Tip of the Week #16: How to make a gift box… happy holidays!

In the spirit of the season, here’s a festive Tip of the Week with practical applications β€” make a gift box to put gifts in and share with loved ones & friends!


[UPDATE] If the above video doesn’t load, go here!

Never built before? This makes a great 1st project! I cover:

  • Making the gift box
  • Changing its colors & textures
  • Making a note to go inside the box
  • Giving the gift (one thing I don’t mention in the video is if you’re near someone inworld, you can drag the gift from your inventory to their avatar or nametag to give it)
  • Oh, and if you happen to get a gift box, I also cover how to open the gift πŸ™‚

This video tutorial highlights a combination of skills, and it’s mo’ epic (e.g., longer) than previous TotWs, so you may wanna grab an eggnog and chillax. Related resources:

O, and in lovely response to each and everyone asking me when I’d be making the Tip of the Week available for both (1) streaming inworld and (2) hifi downloads that are crisper and clearer, I’m “working on it” and promise to announce in a future post when they’re ready.

Also, there likely won’t be a TotW for the next two weeks (vacation!), but I, with my familiar friendliness + smiling surprises, will be back after that… always feel free to send me what you’ve made, I delight in your creativity!

I’ll be throwing snowballs on 2007-12-21 @ 3 PM PST,

Fun with my autograph after vectorizing it (small)

Torley Linden is a Product Manager & more who regularly contributes to the Official Linden Blog. Read the story behind this series, and see more Tips of the Week!

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas, Resident Experience, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Tip of the Week #16: How to make a gift box… happy holidays!

  1. Berry Steinhoff says:

    Thank you Torley. πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays!!

  2. Happy Holidays, Torley πŸ˜€

  3. Jazzman Jibilla says:

    Merry Ho Ho Horley…er Torley…

  4. Karyn says:

    Happy Holdays Torley!

    Only if we could do that in RL!! πŸ™‚

  5. Harper says:

    Lovely tutorial, Torley; I’ve wondered where all those boxes were coming from. Merry Christmas!

  6. AnnMarie Otoole says:

    Add the following script to hide the contents until midnight on Christmas Eve. Include “Don’t open till Xmas” in the description. If they rez/open too early the box will appear to be totally empty and tell them to wait.

    default{
    state_entry() {
    }

    on_rez(integer total_number){
    if(llGetUnixTime() < 1198627200){
    llRemoveInventory(“Teddy Bear”);
    llRemoveInventory(“Christmas Timer”);
    //Add additional llRemoveInventory() lines for any other contents in the box.
    llSay(0,”Too soon. DO NOT OPEN ’till CHRISTMAS. Rez again on Christmas.”);
    }
    }
    }

  7. nhoj Aabye says:

    Hello Torley, me just got a christmas present but was no box around. Now me want to give one back – in a box! Thank you…

  8. Ah Torley, I got dizzy watching your video. πŸ˜€ Love the gifting tutorial. When do we get to see a tutorial on how to create square watermelons?

  9. Ann Otoole says:

    here is some wrapping paper and a ribbon texture i made:

    http://www.annotoole.com/redvelvetgoldtrimdragon.tga

    http://www.annotoole.com/redvelvetribbongoldlace.tga

    enjoy!

    no resellin ya grubbeh pirates!
    πŸ™‚

  10. AnnMarie Otoole says:

    OOPS, I should have added to my script above, make sure the gift INCLUDING the script itself is copyable when you give it or they will lose the contents permanently if they open before Christmas.

    AnnMarie Otoole (Ann Otoole’s cousin)

  11. Flame Swenholt says:

    Congrats on a good tutorial! This one is perfect (even learned a new trick ^^)

  12. Brenda Maculate says:

    Twelve minutes?!?

    Torley, this is an AWESOME tutorial, worth every minute!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  13. Knitemarco0731 Tripsa says:

    Thanks Torley!

    Merry Christmas to you and all in Second Life.

  14. Rosa Eames says:

    I love your Tutorial! πŸ˜€ Thanks! You’re AWESOME!

    OH wait, you already knew that Im sure ^^

    Merry Merry Christmas

  15. Antonius Misfit says:

    @Ann: Thank you very much for the wrapping paper and ribbon textures. They’re very exquisite!

    /me goes to make new gift boxes with Ann’s textures and Torley’s tip πŸ˜€

    Merry Christmas everyone!

  16. Isabeau Imako says:

    Thanx Torley!
    Hope your holidays are filled with joy and laughter, and with as much fun and colours as your videos πŸ™‚ !!!

  17. Chaz Longstaff says:

    Not as kewl as the ones from It’s a Wrap! (grin)

  18. Chaz Longstaff says:

    Hey i made one of these and left it as a present and they couldn’t open it, what gives?

  19. Seraphine says:

    Can we do this in a NOT video format for those of us who don’t have Flash players, please? I’d love to learn how to do this.

  20. Phoenixa Sol says:

    Merry Christmas Torley and thank you!

  21. Ron Crimson says:

    Seraphine, what excuse is there for not having a Flash plugin πŸ˜‰

    Happy Torley-mas everyone πŸ˜€

  22. Cat Gisel says:

    “We’re sorry, this video is no longer available”

    Torley why’d you put coal in my stocking? πŸ˜›

  23. Buck says:

    What an interesting tutorial (didn’t know about shift+drag to copy something), and great comments & tips–thanks especially to Ann & AnnMarie for the textures & script.

