New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.0 RC4 Available

[UPDATE 5:37 PM PST 2008-02-26]

We just made Second Life 1.19.0 RC4 available which picks up 2 more fixes:

  • VWR-4921: not recognising in Linux that client is already running
  • VWR-4960: Active Speakers list does not clear in 1.19.0 (2)
Release Notes for Second Life 1.19.0(4) February 26th, 2008 ===================================== Fixes: * VWR-4921: not recognising in Linux that client is already running * VWR-4960: Active Speakers list does not clear in 1.19.0 (2)

Please visit the test software page to download. Thanks! –Bridie

We’ve updated the 1.19.0 Release Candidate Viewer with fixes based on issues reported in RC0, RC1 and RC2.

Reminder: Release Candidates are TEST SOFTWARE – only download release candidate an first look viewers if you don’t mind getting your hands a bit dirty. The intent of these viewers is to shake out the bugs before they become the default download.

Please visit the test software page to download. Source code will be available shortly.

Changes since 1.19.0 RC2 follow…

Release Notes for Second Life 1.19.0(3) February 22nd, 2008
=====================================
Fixes:

  • Land for sale icon in menubar overlaps push object restriction icon
  • Upload Animation window: Button missing in Stopped window state
  • Client crashes when viewing the proposals tab in group information
  • My Landmarks dropdown list adds additional entries every time the world map is opened
  • Groups > Proposals > Past Vote text gets chomped
  • Defaulted buttons in floater dialogs remain highlighted when not in focus
  • VWR-4556: 1.19.0: Ban lines around limited-access parcels are no longer visible
  • VWR-3410: Too many typing sounds when chatting in Japanese

Please continue to report any new issues in the Issue Tracker and be sure to set “Affects Version/s” to “1.19.0 Release Candidate“. Your participation is welcome at our weekly (Wednesdays @ 3pm PST time) inworld bug triages, too!

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, New Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to New Release Candidate Viewer: 1.19.0 RC4 Available

  1. Before anyone asks…

    “Why do I have to download a new RC as soon as it is available?”

    The point of RC viewers is to get bug reports about the viewers before they become the default download. Therefore, we want attention focused on the latest and greatest. Once we have RC3 available, getting bug reports about RC2 just costs everyone time. If frequent updates aren’t your thing, stick with the default viewer.

    “Then why does the splash screen say something about ‘the choice is yours’ right before I click connect and am forced to update?”

    That text is shared with the page used for the main viewer. We’re planning on updating the splash screen logic, but have been working on more important bugs.

  2. Master Quatro says:

    The constant crashing when crossing regions is a big issue. Otherwise great improvements.

  3. Bato Brendel says:

    YAY no more 500 WPM japanese typing sounds! BTW when is ‘dont receive group notices’ going to be fixed? I personally dont like having to leave groups that are very group notice spammy just to go racing my sailboat. BTW keep up the great work on fixing these little buggies!

  4. Alyx Sands says:

    Dang, now I have to look at my neighbours’ stupid ban lines again…

  5. Mortus Allen says:

    Any word on when WindLight will be fully merged?

  6. Pingback: SecondLife does it again. There’s yet another Release Candidate available « I’m Just an Avatar

  7. Kyder Ling says:

    Can anyone answer me if LL is going to merge Windlight with the original or classic client? AFAIK, people have always been telling me that the two will always be separate… are they?

  8. Storyof Oh says:

    hands dirty? now you say…….or is that a reference to the soot look of windlight on previously attractive av’s? can that be fixed?
    The upgrade failed once then took ages to download, my av is out of control but thats the USA evening lag, item edit is taking an age to rez and have crashed once,,,will let you know what the next 5 minutes is like….

  9. Alissa Sabre says:

    I downloaded and tried it. Thank you for fixing VWR-3410!

  10. LaeMiQian says:

    @Kyder Ling

    I believe after this RC goes mainline, WL will likely go to RC, then – eventually – to mainline. I doubt LL will continue to maintain the old front-end code after that, though since it is open source there is no reason a 3rd party can’t.

  11. Kyder Ling says:

    I have actually found that Windlight has great special effects for avatars man. Noon time can be a pain, but play with the default settings, you can make it look like Classic SL no problem!

    I play a furry too, probably the most harshly affected of avatar types by Windlight. I find the defaulted sunset and Nice Day settings are great for screenshots and as well as just use of the client.

