Updated Release Candidate Viewer: Second Life 1.18.6 RC2 Available Today

Second Life 1.18.6 Viewer Release Candidate (RC2) is now available for download. Please go to the test software page to download and try these pre-production viewers.  (Note: This is not an update to the WindLight First Look viewer.)

This update (RC2) includes a check to determine the installed version of QuickTime on your system. If the latest version of QuickTime — which addresses the RTSP exploit — is not found, QuickTime is disabled in the Second Life viewer. Please see Joe Linden’s blog post for further information.

We’re continuing to investigate and fix issues related to our new login screen/authentication. Please be sure to report issues that you find and/or add comments to existing issues in the Issue Tracker.

We are also working hard at addressing age verification issues. One recent fix to (correctly) allow age verified Residents to access land requiring age verification will require a rolling restart. Stay tuned, but we are currently planning this for next week. Be sure to watch the blog!

REMINDER: Release Candidates (RC) are intended for evaluation purposes. Please try them out only if you want to participate in the bug reporting process and identify issues before these become the default viewer. You can have both a Release Candidate and a production viewer installed on your computer at the same time, so if issues are encountered when testing an RC you can switch back to the production viewer.

New features:

  • VWR-1115: Added preference settings for web browser proxy
  • VWR-3741: Added -loginpage option to client to specify the login page

Changes:

  • Reverted bad fix for:
    • Connect button does not have focus in HTML login screen

Bug Fixes:

  • Disable QuickTime when the installed version is less than version with RTSP exploit
  • Menubar doesn’t turn red when connecting to a beta grid
  • XML resizing files to accommodate translated strings
  • New translated strings for the UI
  • Fixed crash in Crash Logger
  • VWR-3815: Double-click on login name/password doesn’t select name/password
  • VWR-3814: Fix tracking of click-throughs for Classifieds
  • VWR-3703: No wind sound
  • VWR-3659: Log in screen in 1.18.6 RC(0) displays UI elements that should be viewable only after login
  • VWR-1919: Remove texture UUID information from UI unless full-perm
  • SVC-1032: Age Verification status shows in profile

Source changes:

  • Added support for setting proxy innformation to LLMozLib
  • Added support for changing caret color in embedded browser

Source code drop coming soon.

Please continue to report any new issues in the Issue Tracker and be sure to set “Affects Version/s” to “1.18.6 Release Candidate“.

Thank you and happy holidays!

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, New Releases, Quality Assurance. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Updated Release Candidate Viewer: Second Life 1.18.6 RC2 Available Today

  1. Jan Hird says:

    The Viewer dont start. Only a black screen with “loading”.

  2. Thor says:

    pc running with ATI RADEON HD 2400/WINDOWS VISTA

    since the last update, this is what i see when shaders are activated http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/3678/windlightwy0.png

  3. Chrissi says:

    Same here!

    Damn!

  4. Bridie Linden says:

    What OS are you on Jan and Chrissi? Please report details in the Issue Tracker. Thanks!

  5. Lou says:

    I got it to load ok but there is still no wind sound.

    By the way after uninstalling the previous 1.18.61 test viewer it also uninstalled the regular viewer I am using which is 1.18.4.3 which works fine. This was in a completely seperate folder. Luckily i had a back up of the .exe file so managed to re-install it.

    I had to re – install 1.18.4.3 then install the release candidate 1.18.61 to test it.

  6. Lou says:

    Re: *5* oops I mean release candidate 1.18.62.

    OS Windows XP

  7. Johnny Rambler says:

    In ref: SVC-1032: Age Verification status shows in profile; well, it doesn’t work. Whereas I used to see an incorrect age verified status (Not Age Verified), now I see blank.

    CPU: Intel Core 2 Series Processor (2133 MHz)
    Memory: 2047 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
    Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    Graphics Card: GeForce 7900 GS/PCI/SSE2
    OpenGL Version: 2.1.1

  8. Soulvex Little says:

    I downloaded the viewer, when connecting it tells me i need to download a new version :/ then it crashes 🙂 yey!

  9. Bobo Decosta says:

    Mac OSX 10.5.1 here : Running fine!!!

  10. Baylie Barbosa says:

    Not working, I get a black screen that says “loading….” and then it kicks into the log in screen, I click connect, and then it tells me I have to download another version, so I click download and the auto downloader fails. Urgh.

  11. Alx says:

    (Seems several blog comments were eaten… Reposting. :))

    I downloaded Windlight 1.18.6.76116, since the there was a news entry with an \!/ about it next to it in the top right section on the login page for the Windlight viewer. Now, when I try to log in, the version check tells me “A new version of Second Life is available. (Required version: 1.18.6.75762.)”

