New WindLight Viewer! (76886)

Download It Here!!!

Hey all. Lots of good fixes in this one!…

* Trees are no longer lit by local lights.
* MISC-869: WindLight: Disk image for 1.18.6.76453 won’t mount on Mac OS X
* VWR-3287: WindLight: Tree lighting appears uneven and harsh during certain times
* VWR-3963: Windlight 1-18-6-76116 does not load
* VWR-3958: Sky Mesh Detail shows stripes/bands/circles in the sky
* Crash on mac… another glFlush outside
* VWR-3226: WindLight: Terrain near draw distance is sometimes “checkerboarded” and not rendered
* VWR-3437: WindLight: Crash after switching from window to fullscreen mode
* Bogus “computer does not meet Second Life’s minimum system requirements” warning from Windlight
* VWR-3466: Aspect Ratio and fullscreen resolution settings not sticky
* WindLight: Fog Density Exponent slider doesn’t go to 0.0 correctly
* VWR-3666: WindLight: “Fullscreen Aspect Ratio” should be grayed out when “Auto-detect” is checked
* Make Help windows for advanced environmental shaders in windlight be child windows out to the side
* some old water shader makes water flicker
* On Vista in fullscreen using a 8800GTS, impostor updates cause a blank frame
* glow flickers A LOT
* avatars are rendered in wrong region for a frame after crossing region boundary
* WindLight: Underwater gap when WindLight shaders are off

See the full list of open WindLight bugs.As always, keep on doing a great job using, issue tracking/reporting, commenting on the viewer, and especially attending our WindLight office hours. These are at:

If you miss a session, transcripts are posted here.

Below youโ€™ll find links to important info related to WindLight:

Happy lighting!!

Regards,
Pastrami Linden and the WindLight Team

This entry was posted in -Miscellaneous, Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, Development, New Releases, Resident Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

150 Responses to New WindLight Viewer! (76886)

  1. Paol Oh says:

    Gotcha!

  2. Broccoli Curry says:

    Wouldn’t auto update when I ran the viewer, am downloading directly from the link above now.

    I’m hoping that this might fix a bug I have found with a script that worked previously on non-Windlight viewers. Can I talk to you about it somewhere?

    When can we have shiny and transparent together? Please???

  3. Ann Otoole says:

    /me downloads to see if VWR-3888 is fixed….

  4. Pastrami Linden says:

    Auto Updating should now be working again. Comments re-enabled!

  5. Dekka Raymaker says:

    Mac version downloaded fine

  6. Berry Steinhoff says:

    Still looking fabulous, and i’m relieved that firing up the viewer is a lot quicker than before. A LOT quicker!

  7. Keef Klaar says:

    Loving the new windlight, as usual seems to be more stable than regular viewer. I have Pentium 2.8ghz, 1.5gb Ram, Geforce 7600 512mb card…. and It runs lovely ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Heard this today…. can’t resist passing it on..

    Q: How many lindens does it take to change a lightbulb?
    A: Only 1 – but they need to shut down the entire grid to do it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Keep up the good work guys.. Looking forward to the time when this is out of Beta ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Alyx Sands says:

    @Thor, which ATI is that??? Looks horrible!

  9. Beast Mauvaise says:

    I’m looking forward to trying this version out. So far I’m enormously pleased with the Windlight client; not only do things look gorgeous (even with my unsupported chipset!) but I’ve been finding it MORE stable than the release client. A few bugs, yes, but they seem to get addressed with each new version.
    I don’t pretend to know how any of this works, but whatever you’re doing, keep it up!

  10. o.h. says:

    As soon as I got my new computer I went and reworked mywhole place into windlight goodness and the feedback form those who can see it is spectecular, im hearing it even convinced soem to get the client int he first place.
    however, i cant point out oftne enough that all these effort are completely in vain as long as the ati issue isnt resolved.

  11. Danika says:

    Hi, sorry for ask because maybe I missing some thing, but I have Mac and I tried today first time this Windlight. It looks beautiful, but, there is some problem about “Take Off Clothing”. Where is now under things? Is no option for take off undershirt, underwear… my friend use Windows version and for her is there as normal, but not on Mac.

    Sorry for silly thing but we need this one so can the software designers please checking? Big thanks!

  12. Burgundy Rahja says:

    I thought I would download this to see what all the fuss was about. Well my avatar looks like i have a very strange skin disease. Walls seems to be suffering from a creeping mold. I adjusted some settings between “medium”, “max” and “ultra” with no real affect. On reading the FAQ more it seems like if I attach a body light and tweak several debug settings I will look fantastic. LOL. There really is something fundamentally wrong with the user experience here.

    Sorry but couldnt the out of the box experience here by more focused on the 40k concurrent and 1M monthly visiting population?

  13. Raudf Fox says:

    I almost stopped using the main client, between the RC and Windlight.. and Windlight has been my prefered for a bit now, since the noon default was fixed for my poor avatars! *hugs* Glad to see more fixes!

  14. Pounamu Kohime says:

    /me gets down on hands and knees with tears streaming down her face thanking the Linden gods effusively for fixing the black bands/stripes in the sky issue…or have they? Haven’t d/loaded the newest viewer yet, so we shall see but I will be SOOO happy if they have!!

