Inventory Items Recovered

We’ve recovered a 463,000 inventory items that were lost and fixed 79,000 inventory folders. These belonged to a total of 143,000 Residents. They were not showing up in Residents’ inventories because they did not have a valid parent folder and many of them have been lost for quite some time. They have all been placed in the their owner’s top-level folder called “My Inventory”. If the items don’t show up and you want to thoroughly check whether they have been recovered, you can clear your Second Life Viewer cache, restart your Second Life Viewer, log back in and check your “My Inventory” folder.

In addition, on November 26th we repaired missing Library textures that a number of Residents had reported missing. These were for all the Residents that were on one of our inventory servers, where the problem had occurred. Sorry for not posting that at the time we repaired it.

We realize that these two repairs only recover some lost inventory. We continue to work hard behind the scenes to track down and begin to fix the root causes of inventory loss as I described in a previous post on our Inventory Loss Reduction Initiative.

This entry was posted in -Miscellaneous, Bugs & Fixes, Operations, Quality Assurance, Service Status and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to Inventory Items Recovered

  1. Detox Watanabe says:

    now that’s really cool.

    thanks for the hard work.

  2. Ron Crimson says:

    YOU.

    ARE.

    AWESOME.

    I’m just floored. Only minutes ago I logged on to find a number of free skins in my inventory at the top level and couldn’t figure out what they were doing there. LOL. And then I see this new blog entry.

    Fantastic work, Lindens! KEEP IT UP πŸ˜€

  3. Roy Flanagan says:

    Go, go, go! Work your butts off πŸ™‚

    Great work, we like more news where that came from.

  4. Lolita Pro says:

    Thanks for everything you do. None of my missing objects or textures reappeared, but this gives me hope that they might return some day.

  5. Chance Unknown says:

    Ok, now that half of my inventory has been returned; when are you going to do everybody else’s?

  6. Kulalyle Anatine says:

    Thanks :0)

  7. RaptonX Zorger says:

    I still don’t see why you guys cannot allow someone who has full permission to an object and its scripts will not allow download for safe keeping.

    But it seems the most important things in my inventory have returned, mainly the objects I am working on.

  8. mimi says:

    Wow great great great great thank you so much!!!!!

    This is so awesome!

    Great work!

  9. mimi says:

    Raptonx, I’m not sure how hackable it would be, but I guess it woudn’t be very safe to allow people to do so, and have all objects information on their own computer. Its probably not allowed to prevent people from stealing items and uploading/recreating them under their own name.. that way the original creators name would be erased and people could claim it was their own creation.

  10. Pingback: Lost inventory in Second Life? It’s back : The Metaverse Journal - Australia’s Virtual World News Service

  11. Harle Armistice says:

    Wow! Totally unexpected, and very much appreciated.

    Thanks for the hard work, guys and girls! =D

    If I ever lost anything, I didn’t notice it missing(but I have a lot of Stuff, as it were). I think I’ll check and see if I did, possibly, lose something without realizing it.

  12. corey Reyes says:

    Still waiting for autoreturn to put inventory back for about three weeks. Maybe there is still hope!

  13. Great job there. equally good attempt at notifying residents! News like this is cause for cheer when it is made known.

  14. Fellatione Aabye says:

    WOW WOW WOW ….

    FOR the FIRST time a Linden who doesn t take the “SL CITIZEN” for little children ….

    Precise and clear explanation ….

    Dear Hamilton, Please find under your SL Xmas tree a big kiss for you …. lol

  15. Deira Llanfair says:

    Well done guys (and girls!) – keep it up – big thank you πŸ™‚

  16. Tanya Spinotti says:

    It’s amazing what you find down the back of the sofa. Don’t suppose you found my car keys too? πŸ˜‰

  17. Irene Muni says:

    Great job! I have recovered objects that I had forgotten who were lost.
    An now, remember: The best solution is to avoid the problem πŸ™‚
    Congratulations.
    – – – – – – – – – –
    Β‘Buen trabajo! He recuperado objetos que habΓ­a olvidado que estaban perdidos.
    Y ahora, recuerden: la mejor soluciΓ³n es evitar el problema πŸ™‚
    Felicidades.

