Tip of the Week #11: Welcome to WindLight!

You may have cried, but the sun never went away!Unless you’ve been hiding under a sculptie rock, you know WindLight is here

Being an emotional technology offering freakin’ awesome environments and performance boosts bolstered with helpful documentation, it’s only fitting that today’s SLTotW is about WindLight! Specifically:

  • How to get started editing skies & water (easy!)
  • Day Cycle Editor basics
  • A look at the simplified Graphics Preferences
  • How to use GLOW

In future Tips of the Week, I’ll go into detail about achieving both the sane ‘n’ crazy photo effects I’m synonymous with, as well as reducing viewer-side lag (always a popular topic). And on a connected note, I plan to do a followup new Search one, too, to answer some of the very tasty queries in the comments.

I can’t stress enough how much your encouragement means to us, and how our WindLight Team-folk love hearing both the positive praise and constructive criticism so we can improve your experience. I spent a fat chunk of my morning assessing hot WindLight bugs and will be ramping it up in days, weeks to come. We even had a rompin’ Q&A session today! Future times here.

WINDLIGHT! WINDLIGHT!

And it has been yayzeramatastically delightful to see all the WindLight photos appearing on Flickr, Snapzilla, and more. I’m fond of moments where one Resident asks another,

“How did you get your Second Life to look so good?”

Thank-you, thank-you for WindLighting!

Misc. notes of intrigue:

  • I’ll be continuing to make more project updates on WindLight; some of these are candid notes based on community feedback that get gelled into formal actions later.
     
  • My Guide to High-Quality Photography has gotten 15,000+ views since I posted about it! Found it useful? Share with friend! And special thanx to Randall Lovenkraft and Tid Kidd (check out her wiki page) for editing it and making it better!
     
  • The Watermelon Nation group, part of “How to create and join a group“, is now 58-odd members strong! Thanks for watching & joining; like flaggers, it’s always extra-cool to see interaction with the stuff featured in my vidtuts. πŸ™‚

FACT: romance and WindLight sunsets go together,

Fun with my autograph after vectorizing it (small)

Torley Linden apparently is a Product Manager & more who regularly contributes to the Official Linden Blog. See more Tips of the Week, and come to my office hours tomorrow if you wanna chat inworld.

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas, Resident Experience, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Tip of the Week #11: Welcome to WindLight!

  1. Berry Steinhoff says:

    Thank you Torley. Loving Windlight!

  2. Duriel Phobos says:

    Loveing windlight and.. Oh is that a demon torly linden?

  3. elise sands says:

    ok mega pleased that Windlight is back… kinda curious where my clouds are though… havent seen any in sindlight yet (not this time…did months ago… is there a switch I’m missing?

  4. D. Spitz says:

    Wonderful tuto thank you realy, but hug you Lindens for the super nice breath taking new windlight, i love this like stupid!!!
    Im getting totaly crazy for this beautiful new world πŸ˜‰
    *hasting back to windlight – continue to snapshot*

  5. Alan Bamboo says:

    WoW, windlight looks really nice, in your video anyways. Can you recommend any graphic cards ?

  6. Silje Russell says:

    is it anyway we can share ouer setnings with others? like files we can send a user with a external program?

  7. awesome thanks for the guide it helped my friends πŸ˜›

  8. Celierra Darling says:

    Hmm, these guides are getting slower-paced… πŸ˜› But I guess that’s easier to follow. πŸ™‚

    Glad to see the cute draggie-Torley again. πŸ™‚

  9. Philbert Susa says:

    when are we going to get a descent shadow engine? all this fancy light is no good without good shadows.

  10. Sylver Bu says:

    *heart attack* GASPETH. Torley, you are a god, ❀ Thanks for wearing my avatar. πŸ™‚

    Thanks again for the video, your vid’s are always so lovely and helpful, Positively wonderful!