    I’d add that gift boxes are also available pretty cheaply from various vendors inworld, and you can put gifts into their Contents tab just as with the great 4-prim boxes you can make by following the tuTorleyal. Even if you don’t give gifts in them, they look good under the tree!

    One good thing about SL gift boxes is that you don’t have to find the right-sized box for your gift. Any gift, even a hippo or a school bus (could happen!), will fit in even the smallest box.

    Merry Christmas & happy New Year, all!

  24. Captain Jack says:

    Hey Torley, I have a question. Is that the Green and Pink snowman in your video the one I made in the Snowman build contest? If so thanks for adding the arms. I didn’t have time to add that.

    Once again thanks for the video. They really help more than you might know.

  25. Liderc Dagger says:

    Merry Xmas Torely & thanks Anne for those wonderful textures!

  26. Kyder Ling says:

    Happy Holy-days everyone.

    Good building tutorial, Torley, Simple yet effective. ^^

  27. Thank You Torley,
    I really appreciate and look forward to you wonderful tips all the time!
    I wish Happy Holidays and A Happy New Year πŸ™‚

    TYS

  28. Katie Usher says:

    We moan here, we complain here, and sometimes we say ‘Thank You’ here!

    Great tutorials, all of them have helped me at some time.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you Torley, and to all at Linden Labs, for giving us this amazing world in the first place πŸ™‚

    Merry Christmas everyone.

  29. janeforyou Barbara says:

    I vote for Torley, to be the Linden of 2007 πŸ™‚ Thanks for all the good adcive and tip, merry Christmas!

  30. Sonja Felisimo says:

    Hi Torley…….never watch your tips usually……….but wow respect………great tutorial……easy for people to follow πŸ™‚

    keep up the good work….;)

    Happy Xmas Torley and everyone else

  31. Eidur says:

    very interesting and useful to start building!
    THX
    and merry xmas πŸ˜‰

  32. Areshandore says:

    Merry Christmas Torley! I love your tutorials!
    Thank you very much for all the gifts! πŸ˜€

  33. Pingback: Second Life 24h » Como fazer uma caixa de presente

  34. MarieAnn Dryke says:

    Hi Torley! Good tutorial I didnt know how to put a ribon on the box now I do thanks again keep up the great tips
    Merry Christmas to all

  35. Marina Mincemeat says:

    Thanks Torley and Happy Christmas to you, and for all the gifts of your tutorials, no one can do it better, Thank you all Lindens for all the gifts of SL, Seasons Greetings to all the SL Community and even the griefers, may the good cheer of the season make them gifters instead of griefers!

  36. Guitar Dripp says:

    Thanks!
    Merry Christmas torely!

  37. Bradford Tolsen says:

    Great tutorial! The fact that you have a female avie worries me. BUT, love it. Have a very merry christmas!!!!

  38. Kahni Poitier says:

    My favorite Linden.

  39. Giusy Imako says:

    How can I get the “christmas timer”? i need it for the AnnMarie Otoole’s script. thank you.

  40. First, HAPPY HOLIDAYS to each and all of you! I hope you’ll have memorable, heartwarming times.

    Second, if I’m good, it’s only because others are better. My work β€” as ludicrously cheesy as this may sound, but what the heck, it’s the spirit of the season β€” is only meaningful if it contributes to the betterment and enjoyability of your Second Life. As an “amplifier” for Lindens and Resis alike… I’m inspired working at Linden Lab and have many coworkers who’ve encouraged me to be a more effective teammate; it’s a far cry from my youth as a shy kid!

    I really appreciate the enhancements and improvements I’ve seen after I posted this video tutorial (incl. AnnMarie Otoole’s script!), and the gift boxes I’ve already seen created.

    @Dedric: Hehe, I made a cubed watermelon out of a sculptie awhile back. Not sure if I’ll do a vidtut on that but I know Vlad Bjornson and some others have been making sculptie vidtuts.

    @Seraphine: Re: Flash, I thought it was standard on 90%+ of web browsers but I know that’s not “everyone”. Please pardon me. I PROMISE to have downloadable formats in the future.

    @Captain Jack: It isn’t, but OMG you made a green ‘n’ pink snowman? I have yet to check out the entries, it’s on my to-do list today.

  41. Thank you much, this was real fun.
    I enjoyed it much, merry christmas to all outta there πŸ™‚

  42. Kaelie Eriksen says:

    Torley, I totally loved this tutorial and it was so easy to follow! Thanks so much! Happy Holidays!

  43. Delilah says:

    I love your tutorial Torley………. they always make me smile plus I learn so much..
    Have a great holiday season!!!! to you and to all the Lindens.. You’re all awesome..
    Now I got a ton of gifts to make and I thought I was done shopping.. *smile*

  44. marcusfielding@googlemail.com says:
  45. gifts says:

    This tutotial is good enough to learn from it.

  46. This comes in handy for other gifts as well, of course. I just put together a belated wedding gift for some friends. Many thanks, Torley!

  47. Pingback: Wedding Presents « Harper’s Art

  48. Arcade says:

    I’m thinking I will go with the Ultimate Arcade II design… I need to find someone to build the cabinet as I don’t do wood work & live in a small apartment & have no tools… I’m looking at family members at the moment, hopefully that will work, but we’ll see…

  49. Very cool! Thank you so much for showing me how to make a present and gift box. Truly excellent!

Comments are closed.