  18. Novis Dyrssen says:

    Sheesh, you Linden folks are going to ruin all reasons to mock you. πŸ˜‰

    Thank you for finally showing that you do listen.

  19. Tracy Welles says:

    I’ve checked, no returned items. Still a few hundred missing.

    Most items I’ve not had returned failed on rez. Be nice to see the items return.

  20. Michael Timeless says:

    thank you

  21. Tegg B says:

    I’m missing a plywood cube called object incase anyone has it in their folder by accident πŸ™‚
    Good Work , 143,000 residents you say, didn’t know there were that many real, still active residents, I suppose bots loose stuff too πŸ™‚

  22. Judi Newall says:

    W00T!!
    Didn’t bring back anything of mine but I appreciate the efforts and I’m still hoping some of mine will return.

  23. Thank you very much! After losing most of my inventory, everything has returned and is rezzable again!

    And Tegg, i do happen to have a spare plywood cube? Want to have that? x3

  24. kittyn fuhr says:

    how can you tell if an item came back? do you need to know the specific item name, and look it up by that? or will it show up at the top of “objects” or will it show up in “recent”? I have had items disappear, but i don’t remember the names of them…how can you tell?

  25. Cherry Czervik says:

    LOL! Does that mean the bunch of roses I was bought, which disappeared, which caused a row cos so did an nice Platinum SexGen disappearing at the same time, which caused even more rows and rows and rows will re-appear? And the candlesticks? I’m gussing I am not one of the lucky ones, but if I am there’s a fabulous but 89 prim bunch of roses someone might like!!! Good riddance to who gave them to me πŸ˜€

  26. Amethyst Rosencrans says:

    So now … we vendors who have replaced many of these items… our customers have two copies? Wonderful. In the future should we not replace items for the possibility that you will relocate all the missing items? As a vendor I have no idea what to do.

  27. Phoenixflames Kukulcan says:

    A great start to your long-term project of returning missing stuff! You, Kona and the team deserve a day off πŸ™‚ I know you’ll keep at it till everything is where it should be πŸ˜€

  28. Buck says:

    Refreshing to see overwhelmingly positive comments for once! Thanks, LL, for all the hard work behind the scenes.

  29. Shipper Sodwind says:

    Shame you failed to fix the “gesture loaded but not present” problem. I have three /voicelevel gestures active but they are not in inv. And as they are system gestures so I cannot do anything about it. And LL refused to help. So much for support.

    So well done LL, half the job again !!

  30. Just say no to no-copy says:

    Hey nice, but what will you do the simcrash problem?
    Object rezzed, a few mins later Sim crashed without a warning. When it came back, object gone! Oh well it was only worth 8k.

  31. Davina Glitter says:

    Thank you for not just doing what other companies would have done and just erased those old files telling us to forget about it because you are not resposible. I appreciate the attention to detail you are providing and I do enjoy my SL so very very much. When I do complain it is only because I love you. πŸ˜‰

  32. Diamond says:

    Shipper (29), they are working on that. I and a couple of other residents I know have that problem too. We filed a bug report and they are looking into it πŸ™‚
    Fingers crossed they can solve that too :-))

    Great work on the recovery of the missing items, Lindens :-))) I lost some expensive items, will check if they have returned πŸ™‚
    Thank you very much πŸ™‚

  33. Keiko Rau says:

    As someone who can be a lil hard on you when you do something stupid, I also have to thank you when you do something awesome!

    Thanks LL for the effort! Its much appreciated, even though Im not one of the affected residents. As @31 said, when we complain, its only because we love you and SL so much!

    Thanks again!

  34. Zanthor Shiras says:

    Awesome. Soon, maybe you can address some of the more serious Abuse reports as well!

  35. Tracey Humphreys says:

    You haven’t returned my lost virginity…

  36. Alpha Vargas says:

    Awesome job! I don’t remember if I ever lost anything (probably did), but I’m glad everyone else’s Inven is back. ^^ (can you guys lay off the “I lost this wah wah” comments now?)

    In an amazing double-whammie, as of writing this comment, there are MORE positive comments than negative ones! =D

    @ Tegg B – I’ve got about 20 of those… No idea how your wood-textured objects named “Object” wandered over to my Inven, though. =/ Sorry ’bout that. You want them back?