  11. Kahni Poitier says:

    I *LOVE* the new Windlight! The colors don’t mess up the looks of objects like so many people feared, and the skies/water are BEAUTIFUL!

    Now I have to go around taking all my pictures (of my house, my pizza lot, etc) all over again. Because they look INCREDIBLE now!

    I never wanted voice. I wanted THIS!

    Now if my attachments would stop locking up on teleport……

  12. Dovryn Skall says:

    Good question from #9. Also I love how great things look… this is a HUGE step in the right direction. Thanks guys.

  13. Ann Otoole says:

    can glow be scripted to turn it on and adjust level?
    really need that really really bad.

  14. FireFox Bancroft says:

    It’s be nice if it actually worked as advertised on my HD 2900XT, I tried filing a Jira about it but I didn’t see the version numbers for Windlight on it. Tried the Wiki and it just refers me to Jira.

  15. Jaereth Enoch says:

    Okay, it’s messed up. If I run it with ‘Basic Shaders’ on, it looks like it’s being displayed in 16-bit color.

    Otherwise, it looks great. Where do I go again in order to report issues? The jira site? What’s the link?

  16. Masuyo Aabye says:

    14 : https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-3134 and http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-3184

    messed up on my card too. funny because my card can play Crysis at atop settings and it doesn’t even flich, but it won’t do the SL water shaders.
    Any linden word on this? not every SL user uses Nvidia you know πŸ˜‰
    really though, having to downgrade to an older card to use this is frankly absurd.

  17. Brookston Holiday says:

    This looks INCREDIBLE! Thanks Lindens!

    Will island owners be able to set what the environment will look like for visitors? Or, will the windlight settings of people teleporting into your sim be whatever they had set for themseleves?

  18. This looks INCREDIBLE! Thanks Lindens!

    Will island owners be able to set what the environment will look like for visitors? Or, will the windlight settings of people teleporting into your sim be whatever they had set for themseleves?

  19. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Torley did you just give us 2 TofWs this week? OSSM I say. You must be having your avatars doing all the work for you. =) Thanks again and again.

  20. MasterDave Newman says:

    Finally !!!!

    Thank you so much Torley and the whole Linden Group…
    Windlight is so fantastic !!! I loved the preview in May. But this one now is much better. Love the way Second Life is looking now. So real…so yummy !!! Now the 2cond Life got a god step nearer optically to the 1st Life. πŸ˜‰ Good Engine…runs very smooth on my PC. Ok, have a new one, and a good card too (Nvida 8800 GTS 320 MB)

    Hope we can use this windlight from now on forever….please dont take it away. (At least as a seperate optional Viewer) We all love it….

    TY again…great work !!! much appreciated !!!

  21. hmmm,
    the WL-client runs, but the effects do not become visible … what ability must a graphiccard have to enable the windlight effects??

  22. Yoshikuni Takakura says:

    I just wanted to say woot to WL. Strangely, in the WL viewer with GFX turned to ultra, makes everything FASTER than the original client. How can making the GFX go up make SL fast. I’m so confused but love it a lot… lol.

    Love your vids Torley, even tho I know how to do everything you say already. At least from the vids before Wind-Light.

    “It looks like the side of a tie fighter!”

    You always put a smile on your viewers face, I’m sure. πŸ™‚

    -YT

  23. Mandy Aya says:

    Thank you for the amazing videos!!! WindLight looks wonderful! water sparkles .. ok .. just don’t lose that sparkle you had in your voice. One of the reasons it’s so good to watch the videos, regardless the topic!!