  12. Bato Brendel says:

    Dont count on WL going mainline if it does I would be hightly surprized as I know alot of people who can not run it. I prefer WL myself when Im not doing alot of racing but when I need speed and responsiveness I use the basic client and atm using the RC cuz of the server version popups that show up now. but some official words would be sweet.

  13. Gil Druart says:

    “Before anyone asks…

    “Why do I have to download a new RC as soon as it is available?”

    The point of RC viewers is to get bug reports about the viewers before they become the default download. …. If frequent updates aren’t your thing, stick with the default viewer.”

    Getting a teensy bit petulant there, Joshua. On the one hand, how about “the customer is always right”? On the other .. reading some of these blog posts would make me petulant too ….

    I think the point you’re missing is this. A lot of people download the RCs not because they are interested in helping you test your latest viewer, nor because their ‘thing’ is frequent updates. They download them because they are bleeding-to-death for some fixes to some of the bugs being addressed. Yes, some of the people here are budding QA engineers, glad to split their time between downloading RCs, Windlights, Blazers .. but most are just ordinary folks looking for a slightly better experience. Fair enough?

  14. Jaszon Maynard says:

    Once the RC is approved and becomes the default download, does the old viewer stop working and you’re REQUIRED to download the new default viewer?

  15. Kyder Ling says:

    @#12

    That’s what I figured. I mean, WL does raise the system requirements, and not everyone can have a system like me where I can have WL on ULTRA and still get 20-60fps. I think it would be a good idea for LL to consider having multiple flavors of SL though, to fit all the different kinds of crowds. WL for the intesive graphical folks, a minimal client for low end systems (laptops etc), in addition to other RCs…

    Keep these fixes coming, btw, LL. I don’t really spot too many bugs, but keep things rolling.

  16. neurosys sin says:

    VWR-3410: Too many typing sounds when chatting in Japanese

    I dont care who you are thats funny.

  17. I don’t think bringing back the ban lines was a good idea – you could have made it an option to view them. I really hate ban lines and I don’t think I’m the only one.

  18. Nanci Barthelmess says:

    @#14 Jaszon Maynard:
    I suspect once the RC goes gold it will become a mandatory upgrade for everyone. 1.19 will probably be considered a semi-major release upgrade and required of everyone.

    Personally I don’t think it’s a bad idea, so long as the change from RC to Release occurs fairly late in the week and not on a Friday. There are enough fixes in 1.19 that I bet people are chomping at the bit to use it. I just wonder when the hell LL is going to realize that a software release on a Friday, especially one that came out as late in the day as this one did is bound to be trouble for users all weekend long. (At least that’s what history has taught us.)

  19. Pingback: Massively

  20. Sean Heying says:

    > “Source code will be available shortly.”

    Is it possible to populate the CVS with the current version before you make these announcements and force us to -channel the prior version then check CVS every few hours looking for the version bump?

    CVS still has v257 which is over a week old now and buggy in terms of Bold IMs and non-flashing IM tabs.

  21. LegsLover Lusch says:

    I downloaded the latest version 1.19.0.3.

    My gold is still bright yellow, the shine button still doesn’t work, some textures still revert back to original settings when I log on or TP in to my place.

    Rezzing, well, no change there. My future prediction, we’ll be able to log on, go have a shower, a cuppa tea, wash the car, shampoo the goldfish then come back and SL will be ready,lol.

    OH WELL, the more things change the more they stay the same.

  22. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    Are the boffin’s at linden labs ever going to listen to their customers? or are they just going to do whatever the hell they want and say a big screw you to the customer? I’m leaning toward the second one. Linden Labs – instead of posting smarmy “I’m earning more than you are” blogs about how your going to fix all the small, unimportant details, how about actually listening to your customers for once and fixing the main issues. I don’t know how many times i’ve said this in these blogs but I’ll say it again – upgrade the main grid and the central gaming engine so that they can cope not only with the volume of the game but also with the constant upgrades. Yeesh, you don’t have to be a computer wiz to know that – that’s why i’m saying it. I should not be logging on – with either viewer – and finding myself crashed straight away. That is just plain rediculous. Until you fix this bloody game and fix it properly, I’m not going to be regular user of SL – nor will i recommend it to anyone. As a matter of fact, if you continue to refuse to address the main issues, I will actively encourage people already playing SL to leave the game. i’m sure with many people all they need is one little well-explained push and they’re out of here. Then what are you twits going to do? Play twiddly-thumbs and tiddly-winks?