    Hehe, I’ll be back if they haven’t!!

  15. Thank you! I like the lighting way better!

  16. Ann Otoole says:

    VWR-3888 and several associated UI wonkies jira entries fixed. proof the jira works without the need for bickering and debate. enter the defects with proper documentation and stuff gets fixed. good job windlight team.

  17. Fox Absolute says:

    Still has the 10 second startup crash for me. I wish nVidia would get their act together.

  18. Lupercaleb Walcher says:

    you guys are amazing, all these fixes to windlight… so many at a time too. just impressive!

  19. Eurydice Barzane says:

    Lighting much improved ~ can use the default or midday settings without the ugly shadows that were affecting avatar appearance. (hallelujah!)
    The black bands in the sky are also gone. Really pleased with this update!

  20. Ah this is great. I love to see progress.

  21. Soo Novi says:

    I’d love to say I love it, but I keep crashing when I cross a sim border…so I’m not sure if it’s the new Windlight Client, or instability in SL, or what. I’ve crashed three times in less than 10 minutes! Now the 3 minute wait has been instituted before I can log back in, so I thought I’d post here my experiences in the first 10 minutes of the new windlight.

    However, until this moment I’ve found windlight to be more stable than the regular client…so…we’ll see.

  22. FireFox Bancroft says:

    I found the perfect workaround to Windlight issues on ATi/Vista setups, you go to your Control Panel and look for a icon that says Programs and Features, scroll down to the Second Life Windlight viewer then click Uninstall….Problem solved. This workaround works great with my HD 2900XT ๐Ÿ˜›

  23. RC Paderborn says:

    @8 here’s how I heard it.

    Q: How many Lindens does it take to change a light bulb?

    A: 252

    250 Lindens to build the grid to hold the light bulb.
    + 4,000,000 residents of which 1,000,000 pay to test the grid and viewer, to make SL a success.
    + 1 Linden to collect a Technical Emmy
    + 1 Linden to change the light bulb
    + 10,000 residents to tell them that the light bulb is broken
    + 50 residents to complain that the previous light bulb was brighter
    + 30 residents to praise the Linden for changing the light bulb
    + 70 residents to complain about things other than light bulbs.

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (installing the new Windlight Client as I type this.)

  24. nando says:

    agora so aconta que foi dificil de fazer mais o jogo รฉ muito legal111

  25. RC Paderborn says:

    BTW it should be noted that light bulbs will soon be banned in Second Life. We’ll have to use compact fluorescent lamps instead. Hehehe

  26. dazz anvil says:

    OMG. I don’t know if its just me, but I can’t keep this version running for more than 15 minutes. Just now my avatar exploded into a chaotic mess of colorful geometric shapes and I crashed. That’s a new one on me. Aside from the instability I’ve experienced since downloading it, it seems pretty cool.

  27. FireFox Bancroft says:

    This one’s no different than the last version it still crashes before you can enter your login information and click connect.

  28. magnus says:

    well yet again you have fixed the bells and whistles and given it to your Mac customers right up the JAcksee. I crashed as soon as I tried to TP somewhere. Do all the MAc users a favor, fix the damn MAc problems before you redo the lighting or the carpet or the water or any of the other window dressing that you pat yourselves on the back for while you hang the MAc customers out to dry.

  29. Farallon Greyskin says:

    Nice but.. WHY did you get rid of the environment editor hot key?!?!? I used it ALL THE TIME, it was GREAT, now it’s GONE! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Please put it back K? Thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. Argie Rives says:

    Thanks for the new Update =)

  31. Cruise Swain says:

    Awesome fixes, thank you.

  32. Kasolai Nighbor says:

    I really wish the LL networking/server team was as competent as the windlight team! Congrats to the windlight team on yet another version with visable improvements and a bag of bugfixes! You guys really need to spread your work ethic and enthusiastic progress around in LL!

  33. Davo Lane says:

    why oh why does it crash before I can log in??
    am I missing something?

  34. Maris Kanto says:

    Maybe a bit offtopic, but – would be cool to finally solve the issue with being able to remove scripts from from no-modify objects. If object is no-modify, then the next owner SHOULD NOT BE ABLE to remove a script from it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. Davo Lane says:

    WHY?

  36. concerned says:

    Havent had any issues with ati cards but if you are it might be an idea to use omega drivers,if you do this id advise reset all your graphics options as sometimes with sl if you swap from ati to omega drivers some errors creep in till you say set draw difference shorter then click back to original then click apply.

  37. Autumn Heyse says:

    Light colored textures still get blown out at noon on defaults. Seems to me that they should look no lighter than they would as “full bright”. In fact to make it realistic a texture should never ever be lightened under any circumstance. Even under direct sunlight there would be some degree of darkness at play. Avatars look great though.

  38. concerned says:

    @35 if someone sets something as no mod it should remain that way,there is no way of you knowing what is in the script you are deleting and might have an undsired effect for example i might name a script color selector but in that script i might have other controls,
    Then you come back to creator complaining my item doesnt work and suprise suprise creator finds you have removed a script.
    If you have an issue or want something changed contact creator,before buying is best but after they might also help.
    If not and you dont want the item as it is,simple dont buy it.

