Tip of the Week #21: Sound sliders explained

There are a lot of sound sliders in Second Life’s Preferences, and I get asked “WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN!?” Today, your answers.


Getvidtut.pngDOWNLOAD HIGH-QUALITY VERSION

NOTE that this vidtut highlights the 1.19 Release Candidate viewer. Click here for more info!

Remembah, I very much appreciate your feedback, especially suggestions for future video tutorials. You can scribble your ideas here, or if you’d rather email me directly, go ahead… write to torley at lindenlab dot com with the subject line “Video Tutorials”. I await your correspondence in a way that is both classy + approachable.

Torley Linden https://i2.wp.com/torley-linden.s3.amazonaws.com/little-watermelon-eye.png
     Yes, I make the music in my vidtuts too… get MP3s!

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas, Resident Experience, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Tip of the Week #21: Sound sliders explained

  1. Saint Arnulf says:

    IN BEFORE THE BREAK!

  2. Pingback: How to optimise sound in Second Life : The Metaverse Journal - Australia’s Virtual World News Service

  3. Shakeno Tomsen says:

    Thanks for this tutorial, I wasn’t sure about what the Linden$ change treshold feature was.

    By the way, just wondering… it is possible to change the menu sounds and replace them by one of your own?

  4. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Does the CIA know you have terrorist sound sliders in SL? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I’m not sure they’ve cottoned to the capability of *changing the volume* as a problem yet, but check this out:

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/02/05/AR2008020503144_pf.html

  5. Creem says:

    So if rolloff factor controls the attenuation of sounds by distance, what should the distance factor control? Would it be the maximum distance an object can be from your camera before being muted at all?

    Like maybe:
    objectVolume=(distance < distanceFactor)/(distance^rolloffFactor), where distance is is the distance between your camera and the object?

  6. Jacqueline Trudeau says:

    Is it me, or there is a problem when something that should be so simple in concept, such as as sound sliders, needs explaining.

  7. Figured I wasn’t going to watch this as I’m really familiar with the sound controls.

    *But* had to watch it because it’s TORLEY! heheh.

    And, as usual, there always seems to be something there I didn’t know before. I should learn to never doubt the Master!

    Thanks Torley – instructional, informative and entertaining as always! πŸ™‚

  8. venus jervil says:

    Thanks for that Torley, thoroughly enjoyed it, and found it very useful.
    Always enjoy your vids, they are friendly, informative and extremely clear!
    πŸ™‚

  9. Moll Dean says:

    ****************

    Hi all.
    Hi Torley.

    Thank you for the tip of this week and glad, really happy in fact that Linden staff is now in touch with us. Inviting people for in-world meeting, replying question here (sl.blog) and open connect like you did giving your email. The young company is growing up!

    I would like to sugest more tip covering building. Some quite hard to build shapes like huge round floor or Big piramides would be interesting.

    You have listened me before in other posts… I am needing VERY MUCH a way to keep building things but I can not be connected to internet. SECOND LIFE only works if I am logged in and there is no way to use CREATE TOOLS if I am offline. Right? So please LL… release some offline simulator just for builders… I appreciate if someone post any reply here.

    Hugs all

    .

  10. Ooh, handy an timely, cuz I’ve been messin with those sliders lately.

  11. Don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone call a URL an “earl” πŸ˜›

  12. Kugel says:

    You know…. despite my whining about SL… its bugs..annoyances… etc..etc..ad nauseum…. these videos are worth a thousand words.

    In every one there has been at least one snippet where I have gone “Ohhhhhh…. I didnt know that” πŸ™‚

    So keep up the good work Torley… tyvm. πŸ™‚

    /me mutters.. shoe up my a$$ again 😦

  13. Cat Gisel says:

    Do you make the ambient sounds? πŸ™‚

  14. Nad Gough says:

    Another excellent vid. Can we get a new slider on the volume thingy? I am troubled by Xcite chatter. more often than not merely ambient. Thank you.

  15. Candace Ducatillon says:

    Excellent tutorial … thank you. Never would’ve known!
    And I appreciate your speaking more slowly in your tuts these days … makes it so much easier to follow along.

  16. mimi says:

    @ Moll.. you can create sculpts offline with wings3d, maya, blender..

  17. Jambalaya Fonck says:

    “Oh, wait a minute…I think someone shot me…” πŸ˜€

    Priceless!

    Great video, Torley! Thanks!

  18. Moll Dean says:

    # 16 – Mimi

    Thanks for your comment.
    Yes, I do and I have done some sculpties but it is not useful to make buildings, houses, etc…

  19. You Customer says:

    Thank your for another interesting tutorial. However, I must comment that though the quality of the tutorials are improving the subject matter is becoming less relevent to the majority of Second Life consumers.