  24. Sasha Nurmi says:

    nice work Torley
    I have allmost survived a year in SL and still some things I dont know and your videos are real nice.
    After tweaking up my gaming rig I can play SL ALLOT less laggy.
    and the windlight made me drool.
    hope this time it finally can be a standard feature in SL
    This is REALY a eye candy feature
    thanks allot for this demonstration of windlight.
    See you next time for next tip of the week
    *huggs Torley* πŸ˜€

  25. Thor says:

    PLEASE U GOTTA WORK ON ATI CARDS RUNNING WITH VISTA ! CAN’T ENJOY THE WATER

  26. Max says:

    Beautiful but..the search is hosed. I can’t find my own stores like I used to. I spent lots of time to figure the best way to be in search and now all that work is gone with this search

  27. Penny Patton says:

    Thanks much for the confirmation on server side settings, and settings we can transfer to other residents as inventory objects. I hope we’ll be able to embed these settings in notecards, like we can with landmarks and other notecards.

    I’m also looking forward to confirmation that we’ll be able to set particles to glow. Even just word saying that it will definitely be part of a future Windlight release would make be a very happy Penny!

  28. Max says:

    hmmm, now every single flaw in anyones build shows very clearly. They all stick out like a sore thumb making once beautiful builds look like crap.
    I saw many graphic artifacts in the clouds. Things take forever to rez and once rezzed and you look away for a minute or two then turn back, the things have to rezz again. These things happened on two separate systems with different make mid to high end graphic cards.
    One system could not get the setting right to look good (well look it’s best, it was always too dark in the shadows)
    Both systems had rezz issues when settings where set to default or higher.
    Both systems run the regular version of SL very well with all settings on high.
    The more I look with the different sun settings the more artifacts I see. At sunset or sunrise, ANY prim that isn’t perfectly lined up looks terrible. The sun shines on prims that are blocked by other prims making any indoor scene look unreal.
    Love the glow feature but can see where that will cause issues in the long run when everyone starts making everything glow.
    Can’t get over the “new and improved” search. The ALL tab only shows ten places at a time. I definitely want the old search back.

  29. Kahni Poitier says:

    Some people are never happy.

  30. Tracey Humphreys says:

    Wow! Thank you. One look using my ancient Geoforce4 MX 420 made me shell out today on a new Geforce 7600 GS graphics card.

    Awesome! No rendering problems, water looks almost too real!
    SL seemed less ‘jerky’ using Windlight even with the old card

    Thank you all again!

  31. Ceera Murakami says:

    Well, time for a complete hardware upgrade, I guess. because no system I own has enough graphics processing horsepower to make any use of the new features.

    *uninstalls*

    Fortunately, I will be ordering a completely new system about the end of this month. Maybe then I can enjoy this beauty too.

  32. Charlie Kramer says:

    I like the new windlight. I haven’t seen any issues with it as of yet. My computer seems to handle it well with the graphics settings at default with a few custom settings. The one issues that I do have is that I wish there were a way to get rid of the new search bar at the very top right corner of the screen. I have relied on the bandwidth and packet loss bars to guide me in my SL experience and would really appreciate getting them back. I miss them. Maybe you could include a way to choose it as an option. The new search bar, or the old bandwidth and packetloss bars? Anyway, so far, looking very good. πŸ™‚

  33. Ron Crimson says:

    OMFG Torley!!!

    A 10-second day? Kooyanisqatsi? TIME-LAPSE MACHINIMA??

    I damn near had a MENTAL ORGASM when I saw that bit in your video tutorial!! OMG, I’m a big fan of time lapse (and incidentally, the 1960 classic “The Time Machine” because of its time-lapse effects) πŸ˜€

    AAAAAAWWWWSUUMMMM!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Now hurry and fix those bugs so Windlight can become the main viewer LOL πŸ˜€

  34. Ron Crimson says:

    Oh, and Charlie @ 32: just open up the new lag meter and set it to its minimized form (only the status buttons visible)….drag it to a permanent home position and there ya have it. πŸ˜‰

    BTW, the one thing that surprised me a bit, Torley, is that you said graphics cards need to support DX9 shaders… since SL is completely OpenGL2.0-based, wouldn’t it be more accurate to say videocards need to have *hardware support* for shaders in general? o_O

  35. Paddy Wright says:

    Best thing that happened to SL in a year. Congrats!