    Note how the required version is the older version I just upgraded from. 🙂

  12. Alisha says:

    “VWR-1919: Remove texture UUID information from UI unless full-perm”

    Thank you!

  13. Keef Klaar says:

    Downloaded new windlight viewer…. which tells me i need new version to connect, auto updater fails, and download from website of current version (which i already downloaded), brings me back to square one….. (Downloaded new windlight viewer…. which tells me i need new version etc etc)

  14. Alyx Sands says:

    Um people, this ISN’T about WINDLIGHT!

  15. Leonardo Nuvolari says:

    is anyone else having a problem staying in for more than a few minutes-running latest mac client?

  16. Sephy McCaw says:

    yes i am experiencing the same problem with windlight fails when trying to download

  17. Henri Beauchamp says:

    Please, do not forget to release the sources on the Wiki before the week-end starts…

  18. Locke Traveler says:

    VWR-1919: Remove texture UUID information from UI unless full-perm

    That should help, a lot. It’ll reduce minor and simple texture theft. Won’t deter dedicated thieves, but it should work as a deterrent.

  19. Pingback: Quicktime Security Update « Official Linden Blog

  20. Jes Bergbahn says:

    Thank you lindens for adding yet another means for which to let me use the age verification…

    Oh, wait. I can’t, seeing releasing any of the information Aristotle asks for is illegal in my country. *sigh*

    Not to mention US LAW says Aristotle must keep the data around for two years if it intends to use it as any form of verification.

    Lindens, please stop lying to us. Oh, and yeah, fix the new Windlight version asking us to DOWNGRADE!

  21. TerryAnn Antonelli says:

    Exact same problems here as Keef Klaar, using a PC, NVidia 7950, Windows XP

  22. Renee Faulds says:

    The security fix to Quicktime was released about a WEEK AGO – it was announced at the SLx blog immediately after it was released.

    Hehehehe……I see your right on top of things that directly affect your security. Makes me sleep better, at least makes me sleep better a WEEK later.

  23. Pau Petrov says:

    I am having the same issue as others, after installing the suggested upgrade on the login page, 1.18.6.76116.

    When starting the login process, I am informed by a popup that I must accept the forced upgrade to 1.18.6.75762(older) and then that upgrade(downgrade) fails.

    Best

  24. Luna Hula says:

    Windlight Update loop problem same as everyone else. Yay what fun.

  25. Sunshine Kukulcan says:

    Seems like someone forgot to change the markers in the new version to look for old version, if old version found, then update.

    I suspect we are reinstalling old version and are NOT up to date.

  26. Darena Bryant says:

    I’m getting an odd problem. Since downloading and installing the update, I can only get as far as the loading process. The program then tells me that I need to download the newest version of SL before I can use it, then offers me the choice of downloading or quitting. When I click download, it fails, and nothing else happens.

    I’m using Windows XP Pro, Intel Core2 6600@2.4ghz, 2.7GB of RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT.

  27. Archie Lukas says:

    I’ll give it a miss then……

  28. notgoingsayit says:

    update for windlight is broken and LL dose it again, Yahoo! broken client

  29. Ceera Murakami says:

    Downloaded it. Haven’t done much with it yet… But it still won’t let me remove just my bra or panties! There’s already a JIRA bug report on this. It’s executing the menu init code before login, so assumes you’re on the teen grid!

  30. Dracos Blackwing says:

    I have an issue, and I’m not sure if it pertains to this. For some time now, I’ve been unable to detach my AV; part remain attached no matter where or when I try to change them and neither clicking them nor their names in my inventory seems to have the least bit of effect, either in or out of Windlight. This has only started recently, after updating to the current release.

    Windows XP, Intel 2.4ghz, 4GB RAM, NVIDIA 8600GT

  31. Kioko Kumaki says:

    LOADING!….. yay .. just when things go a step forward LL sends me 5 steps back..

    * sighs *

  32. Eurydice Barzane says:

    Exactly the same problems as #1 #3 #10 #13 etc.
    Something is seriously wrong with the upgrade. I’m glad I saved the exe file from the previous version, as it’s (re)loading fine.

  33. Argent Stonecutter says:

    Ceera: make a set of 100% transparent underclothes. 🙂

  34. Ryu Darragh says:

    Note: If you get a stuck loading screen when starting SL (especially after an installation of a new client), be sure to check your firewall. Common with “smart” internet security features, such as provided by Nortons and McAffee. Firewall software frequently sees new installations or reinstallation of programs as needing verification (there may be a dialog box asking “Allow Once, Allow Always, Block once, Block Always ?” under the SL client).

