[COMPLETED] Rolling Restarts Continued

[UPDATE 7:09 PM PST] Good news! The rolling restarts are completed, with the exception of 20 regions still underway.

[UPDATE 6:29 PM PST] The rolling restarts are still underway and expect to continue for the next 1-2 hours.

During today’s rolling restart, several hundred regions did not restart. We are rolling them again and apologize for any inconvenience. If you are getting messages in world that a region is restarting yet never did, then your region may be in this group. We will keep you updated on progress.

This entry was posted in -Miscellaneous, Community, Customer Service, Resident Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to [COMPLETED] Rolling Restarts Continued

  1. Walentine Andersson says:

    Great work Linden!
    Another party at our Club is gone, and another chance of getting some money in.

    The only damn thing that works is when YOU want YOUR money, isnt it.

  2. Eric Domela says:

    I’m not one to post here complaints or otherwise but I read earlier someone mentions about the many apologies for the inconvenience. Well that’s all good but if my $800.00 a month tier was’nt automatically taken, maybe I wait a bit to pay and send my apologies for the late payment.

  3. Eric Domela says:

    Oh, and yes my region is still down, thanks LL

  4. Dirk Felix says:

    #2 Eric Domela
    Good point and I agree. If LL had a reliable platform this would never be an issue. Feels like the stone-age days of DOS. In order to print a page you needed to restart your puter, but don’t worry the inconvenience of SL will be with us just like bugs of Microsoft. 😉

  5. Leather Chaffe says:

    There’s that phrase Linden Lab loves to parrot, “We apologize for the inconvenience.”

    @2 & 3: You read my comment on the other rolling restart entry.

    Leather stands the Lindens all in rows. Leather taps his baton on the podium. “A-one, a-one, a-one, two, three, four”

    “We apologize for the inconvenience,” the Lindens crow in unison, like a parody of the Borg Collective.

    “In the meantime, here’s another Video from Torley Linden, entitled, ’10 Fun Things You Can Do While Your SL Business Swirls Around In The Toilet.’

    “Resistance is futile. So is complaining.”

    Less apologies — more actual working.

  6. Tony says:

    I don’t know what some of you guys want. They’ve updated us on the situation, it’s not ideal but it’s better than not telling us what’s going on. Communication wise, this is the right thing for them to be doing.

    If you want to complain about procedures and policies then go to office hours, contact the SL media, post in the forums but give them a break when all they’re doing is updating us.

  7. Twoony Loon says:

    Well i think we have to realize these are the purcs of running a beta program

  8. Alexander Regent says:

    Being in the software business….. I feel and commiserate with the Lindens…. it ain’t easy writing this kinda software….. and yeah there have been some “ooops” on their part… like bugs that were fixed ooopss no they weren’t…. and the new regAPI that was released…oppss no it wasn’t….

    But still it’s a tough thankless job….. and I hope they get paid really really well to do it… cause lately I bet it’s become REALLY unpleasant….

    Of course living in the US..it ain’t like SL is borked anymore than RL is it????

  9. SteveB Smit says:

    You know – I get real tired of hearing you people complain! This is new people – if you want to play on the cutting edge you might get cut.

    If you don’t like it – you know where the door is!!!!

    Use it!

    Lindens – I think this is a wonderful world – I understand there will be some issues and I know you work hard to keep things moving along.

    Keep up the great work and thanks.

  10. Phaedra Basevi says:

    Can someone please tell me whether whatever updates have been implemented include the bug that affects Mac users – Groups not listing in the Contacts window?

  11. Eric Domela says:

    Ok Look Tony, I understand the issues and most are accepted. The post for the rolling restart stated 5 to 10 minutes down time. Very acceptable. 3 hours is not (and still not up). If your internet went down for 3 hours what would you be doing? You’d be on the phone to your provider pitching a damn fit lol.

  12. Tony says:

    Eric did you contact concierge support?

  13. Bobo Decosta says:

    @6 what did they inform us about? I have info on a rolling restart that’s it. Nothing more nothing less. I read here that some regions didn’t restart but totally no mention why my sim keeps restarting every 10 minutes. That’s what we are complaining about. The residents notice more defects than LL admits.

  14. Eric Domela says:

    Oh and my last post for the day. I do love Secondlife don’t get me wrong. I just want it to work right and yes I know they are doing their best to do that. But, it’s still very frustrating when trying to run a business and losing with only a we apologize. Good night all.

  15. Eric Domela says:

    Yes Tony I did and got hung up on lol

  16. Walentine Andersson says:

    SteveB you really give a–kissing a new face

    But SteveB, as you dont seem to care when your loosing money. Can I give you my bank account and maybe you can transfer some?

  17. Vanessa Sakai says:

    Maybe they could stop the new features until after the new year.

  18. Pingback: Another rolling restart underway

Comments are closed.