  39. leliel Mirihi says:

    @29 magnus

    Windllight always has and continues to work fine on my mac. In fact i’ve never had any major problems with any client since i started over a year ago. While windlight may have a problem with your praticular mac that doesn’t mean it has one with all mac’s or that the lindens hate mac users.

  40. Slevin Despres says:

    I have the same problems like Thor. With an ATI 3850

    Thor Says:
    January 10th, 2008 at 5:38 PM PST

    my ATI didnโ€™t like it, once again http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/9546/35lx1.png

  41. concerned says:

    slevin a 3850 should have no issues can i ask are you runnig it in vista with dx10?

  42. Daten Thielt says:

    @27 Go into ur preferences, hardware settings, and dissable VBO works perfect :P, briliant release but for some reason textures are loading slower for me, but if u ask me, its better to be pacient

  43. concerned says:

    @41 if you are running vista with direct x 10 id advise putting direct x 9c on,dx10 isnt ready and pointless right now,even crysis has a work around to play dx10 settings in dx9c,There is an issue with hdr and bloom effects with dx10 and unsupported software.

  44. Selkit Diller says:

    *PLEASE* disable the alpha culling in windlight. The only way to disable this is to turn off shaders, and for a machinimatographer, this is entirely unacceptable. I cannot have windows in film suddenly going from opaque (or worse, not even there!) to their proper alpha at arbitrary distances or very inopportune moments. At least give us the option to *disable* this unrequested, unwanted “feature”, please.

  45. Olin Homewood says:

    The option for parcel owners on private sims to restrict access based on age verification in the โ€œAccessโ€ tab of โ€œAbout Landโ€ is going to cause a great deal of problems due to the red ban lines.

    If one where to look at any number of private sims offering land for sale, they would see that ban lines are almost universally prohibited โ€“ to the point where a sim owner will sever a ties with a โ€œtenantโ€, or land owner, usally without refund. People buy land from private sim owners in large part because they do not want to see ban lines like they often do on the mainland.

    So while the option takes a step forward in offering a sim owner protection against potential liability stemming from under aged people visiting parcels on their sim, it takes a huge step backwards in the fact that they cannot allow this protection to be in place due to the red ban lines and the current business practice of the vast majority of sim owners.

    So now private sim owners are forced into assuming this potential liability or else allow ban lines and lose a real selling point for their offerings. Is it a stretch to say that business will suffer for either option (allowing ban lines or suffer the consequences of a law suit) all because of the red markings on the ban lines?!

    Why canโ€™t there be a way to have ban lines without the red words around the parcel, and just an invisible barrier?

  46. Anthony77777 Bandit says:

    Uncredible….after all the versions of windlight…..Light feature(under prim features)is still broken…and cant be turned on.Any shinny thing is still grey
    Fix this thing please.

  47. Hevenz Vansant says:

    wow

    i must admit thus far this viewer is the most stable of all releases, i had crash issues under the regluar viewer and the windlight prior to this release and been using it all day and not a single crash, good job team.

  48. Effulgent Brown says:

    I still cant log in to windlight ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    /me goes back to old viewer

  49. U M says:

    Thank you very much for the update ๐Ÿ™‚ I logging in now to use it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you again

  50. Sarge says:

    Nice, now can we fix surl’s in the RC, and make the normal client actually work right? Things have been rezzing at dinosaur speed ofr me for a full week.

    My bandwidth is fine on every other game. Only SL acts up.

  51. Coyote Jansen says:

    I totally agree with Sarge (#51) For the past week, since the last rolling restart, everything takes forever to rez, gray walls, gray ground, gray avies…. it wasn’t like this 2 weeks ago, and my computer hasn’t changed…

  52. Angel Sunset says:

    Are the network packet thingies back? I can’t test until I get home. This was promised in the JIRA a while ago, but up to now, no sign of them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    On the login crash issue: Windlight seems to use more power on the computer. I have solved a long-standing “crash every few minutes”, originally a “crash after a few minutes”, and lately a “crash on startup”issue by checking that the power supply of my computer has more than 20A available on 12V+ line (it is printed on the power supply), cos that is what my card (and most NVidia cards, I checked) needs. With the normal client, the power was BARELY enough… with Windlight, not quite …

  53. Soo Novi says:

    Ok, I’m still crashing at sim borders even on the old viewer, so it’s apparently just a new problem exclusive to me and only cropping up since windlight was updated. Not a windlight specific problem.

    Which is to say – never mind.

  54. U M says:

    This is a nice release. At the moment no problems.

  55. Masuyo Aabye says:

    still no word on when ATi will get into gear with fixing the opebGL issue? the HD series of cards will not activate water shaders. whats the use of making changes to the rendering system if it alienates high end ATi card users?
    other than that, it’s a stable viewer, liking the work LL does on SL, keep it up ๐Ÿ˜€

  56. Vincent says:

    Definitly not for the mac : startup screen (name/location) has a window taste, mini-map is still buggy, crash everytime you select “Land & L$” in Group Info…

    Too bad, because graphics & optimization are perfect on my iMac.

    Noone uses Mac in LL ?