    If would be of greater benefit to your customers if the tutorials addressed the most common problems they are upset about. After reading many blog comments, some obvious suggestions are:

    I just teleported and now my hair and shoes are attached to my butt. Does everyone see my like this? How can I fix this so it doesn’t happen on the next teleport.

    I’m missing half of my inventory and have done all the recommended fixes with no recovery of the missing items. Are there resources available to help me deal with my anger?

    I walked across a sim border and fell under the land. After popping up I’m now Ruthed. Is there anyway to prevent this?

    I spent weeks working on a product and one day after its release I see it in dozens of freebie shops. Is there anything I can do to stop this?

    I crash within 5 minutes of logging on. Are they any changes in preferences that I can make to reduce the number of crashes?

  20. Pepper Haas says:

    Oh, right, a tip useful for our new sl we are going to get whether we want it or not, such fun playing with all the sliders first before we can take a step, oops, crash on tp under pretty skies.

  21. Pepper Haas says:

    @#19, allow me to answer your questions:

    1. It is called “butkiss” a known problem in sl which seems to be unfixable. The remedy is detach all and reattach, or relog. And yes, others see you that way.

    2. No. Lindens seem to flatly not care. If they did, they would refund the purchase price of items lost. After all, they can make lindens out of thin air.

    3. Again, no. It is probably related to butkiss, and the only remedy for appearing Ruthed is relog. (and do clear cache a lot!)

    4. Set your permissions right and only have it out for sale when you are in your shop monitoring who comes in. Also, real life lawsuits have been filed against sl copyright violators (google sex bed). Do not expect the Lindens to act against thieves soon, first we must have more pretty skies.

    5. It might be a good idea to find an older viewer (18.3) and stick with it till they MAKE you change to the newer more crashprone versions. Also make sure your videocard driver is updated. And yes you can try adjusting some things down in Preferences (bandwith etc.) and see if that helps.

  22. Dekka Raymaker says:

    Pyramids I think was Moll meaning “Big piramides”, They very doable, I made a 50 meter one, however, took me ages to align the surfaces up and a lot of tweaking to reduce flashing.

  23. shaq Merlin says:

    Hi,

    Nice video. Thanks, Stay cool πŸ˜‰

    Regards,
    shaq

  24. Wayfinder Wishbringer says:

    Torley, thanks for a great and interesting tutoral. I have often wondered what the “doppler” and other sliders do. Now I know that they’re useless and I can ignore them. πŸ˜€ Seriously, I do appreciate the explanations.

    @19 You customer.

    Please refer to very accurate answers from Pepper @21. In addition…

    “I’m missing half of my inventory and have done all the recommended fixes with no recovery of the missing items. Are there resources available to help me deal with my anger?”

    While many people think griefing a Linden whenever possible is gratifying, it can get you permabanned from SL (which can also be gratifying, depending on how one views it). A consistent “recover inventory” method I’ve found is to use the EDIT/PREFERENCES/NETWORK/CLEAR CACHE option and relog. It’s amazing how many times that restores inventory. This is a necessary step, because apparently someone at Linden Lag has their head up…well, NM. Suffice it to say inventory, like everything else is borked.

    Of course, this is understandable. Considering the extreme complexity of Second Life, we can sympathize how difficult it can be for LL to make the more difficult parts work properly: things like oh… chat and a basic inventory database, for example. Really difficult things, chat and a database.

    “I walked across a sim border and fell under the land. After popping up I’m now Ruthed. Is there anyway to prevent this?”

    Not to prevent it, but there is a way to fix it without relogging: wear another avatar and then re-wear your original. That almost always fixes being “Ruthed”. Of course, you can have more fun by simply putting on the basic Ruth avatar, appearing in the middle of Ahern newbie welcome area, and crying loudly, “OH NO! I’VE BEEN RUTHED! SECOND LIFE HAS MESSED UP AGAIN!” That can be quite rewarding. (Tongue in cheek comment. I would not actually recommend that. Leave the stunts to the other griefers who constantly visit the Newbie areas. :D)

    “I spent weeks working on a product and one day after its release I see it in dozens of freebie shops. Is there anything I can do to stop this?”

    Yes, there is a 100% effective way to prevent this happening: stop spending weeks working on SL products. Linden Lab doesn’t give a rat’s hiney what happens to your product. They stand by and do nothing while people steal entire sims; they’re sure not going to worry about our piddly little product. They know CopyBot exists, they know it’s existed for years, and have done absolutely nothing about it.

    They COULD of course, put in automatic CopyBot detectors in their system that banish anyone trying to use one, but NOOOOOOO… that would be too easy and effective. They would rather force their customers to put out dozens of Copybot detectors and increase sim lag. How widespread is this problem? Anyone notice the recent increase in freebie clothing lately? Hundreds and thousands and zillions of freebie clothing offerings. Wonder where all that free stuff came from? Can you tell us, Linden Lab? And why don’t you care enough for your customers to stop this?