  23. nyazcawi perway says:

    i have n ot downloaded this RC but i was wondering if it will address the leakiness of the client? i watch my resources get gobbled up and can predict a crash before it happens. i have spoke with many others who have the same problem, and even read blobs online dating back over a year on this issue.

  24. Buford Freck says:

    I get an error when I try to uncompress the tar file. bunzip2 simply stops, tar -xjvf complains about an unexpected EOF

  25. Roy Blanchard says:

    The friends list in this version still never loads. the icons are meant to have the international sign for NO on them, not next to them. (fire that icon person for just being oblivious) other than that, the QT checker is still giving a false result. the Apple updater shows my QT as up to date, so LL needs to as well.

  26. FlaranChamenthi Rau says:

    FIX FRIENDS LIST! And Windlight seems to be making skirts invisible AGAIN!!! BASICALLY FIX THE GRID!!!

  27. Marv Rayner says:

    Please, please, please make the IM tabs flash again. Caryying on multiple IM conversations is extremely frustrating now.

    I know I harp on this all the time, but please allow us to shrink the height of the Communicate window to the same size as the Local Chat window. Not all people will be able to use it at that height, but it makes the choice ours as to how much of the screen we can see while carrying on IM conversations. While I don’t like Friends and Groups lumped into the Communicate window, I can live with them. The large vertical size of the Communicate window has been the most detrimental thing to happen to SL I’ve seen since joining this world in July of 2006. Please, give us the option to vertically size it smaller than it can be now. Is that really too much to ask?

    The memory leak is still with us.

  28. Arcane Clawtooth says:

    @4

    Just change the following two lines in the C:\Program Files\SecondLifeReleaseCandidate\skins\textures\textures.xml file, turns the ban lines full alpha 🙂

  29. I would normally restrain myself from posting twice however, I just realized that you’ve (LL) completely fixed the sculpted prim rendering in this release. I’ve logged in several times today and each time sculpted prims loaded flawlessly with superb precision! Very good work and thank you so much for fixing this – let’s just make sure this also carries over to the other clients!

  30. WarKirby Magoijiro says:

    Can we have some info on when the group chat changes are coming?

  31. Max Kleiber says:

    I have to agree with Gil Druart(post13)
    I’m not much interested in doing LL’s QA work for them, I’m just looking for a better experience.

    I have an intense dislike for the Jira, finding it very much the antithesis of “user friendly”, and wonder why it needs to be there at all. For the most part it’s presence and the constant clamoring to use it tell me that LL needs a serious review of their internal QA checklist, and whether the developers are actually following it.

    On the other hand I do understand that, at its very core, SL is beta software in that it is exploring capabilities that are completely unavailable and for the most part unheard of anywhere else on the web.

    However, one also needs to bear in mind that I, as well as thousands like me, are paying for this experience. From that standpoint my thinking is that releasing a finished, stable product should be among the highest priorities at Linden Lab in order to create customer satisfaction. Quite frankly, “run this and tell me what you find broken” leads me to believe that your QA people are asleep at the switch.

  32. Storyof Oh says:

    when WILL crash on TP be FIXED? one in 5 has succeeded plus is there a reason the precaching login screen for the new viewer dates back to Xmas almost ..bit embarrassing when i seem to be in a transparent skirt at the time……

  33. Sean Heying says:

    StoryOf.. that precaching photo was taken when you set your home location, it’s what you had on your screen that second. Set up your view again and reset your home and it will change.

  34. Kristopher Tenk says:

    When i go into appearance mode all my clothes come off, when i come out of appearance mode there back on.

    (Linux version)

    Anyone else get this?

  35. victoria wheeler says:

    STILL crashing when teleporting across regions (but not within the same sim). I don’t see any official Linden acknowledgment of that issue, yet I know I’m not the only one with this problem, and it’s cross-platform.

  36. Jannae Karas says:

    #28

    Change to what?

  37. Tiny Mind says:

    Lesse now. Does this ‘new’ SL Viewer still Leak System Memory over time?

    *checks TaskMan, and finds RAM allocated to the Client to be around 1.2Gigs in less than 90 minutes.