  57. FlaranChamenthi Rau says:

    I use Windlight with Nicholaz and the really annoying thing which no one seems to mention is that I can’t take off underclothes by right clicking my av. The layer isn’t there! Only ALL CLOTHES. And this latest viewer makes basic skirts turn invisible. Sometimes they’re there, then not. And they can’t be seen in APPEARANCE. Apart from that I love the speed they rez things and light is beautiful.

  58. The underwear bug (that looks SO wrong now that I type it) is not *just* a WL thing- been watching it for a while now over at the JIRA. Sorry to hear it’s not fixed in this version but nevertheless am excited about a new WL release. Woo, and furthermore, HOO!

  59. U M says:

    Client looks stable.No real problems thats what matters at the moment small under waer bugs is the least of the problem. Nice job LL tech monkeys ๐Ÿ™‚

  60. smokin Anderton says:

    @41, I have the exact same problem after installing a ATi 3850 too. I think the 7.12 drivers and SL really hate each other.

    It seems even basic shaders have to be turned off to get it back to normal, and then we might as well just use the old client…

    Oh, before LL or others jump in to slate ATi, I’ve a huge number of other games, all of which work perfect on this card…

    ATi HD 3850, 7.12 Catalyst drivers, WinXP.

  61. Kana says:

    Uhm… I tried buying something from my own store to test the new vendor (I use SL vendor system) for $800. Then suddenly it charged me $1510, even though I’m paying myself??? Lol so I basically lost $1510 for nothing XD.

    If this is a universal bug of Windlight, I think it’s very serious since it’s connected to the main grid.

  62. Kana says:

    Lol sorry for the last post. It was my mistake.

  63. Nik Woodget says:

    @61 How many of those games are using OpenGL rather than Direct X?
    As SL uses OpenGL compatability and driver problems will be different from games that use DirectX ๐Ÿ˜›

  64. Stoltz Sinatra says:

    @62 Kana

    Maybe you should contact the vendor creator instead? Its more likely that it is a vendor problem, rather than a windlight one.

    Faulty payments are usually a problem on a server level rather than on client level.

  65. You give the link to the sources archive, but the sources for this new WL version are still not available thereโ€ฆ

    Please, upload the sources !

  66. Mifune Thibaud says:

    Good job guys, although I still think that the more contrasty dynamic lighting should be kept (undersides of objects should always be noticably darker)

  67. Guilhermon Nikolaidis says:

    I have a big bug to report, where can i do it? All prims with full bright option checked on, that are close to another prim, are surrounded by pink lines. (I have a scnapshot to show it) At my partner’s laptop that did not happen. So i think it’s a problem with my graphic hardware (RADEON X300).

  68. Thank you much for the important fixes, it is phantastic.
    Keep on the good work.

  69. Marianne McCann says:

    Seems to work okay for me. Haven’t tried any piccies yet. I did notice a crash if I went from low to ultra (and vice versa) in one step. I’ll try an get those on the JIRA.

  70. Lucian Halasy says:

    Finally able to shrink the chat window back to small size.
    Now get the tiny lag meters back into the upper right corner (yes, get rid of that search thing.. we got already a search button on the bottom for gods sake) and i’ll use the newer clients instead of 1.18.4.3 all time.

  71. Domchi Underwood says:

    Auto-updating doesn’t work for me either, I’m downloading it manually right now.

    And of course, one more wote for bandwidth bars… I can’t live without them, and I can’t live without the skies. ๐Ÿ™‚

  72. U M says:

    oh oh rotation bug is occuring again………Freezing EKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKk

  73. Iskar Ariantho says:

    Source of Windlight 76886 (ad RC 1.18.6.3 for that matter) are not there

  74. Amiryu Hosoi says:

    40 – Not all Macs?
    We are working and developing in Second Life and ever since the update to leopard Second Life is unusable to us.
    Crashes just a few secs after startup. Done everything, delete library, reinstall, adjust settings, tried Windlight, First Look and Nicalaz edition. Just not working at all. Cant make a dime this way. I think the problems are a combination of SL related bugs, NVIDIA and leopard.

    The Mac we use is top of the line and just not working…

    Specs:
    Model: iMac
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2.33 GHz
    L2-cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 3 GB
    Busspeed: 667 MHz
    ROM-versie: IM61.0093.B07

  75. Ric Mollor says:

    2 questions concerning the Windlight viewer.

    Will all subsequent viewers be tied to the new login process? Currently it is impossible to log into alternative (non-Linden) grids with the current RC.

    Is there any consideration of the use of stereo glasses with the viewer? I haven’t seen any mention of the technology but certainly consider it a logical extension of an ‘immersive’ experience.

  76. Sammytha Paine says:

    Same error forever….

    I report the error but never any read it in here:
    https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-3987

    Crash on loading page.

  77. Vivienne says:

    Atmospheric Shaders still do not run on ATI Radeon 9800.

  78. Thor says:

    to be more specific, yes my windlight viewer sux when shaders are activated, yes i have an ATI RADEON HD 2400, and yes it’s running on VISTA with direct x 10, and yes… it’s awful, hopefully i’m not the only one with this problem lol

    and… no i won’t buy a new card xD

  79. I am loving this viewer more and more. My only issue was the reflection of the sun/moon on the water causing a blinding amount of white on the screen. I had access to advanced water but advanced sky was grayed out. Keep up the good work.. amazing!

