screen.. it seems to be when glow shiny and transparent are all on the screen at once.. the only place i can replicate it is in the Ark at furnation. anyone else have this issue?

  106. Alexandra Rucker says:

    Those of you with crash problems, Nicholaz’s version still works: http://nicholaz-beresford.blogspot.com/

    it’s missing the bells and whistles, but it’s ALSO missing the random spurious crashes. 🙂

  107. Vylixan Fallon says:

    After only 36 minutes the memory is allready on 1,05 GB . And all settings are on low. ( i did this on purpose) I think the Client has a severe memory leak. I place the character on ISIS which is a crowded Sim , just to test the client stability.

  108. Vylixan Fallon says:

    There it is 🙂 after 1 hour and 45 minutes, memory in use 1.48 GB en voila Smarheap library – Out of memory ..

    Could you please fix this nasty bug.

  109. Foxxe Wilder says:

    I don’t know if anyone ELSE gets this oddity but almost EVERYTHING I see is semi-opaque (including land) with this new Release Candidate.

    Perhaps you should give this job BACK to Windlight as they DEFINITELY did a better job with it.

    Better luck next time

  110. U M says:

    “‘affinity’ uncheck all but one of the cores,”

    Again with turning off cores? Its results in FPS drops not gains……..

  111. HD1080i says:

    In Joystick flycam (for Machinima) – lightsources flicker all to hell making scene lighting un-useable – pls check that. The 6 source limit was already a pain when no-mod items had them in there, but this is now acting differently.

    Note to item makers: DO NOT ADD LIGHTSOURCES to your stuff and be no-mod about it. Light sources show through wall and such and if your range is too large you mess up the world, it needs to be editable

  112. Aaron J. Freeman says:

    I’ve upgraded my RC to 3, and find my original issues remain. It looks like my system is not Windlight Friendly, just as it is not Voice Friendly. If future versions don’t leave Windlight as an option, it’s going to make SL look unusable to newbies. OI will have to be expanded, to allow calibration of Voice and Windlight, and other questionable upgrades, and that calibration will frequently require the option of No.

    I notice a number of complaints, that this viewer should not have been required, as an upgrade, when it’s only required as a Beta Test Version. I imagine someone’s already looking into how the distinction could have been overlooked.

  113. U M says:

    In all fairness i had no problems for 2 hours with this release. Up to now no problems no errors………….Good build for Windows. But only on going problems memory leak……..

  114. Lone Buck says:

    #108 read it again, i said un-check them, ok it, then go back in and RE-CHECK them to balance the load properly, this reslults in a slight increase in frames drawn per second

  115. Akeela Banting says:

    And again, this client resets my graphics settings to “recommended defaults, based on my hardware”.
    Why is it that, while all other settings remain untouched, there is this obsession to destroy my well-tweaked graphic settings wich have proven to work very well for me?

    Can’t you, at the team, please leave my settings alone, or at least give me the chance to save them with a simple click on a button, so I can re-import them later?

    Best regards…

  116. Broccoli Curry says:

    Agreed Akeela… most annoying… can’t we have a “yes/no” option to reset our graphics settings?

    Being able to turn off all the annoying popups in one simple click would be useful too.

  117. Massive problems: my ATI 1650 graphics card (512MB) previously managed 15fps with the previous RC. No it is down to 2 to 6 fps!!! Even after correcting the graphic setting sof the graphics card, which have been reset by the application (why the hell it does this???)

  118. Zi Ree says:

    @114 Broccoli Curry: I’m not sure if you mean this but you can disable all of the “don’t show next time” dialogs in Edit / Preferences / Popups / Skip all ‘Skip Next Time’ Dialogs.

  119. Broccoli Curry says:

    Zi, I didn’t know that … thanks 🙂

  120. Foxxe Wilder says:

    Okay, you guys have a FEW problems here and as this is the ONLY thing working I can only put it HERE.

    1./ BUG REPORTS is buggered up! it keeps opening up my web browser..

    2./ A 400 linden transaction has FAILED but the money went SOMEWHERE!!! (but not to me, as I was the recipient)

    you guys really need to get on this blog site and UNSET the “ALL CLEAR” from the last entry as it is OBVIOUS the problem STILL EXISTS!!

    NOW, WHICH ONE of you LINDENS owes me 400 lindens for that business transaction?

  121. Argent Stonecutter says:

    It’s funny. I have NEVER had any problem with running SL multicore on Windows 2000. And I use AMD’s dashboard to check that both cores are being used, and they are. Is this a Windows XP/Vista bug?

  122. Kraelen Redgrave says:

    “Release Candidate viewers are optional updates”

    Are you sure about that? When I log in it tells me it have to download it.

  123. Ron Crimson says:

    If you log in with a *release candidate*, of course it tells you that.

    RCs are still optional in the sense that you aren’t required to use an RC viewer AT ALL.