    Yup. Nothing new here. Still bugged. See ya next week.

  38. Mercia McMahon says:

    @1 Joshua Linden wrote “That text is shared with the page used for the main viewer. We’re planning on updating the splash screen logic, but have been working on more important bugs.” Why are you making it so complicated, just alter the text to say that for RC and WL updates are not optional.

  39. Wanja Lubitsch says:

    Right, Joshua.

    I fully understand that old Release Candidates are not allowed to connect to the grid. You should not waste time with bug reports for outdated releases.
    I also think it is necessary to take some time to test before you call the viewer “final”. Three Candidates before the final release are the maximum.

    From what I understood, it will not be mandatory to update when the viewer is final.

    Mercia is right, just change the text… the login process already is too complicated. Displaying a website (waiting for timout before getting server 500 errors) and now different texts… why don’t you just keep it simple? It’s one of the good American abilities.

  40. Lindens – please check VWR-4963 before making the 1.19 RCs mainstream. It may not seem like a big issue, for in large groups that use archives a lot, it’s misery. Thanks.

  41. Chaz Longstaff says:

    Make it so that anyone who turns on ban lines has to live with looking at them as well. They are the single reason I fled to an expensive sim where the use of them is banned. They are the most ugly thing in SL, so if they are ruining my view, they should ruin as well the view of the buggers who turned them on.

  42. JayR Cela says:

    Hmmm It seems to me like rendering of the surrounding area’s has improved noticeably with these last 2 RC clients / RC3 is faster still / even works on an old spare Linux box with a Nvidia TNT2 video card a 700mhz Duron and 394 meg ram / that is unbelievable, and an achievement in itself alone! OFF TOPIC I also have to say, now that I am used to the Dazzle client I enjoy using it very much as well / But alas the Wind Light client as far as I am concerned is only good for taking photos. All in All I think you are the right track here folks. I will do some further testing throughout the weekend. / And if I can manage to TP and not have my attachments all maligned upon arrival to the destination / that will be great

    JayR Cela

  43. Slartibartfast Magicthise says:

    Chaz (41) – you are BRILLIANT!

    LINDENS – Hire this guy IMMEDIATELY! Haha.

    I never thought of it that way – ban lines basically grief everybody else’s view, but not the idiot that put them up!

    They should be TWICE as visible to the people that have them! Make them twice as fat and never hidden to them!

    I’m so tired of people TPing me to their banned sim when they forget that they have ban lines up.

    People with ban lines up – you are a griefer. Nobody wants to see you bumping pixels with a naked cartoon and nobody’s going to steal your flakey amateur build – we just want to pass peacefully to the next sim.

    …and to keep on topic – “Yay RC 1.19.0!”

  44. Sean Heying says:

    Source Code?

  45. Epocx Timeless says:

    Being in chat bar and clicking somewhere inworld doesnt defocus chat bar like it was in the last stable version.. either you esc(close) it or unable to move..

    but nice work so far!

  46. Eric says:

    Regions down for hours. No update on the status in th blog. Losing money as usual but, I bet my tier gets taken out on time and without fail. Why does everything work that takes money from us and nothing works right to make money? “Points To Ponder”

  47. Pingback: MMODump.com » Blog Archive » New Second Life release candidate viewer: 1.19.0(RC3)

  48. Wyald Woolley says:

    JayR Cela Says:
    Hmmm It seems to me like rendering of the surrounding area’s has improved noticeably with these last 2 RC clients / RC3 is faster still / even works on an old spare Linux box
    ———————-
    Then it must be because they are pushing lag somewhere else. With RC3 I crash while moving my camera around more often then ever before. I’ve got the shaders off and the draw distance down so low I need a white cane to get around.

  49. jenyhowlett says:

    Dah, can’t log into my account for hours? what’s happening?????????? i have tried everything i can;///// i am really sad now, why my account is blocked and when i’ll be able to log in again?????????

  50. Sean Heying says:

    Thanks for 264… Happiness is a warm puppy (or Neko)

  51. Storyof Oh says:

    #33 no it wasn’t the time i set home location, its a screen shot i have have never had ever before until i downloaded the latest compulsory viewer. It isnt even the shot i had after the previous NRC download, it is a totally new picture taken when snow was on the ground around Xmas. Strange things do happen to preferences after updates, a previous one some time back decided my home location had moved uninvited to the neighbouring SIM and amidst a maze of ban lines….
    I’ll change preferences relog and switch again and see what happens….