  80. Geister Pfeffer says:

    I dont waste my time with installinmg this new viewer, it works longer then 10 seconds.. yeah !

    But i dont have any Water reflections !!

    I use ATI Radeon X1600 with newest driver 7.12

  81. Geister Pfeffer says:

    But after 5 minutes was sl completly exploded.. lol nothing new. so better use the normal client.

  82. Thor says:

    erhm… actually i think it’s running with directx 9, directx 10 is still not available, and i read u have to pay for it o.o

  83. Geister Pfeffer says:

    I test it again, after disabling VBO, windlight stays little longer now.. i dont waste my time with test this..
    But no water refelctions and not so stable as the 3rd version of windlight..

  84. JJValero Writer says:

    Is it worth downloading this version?

    Or simply the “connect” button remain disabled as in the Release Candidates or the other versions of winlight.

  85. Nomeda Coage says:

    Until the other day, I was using the normal viewer. Now I’ve moved to Windlight and it is so ridiculously better it’s stupid. Thanks Lindens for a great upgrade.

    Oh yeah, the only downside is longer rezzing time. But it’s still worth it.

  86. Lost Soul says:

    Windlight is great, thanks for the update… But WHERE is beta grid? Its always down for days, like LL forgets to bring it up.. And then when its up there are so many griefers its hard to get things done..

    Can anyone give an update on when/if the beta grid will be up? (Mostly asking for a linden)

    I hope we dont have what happened a while ago, and see beta down for weeks.

  87. Rebecca Proudhon says:

    I am still crashing with Windlight at Login…however now this update allows me to acually clcik the Connect button and almost get in, before it crashes. making changes to shortcut parameter has not helped.

    nvidia 8800 SLI

    Quad core.

  88. PostBabs says:

    Windlight is great, getting better with every release. However, when are you going to fix the INVISIBLE SKIRT problem? As it is, many of us simply can’t wear skirts with Windlight at all, a fairly critical problem, no? (JIRA is currently down so I can’t find the actual issue number, but it’s there, with many votes).

  89. Talarus Luan says:

    Still no fix for VWR-3111?

    Oh well. I guess someday I will get to see the “majesty” that is WindLight.

  90. Dytska Vieria says:

    This is best one for me since 75762. I see still the VWR-3258 bug not fixed, but it is not crashing on me this time. I was able to change preferences and look at beautiful water and skies.

    @GEISTER and others with ATI sky and water not showing features problems – revert from 7-12 ATI drivers to earlier version of ATI drivers!! The latest ones somehow prevent water and skies from having these enhancements! I think it is 7-10 or earlier which is best.

  91. Darby Odriscoll says:

    This is a geat version of Windlight! I’ve renamed and tweaked my settings but they continue to revert to default when I relog or change the world settings, i.e. noon to sunset. How do I keep my settings?

  92. Dytska Vieria says:

    I also would add that the 7-12 ATI drivers also have problems with stock viewer – no ripple water!

  93. Kerik Rau says:

    @83

    SL uses OpenGL not DirectX. OpenGL runs on a multitude of platforms whereas directx is locked in to windows.

    Windlight is OK, but there is an utter lack of ambient light that makes using it annoying at times (particuarly sunrise and sunset). When I use it I usually just end up forcing it to noon and even then the sides not facing the sun are incredibly dark. It makes for an interesting effect but is totally unrealistic.

  94. Cael Merryman says:

    Related question – does anyone know of a freebie color scale that permits you to quickly determing the RGB settings for colors? It would be nice if they were built into the color editor for objects in SL – then it would be easily available whenever as long as you had a color editable item on you. Maybe I’ve overlooked something, but it is irritating when an avatar (say, my Sense Monstrous Lycan) tells you to drop in the RGB to change colors and list only a few combos. This would make using the sliders a bit easier from what I can tell so far.

  95. Tamasin Demina says:

    Hey this works with my mobile ATI 128 card. Rock on! Obviously I wont get the top end stuff but I’d be stoopid to complain. Well done

  96. Dael Ra says:

    Yawn.

    Yet another version of SL (Windlight or otherwise) that can’t display water properly on my Vista/ATI x1950 Cat7.12 combo.

    You would have thought that after 6 months they (SL/ATI) might have got at least the standard viewer to display water properly.

    @23… Works a treat.

  97. HD1080i says:

    I love this – but (on my winxp / nVidia gt7600 to 1920×1080 )display… it seems to have a memory leak or something, i get errors i never saw from SL before – if i can find out more i will.

  98. Menudo says:

    Fix VWR-2778. Won’t use Windlight if my clothes won’t rez.

  99. GRIDIUS BORKIUS says:

    0ff topic(perhaps?) but some insight would be much appreciated, erm……………all was well within last 48 hours until…….250.9% packet loss, empty sims, empty inv and elastic avatar, any clues….anyone?
    Surely Windlight clients aint causin this?

  100. PostBabs says:

    Indeed, Windlight clients have nothing to do with it.

  101. Ann Otoole says:

    concur that something is wrong with the grid. not unexpected as they will have to tweak and optimize the load balancing in respect to the work done Wednesday. would be nice to see an acknowledgment that something is up and they are working it.