  36. Pingback: The Grid Live » Windlight Overview and Tips

  37. Aragon says:

    I love the windlight, I plan to be taking some pictures this afternoon.

    I just have one question, is there anyway to add multiple moons and or multiple suns. I know that one reason for the windlight is so you can create an alien world with orange water with a purple sky and such. but on so many worlds have multiple moon, and some like “Tatooine” from Star Wars have twin suns.

    Just a thought, thou I would love to see this thou. I am sure others will appreciate it as well

  38. Gunnar Korobase says:

    AH, WindLight. Very nice, I love it! Things look so much more realistic. Especially the reflections from objects and even the avatar in the water is so cool Thanks WindLight team!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SL is the best, this makes it unreachable.

    Gunnar Korobase

  39. Ann Otoole says:

    when can we have reflectivity on clothing items? artifically baked reflections on clothing in a world where all the primitives and water have reflectivity seems kinda lame.

    we want it all! (and fair searches too)

  40. Ron Crimson says:

    Aragon: that’s a cool idea… How about taking an in-world photo as usual, then turning all the rendering options *except* for the sky and sun/moon off and taking another shot from the same angle with a slightly altered sun/moon position? That way you could merge the two shots in Photoshop or something and end up with the desired effect… It could be done, couldn’t it?

  41. JetZep Zabelin says:

    There’s a Tatooine somewhere in SL, I had the LM somewhere in my inventory. I’m sure Aragon wants the multiple suns and moons in the SL experience, not just snapshots of it. πŸ˜‰

  42. Jaime Hocken says:

    This is great! But don’t think about this on a graphics card more then 2 or 3 years old…

  43. Yoshikuni Takakura says:

    @37 Aragon, thats funny, most of my WindLight photos I’ve taken, I have been in Tatooine. Well, “Little Mos Eisley” anyway.

    You’re right tho, a great thing would be to add multi-moons, suns, and other planets. Have a list you can open in a window and check what you want to show or hide.

    We should at least be able to turn on the planets that are REAL. Mars, Mercury, Venus, so on so on.

    Better yet… Sim owners or people with the power in a group owned sim, should be able to make their own skys and have it so when you are in that sim, you see such a sky. Torley, you say later we can save and give our custom skys and all of that, well we should be able to make, and sell/trade our own textured skys as well. πŸ˜€

    Hell, go further, even be able to make our own clouds heh.

    Even without the above, WindLight is the best thing to have in Second-Life. That is for sure!

    @28 Max, my “Panzer Battle Armor” have never looked so great. Not only does it look good in WindLight, but even better with a 0.10 glow on the whole thing. When WL is actually released, not just as a test, I will surly start to sell the armor with glow on. Of course still selling the original with no glow if someone does not want it to look amazing for some reason, hehe.

    -YT

  44. Kadin Redgrave says:

    Yay Windlight! But, now my framerate is nurfed.

  45. Margie Snookums says:

    The video is no longer available 😦

  46. Xavito Rosca says:

    The new Windlight is just great, but the moon is not shining enought Please make the moon a little more romantic,
    Thanks Lindens.

  47. Midnight says:

    Ron @34:

    And this “lag meter” would be located where? I don’t see it on any of the menus (including client-server).

    A hint on how to access it would be helpful.

  48. Pix Paz says:

    The new windlight viewer is the best thing to happen to SL in over a year. Smashing effort.

  49. Xavito Rosca says:

    Lindens, another time itΒ΄s me, congratulations for the Windlight Viewer. ItΒ΄s possible to improve the wave of the sea to look more real?.Thanks for your patiente.

  50. LoneStar Moonlight says:

    Please, provide an option to get rid of new search tab on top right corner and have bandwidth and packet loss indicators back.

    and no, having statistic bar open is not the same, it’s much more invasive in the viewing.