  35. Satori Taringa says:

    Where did the Object Properties window go, when editing something?
    Nothing pops up and if there’s a Hotkey for it, I have no idea what
    it would be.

    I’s been missing in the 18.6 RCs for awhile.

  36. Elliot Basevi says:

    Well, I can get in but erm… the sky’s broken. I am seeing thick black circles indispersed with actual sky!

    My system specs:
    CPU: AMD Athlon64 (2010 MHz)
    Memory: 2559 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
    Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    Graphics Card: GeForce 6800/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
    OpenGL Version: 2.1.1
    LLMozLib Version: 1.1.0 (Mozilla GRE:1.8.0.12_0000000000)

  37. Celierra Darling says:

    “Disable QuickTime when the installed version is less than version with RTSP exploit” – I hope you mean “less than or equal to” the versions with the RTSP exploit….. 😛

  38. Drake Angelus says:

    Ok for All you guys whom are crashing out I think I found a workaround for this(least for me hopefully it will work for u)…

    Open Prefrences and Leave it open…Log on with it still open.You can close it when ur Rezzed up and Logged on.

    For Some odd reason this fixed my Crash at login screen. I noticed that when I opened a window (about SL or Pref. screens) then closed them it would crash out. SO I tryed loggin on with one of them open. And it stayed stable and didnt crash. For some reason it stops crashing like this when they are open.

  39. Grunt Greenwood says:

    Well La dee Da…I read that updating is MY choice but in order to use SL I must update to 1.18.6.2 . I must agree that y’all must not read what you put in postings for users. Each time I update the platform seems more unstable. If I should get a lagging Teleport & cancel…whoops! I’m booted. Very enjoyable. Thanks for letting me vent my spleen and also thanks for SL. Merry Christmas..Take care of each other.

  40. Ryu Darragh says:

    Oh, and Happy Holidays to all in SL. And, to the Lindens on the Dev teams, hang in there, guys. Some of us residents know what you’re going through 😀

  41. Are others having issues with Age-verified status not showing up in their profile in-world?

    I verified last week or so, and my in-world profile says I’m not verified even though I did it already. I went back to the main SL site to see if I needed to re-verify and it kicks me back saying I’m already verified.

    Just seeing if anyone else is getting the same 🙂

  42. Tip For anyone who might like a work-around to the underwear not being shown as as an option in the ‘Take Off’ part of the pie menu(glad it’s not just me)…

    Go to Appearence, click on ‘undershirt’ and/or ‘underpants’ when you’re wearing them and click ‘Take Off’ in the appearence window.

    Not convenient, but at least it can be done. Hope that might help a few folks. 🙂

  43. Janelle Yachvili says:

    Well the thing that worked for me is updating Quicktime. Why support Apple by forcing us to use them?

  44. Alissa Sabre says:

    I have a feeling that the QuickTime version checking is more appropriate to go into the released viewers (say, 1.18.2.2, 1.18.3.6, 1.18.4.4, and 1.18.5.4) than the test viewer. Released viewers are for production use, and the test viewer is just for testing. It doesn’t make sense fixing security problem only in test viewer and inviting residents to use valnerable versions for serious purposes.

  45. Melli says:

    Had the black screen too, a couple of times, but after a quit and retry it worked every time, sooner or later; got the “login package never received” too, so maybe it’s all some package loss due to general grid-lag, or so …

    What’s worse: the new RC saves no preferences any more! Every time i start like a newbie get all the blue windows about sound? voice? “hey, you are now sitting” yeah great, thanks! … and have to adjust all the other prefs as well.

    MacPro3,1 / GeForce 8600M GT / OSX 10.5.1

  46. HealthStar says:

    Good move on the removal of UUID on non fullperms.

  47. Tegg B says:

    Grunt Greenwood Says: Well La dee Da…I read that updating is MY choice but in order to use SL I must update to 1.18.6.2 .
    Sorry, you can use SL with the Windlight viewer or the normal viewer or Nickolaz viewer if the RC doesn’t work.
    I personally find it stupidly funny people threatening to leave SL because the beta viewers have bugs.

  48. concerned says:

    I see search is still focused more on traffic than items for sale,this new search needs a lot of work how many times do i have to teleport to an area that includes a box called “hair skin jewlery”etc sold for 0l$ when there are no hair skin jewelery just tiny invisible prims named as it items are not sold there and i find another island of zombie campers.