  102. Questor Sinclair says:

    I can’t log in — again. Lot of people online. This was annoying a year ago. Love the whistles and bells, guys, but fix the main grid, please!

  103. Bokrug says:

    Another thing that nobody seems to address: Why must we have outdoor lighting indoors? It looks stupid and ruins any attempt at creating indoor mood. I’m no programmer but is it that difficult to have sunlight blocked by solid objects (such as walls)? Seems like a pretty fundamental feature of a rendering system…

  104. Teresa says:

    I can’t log in too.
    What is happen?

  105. Ishtara Rothschild says:

    The avatar lighting looks still great. Please keep it this way ๐Ÿ™‚ Aside from that, I didn’t notice anything special. The last version ran without problems on my PCs, the new one does too.

  106. Ishtara Rothschild says:

    @104: It would need a raytracing algorithm to determine how objects block the light, which is quite performance hungry. I suppose we wouldn’t get 30 frames per second but rather 1 frame every 30 seconds if the SL engine would calculate that.

    I don’t think the engine can determine what is supposed to be indoors and outdoors. Rooms are just outdoor area surrounded by prims. I too wish it was possible to somehow mark an area as a room, perhaps with a special form of prim. Not only for different lighting, also for access restrictions.

  107. Ralph Doctorow says:

    @107 – Special lighting prims – I’ve been in favor of that sort of thing too, not just for indoor, but also for underwater so a submarine or underwater build could have more “air like” lighting.

    I’ve also suggested that there be a texture that when looked through would disable water surface effects so you could have and underground area below the SL water level, a hatch into a submarine, boat bilges, or an entrance to an underwater build.

    It would also be great if there could be a texture that would look like a water surface for non-oceanic bodies of water.

  108. Ishtara Rothschild says:

    The only issue I have with the WindLight viewer is the very slow texture loading. It takes ages until vendor textures appear at the original resolution. This is much faster in the old client. Perhaps this could be sped up? The WindLight viewer doesn’t seem to realize which texture the camera looks at in order to load it prior to textures in the distance.

  109. Ishtara Rothschild says:

    @108: There’s a realistic water surface texture in the Library folder. It’s called “Water – ripple layer 1”. It looks quite good on a translucent prim, especially with a texture animation.

  110. Nikkie jua says:

    @106, same for me. Works just fine for me. Love the look and feel of the new viewer.
    Lindens, you did a great job. Love windlight more every day… :))))

  111. Kerik Rau says:

    @107

    Raytracing is not used in real time graphics, most games use “projection” to “cut” out light that has hit an object. at least that is how I read it.

    For the amount of actual data being rendered SL should be running at several HUNDRED fps on most modern machines. The rendering pipeline is slow, bloated and is tied heavily to the CPU.

  112. Shahista Slade says:

    I love the new Wind Light Viewer!
    I had trouble with the old one but the new one is perfect!
    I have been online for 2 hours without the slightest trouble and it looks great!!

    winxp 2g ram nvideo 7900

  113. Tristin Mikazuki says:

    LL I think what you did with banning the banks goes way to far I have left the mentor group and the DEV group I simply cant not trust you any more.
    You dont even have a way for the bank customers to get thier cash back..once again you have screwed your customers over BAD!
    I will NOT be giving you any more money and I’ll be recomemding to people and companys in the real to simply NOT come here because you just cant run a company with out screwing people over ;-(
    Its to bad because SL was REALLY a great place to be now..its not even close to that ;-(

  114. M0lly Dench says:

    I hate to be the technologically challenged one, but does anyone know the relationship between an Intel G33/G31 Express Chipset and a 945 chipset, whatever THAT is – I have the G33 but can’t find any reference to it for Windlight. My environment Editor settings are all greyed out so I’m assuming I’m not compatible but have no idea how to relate the two chipset names (or not!) Help?

  115. Shahista Slade says:

    Referring to item 113;
    2 hours later I am still on-line and it is wonderful!
    No problems or lag at all.
    The wind light looks fabulous!!
    This is the ultimate SL so far

  116. Midnite Rambler says:

    For all those that are having issues with render using Catalyst 7.12 drivers go back to an earlier version. The 7.12 drivers don’t render ripple water or fog in any viewer. It is not Windlight related.

  117. Bokrug says:

    @107: Then why do other online “games” get it right so easily? Surely it can’t be that difficult – 1fps is hyperbole. I get better framerates than SL on another, more popular virtual game, and the indoor/outdoor lighting differences are far more sensible.

  118. shai Khalifa says:

    Standard macbook pro 2.16 – still can’t tp with this version with any degree of regularity – and groups still a problem.

    water looks pretty though, but all animations including flowing water, fire etc all jerky.

    back to 1.18.3 for me

  119. isadorafiddlesticks says:

    i love windlight but i always crash after 5 minutes or less my videocard is ati 9550. updated lastest drivers and did the instructions on jira…still no go.