  37. Sven Okonomi says:

    Great… Though my 5000ld holodeck and my 26000ld bed havent shown up yet..

  38. Hope Dreier says:

    I am indeed impressed. Great Job!!!!!! Thank you very much.

  39. Clang Bailey says:

    That’s really cool, but maybe next time you could put the items in a folder called “Recovered” within the “My Inventory” folder, so we can tell which items appeared due to the recovery. It’s still really cool, though.

  40. Jessica Hultcrantz says:

    @Ametyst (26) – Stop bitching and pay attention to better customer support!!!

    @ LL – Well done folks. The first really positive core thing for quite a while. That makes us actually have hope for the world to work for a while more. Thumbs up, really!

    I am quite curious about to see if anything have turned up in my inventory ^^

    Cookies to LL for doing good work instead of new unwanted features, and no cookies for Amethyst of course. *grins*

  41. Francesca Alva says:

    WOOHOO! Maybe my lovely gazebo is back.

  42. U M says:

    ok that is wonderful. But when was this lost of inventory occured?

  43. Elissa Bristol says:

    lol @ 37…if u spend that much on a sexbed then I you probably deserved to lose it πŸ˜› hehe j/p.

  44. B.A.R. says:

    What great work!!?… fixing the initial screwup? Is that an awesome job? I think not.
    Fixing a mistake does not deserve praise. It’s an entitlement of more than a million dollars worth of items. Being thankful for the recovery is one thing, praising them for the overall job of having an invalid parent folder “for quite some time” is another…

  45. Storyof Oh says:

    another point on losing stuff….i have failed to rez items repeatedly but now discovered some lurking in the ‘content’ of a ground cover prim so might be a good idea to check a few backdrops.
    Also my ‘lovescene’ that i though i had lost had gone transparent (possibly the show/hide feature) but which hadnt been activated by me or had set itself off by accident so doing a reveal transparent if you lose stuff to double check might help..
    Still cant find the lindens in compensation for months of malfunction though :))
    Keep up the good repairs, thanks !!!!

  46. Pepper Haas says:

    High praise and Kudos!!

  47. Robot Gears says:

    Thank you for this; it didn’t affect me, but I’m sure it is a welcomed Christmas present for thousands of avatars. Good job! πŸ™‚

  48. Criss Fegte says:

    Thats great. I am sure that will make a lot of people happy. I just wish it had come before i went and bought all new textures. I have been missing the library textures for a long time and finally had to buy new ones. I thought it was a Linden decision to take away our textures. Oh well, at lest i made a few of the merchants happy LOL.

  49. Clang Bailey says:

    #44… Get over it.

  50. HoneyBear Lilliehook says:

    Well, I’m hoping that all the customers that I’ve had to give items to will get theirs back and return the extra to me. HA! Fat chance!

    While I’m glad you did this (I got nothing back, but glad for those who did), I’d be far happier if you resolved the whole failed transaction problem. I’m losing money left and right because the customer pays me, the item leaves the vendor, and never reaches them…and I’m not the only one this is happening to.

  51. Ciaran Laval says:

    Nice work guys, nice to see you have indeed been working hard on inventory issues.

  52. Thanks Linden Lab!
    I am happier than ever for living this experience.

    Restoring inventories is a really good sign of your efforts.

    Many people here understand how complex your work is.
    Good job!

  53. Argent Stonecutter says:

    @26@Amethyst – speaking as a fellow merchant in SL, you haven’t lost anything by replacing missing items even if the missing items are found again, not even sales. People DO talk about the service they get, and they DO come back again and send their friends to you when you do right by them. When someone comes to me with a real problem I generally set them right, *and* refund their money as a way of saying “thanks” for telling me about it instead of just bitching to their friends.

    @40@Jessica – She replaced the missing items, so what grounds have you to complain of her customer support? Sheesh.

  54. Argent Stonecutter says:

    @50@HoneyBear – That, and the problem with coalesced items being set for sale at the same price, are real problems. But it’s still a good sign when they fix stuff. Hopefully they’ve been able to automate the process they used here and will run it periodically while looking for the underlying causes.

  55. silke gausman says:

    Well. Hope to be able to log in soon. When we had our last crash with the sim we lost hundreds of items. Most of them no-transfer or no-copy. 😦 Hope to get them back. We are talking worth about 14.000 Linden$. Should all be back by parcel return, but did not.