  49. Neard Harbinger says:

    Just curious, have the highly useful network meters been added back to the top bar? I’m not upgrading from 1.8.4 until they are…

  50. Tegg B says:

    “Neard Harbinger Says: Just curious, have the highly useful network meters been added back to the top bar? I’m not upgrading from 1.8.4 until they are…”
    Well I guess you could miss out on a lot of new features and improvements over the next 10 years 😛

  51. Montana Corleone says:

    Age Verification not showing up? Might be nice if us non-US residents could actually get age verified in the first place lol. All 5 IDs failed, wondering what to do now…

    But so nice of you to slip all this stuff in on the Friday afternoon before the biggest holiday of the year. Some people can play with gammas, but in the meantime lag is crazy, nothing is rezzing (again), Appearance is permanently greyed out after cache clearing, relog and restart, basically nothing is working in either main viewer or WL 75762…

  52. /me says:

    endless LOADING on startupscreen! No Buttons! Can not use this Version :((((

    OS: WinXP, latest Servicepacks, 1,5GB RAM.
    Intel Windows Mobile 915GM/GSM 910GML GraKa

  53. Missy Malaprop says:

    I dont see the point in taking out the Age Verify thing. Why cant we have Age Verify yes or no listed in the profile? Its basically of little to no use when its not listed for people to know, and the land ban for non verifieds ends around 51 meters. My freaking land lowered all the way can only get down to 40.

  54. Pingback: The Grid Live » Second Life News for December 22, 2007

  55. la le lu says:

    Tofu Linden – 04/Dec/07 11:03 PM
    Here’s a status update I posted to the forums:

    “There’s nothing particularly new to report – we’re re-iterating once again with the voice SDK vendor now that we have feedback from a round of internal testing.

    “I’m still convinced that releasing what we have right now will cause more frustration than happiness to the average Linux user, but having waited so long now I’m strongly inclined to release the next SDK iteration anyway, assuming no regressions from the current version.”

    VOICE FOR LINUX!

  56. Lux Haller says:

    The viewer does not start. Only a black screen with “loading” on Display.

    MAC OS 10.5.1 on Core 2 Duo Macbook, 2GB RAM

  57. Melanie Milland says:

    Well, here I go again:

    Underwear: Turn on admin options (ctrl-alt-V, IIRC) and you will be able to wear and unwear them.

    Text UUIDS: Good move there, thanks!

    Age verify: I think this should show! What is the use, if I can’t see if a person I am dealing with is verified, and if I can’t use it to prove to someone else that I am verified?

    Network meters: I use Nicholaz clients exclusively. Bring back the meters in the main viewer, kill the search box! We know your lag is abysmal, you don’t need to hide it by robbing us of the one tool that lets us know we’re about to be logged off!

    Voice for Linux: Linux users are not your “average” users! We are used to tweaking things to make them work, and we’ll tweak that voice binary into shape, or bend our systems around it! Better than not having it at all, let the joy or pain decision be ours! Linux is about empowerment, not nannying!

  58. Buster McNutter says:

    wow this view is ‘horrid’ the lines in the sky are HUGE

    how do i go back to the previouse windlight version

    this is an ANTI WINDLight upgrade/downgrade

  59. Windchaser Rhode says:

    I mean…really ppl. You fix one thing and another goes wonky. The sky looks terrible and i cannot fix it the way you said. Please eliminate this problem immediately. I like the other Windlight sky better than this updated one. Thanks. Oh, and how might a being go back to the other Windlight before this messed up update?

  60. Luca Peck says:

    If you cannot start the client ( loading… ) and have choosen german language, you have to change language to english (its possible from the menu) and start again. Now you can log in, needs some time but works…

  61. Luca Peck says:

    If you cannot start the client ( “loading…” ) and have choosen german language, you have to change language to english (its possible from the menu) and start again. Now you can log in, needs some time but works…

  62. Missy Malaprop says:

    this is the posting about the RC release.. it does NOT include windlight… this is not about the first look viewer..

  63. bubu says:

    LOADING…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  64. Uh Oh says:

    yes we need the IDV to show up in the profiles. The ban lines need to be raised also. What is the point of IDV if the adult places are all above the banline allowing everyone in to bypass the system?

    How about filters to filter out illegal content or content that is against TOS?
    Keeping Second Life Safe, Together
    Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 6:00 PM PST by: daniellinden

    The diversity of things to see and do within Second Life is almost unimaginable, but our community has made it clear to us that certain types of content and activity are simply not acceptable in any form. Real-life images, avatar portrayals, and other depiction of sexual or lewd acts involving or appearing to involve children or minors; real-life images, avatar portrayals, and other depictions of sexual violence including rape, real-life images, avatar portrayals, and other depictions of extreme or graphic violence, and other broadly offensive content are never allowed or tolerated within Second Life.