    “I crash within 5 minutes of logging on. Are they any changes in preferences that I can make to reduce the number of crashes?”

    Absolutely! Don’t log in. πŸ˜€

  25. Tensai Hilra says:

    Quick question Torley: not sure if I’m missing it, but is there a quick and easy place to get all the tutorials in a podcast format? mp4 seems to lend well to the task, but it would be nice to have new ones fed to me as I sync. Thanks and keep up the good work!

  26. Rob A says:

    This is the first one of your video tuts that I’ve seen, Torley, but it is totally entertaining. I already know how to use the sound sliders, but I think I’ll watch it again just because you make me laugh xD

  27. Alyx Sands says:

    #11, Kevin- don’t tell me you pronounce it you-ar-el? Nobody I know does that…..”earl” is far easier. And the linguist in me says, as long as you can pronounce an acronym like a word, do so. There are even acronyms such as SCSI that get pronounced as words even though they technically can’t be pronounced…”scuzzy” πŸ˜‰

  28. leswhite says:

    Is it possible to separate the useful foot step sounds (hear avs near by when 100 things are covering your screen) from the useless and annoying lo-fi wind sound?

    It used to be this way before your UI team, urm, improved it with their magic touch.

  29. Shai Khalifa says:

    Hi Torley. Love your tutes. One suggestion for a possible topic is an explanation of all the aspects of the About Land window, in particular the Options – like turning build on/off, scripts etc and their relevance to groups, visitors, roles in groups etc

    Ta
    πŸ™‚ Shai

  30. nomoresecrets says:

    Wayfinder, ure great!!
    giggles

  31. nomoresecrets says:

    #19, here is the 1.18.3(5) viewer works good for me…

    http://www.file-upload.net/download-656839/Second-Life-1-18-3-5-Setup.exe.html

    i just uploaded it. its the original and it is okay. would love i could use the 1.15 again

  32. Bellini Cazalet says:

    Thank you so much Torley, I love your video tutorials. I always learn something new. I love to be able to help somebody else when they ask “How do you…?” So I help, and then send them to the Blog. *grin*

  33. AmigaDragon Greatrex says:

    The day’s not even finished and the video already says “no longer available”!

  34. Awaken Yoshikawa says:

    Very nice video, I learn a lot, but I forget a lot so I have to watch again.
    I have problem, I report but nobody can fix. I hear music clearly everyplace but second life. Other websites no problem but in sl, it plays behind, doubles and is distorted. I have reloaded sl several times, put new drivers, sliders adjusted a thousand ways but music everywhere in sl is distored, slow, doubled. My rl partner has celeron processor, I have pentium with xp. My partners music is fine. I checked line with IP, fine. Only in sl
    Does anybody know?

  35. FireFox Bancroft says:

    @28, I’m with you on that, I hate they coupled the Footstep and Ambient sounds together, they really should decouple the footstep sounds from the ambient. I’m hoping there is already a Jira suggestion, but if not I’d suggest it anyways.

  36. Nedrae Messmer says:

    Nice tutorial as always, but is it just me or is Torley’s voice becoming um, louder as time goes by? I have nothing against his tutorials or anything, but I’ve found as of late that I’ve had to turn the volume down a bit when I watch them <.<

  37. nomoresecrets says:

    quote” * We’re not going to call this [RESOLVED] again until we’re sure the tag fits.

    –teeple
    /quote

    thank you Teeple Linden… maybe will cost u something inworld… πŸ™‚ hehehe

    ps: and stop posting : thank you for your patience…. no one believes it anymore and we didnt find a shortcut for it that fits all unloadable gestures.,…. its all our fault…. hahahahahaha

  38. Mimi says:

    Suggestion for the next tutorial: how do I file a DMCA? How do I sue a content thief?

    It took many months and 700 JIRA votes to finally remove the stolen skins from the well known thief shop ‘soul’. MANY MONTHS in which this guy “rubnet olivier” made lots of money on STOLEN items without LL doing ANYTHING about it or giving any help to us about what we should do.

    We content creators are TIRED of this. Many of us have stopped releasing skins and items because we don’t know what to do anymore to stop the rippers.

    We are tired of hearing its our fault things are taking so long, and are tired of other people selling our creations and earning money on them without getting any proper help from LL on how to stop then and how to get our money back.

    This is a very important topic for all the 700(!) people who voted for svc-676. These 700 people are DESPERATE and need help. Our problems deserve some attention too!

    LL promised us in the TOS we keep copyright of our creations, but in how far is this true? What can we do to stop rippers? How do we file a DMCA the way the thief will be stopped fast? How do we sue a thief to get our money back and to prevent him from selling it elsewhere?