  56. Doris Haller says:

    Great! Nice Linden!
    Even I got something back! πŸ™‚ Surprise.
    Also it was something, the original vendor generously has replaced fast without complaining (thanks, Xavier πŸ™‚ ) long ago.

    A lot of merchants did and still do a nice job compensating other peoples faults. We customers appreciate that very much and promise to buy a lot more in the future from companies that compensate. They deserve kudos to.
    Customers do not trust companies that ignore their own faults and do not respond to complaints and do not recompense bad things they caused. Argent is right, compensation pays off for the merchant. Probably even more than for the customer.

    “Compensating”, dear Lindens, look here: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/dict.asp?Word=compensation

  57. Korri Peterman says:

    Thank you very much for recovering my inventory items twice πŸ˜› once 3 weeks back i had waited till i eventually had to seek help and then again just 2 days ago they disappeared on me again but they came back quickly – and for the quick response also in help xx Many thanks and have a wonderful Christmas when it comes xx

  58. Very glad to see efforts being put into place to both fix the issue, and also recover items lost. This is very definitely the focus that I would like to see LL take – getting the platform to be more stable, less buggy and something that residents can rely on more.

    This isn’t “The Fix” but one of a series of efforts that I applaud.

    Please keep up the good work to focus on this sort of issue – it’s a long process to try to patch up stuff like this, and certainly not as glamorous as new features, but please pass on to the whole team that at least some of us are very grateful for this type of work.

  59. Alyx Sands says:

    Hm…haven’t got back anything. Okay, so I only lost two things, but still. πŸ˜‰ #26: Don’t be so damn PETTY. Hadn’t it been for two extremely helpful merchants, I still wouldn’t have got the stuff back that I bought and lost within ten minutes. YOU don’t lose anything by this anyway?

    But it’s really good to see that some of those lost items ARE recoverable!

  60. amilie anatine says:

    BEST NEWS!!! Thank you lindens for listening to residents!!

    #26- extra inventory doesnt cost you anything (actually its free advertisement for you) and poor customer service is much more harmful.. many studies have showed.

  61. Iexo Bethune says:

    Wow, this is cool. And thanks for putting the items in the main inventory folder, so we can see what exactly it was we lost that was recovered. Great job, Lindens!

  62. Pingback: Dude, where’s my inventory? | The Story of My “Second Life”

  63. Max Kleiber says:

    all RIGHT!!

    Now This is a Christmas gift from Linden Lab.

    While I have not yet seen any sign of recovering my own lost items, it is indeed very heartening to see efforts visibly focused toward improving the user experience now instead of the near future.

    Excellent work, and my gratitude in advance to the Lindens who will clearly be continuing to work through the holiday season.
    Merry Christmas, indeed πŸ™‚

  64. Uccello Poultry says:

    Nope. My stuff is still missing. All of it, so far, had been inside storage prims, a technique recommended by LL in their first book and other sources.

  65. Good job LL. And quite the timing for christmas, I must say.

    Only lost a LM or two, but wonder who might have dropped a bug chunk on some (no copy) item to discover it eaten, and highest cost for that matter

  66. Ann Otoole says:

    YAY! Now this is the sort of news we really want to see!

    Less shinies and drama, more defects fixed.

    Keep up the good work!

  67. sloopy cooder says:

    What deserves praise is that they are at least working on bugs. Bugs happen. There are no software projects ANYWHERE that are bug free. Ask Microsoft, Apple, or the Linux guys if it’s possible to have no bugs.

    What was really frustrating is watching all the new development going on, new features, and having stability get much much worse. Maybe, just maybe, this is signaling that there is actually a bug-fix initiative.

    At some point you have to do feature freeze and make sure your product is stable. That has not happened yet IMHO. Lindens: FEATURE FREEZE PLEASE – GET THE GRID STABLE!!! And before I forget, age verification sucks. Get rid of it. Payment status is enough.

  68. Hannah Hannya says:

    It really is Christmas-time! Hoo!

  69. U M says:

    Still things missing…………………

  70. Bucky Barkley says:

    “We’ve recovered a 463,000 inventory items that were lost and fixed 79,000 inventory folders. These belonged to a total of 143,000 Residents.”