  51. Candy Lemmon says:

    “Ode to Windlight”

    The water that reflects my face!
    The sun that done lit up this place!
    O windlight, how could Voice replace?
    Dear windlight, viewer I embrace!

    THANKS Torley!

  52. Belatrix Blackadder says:

    I have a facial lighter which I tend to keep on all the time as the shadows on faces are not exactly pleasing. However, with WindLight the effect of the lightner is negated.

    Any idea why and suggestions on how to fix?

    Otherwise, absolutely love the new view.

  53. Achtai Coronet says:

    love the windlight, unfortunately when you go into first person, then zoom out I crash..does anyone else have this problem?

  54. Pingback: La Convoitise .org » Blog Archive » Windlight

  55. Floresha Vuckovic says:

    It looks awesome. ❀ I’ve seen people done amazing things with WindLight. πŸ˜€
    I cannot use the Advanced Editors myself, so I can’t really experience the beauty personally. ( The pretty water -buhu- )
    Keep up the great work!

  56. Rex Cronon says:

    @”#47, Midnight Says: November 16th, 2007 at 7:17 PM PST ”
    -to view the lag meter go to help/lag meter

  57. Snackov Mantha says:

    Dude, this was an awesome tutorial, I’m really looking forward to Windlight now, yay for SL!!! \o/

  58. Ann Otoole says:

    will windlight settings be controllable via LSL? if so there are some amazing possibilities beyond setting a static scene. i have not noticed the stars moving. are stars just static light points on the sky background? If so will you be putting in a sky that actually moves with the time of day?

    will anyone answer these questions?

    Please list the system specifications for the windlight team workstations. thats probably the only platforms windlight will be reliable on so let us know. some of us have pretty good systems and keep our video drivers up to date all the time yet we observe defects that are repeatable yet the non-linden research people running the public jira close defects if they cannot reproduce them themselves. oops… LL made yet another error by allowing the elite chosen ones to control critical resources.

  59. Pingback: Windlighting « orchard office

  60. Ann Otoole says:

    Short vid showing some of the “dynamic aspects” of object glow:

    (hey its the only animation i had handy :P)

    Hurry up Windlight Team. We wants to make stuff but we still don’t know what all will wind up in production!

    And we are loving it!

    πŸ™‚

  61. Rich Gaudio says:

    Well it looks great from the few pics I’ve seen but sadly, it crashes me as soon as I try to get out of default (which looks almost identical to the original world) and the majoroty of my friends too. Is this another update that requires state of the art graphics cards and Vista to run?

  62. Ann Otoole says:

    @61 – I’m using 3 year old nvidea 6800 pros. i would not describe that card as state of the art. might call it a standard industrial strength video card. the nvidea 8800 card with 768MB vid memory is current hot technology. (500 bucks each) 6800’s are around a hundred bucks now.

  63. Kyder Ling says:

    Yay! Furry Torley!

    Gosh Dang do those graphics look super pretty. Issue is, no college is willing to put 8800GT’s in 20 computers for a SL lab, nor does the average folk, but it’s great that you guys have worked so hard to support the uber geeky folk with insane computer specs! ^^

    Most other companies just cut the corners and photoshop some screenshots and display it as “actual in world screenshot.” XP

  64. tracey says:

    I am not sure this is wise, you are investing more and more time in improving secondlife which is good, but the main issue of people leaving secondlife in herds and land empty everywhere needs to be addressed first, there is too much land, too few people and soon SL will cease to exist if you dont address this issue..

    Personally I think the tier fees are too high and most people wont hang around for long because of this, after all the biggest customer base countries such as USA, Japan, EU are all in serious economic troubles, including USA drifting into recession soon, do you really think people will put money into SL at the current tier fees and poor exchange rates..

    Please make SL good again.. Also list the total number of people signed up too, this encourages more people to join..

  65. pyter says:

    The long-outstanding MacBook Pro graphics card issue means that Windlight is completely broken on an up-to-date MacBook. The work-around that is used to get SL working at all, fails with Windlight.