  120. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    the windlight Viewer “Upgrade” is all okay … but it’s all for nothing if Linden refuses to act on complaints that are related to the essential running of the game. I’m talking about the constant crashing, freezing, intermittent lag and pathetically slow rez. These issues have nothing to do with the user’s computer – it’s the central drive engine that Linden labs is using. It needs to be upgraded in order to cope with the volume of the game…. but no matter how many times this is brought up do Linden actually do anything about it? No. they sit on their backsides and think about new upgrades to petty stuff and fix surface problems while the essential running problems go unchecked. This is pathetic customer service Linden Labs and clearly says that you have absolutely no respect for your customers. Get your act together or someone is liable to turn around and file a lawsuit against you for malpractice.

  121. Argent Stonecutter says:

    @118 Bokrug: “Then why do other online โ€œgamesโ€ get it right so easily?”

    Because no other online game is trying to solve as hard a problem as Second Life. Not even Activeworlds and There.

  122. Shahista Slade says:

    113 and 116
    about 6 hours in world then a hard crash
    The computer reset and reboot
    It seems to be Ok after that

  123. Bokrug says:

    WOW gets lighting right, more or less.

  124. magnus says:

    leliel Mirihi
    Just because your mac works, don’t deem speak for the countless other MAC users out there who still cant TP without crashing, log on without crashing or do anything but walk without crashing. This version of WL is more unstable for MAC than the last one. AT least with the previous version I could actually stay on WL for a few days at a time before crashing for no reason. And of course the wonderful auto upload erased that version so now I am stuck with a version that doesn’t work.

  125. U M says:

    hahahah ok right………..If they buildt a UI that was more upto date i would agree but that is not the fact.

  126. Lilly says:

    I still HATE it. I don’t like the effect it has on avatars. Avatars are way too dark, no matter what day option I use. I cannot take nice pics from avatars anymore in windlight version. Environment, yes, beautiful, but all avatars.. still AWEFUL ! And the object Light feature is making terrible light effects in windlight. Sorry, but I really dislike Windlight.

  127. Katiya Rhode says:

    @ Lilly – tweak your environment settings until your avatar looks good! I’ve got some stunning effects by bumping up the ambient lighting and increasing the haze (see http://www.flickr.com/katiyarhode if you don’t believe me!) The whole point of WindLight is that you can control how it looks. Personally, I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  128. Masuyo Aabye says:

    “# 118 Bokrug Says:
    January 11th, 2008 at 7:08 PM PST

    @107: Then why do other online โ€œgamesโ€ get it right so easily? Surely it canโ€™t be that difficult – 1fps is hyperbole. I get better framerates than SL on another, more popular virtual game, and the indoor/outdoor lighting differences are far more sensible.”

    How many other online games stream everything from servers? most other every online game installs a large chunk (world/avatars/sounds) on your PC. sl has to stream everything.

  129. Robot Foxley says:

    Windlight has come a long way. After doing some testing with a friend I can say that the black rings are gone from the sky (even in Ultra mode) and the bogus message about system requirements is gone. (it was preventing my friend from using Windlight) Textures are looking better and avatar faces are less shadowy. As usual, the sky and water looks awesome. The ATI Radeon vertex buffer stretching seems to be tackled in this version. (at least for me, so far) My only problem with it now is that the textures on items seem a little too saturated if I turn my advanced graphics slider past mid/medium; in High or Ultra they get more and more saturated. Keep up the good work!

    CPU: AMD (Unknown model) (2002 MHz)
    Memory: 2047 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
    Graphics Card Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Graphics Card: RADEON 9700 PRO x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
    OpenGL Version: 2.0.7058 WinXP Release

  130. Cat Gisel says:

    I got this error with Windlight:

    Smart Heap memory, please free some more and try again.

    Does anyone else get this? I am not a computer guru, but I guess it means no more WL, or no more hibernating my computer ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Then again I could learn how to make better use of the support system…hmm

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  131. Robot Foxley says:

    Sorry, I forgot to add three suggestions to make Windlight even better!

    1) The login screen is a little slower than the regular viewer at this time.

    2) Pressing the Enter/Return key on my keyboard no longer starts the login process. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    3) I really preferred the preferences button out in the open on the login page.

    You guys are doing a good job!

  132. A.Q.K says:

    still looks like horrible
    i use GeForce 7600 and the avatars looks like this

    the shaders seems to be so much on glow and things
    if I remove the face light they look old lackin in polygons ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  133. Pamy kanto says:

    Great for all can live a so beautiful transformation! But i cant login on the game or load secondlife website since yesterday. i receive the following msg: Unable to connect to Second Life. DNS could not resolve the host name. Please verify that you can connect to the http://www.secondlife.com web site. If you can, but continue to receive this error, please go to the support section and report this problem.

    Right. but What is happening?

  134. Chris says:

    I have an UP TO DATE version of QUICKTIME PRO installed but I’m STILL getting a pop up warning me that it’s out of date and having it automatically disabled!

    Please fix this.

  135. Slevin Despres says:

    Hey… sorry was 2 days in berlin. No i dont have vista (i really dont want it at all) i have xp sp2, and the newest ati drivers for my 3850. if someone here wants to send me some tips how to solve it please IM me ingame ๐Ÿ˜‰ name is the same

  136. Leben Schnabel says:

    The new login screen does not work at very high resolutions. I run a maximized SL window on a 2560×1600 desktop and could not press the login button or edit the login fields for the last few releases. Today, I realized that making the window smaller lets me access the login components and thus, the Windlight Client – which runs fine. Hurr-ay! System config below. And yes, I’m too lazy for a Jira entry right now, sorry ๐Ÿ™‚ Must…make…sculpties….