    “We found all of these under Cory’s desk!”

    (jk πŸ˜‰ — nice to hear they were in the db somewhere.

  71. Jessica Hultcrantz says:

    @53…
    Not necessarily only Amethysts customer support, but customer support in general..
    (Allthough her latest upgrade policy sucked highly from the customer perspective, but that have been debated enough, just mentioned for the sake of it)

    @all…
    Good will is what brings business happy customers, and that counts ^_^
    (Who want sour and angry customers, isn’t returning customers better for the profit?)

  72. Pingback: SecondLife finds some of the missing inventory « I’m Just an Avatar

  73. Kimo Junot says:

    what good is having “Recovered Inventory Items” when all I do is crash every 15 min….some job you all did on that “off line day”

  74. Yuo Rang says:

    I think something broke and they discovered all the extra stuff fixing it.

    Either way it saves me having to write up a support ticket as to why every single item in my inventory disappeared yesterday.

    Thanks :Β¬)

  75. Wow! Thanks for the hard work!

  76. Manticore says:

    none of my stuff is back. *sigh* keep lookin? peeze?

  77. Latonia Lambert says:

    Tegg I have lots of cube objects, will return them to you lol.

    Well done LL this is great πŸ™‚

  78. les says:

    Admit it. you found them all in cory’s locker when he was escorted out of the building.

  79. Dekka Raymaker says:

    I found 7 items in my inventory, not that I knew they were lost, all freebies, and quite honestly I will this time just delete them. But I think it is really great that something is being done about this issue.

  80. bedeboop says:

    My stuff is still missing too and with each logon the number varies.

  81. Pingback: The Grid Live » Second Life News for December 15, 2007

  82. Amethyst Rosencrans says:

    #40, 59, 60 – When you have replaced the vast volumes of merchandise that I have, and wasted cumulatively probably weeks or months of time dealing with support for items lost through SL screw ups you would have a better grasp on what this means for merchants and you would have a little more tact when responding.

    #53 – I agree completely with you on those points, but my point is more that what we have here is a guessing game. Will this item reappear, should I replace it, is it really lost? I would just like to have a better gauge for what I should do in what circumstance. How likely will it be that an item will reappear and in what time frame.

    I literally spend approximately 4 hours each day doing support and that vast majority of it is SL screw ups. And while I am glad that they actually finally recognized that this inventory loss was a problem and fixed some of the missing inventory, it does put vendors in a more complicated position, because previously it seemed like the items were never coming back… and therefore replacement seemed like the most viable route. However now with the likely potential of the items being recovered at some future date it makes the old course of action much less appealing.

  83. Cat Gisel says:

    I didn’t offer a reward, but I suppose I should, who wants the L$? (And yes it’s ‘L$’, NOT 5L$ or 5L or $5 or $L5 or 5$L) lol

  84. Montana Corleone says:

    Not a single one found for me…

    Well hopefully, if you found them, you know how you lost them, and can close down that inv loss source.

    A step in the right direction. But that’s like scoring in the first minute: the rest of the game still to go, so I’ll save my cheering lol

  85. Scarlett Glenelg says:

    Good job !! Well done !! This is what suffering citizens want to hear !! Maybe even Casino Royale’s Space Shuttle will finally be traced … Keep up the good work !!

  86. Great Work! Thank you for getting this done

    Now, if you don’t mind me asking. WHY did it take you 10 months to do it?

    I really think that should be answered too. I’m not being a jerk by asking, I’m seriously wanting to know two things by asking this question.

    First, WHY did it take 10 months to do? Second, what procedures are NOW in place to recover additional items that go missing in the future?

    I think that after 10 LONG and AGONIZING months for many of your Customer’s/Resident’s that you should answer this question, without the usual fluff and noise. I think I can say this for all who have lost very expensive and valuable items, we are tired of hearing promises and promises and see no action. So please, come down off your pedestal and tell us what’s going on now and what’s going to happen if this sort of thing happens again.

    Your Mission Statement clearly says you are concerned for your Customers, so now’s the time to show us that the Mission statement isn’t just noise. Now’s the time to stand up to the plate and show us you mean what you say.

    Again, thank you for your hard work in this matter, I and the others who’ve lost valuable items appreciate your endeavors in this matter, but please speak to us and let us know these two things.