    If the graphics card issue is not fixed, Windlight will mean the end of Second Life for MacBook users.

  66. Raymond says:

    I’m having the same problem with having the glow effect not being controled by the scripting engine.

    The glow effect dosen’t change with light switch scripts, only the transparancy/light sorce does.

  67. Balder Miles says:

    Water is awesome, but when i turn on Atmospheric shaders the sky turns yellow and the clouds are grey. I’m using a Redeon 9600. I can’t seem to adjust the sky color normal in the Advanced sky editor…What do i do wrong ?.

    and i agree….lose the search bar in the top….

  68. Ann Otoole says:

    i haven’t finished taking measurements but something is up with memory in this fl viewer where going into a sim with a lot of avatars is concerned. last night i found that in a sim with 70 people the client used 1.3GB memory plus lots of paging file mem. teleporting to an empty sim caused the mem to drop to 550mv/550mbpf. going back to the busy sim the mem climbed back up to the 1.3gb again, leaving it dropped back to 550/550. normally an empty sim is good gor 300mb with little or no page file. i’ll put this in the jira after i get some measurements at various levels of avatar counts. naturally my unqualified suspicions center on whatever “avatar impostors” is.

  69. Jossy Joffe says:

    Windlight,…wooooow,…nice!!! Looks gooood! You did a marvelous job! Question: When will SL be stable??

  70. It looks fantastic! but…it may just be me but avatars looks very, very dark

  71. Xavier Tosung says:

    Loving Windlight! A HUGE thank you to Linden Labs for this excellent peice of work. The old sky and lighting systems was starting to look very dated, and now everything is just whoah! Chaning the SIM a little to take full advanage of the sunsets πŸ™‚

  72. Tony Kembla says:

    Very cool, but please, adjust the water fog to the actual value.

    With the new settings, people cant see nothing, and there are lot of sims with things underwater.

    Thanks!

  73. zebadee says:

    “waaaww epic izneh?”

  74. hmm it seems that this video and the last, (and perhaps others?) are not available any more. I did a quick run through youtube search and view all videos by creato, but couldn’t find them either. Has youtube been deleting them? I was really hoping to rewatch the search one, as i have a lot of objects set to search, but when I actually do a search they don’t seem to ever appear. I was hoping the video might help…

  75. Dodi Tomsen says:

    sorry, can’t find any of the options, and neither in the release candidate..
    *help*? πŸ˜‰

  76. katsomi kawashima says:

    well what can i say – its horrid. on an imac the whole screen is ruthed. if this viewer was mandatory in its present form id simply have to stay out

  77. shaq Merlin says:

    Hi, What about Graphic Card ASUS EAH2600XT/HTDP/256M ? It will be able to handle it? In the official version (1.18.4.3) when I set “Avatar Vertex Program” the avatar is invisible-glass and in the “WindLight First Look Viewer” in the “Ultra” graphic-level some objects (those ones which have “Shininess->High”) looks like glass-invisible, also no water changes and reflections. Water on the “Ultra” level looks like in the 1.18.4.3 version. All other things looks REALY COOL !!!

    Best Regards,
    shaq

  78. Alicia Sautereau says:

    as much as i bitched…



    earth in a couple billion years

    just wished i could have changed the ground textures to sort of desert`ish to match πŸ™‚

  79. Ann Otoole says:

    How to share windlight skies (till it is built in):

    the xml files in C:\Program Files\SecondLifeWindLight\app_settings\windlight\skies are the skies.

    let’s say you made a sky called “iceplasma”. it would be stored as C:\Program Files\SecondLifeWindLight\app_settings\windlight\skies\iceplasma.xml

    make the file available to whomever. such as by emailing it or putting it on a website.

    they just save it to the appropriate directory.

    for instance save this file:
    http:\\www.annotoole.com\iceplasma.xml

    to C:\Program Files\SecondLifeWindLight\app_settings\windlight\skies\iceplasma.xml

    next time you start the windlight viewer the iceplasma sky should now be on your list of saved skies.

    water files are in C:\Program Files\SecondLifeWindLight\app_settings\windlight\water and day cycle files are in C:\Program Files\SecondLifeWindLight\app_settings\windlight\days and they are just xml files so have fun sharing.