    Like this place that advertises forced fantasy sex.

    Place: The Crack Den – Urban / FF / Street Role-Play – thecrackden.com

    Category: (Mature content)
    Region: Hathian

    We’re stoned like Jesus! Experience realistic & graphic roleplay – a grunge city under dark winter snow – RP Crime, Corruption, Street Violence, Forced Fantasy, Sex, Drugs, Police, Fire, Gangs, BDSM, Bondage, Hobo & Trailer Trash RPG!

    This place in particular has underage people in it like RH Sugita. Has people who leave the sim and lure people in from the clubs by TP’ing them in to a rape scenes bypassing the notecards at the entrance.
    If the person doe not want to become part of the roleplay they write a story about it and send it to the person and stalk them on the grid.

    According to the TOS this place and others like it should not exist.
    Time to enforce your own rules Linden Labs.

  65. uh oh says:

    [16:40] You: yeah never know when some rapisrt might think he can try something
    [16:40] OneKind Capalini: nm its Megan’s shield hehe
    [16:40] SarahEve xxxx: yeah..
    [16:40] SarahEve xxxx: ive been thru that
    [16:40] SarahEve xxxx: O_O…
    [16:40] OneKind Capalini: hehe u got the psi shield going hehe koo
    [16:40] SarahEve xxxx: yeah ppl do rape ppl on sl..
    [16:40] SarahEve xxxx: i have some ppl that whitnessed it.. it happened to me

    This conversation was in general chat the last name of the rape vitcim has been altered.

  66. Andreas Kamachi says:

    RC 1.18.6 (2) stopped and hang with ‘loading. . .’ when selected german as language

    –> issue solved – just a small error in the language specific files

    Don´t if it is allowed to post my solution here ..will insert into the issue tracker

  67. Vengeance Villota says:

    i get errror when i try to instal it. says something about error writing. and i have plenty of space on my HDD

  68. HoRuS Petrov says:

    There will be necessary a Crash Logger for the crashs of the Crash Logger???? lol

  69. fiona spad says:

    yes, in my opinion it is completely neccesary a Crash Logger for the crashes of the crash logger.
    If not, how can you track the crash cascades ?????

  70. iopo Yalin says:

    Yeah, Great idea for considerate, a Crash Logger, for the crashes of the Crash Logger, but what log the crashes of the Crash Logger of the Crash Logger? Another Crash Logger? LOL . Interesting cascade of crashes

  71. LEIRE Writer says:

    You totally lost me… So, if I crash…and the crash logger is off…it’s as if I never crashed at all? It means I’m still logged in? Is this like the story of the tree? If a tree is in the middle of nowhere where noone can see it, does the tree exist at all?
    I’m gonna try this out and work off line whenever I crash…to see if my actions affect in-world 😉 Hahahaha

  72. Avril Vallejo says:

    As with avery release candidate, I just stay in world just few minutes… even when I avoid crash..at start

  73. kflash slade says:

    the veiw is just great getting better all the time.

  74. Olin Homewood says:

    The option for parcel owners on private sims to restrict access based on age verification in the “Access” tab of “About Land” is going to cause a great deal of problems due to the red ban lines.

    If one where to look at any number of private sims offering land for sale, they would see that ban lines are almost universally prohibited – to the point where a sim owner will sever a ties with a “tenant”, or land owner, usally without refund. People buy land from private sim owners in large part because they do not want to see ban lines like they often do on the mainland.

    So while the option takes a step forward in offering a sim owner protection against potential liability stemming from under aged people visiting parcels on their sim, it takes a huge step backwards in the fact that they cannot allow this protection to be in place due to the red ban lines and the current business practice of the vast majority of sim owners.

    So now private sim owners are forced into assuming this potential liability or else allow ban lines and lose a real selling point for their offerings. Is it a stretch to say that business will suffer for either option (allowing ban lines or suffer the consequences of a law suit) all because of the red markings on the ban lines?!

    Why can’t there be a way to have ban lines without the red words around the parcel, and just an invisible barrier?

  75. Charlene says:

    Hi there,
    Not sure if this is where to post as I am new to SL today. My problem is that I am sure that my new pc meets the specs. I’m using vista and a ATI Radeon HD 2400 pro graphics. I downloaded the SL from the site and already had a login from last year so I login but I as soon as I try to make the character move I get a black screen and SL crashes. Can anyone advise me what could be wrong or what I need to do as I really want to be able to take part in SL, I would be so grateful please 😦

Comments are closed.