  52. Zlad Voom says:

    constant crash every 5 min since the update to 1.19.xxxxx serverside.
    Support dont read my tickets, seems it get worth again 😦
    everything has been fine for month now they play around again with things they dont really understand.

  53. Ciaran Laval says:

    “VWR-4556: 1.19.0: Ban lines around limited-access parcels are no longer visible”

    Why did you fix this???? This is a major feature enhancement!

  54. Medhue Simoni says:

    @27 Marv, i totally agree. 1 of the best parts of working in sl is that you can work and IM others, or customers while working. With that large window its, very hard to jump back and forth. if I could shrink it like the local chat, than i can see more of what im working on. Dazzle is even worse. But the colored icons in the inventory are great, and the overall feel is nice.

  55. Medhue Simoni says:

    Sorry, but if we are stuck with that big IM window, than put a give box in it. Its normal to give things to people that u IM with, i do it everytime I’m online. I sure that almost every1 does. Pain it the butt to open profiles just to give.

  56. Sidonie says:

    the servic eis becoming unusable, pending attachmetns unles you restart, things not rezzing, tonight the system aparrently logged me off without a red map or any other sign – other people could receive my ims but i didn’t receive any of their responses or deliveries of items i purchased, this is ridiculous!

  57. ZenWarrior Fuosing says:

    RC3? Install. Open. Crash, crash, crash. *Uninstall.*

    It simply does not work. At best, typically only “good” SL experiences become awful ones.

    And btw, when will there be a Linux client which works? I can’t get it to run on any one of three different distros.

  58. Cappy Frantisek says:

    Downloaded, works fine!

    @53 & 54

    Huge communicaion panel? I have it minimized to one side of the screen. Make sure your viewer settings are right for your screen. Oh and btw, if you post here, especially things you think are wrong, post your system information.

    Second Life 1.19.0 (3) Feb 22 2008 09:36:22 (Second Life Release Candidate)

    You are at 219343.5, 297101.3, 32.4 in Richland Center located at sim4346.agni.lindenlab.com (63.210.157.250:13005)
    Second Life Server 1.19.0.79368

    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 (Unknown model) (2992 MHz)
    Memory: 3071 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
    Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    Graphics Card: GeForce 8500 GT/PCI/SSE2
    OpenGL Version: 2.1.2
    LLMozLib Version: 1.1.0 (Mozilla GRE:1.8.0.12_0000000000)
    Packets Lost: 85/27829 (0.3%)
    Viewer Digest: f3a2c337-c2ba-74d5-7a98-1277a09829f8

  59. Raven Primeau says:

    Srangely, this version was dreadful after first installing it, I quickly retreated to using the standard viewer till Yesterday *Sunday* it seem better now, still buggy but at least I can stay online.

    SL itself seems blighted though, talikng to others everyone is suffering badly with all the usual problems though no death by TP or Anus Horriblus for me, mainly chatlog and everything taking upto half an hour or more to load after TP or even when changing clothing etc.

    Not being particularly techie minded I have to endure to enjoy but SL is the worst I have known for all my existance here since Aug 06.

    SL hogs my system but at least with this version I don’t get the out of memory messages, 2 gig of ram should and can run anything happily except SL it seems, to think I was running an old athlon thunderthingy with 256 ram and a geoforce 2 card when SL was in its golden days of 6000 online and it coped wonderfully. 😦

  60. coventina dalgleish says:

    Here is an interesting condition that seemed to happen after downloading this viewer. I ran it one time noticed that friends did not function and that it had the new again changed interface. First thing why do you people keep messing with things that work the current configuration of the desktop works fine noobs cant figure it out anyway. One of the things I have to show every noob I meet are the movement and camera icons why are they not presented in a default configuration.

    Well back to the problem, I went back to the standard viewer and no load. No data in the log on page and the generic linden logo. Ran error check same results, uninstall and reinstall the current viewer nope that does not work either fired up another windows login client installed the viewer there that worked but what a borky way to run a ship.

    Completed what I had to do then went on a second life hunt in the original client. Uninstall the viewer went to the registry killed all of the second life references killed all the linden refs. searched a little more for second life oh look it lives in documents and settings application data with a ton of crap that is not removed when the uninstaller is run killed the second life folder in app. data killed the cache now the system seemed to be clean of LL tentacles, maybe, I am sure there is something hiding in the registry without the LL tag.