  87. Di Jun says:

    I think I got most of my junk back, but now my fiends list won’t load, what is up with that?

  88. toric says:

    @Amethyst: This happens in RL too, companies replace items that seem to have been misdelivered or lost, and some of those items will eventually be delivered (or were never really lost at all). That kind of shrinkage does buy you some goodwill, keeps you a step above the amateurs who leave it as “not my problem”. Your products have a loyal following, and good service is certainly one of the reasons people cite, so don’t change a thing!

  89. sirhc DeSantis says:

    Hey Lindens – nice work πŸ™‚ Beginning to look a lot like christmas… Now to check my handbag πŸ™‚

  90. Villanova says:

    Great work guys.

    Issue: I have a DOUBLE “Landmarks” folder and a DOUBLE “Lost And Found” folder. Only one of both is actually working, the second one is always empty.

    Has anybody else the same issue?

    Hints or suggestions on what can be done?

    Thanks!

  91. So… if you’ve recovered these items, does that mean you have identified and fixed the problems that caused them to go missing in the first place?

  92. Wonderful! Great job, lindens!

  93. Siobhan Noyes says:

    Great news that so much inventory was recovered! Selfishly, I wish mine had, but I am really happy that so many other SLers received such a great holiday surprise! πŸ™‚

  94. B.A.R. says:

    @49 I am sorry but I won’t get over my principles just because this is a happy event. I just think that sending praise beyond thanks for a mediocre job is simply inadequate. I understand and accept that accounts can lose items while rezzing them and that this can be more complex than emails, but this invalid parent folder issue is not a excellent job, it’s a mediocre job, and the underlying of this recovery is “fail”. It it a killer for the economy and too important to be mishandled. Inventory should have the same priority and critical attention as money. I hope the Inventory Loss Reduction Initiative is not just talk and recovering lost items. So let’s make it clear, I’ll join Bob Bunderfeld and say: Thank you for the fix, but please don’t let such failure happen again at the first place!

  95. chmarr walcott says:

    joy…return of missing inventory…pft just another ploy to take us away from the big question

    why did they fire cory linden and why they still havent fixed my account.

    ALMOST A YEAR and i am still minus $L1,893,000.

  96. I just read somewhere in the comments that a person payed about 26000 L for a bed? A BED? What, with a gazillion poses? That is about 100 USD… Did you know that you can buy a double bed, new, RL (!) for just 129 USD? rofl. silly. x3

    Anyways, I’m still glad everything is back.
    Only thing is… I need MOAR cookies… D:

  97. Waster S. says:

    Well after i whanst able to login i read this blog entry.. i wonder if it has annything todo with this.. they break my accound?

  98. Yukinoroh Kamachi says:

    “Second Life cannot be accessed from this computer”.

    Is that related ?
    I woke up this morning just to find out that I can’t login anymore…

  99. Dajobu Ling says:

    Just wanted to say that this is great news to hear. Definately worthy of much praise. Keep up the good work! πŸ˜€

  100. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    Well … my skirts are listed as being in my inventory but never show up in visual. Ditto with my “Sexy Female Walk”. So I don’t see how you can be all blase about supposed fixing things and yet people still have things that don’t appear. I have even reported this and nothing has been done. Get your act together Linden Labs and fix this problem. I’m sure I’m not the only one who is experiencing this issue.

  101. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    Reading through the responses, I’ve noticed that there are several people who – like myself – are experiencing in game failure. I was on yesterday and was booted out a total of fifteen times. And today I was booted out of SL five times in forty minutes. This is getting well beyond the joke Linden Labs. I have lost track of the number of times I have reported this issue and have been told that you are working to resolve it when every time it continues to happen. You also say that you have resolved inworld issues yet those same issues continue to plague SL. What is with this? Linden really needs to invest in an upto date game driver that can actually cope with the expanding game rather than continually update stuff and work with an old driver that clearly cannot cope. I am seriously considering cancelling my account and boycotting SL all together. Please do not let it come to this Linden.

  102. John Source says:

    Never noticed anything missing..but good work!

  103. FireFox Bancroft says:

    Wow, seems LL can’t please anyone, they fix a long standing issue and people are still pissed off…makes total sense to me *twitch*.