  80. Loraaga says:

    well, I installed WindLight because a friend told me how great everything looks. I agree, some things really look marvellous but… I’m really worried that some people will ruin their computers in case they haven’t got high-end-machines and are unaware how hard their cpu is forced by rendering WindLight for hours every day.

    I checked the taskmanager while running WindLight (with the preferences given at download) and saw that the used cpu bandwith (I’m unsure whether this is the correct term, I mean the thing you can see in your taskmanager) was constantly between 88% and 92%.

    OK, there are surely much better computers, but a one month old penitum dual core E2180, 2,00 GHZ with a GeForce 8400GS, 256 mb and 2048 mb RAM is not the badest machine either. And with the normal client the used cpu bandwith is constantly between 32% and maximum 42% no matter what I do with my ava or the cam.

    So I will keep my fingers off WindLight *sob* as long as it is possible to play without it. I can’t afford buying a new computer every year :o(

  81. Selina Voom says:

    Ok, I am so saddened at this point 😦 Here are my specs that ‘dont’ work with winlight, (only the water works):

    Windows Vista Home Premium
    AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology MK-36 2.00 GHz
    958 MB RAM
    32-bit OS
    NVIDIA GeForce GO 6150

    Oh and its a HP Entertainment Laptop PC.. like the one Seinfield advertises on the tv.. anyway..

    The last time Winlight was released.. I saw the sky’s perfectly.. could tweak everything.. now.. I only get the ‘water’ option. Yes I have updated drivers, even read about the DirectX 9 bs.. um mine came with version 10 not 9.. but I’ve even updated that.

    I dont see where to turn shaders on, forgive me if I’m stupid.. I clicked the Nvidia control proggy on my pc, and it say’s I have open gl 2.0 .. yet I cant see shaders in the SL viewer at all.

    What happened from the last winlight to this one? 😦

    I bought my pc in Febuary 2007.. its only like 9 months old… my graphics card sucks this bad already?? Dont make me have to buy a new Desktop this comin Feb.. I kinda need the money for my eldest son’s graduation expenses.

    Depressed…

    Selina

  82. shaq Merlin says:

    I forgot to add that using Graphics Card ASUS EAH2600XT/HTDP/256M set up in the Menu (CTRL+ALT+D) Client->DebugSettings->RenderGlow->TRUE ends with error and quit from the Second Life. Looks like problem related to the same thing. http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-2732

    Best Regards,
    shaq

  83. Andy Piper says:

    Shame the video is not available now 😦

  84. Pingback: Broken Arrow (Blogs) » Blog Archiv » Wuhuuu! Windlight!

  85. yman juran says:

    where has all the old good tips gone…..after Windloght is up running my “no type” tiktak fingermovements are back to newbie style…???
    Need a update fix to WindLight or a way to bring them into Windlight

  86. Lozlo Peng says:

    @ 67

    Hey Balder, I also get the grey sky and yellow clouds when turning atmospheric clouds on. All my settings are ultra and turned up as high as possible apart from the atmospheric option; for some reason it doesnt work and looks rather ugly.
    I have an ATI Radeon gfx card – can’t give you the full name of my card right now since I am posting from a college PC.
    Did you work out how to resolve the problem, or are our cards just not suitable?

    LL, please fix this.

    Oh and… I havn’t yet seen water reflecting? It always looks Opac. The pictures I have seen are transparent waters reflecting objects and such. I have all of the boxes ticked too, it just doesn’t seem to render? The only thing my water reflects is the sun/moon.

  87. Pingback: Windows Vista + word processing tutorial

Comments are closed.