    Reloaded the viewer and what do you know it worked

    This is a terrible way to run the linden ship if I Uninstall the damn program I expect it to be wiped from my system.

    Oh and another thing ran a registry cleaner and it did not remove the linden tags so it must be done manually

    This is for all of you people who get the log in screen then a do you want to send a crash report request slapped in your face when trying to log in hope it helps. I have seen many people talk about this.

    And while I am on the subject of whining the wiki is not a replacement for a basic instruction manual on the game. Go take a look at WoW, Everquest, or any of the mainline games they have a nice user manual for the beginners. Until you do this you will lose 80% of your new members to confusion. There is an easy way to do this LL hire a noob sit them at a desk and watch them try and interface with the game. It would be helpful if this person could also be adept at composing the written word.

  61. Raven Primeau says:

    Me Lied, came home tonight logged on …crashed….logged…crashed….logged and crashed, nice one LL NOT

  62. Raven Primeau says:

    I dont know what LLs monkeys are upto, I can’t build on my own land, rezz anything, chat lag, cant even open doors she sytem is running so damn slow……..Premium account, what the F@cX am I wasting US$47 on a Month you asses!!!!? YOU havent even the decency to tell us if something is amiss

  63. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    It seems my point is proven … Linden Labs do not – i repeat, do not – listen to their clients. They quite simply don’t give a damn about us, people. I’m getting the feeling – and I know you all are, as well – that i’m butting my head against a brickwall trying to get Linden Labs to listen to me. Then of course you get the boffins posing as general clients telling us that we should up and spend a couple hundred bucks to upgrade our computers everytime there’s a new RC or windlight upgrade that doesn’t work. Anyone get the feeling these people are really Linden Lab Employees? Plus ….. and this is really great … some regions have gone down – permanently – and there’s not even an im notice of it happening. i’m talking about the STA region – completely gone, no notice, nothing. Linden Labs QA and CR is pathetic .. and even that is giving it credit.

  64. Raven Primeau says:

    In reference to my rant last night at @61. me hangs my head in shame, seems there was a mass of reduntant scripts running in the sim where I live.

    A ticket had the inworld team pop over and remove them. hopefully aveviating a lot of my problems.

    *blushes* and says a courteous thank you to the inworld team and wont call them munkees no more…..smiles mischeviously

  65. Diminished Interest says:

    Hmm, have you noticed that the blog posts are getting less and less. Considering that any official blog is a complaint forum more than anything, one could wonder whether things have improved over the past few days or whether residents simply lost motivation and interest.

    Although the situation has slightly improved, i perceive this as reduced interest by the community. I also feel like: “Ah, LL do whatever, i try to manage around the mess you´re creating for me and everyone else”

    The basics are not working. Such as group IM & group notices not being delivered, network vendor processes fail, inventory offers & group invites send to me while i am off, your own hp is failing to load frequently, crashes & freezes on tp or just from standing around for too long and lots more of other annoyances. I don´t want to hear about any project, initiative and especially about unneeded and unwanted features. Don´t you folks at LL get tired of hearing this over and over again?

    You might want to think about this LL.

    Btw, there seems a new bug…I need to select & choose edit for whatever object now, at least 2 or 3 times before it really is selected. Click, then choose edit. Edit opens but not for the object. Great one

  66. Shai Khalifa says:

    Just a thought – but SL has been BETA for all of it’s life so far. Will there ever be a time when it’s not – or will we be paying to be testers from here to SL eternity? I’m sooooo tired of that comment from relative newcomers “you’ve all got to remember this is beta” (dah! as if we weren’t constantly aware of it).

    It would be great to have one solid piece of software as default that can be relied upon – and then you can have all the extra-goodie bits to experiment with.

    But the rest of us who don’t want to be Beta Testers can just get on with it.

    … and I’m betting that this RC STILL doesn’t work for most Macs properly (Friends & Groups lists not working etc).