    And as for customer service, I won’t deal with in-world merchants that don’t replace lost inventory items, even if there is a chance they will be recovered later by the system years down the road. It just speaks volumes when a merchant has a “no refund” policy; they’re in it for the money and could really care less about your problem. This is especially true of people who sell “no copy”.

  104. i am missing all gesturees (walking) and my landmarks and cloths help i can’t use SL 😦

  105. Ricky Yates says:

    Way to go, folks! Even while nobody will be able to fix all the problems at once, we appreciate you doing your best to make things better! πŸ™‚

    Thanks!

  106. Di Jun says:

    @95 When did they fire CROY LINDEN? and why? because he knew the real answers behind LL’s problems?

    Btw: MY FRIENDS LIST STILL WON’T LOAD !!!, So… does it matter if all my junk is returned if I can’t find my friends??? Grrrrrrrr

  107. Di Jun says:

    @95 oops, CORY lol

  108. mimi says:

    #40, 59, 60 – I agree with Amethyst. People have no idea how much time it takes to help people, especially newbies and those which don’t speak proper english. I also spend a lot of time on doing customer service over SL bugs especially inventory loss and I feel the way some people reply to Amethyst is very unkind and unthankfull.

    Its not a shop owners fault items don’t arrive – or when SL gives trouble – so behave like a normal person when you need a replacement and need help.

    Some customers are very kind and understanding, but some customers also get mad when something doesn’t delivers or feel its their right to make lots of drama. (even though my profile clearly states we help with inventory loss and other problems) Its tiring to explain to ever mad nebwie that doesn’t reads the profile that this inventory loss is not our fault and it happens in SL daily.
    Its annoying there is no way to check if people tell the truth about not having received their item, because unfortunately not all customers are honest.

    I help the nice customers, try to explain as much as I can to the newbie ones, give people extensive manuals (which half of the people don’t read), but since a while i’ve given up on helping the ones who are rude. You get what you give, when you act friendly you get good customer service, when you are panicked we come by to fix the problem, when something doesn’t works you always get a replacement or the money back when we can’t fix it.
    But when you are rude, pushy or bitchy you just get muted. Its no fun beeing bitched at before you have been able to talk with someone to help them fix something. It’s crazy it has to be that way, but some peoples attitude makes giving customer service to them impossible.

    @101 there is a good reason for not giving refunds on non transfer items. If you give refunds you will get many people in IM who complain they bought the item ‘by accident’ and want their money back for no reason. Then use the item AND the money.

  109. U M says:

    Yes there is reason not to give refunds to those that paid for objects and then lose them frm their inventory. Its called greedy creators. I too don`t deal with creators that do`t replace lost objects ( which is NOT my fault ). If LL would start taking lose of inventory seriuos then creators would be so so..nevermind can you blame them well no. But still if objects are lost or never given to said buyer then its sure seems like greed is the word for it. Not all creators believe in the non support of lost objects. but then again those that only are here for money. Can`t make money if they feel they giving copies of objects result in lost monies for those that lost objects.

  110. mimi says:

    Replacing is something different than refund.

    Replacing = give a new object when the old one is gone
    Refund = give the money back

  111. mimi says:

    Replacing is something different than refund.

    Replacing = give a new object when the old one is lost/damaged
    Refund = give the money back

    So when a shop says “no refunds” it does not mean they don’t say they dont replace lost inventory. Many shops which say no refunds do replace lost inventory. No refunds just means they just don’t give back the money, it does not nessecarily mean “no replacements”.

  112. Kinkykitty Tibbett says:

    suppose i can hope and pray for my items to be returned….

  113. Bucky Barkley says:

    >> why did they fire cory linden — why did it take 10 months to recover items etc

    Look at the trials and tribulations of engineering over the last year.
    Do you see true internal leadership, in terms of priorities, what got
    released, and how long it took to get this amount of inventory back?
    Do you see blog posts from the CTO on an ongoing basis as to how problems
    are going to be rectified?

    The history is all there (or in some cases, glaringly absent) on the forums
    and the blog for competitors to learn from.

  114. Jon Nielsen says:

    They gave me back my missing inventory, though it required logging into my account. I’m just happy to have this stuff back.