  124. Kraelen Redgrave says:

    That doesn’t explain how I logged in with with RC1 a few hours after RC2 was released…

  125. Xavier Felwitch says:

    @122 well in the blog entry for RC2 , they explained it…

    – “Out of Memory error” on Windows after teleporting to multiple locations in a row If this issue is too bothersome, please use RC1 so you can continue to provide feedback on 1.19.1.

    they allowed us so skip RC2 if we wanted to because of a bug they found just before/on release so we could continue testing the other aspects of the RC 🙂

  126. Kraelen Redgrave says:

    @123
    Ah, thanks for clearing that up 🙂

    I skipped RC2 so I hadn’t read the RC2 entry.

  127. Watch out!!

    The moderators are catching the SOHF virus

    Be careful not to post humorous posts

  128. Rascal Ratelle says:

    KNOWN ISSUES
    * Serious memory leaks.
    * Grid instability and poor performance
    * Teleports fail quite regularly, especially under heavy load
    * Sim performance varies wildly (NOT due to client content either)
    * Low FPS
    * Serious texture latency
    * World maps are very slow loading
    * Crashes and viewer hangs and freezes
    * Ongoing friends list issues
    * Group chat totally borked
    * Group Notices not getting to all members of a group
    * Random animations starting out of nowhere (and no, not an attack)
    * Sailing off into void space after crossing a sim line
    * Did we mention crashes? Why yes, yes we did.
    * Major bugs not being corrected month after month, year after year (prime example: llTargetOmega)
    * LL spending time on items no customers really want or care about (prime example: Dazzle).
    * LL totally ignoring customer voting results and @#$# well doing what they want anyway (prime example: voice… which was majorly voted AGAINST by LL customers).
    * Absurdist pricing on sims and land (namely: $295 and $350 a month for a piece of virtual land is ridiculous. The only thing it does is stuff LL’s pockets with $$$ and keeps most people for being able to afford a sim).
    * Total failure of LL to prevent minors from entering the grid, resulting in continual hassles with immature children (not that some of the “adults” are any more mature… it just adds to the problem and drama).

    … and the list goes on and on and on.

    Why list these things? We’re not just griping. We’re listing these things to point out issues that Second Life customers deal with every single day… issues that Linden Lab continues to ignore (or put on the back burner, or “it bothers us too” into the obscurity pile) year after year.

    And then people wonder why there are constant gripes on the blog.

    That would be why.

  129. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    @127 – Rascal, you forgot to mention the bots. Linden hasn’t put in any failsafes to prevent one person from rorting the system, hogging up all the paying camping sites with multiple bots and collecting all the lindens for themselves. Plus the failure of linden to act on these cheats has resulted in an inaccurate figure as to how many “real” people are actually using SL. My guess is it’s about a half to two-thirds the stated number with the rest being bots. And with so many “artificials” taking up space, there is an overload on the grid which results in crashing and other problems. Eliminating bot’s would be a good start to fixing all the problems. Another would be a complete shutdown of SL for a week in order to give the main grid and central game engine the sorely needed overhaul it’s due.

  130. Rascal Ratelle says:

    I did mention it on another blog. I’ll post it here as well, thanks for bringing this bot issue up.

    This post was in response to the following quoted post: “”I don’t know what all the bots are doing in SL these days, but they’re not camping. You see huge piles of bots in skyboxes and buried under the ground, with names like “Ninja1 Randomname” “Ninja2 Randomname”, and so on. Some people have them all sitting on overlapping poseballs so there’s 20 or 30 bots all crunched up in a 1 meter box. These aren’t campers. These kinds of things should be abuse-reportable.””

    This sounds like the product of an earlier Libsl bot experiment I came across just before the copy bot issue hit the blogs and SLmedia blogs.

    there were two people that were experimenting with bots just like these.

    the girl a lbsl member told me that this av was copy botted and replicated, or rather the av’s textures and hair and cloths were copy botted and applied to the bot creating an exact copy of the original av. each bot had it’s own registered SL account.

    Of course these dummy accounts were created via multiple proxies.

    each one had a name like the ones you just mentioned, (maniqin1 maniqin 2 ECT. )

    At any rate, bots are illegal on SL, they are most certainly abuse reportable. but whether LL decides to act on the reports and do something about the problem well thats a whole new issue that needs attention.

    Bot farms and the dummy accounts are in violation of the ToS and community standards.

    and yes, bot farms are being used to boost traffic.

  131. @123, Isn’t it funny that that bug still isn’t tracked down and RC3 became mandatory. Over all for testing i think the LL strategy is bad, makes people more irritated on RC that needed to be. And when following RC, beta updates should be carefully and made when YOU have time to make notes of new problems. That is seldom just after that stuff was release and you like to go in world to continue a RP or do something in the morning.

  132. U M says:

    omg crashed two times and the crash reporting is failing AGAIN!……….looks like its going to be a long weekend on sl………..

  133. U M says:

    Wonderful! i about to build a new computer with vista now this pops up……..

Comments are closed.