    /me goes back to good old faithful (even though still slightly buggy) 1.18.3.5

  67. Tiny Mind says:

    Release Candidate 4. STILL Leaks memory Client-side over time. “Helloooo, McFlyyyyy! Anyone there???” Sheesh,

  68. Kamachi says:

    VWR-3410: Too many typing sounds when chatting in Japanese

    This bug was introduced when it was made possible to type Japanese ‘inline’ in Windows… I’m still waiting for the same feature in Linux; it’s very annoying to type text in the middle of the screen… And see a key repeating when the release key is caught by SCIM instead of the viewer…
    Am I the only Linux Japanese user? (No credit card info so no access to JIRA, sorry for posting it here…)

  69. Blinders Off says:

    And we still wonder why it is that Group Chat still doesn’t work and Group Notices don’t get to all members of the group.

    Let’s fix the teenly little things and let the big, major, reputation-killers just sit there month after month after month, totally unfixed.

    People, CHAT used to work. Chat SHOULD work. Why doesn’t it. And why isn’t LL responding to the constant inquiries regarding group chat and notices? Not a word have we heard. It’s CHAT. The most basic bulletin board on the net can handle it flawlessly. It used to work just fine on Second Life. So what’s the problem? And why, after months and months and months, isn’t it fixed?

  70. Theta Fargis says:

    RC4 Mac unarchives to a folder, not an app package.

    Leopard, latest updates, plenty of hardware.

    Used Web site link and SpeedDownload 5.0.0, not in-client download.

  71. Grow says:

    I just wanna know when you cowboys are gonna fix the friend list problems.. if you cant even do that, give up ffs. You have no hope getting other things to work

  72. U M says:

    hahah I always have the typing sounds turned off…..no biggy deal for me withthe Japanese client.

  73. U M says:

    what no Second Life WindLight update yet?

  74. Wyald Woolley says:

    There is a serious problem with the RC3 wanting to crash no matter what I’m doing. Rezzing is much slower then with the release viewer. I can’t understand…it you are squashing bugs, why is it buggier?

    Macbook Pro, 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 Gb on RAM, 10.4.11 OS and ATI Radon X1600 with 256 MB of VRAM.

    I’ve been on SL since Dec 2006 and nothing has been more unstable then RC3.

    I’d like to try RC4 when I have time to but Joshua Linden hasn’t updated the header on this thread to match the release so god only knows what was “fixed.”

  75. Sean Heying says:

    Thanks for the RC4 source on CVS before the announcement.

    Best. Version. Yet.

    This is ready for primetime.

  76. Misterbear Fapp says:

    Please, oh please fix the ATI cards. I purchased an ATI HD2900 Pro based upon current published video card frame rates. Please, I’m so tired of relogging every 30 mins to clear off my client bog down. This is a screaming card which seems slower than my old X600. Ow!

  77. Efemera Bisiani says:

    I haven’t downloaded the RC because of the same non-flashing IM thingy as in Windlight, have so many windows open at a time I get super-confused (easy done)! But just wanted to say thanks to all you guys and gals at LL for the hard work. Have definitely been noticing distinct improvements with each new main viewer release. Apart from the odd off day, usually coinciding with server patches, stability is way up for me. Hope you’re all getting plenty of love from the machine!!! (And yes, I know not strictly on-topic, but it does make me cross reading all the gripes.)

  78. marianita says:

    hace 2 dias no puedo iniciar sesion con mi cuenta SL, el error que me da es que no es posible conectarme y que me contacte con la seccion support, pero ahi tampoco encuentro ninguna solucion para esta problema. Quisiera que me digan que puedo hacer. Gracias!

  79. Penolope says:

    umm..whats the difference between RC and Windlight? For some unknown reason my basic SL began crashing like crazy before i even got into world. Even uninstalling and reinstalling didnt help and no changes to my computer have been made. Oddly, I can run Windlight now just fine. Anyhow…is this a beta client for basic SL or Windlight?

  80. marianita says:

    we are unable to complete request at this time.please contact second life support for assistence at http…. este es el mensaje q me sale cada vez que quiero iniciar sesion

  81. Penolope says:

    sorry for the double post…Misterbear there are several game clients that are having issues with ATI so it may not be fully a problem in SL side. I have an ATI card too (all in wonder x800 seriers) and have two other games where there are issues with the ATI card. ATI is aware that some of their most recent updates are not fully compatable with game clients and they claim to be working on the issue but they just released a driver update that did nothing to address compatablity issues and in fact…most games I currently play are advising players not to install the new drivers due to incompatability issues. Whatever you do DONT install the new driver set…it doesnt work well at all with SL and about 9 other games.