    Can you devote a topic to this so we know how we should do it the best way?

    More than 700 angry and desperate people voted for SVC-676, Torley, who need help. Please help us and give us a helpful video like you did on other topics!

  39. Wayfinder Wishbringer says:

    @38

    Unfortunately, it’s difficult if not impossible to sue a content thief on Second Life. Why? Primarily money and logistics. If it was small-claims court in your area, pain enough. But try filing a suit against someone in another state, another part of the country, or another part of the world. Nigh impossible.

    That is why Linden Lab really needed to step up to the plate and protect their customers on this. They totally failed to do so. They should have installed systems to detect use of devices such as CopyBot, along with a zero-tolerance ban policy for those found using it. They didn’t .

    Linden Lab seems to be only interested in protecting their corporate interests. Let someone breathe “illegal activity” that might involve LL itself, and the company will shut down and ban people without a moment’s notice. But let someone blatantly steal land or even sims from groups… and LL couldn’t care less. Let someone harass another user, backstab someone, slander them… too bad.

    Second Life is a society with no police force. As such, it is pretty much total anarchy. It is absolutely one of the worst monetary investments a person can make. There is no assurance of investment protection, no regulation, almost no user moderation. LL is undeniably corporate-self-interest minded rather than customer minded and they’ve allowed people to be attacked and harmed, even signifcantly, for years. Land thefts is an old and well-known problem.

    If someone rips off your products, very little you can do about it in the way of lawsuits. LL gives lip service to DCMA, but as with you, I have heard nothing in the way of actual enforcment, how to file a complaint, nor proof of LL reacting to such.

  40. rex cronon says:

    @ #38 “Mimi Says: February 7th, 2008 at 11:25 PM PST”
    -doing the following “might” help u prove that u r the author of a specific image:
    -a)create a gray scale image, lets say 128×128
    -b)draw/type your name so that it covers most of the image area. it could be a copyright notice. lets call this image the watermark.
    -c)in a photo editing software open the image(like a skin or texture) u want to upload. do NOT edit/delete this file after the watermarked version was created.
    -d)create a new layer over it, and put the watermark in it.
    -e)shrink/stretch the watermark so that it covers the whole image
    -f)decrease opacity of watermark layer until is almost invisible(should be somewhere from 0.5 to 1.5)
    -g)set the operation between layers to either: add, subtract, or normal
    -h)merge visible layers
    -i)save the new image as bmp
    -after doing the above steps the watermark image shouldn’t be visible to the naked eye. the watermark will show, if a AND, OR operation is done between the original image, and the watermarked one. this might help u prove whether or not u r the creator of a specific image. i don’t know if a judge will accept this kind of a proof.
    @ #39 “Wayfinder Wishbringer Says: February 8th, 2008 at 12:26 AM PST”
    -sadly a “copybot detector” might be impossible to make. The copybot was made using libsl(uses c#), but now as the code for the viewer(uses c++) is available, anybody that knows how to program can mode it so that it can be used to download images, and other things. It doesn’t matter how the “copybot” was made, LL can’t tell if the things is downloading are being cloned, or not.

  41. Mimi says:

    Yes, but what does LL do when they know its mine, and i have prove of it. Whats does LL do when i prove in court that the item is mine, they just tell the person to close the shop thats it.

    He sends the item to an alt, and starts over again, another lawsuit…. this can be done endlessly

    What do they do when someone spreads my item full perms? You cant do anything because linden labs wont help you. They prefer to ignore it.

    LL could easily clean up all thes stolen copies of dante and X2, by removing the UUID but did LL do that? No they just ignore it.

    They ignore the request for help, they igrnore our requests about information on how to do this the legal way by going to court.

    I wouldnt mind going to court if my skin was spread freebie, but i WOULD need to have LL help clean up the copies. And LL just doesnt answers us, IGNORES the whole thread. So much for transparency or customer service!

    They made us very angry, maybe we should have collect all content creators post here on the blog for half a year, just like we did with the lag, and put signs in their shops, before they are going to listen, but this way they don’t!

  42. Pepper Haas says:

    It occurs to me that since real life lawsuits have been filed against sl content thieves (google sex bed) the one effective way to get Linden Labs to cooperate is to sue them as well as the thief, for enabling.

  43. Pingback: Tip of the Week #21: Sound sliders explained | NAUGHTY PROJECTS CLUB

  44. Pingback: Tip of the Week #22: Editing and uploading sounds « Official Linden Blog

  45. Pingback: MMODump.com » Blog Archive » Tip of the Week #22: Editing and uploading sounds

  46. Pingback: Tip of the Week #23: Using SLURLs for easy travel « Official Linden Blog

Comments are closed.