    ——————
    System Information
    ——————
    Time of this report: 1/12/2008, 18:31:28
    Machine name: DADDELKISTE
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2
    Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
    System Manufacturer: MSI
    System Model: MS-7032
    BIOS: Version 07.00T
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 2048MB RAM
    Page File: 1379MB used, 2050MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

    ————
    DxDiag Notes
    ————
    DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Music Tab: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.
    Network Tab: No problems found.

    ——————–
    DirectX Debug Levels
    ——————–
    Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    —————
    Display Devices
    —————
    Card name: Radeon X1950 Pro
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x7280)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_2204148C&REV_9A
    Display Memory: 512.0 MB
    Current Mode: 2560 x 1600 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Dell 3007WFP
    Monitor Max Res: 2560,1600
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6727 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 9/29/2007 04:06:17, 268800 bytes
    WHQL Logo’d: n/a
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: Nicht zutreffend
    Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 9/29/2007 04:05:59, 2456064 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-31C0-11CF-7B6D-0E023BC2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x7280
    SubSys ID: 0x2204148C
    Revision ID: 0x009A
    Revision ID: 0x009A
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV8_B ModeWMV8_A ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: Not run
    D3D7 Test Result: Not run
    D3D8 Test Result: Not run
    D3D9 Test Result: Not run

  137. many people think that LL should focus on bug fixes rather than on improvements. I think they are overal true, but however improving the beauty of SL with Windlight is a matter to significantly improve our experience in it, so I think this must be encouraged. Then go LL!

  138. PattehPh0x Katsu says:

    It seems that this release broke the texture information hotkey (ctrl-alt-shift-T) it no longer displays the texture key, even with admin options enabled.

    I see no mention of this in the patch notes, so I assume it was a bug, it would be nice to get it fixed, this removes quite a bit of functionality.

  139. FireFox Bancroft says:

    @117 Sorry thats not an option for people who play other games besides Second Life, the 7.12 drivers fix problems in Crysis and CoD4 and I doubt we’re going to give up those fixes for pretty water effects in SL. And I’m not about to spend another $400 on a nVidia card so that option is out too.

  140. Barbarra Blair says:

    I just thought I’d let eveyone know that this viewer does work with a GE FX 5200 video card, although not on the highest settings. That is, you can use low-quality settings and not crash. This at least lets those of us who can’t get new computers right way hang in there for a while.

  141. Bokrug says:

    @129: Ya, I understand what makes SL different from other online ‘games’ and that the nature of SL (user created content) places a burden on SL servers and whatnot. However, that has nothing to do with my original point: the rendering engine should be able to easily determine whether an avatar is inside or outside and change lighting accordingly. Probably done on the client side anyway so I’m not sure what your point is about server load.
    Implementing rudimentary realistic indoor/outdoor lighting differences is NOT a show stopper folks. It’s not as difficult as some here imply it is as it’s done ALL the time in other programs.

  142. Vivienne says:

    As long as Atmosphetic Shaders do not run acceptable on all usual platforms with all the usual and widespread NVIDIA/ATI cards it is to be considered as alpha, not even beta. Far from getting standard.

  143. Anton Fargis says:

    hey ive a problem ive updatet the viewer and now he says he has no conectivity to the loginserver? i should check if ive a internetconectivity. I hope i can enjoy that realease.

  144. WarKirby says:

    Hey Pastrami. Any ETA on when we’ll be getting LSL controls for glow? I have a few things waiting on that.

  145. Anton Fargis says:

    help me i dont know what it is here a screen http://www.pic-upload.de/13.01.08/ayw8sw.JPG

  146. RC Paderborn says:

    I’ve love to see Torley Linden’s computer specs posted so the rest of us can get 20FPS and higher with Windlight set on Ultra.

    With my P4 3Ghz hyperthreaded, 2GB ram, ATI Radeon 1650XT AGP 8X video (yes I know, new computers HAVE PCI-E at 16X) and Windows XP, I get about 21fps at low, 20fps at MID, 16fps at High and 11fps at Ultra. At least til I move then it all drops a bunch.

  147. Vivienne says:

    @147

    “Ultra” and “High” is what Windlight is all about. The other pre-settings obviously do not enable Atmospheric Shaders. And these obviously run only on the latest and most expensive Graphic Cards and PCI-Express without major performance drops. The other settings are okay for everyone, but there isnยดt that much difference in visiuality to the official viewer then.

    As a reslt Windlight (Atmospheric Shaders) seems to be unusable for at least 2/3rd of the SL population anyway, because no one wants to hit every evailable wall around on 5 fps under that wonderful skies.

    Hopefully this will change soon. I doubt that residents will exchange their systems for this eye candy stuff.

  148. Kitti says:

    Still crashes before I can even try to login. Not good…

  149. tesla miles says:

    Disappointed that I still cannot log into the new Windlight Viewer, same recurring error that I submitted a ticket for – tells me that I am entering the incorrect username and password, even having checked the capslock.

Comments are closed.