    Tip to those who’s stuff is lost? CheckBeta grid, then file trouble ticket

  115. Imako Halcali says:

    @70 Nah, they were in Frontier’s basement ;3

  116. Archie Lukas says:

    Well
    Thats a dissapointment

    my photoshere never came back, expensive too.

    Have you noticed the incredible lag since last weeks ‘improvment’

    I’ve neve had so many freezes before -gives me to time to write this and more, all I did was turn around. bad software

  117. Riven Homewood says:

    Thank you!

  118. Panoramious Blackadder says:

    @39 I fully agree.

    Hm I would have thought checking for lost items would start with broken folders etc. But then its not something you’d think of when programming this sort of thing.

    Its is possible some items will never return, server crashes, hardware or disk problems, corrupted ownership or other vital files.

    I’m getting “Login failed. Cannot connect to version manage”, so no idea if I have found objects or not. Nice error message, tells me nothing.

  119. thanks a lot for the hard work ❀

  120. Yann says:

    Is it just me, or is the TP still a big problem?

  121. Attention Morons says:

    Look, they fixed something… quick, find something to whine about!

    RABBLE

    RABBLE RABBLE!

    dey took er jerbs!

  122. Kate Cuttita says:

    Thank you so much LL i was pulling my hair out with all my stuff missing lol but it’s all back now *few* lol

    Thank’s Kate

  123. U M says:

    Well no refunds. well that is different yes. But still replacing items a problem for many as well

  124. zingg akami says:

    thanks for fixing this problem has has been happening to so many ppl. Quite happy to get some stuff back πŸ™‚ and yes, i am amazed too at the amount of ppl that manage to find reasons to whine when LL posts something positive.

  125. U M says:

    If objects did come back i be happy. None have so how can i be happy?

  126. A. Jetaime says:

    Well done Lindens! Its nice to know you are not taking the its not our problem stance with this. thank you very much for working hard on this issue

  127. loryfer Foggarty says:

    Hi, All my stuff in my inventory hava gone, could you please help me in order to recover them all
    thank you
    All my clothes, objets, landamark, shape and skin, everything!!!!

  128. Martin Magpie says:

    About time.

  129. Radelika Demina says:

    Hey Lindens, A few minutes ago I connected and I found that all my skins, shapes, clothes… all the stuff I bought and I spent a lot of money on them have gone. Where the hell are all my stuff?? I want it back or the money I spent on it. Please fix it as soon as posible.

  130. loryfer Foggarty says:

    ALL INVENTORY HAVE GONE; HOW TO RECOVERED
    thank you for your help
    I have lost all my inventory, everything has gone, I asked for help, I receveid all the support in order to reestablished my inventory, Hamilton linden gave to me this URL, http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Inventory_Recovery_Steps#Clearing_Second_Life.27s_cache, i went to this URL, all the instructions are there in order to recover the inventory, thank you linden, I return to my SL, with all my inventory intact
    regards
    Hope to enjoy your RL

  131. niki says:

    Thanks for everything you do. None of my missing objects or textures reappeared, but this gives me hope that they might return some day.

  132. Jayme Llewellyn says:

    Well… my skirts are now rezzing since the new upgrade … but Linden still hasn’t fixed the bare essentials – lag and Freeze. These are drive engine problems … not upgrade issues. Fix these by getting a new Drive Engine for the game, Linden Labs, and then there will no issues. and it shouldn’t matter wether someone has a paying account or a free account as to the regularity of lag and freeze. So instead of upgrading all the time, get a new drive-engine for SL that can actually cope with the volume of the game. It’s as simple as that. You people at Linden Labs are game Engineers and you haven’t figured this out yet? C’mon

  133. Pingback: Supercharged by Veyron » Why 25 Groups Is a Bug Fix

  134. Edesse Thibedeau says:

    Any way this can be addressed again? I lost quite a bit of inventory during the forced “upgrade” to Rev 1.19.

    Edesse

  135. Pixelz Teebrook says:

    About 6 weeks ago my custom folder ‘Furniture’ went missing. I deleted SL cache and rebooted the game but the folder never materialized. I had over 3000 L of furniture stuff. I subitted a ticket and the final result from SL was we are unable to locate your missing items. I lost a lot and am so unhappy that SL can not locate it.

Comments are closed.