  82. Danball Tureaud says:

    #78: Windlight is a different development line than the release candidates. RC’s are what will become the official client. Windlight is still in BETA/production, so it hasn’t become RC quality yet.

  83. Balp Allen says:

    As for forcing updates, (good there is a know and “relativity” know workaround for this.) Before doing a JIRA all serious testers will go back atleast one version to seen when it was introduced. My computer have, 1_18_3_70780, 1_18_5_3, 1_18_6_0, 1_18_6_4, 1_18_6_76453_WINDLIGHT, 1_18_6_76886_WINDLIGHT, 1_18_6_77495_WINDLIGHT, 1_19_0_2_WINDLIGHT, 1_19_0_78429_WINDLIGHT, 1_19_0_79185_WINDLIGHT, 1_19_0_79809_WINDLIGHT installed. The 1_18_6_77495_WINDLIGHT, (with patches) is the currently only stable version one can have a night with out crashes in. Yes I prefer to run the windlight versions when ever possible.

  84. DR Dahlgren says:

    Horray, LL has read some of the issues and responded with a fix. The communications window in R4 is MUCH better. It can be scaled to very small, and the way it works is not bad. Takes a little getting used to, but all in all it works good.

    I have found a few issues and have posted to JIRA. Mainly they deal with changes in default settings.

    Thanks LL, I will keep my fingers crossed on how this gets implimented in the upgrade.

    DRD

  85. ByteDreams Slade says:

    I’d be more likely to try these RCs if there were some off-line features included in the client!

  86. Pingback: Once more with feeling: SecondLife pushes out Release Client 4 for their version 1.19.0 viewer « I’m Just an Avatar

  87. For me, the most recent RCs have gotten more and more stable for my system. RC3 especially, I noticed improved rendering/rezzing and more reliable sim crossings.

    Freezing is less and less frequent but still occuring occasionally. I have no idea if it is SL or my system causing this problem, but with so many other people reporting the same problem and also no other app causing me this problem, I think it must be SL.

    About the banline visibility, would it be worthwhile to make it a user setting?

    jenyhowlett (#48), file a support ticket. There is a ticket type especially for your situation.

    I’m downloading RC4 now, so any more feedback I have will be to JIRA.

  88. Penolope says:

    well i would still love to know why my regular client continues to crash as i am loggin in..when nothing changed on my computer..but i guess since LL dont bother with helping anyone with tech issues…i will probalby never know and will be stuck using windlight

  89. Pingback: Second Life Windlight hits release — mrtopf.de

  90. Anti Destiny says:

    @ Tiny Mind # 37 : System Memory Leak

    I believe the memory issue is in the Mozilla 2 Browser core that SL is built on top of. The Mozilla 3 beta has better memory management and runs smoother over time but the RAM accumulation issue is still there.. just not nearly as bad. Whether LL can/will ever update the Mozilla core is another story. Either way I doubt LL can magically patch around it if the Moz team couldn’t fix it.

  91. Phil Priestman says:

    Why is avatar vertex program, bump mapped and bump mapped & cloth greyed out in the new RCs?

  92. Sean Heying says:

    @76 Efemera: To solve the non-flashing IM tab problem go into debug settings on the client menu and set “ButtonFlashCount” to 999999 that will give you an approximation of the old behaviour.

  93. hallo Carter says:

    To #21…lmao…that’s what I was missing, I don’t shampoo the goldfish before logging on.
    Thank you, I am now back in sync.

  94. Balp Allen says:

    @89 Anti
    Most of the memory leaks are outside the mozilla lib, patches are in the JIRA, you can get them from Nicholaz or Henri in there alternative viewers. I’ll soon have a 1.19 based build of Nicholaz stuff for Linux at least.

  95. Raven Primeau says:

    Can anyone point this dumbo >me< in the right direction to find the Nicolaz or Henri viewers purrrrlease

    *smiles sweetly*

  96. Anti Destiny says:

    @93-94

    Spot on, I’ll check JIRA for the details, thanks! 😉

    Nicholaz’s Viewer (Info):
    http://nicholaz-beresford.blogspot.com/

    Henri’s Cool Viewer (Linux):
    http://sldev.free.fr/

    Boy Lane’s Cool Viewer (Windows):
    http://my.opera.com/boylane/blog/

Comments are closed.