New Viewer: 1.18.5 Release Candidate Available Today!

Today’s Release Candidate Viewer (1.18.5) contains a few important bug fixes and gives you the opportunity to try out our new and improved Search functionality! As a reminder, Release Candidate viewers are optional updates that contain the latest round of bug fixes and/or soon-to-be-released new features. Please visit the test software page to download the Second Life 1.18.5 (RC0) Release Candidate viewer. Source code is now available for download, too.

Bug fixes include:

  • VWR-2959: Windows (Visual Studio) solution file refers to a non-existing project “build_all”
  • Korean text display broken on Leopard (Mac OS X 10.5)
  • VWR-2030: Avatar only turns half-way in Appearance Mode
  • VWR-2803: Lag Meter network ping metric doesn’t account for residents outside the USA
  • VWR-2834: Builds fail on 1.18.4.0 with no mozlib

Jeska Linden will follow this post with more details about the progress on Search. Thank you, Jeska!

Please continue to report any new issues in the Issue Tracker and be sure to set “Affects Version/s” to “1.18.5 Release Candidate“. Your participation is welcome at our weekly (Wednesdays @ 3pm PST time) inworld bug triages, too!

Thanks for helping improve the viewer and the Second Life experience.

This entry was posted in Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, Community, Quality Assurance. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to New Viewer: 1.18.5 Release Candidate Available Today!

  1. Sindy Tsure says:

    Sweeeeet!

  2. Pingback: New Search with Today’s Release Candidate « Official Linden Blog

  3. U M says:

    Finally ! Thank you!

  4. U M says:

    “VWR-2803: Lag Meter network ping metric doesn’t account for residents outside the USA”

    Oh really? someone tell this to mine?

  5. Ben says:

    In the group info options your now able to hide a group from a profile listing. Is this ment to be hidden even from members of that same group?

  6. Jayden B says:

    Offtopic: Gah, I hate Lindens with closed blog posts. Especially about actions with immediate execution as the penalty when they are vaguely worded…. From how I read it a child near a sexgen will be killed (their parents?) and a child with a penis (a scripted sexualised object?) will be killed?

    Ontopic: Great! I can’t wait to see the new search, especially if some of the target dummy items I have placed in my sim are seen. I have been looking for the promised switch to exclude all for sale items appearing, as promised last blog, but can’t see it. Is it hidden somewhere?

  7. Jeska Linden says:

    @ Jayden – I’m not sure what you mean by “promised switch to exclude all for sale items” – there are two checkboxes on each object “Show in Search” or “For Sale”. For the initial population of search, all “For Sale” objects defaulted to having their “Show in Search” checkbox selected, but you can uncheck this to remove them.

    Also, there are several other ways to achieve this:

    1) Don’t include your parcel where the objects are located in search and none of the objects will be included regardless of their “Show in search” checkbox

    2) Don’t set the For Sale items to “Show in Search” (there are two checkboxes)

  8. Gigs says:

    U M, the compromise that was set was 350ms IIRC. Some international users will still be solidly in the red.

    It’s important to realize, if you are over 350ms all the time then your connection DOES really suck, all of the time. There’s not much you can do about it if you have a national monopoly ISP or whatnot, but for purposes of bug filing and support, it’s important for these users to realize their connection really is high latency.

  9. Pingback: Tip of the Week #10: How to use the new Search « Official Linden Blog

  10. Jayden B says:

    > “1) Don’t include your parcel where the objects are located in search and none of the objects will be included regardless of their “Show in search” checkbo”

    This is what I was referring to. I have looked in parcel and can’t see such a flag.

    I wish to list my parcel in search, (it is a public access national park), but do not wish to list anything on it that is for sale, on purpose or accidental (it is also my home)

  11. Jeska Linden says:

    @ Jayden – sorry for any confusion, in order to list your parcel in Search (or not) go to the About Land box, then the “Options” tab. There is a “Show Place in Search” checkbox there.

  12. Jayden B says:

    Yes Jeska, but that then lists all the items for sale too? I don’t wish to list the items ever, just the place.

    That way if i am working on a script with someone and we have it set to buy for $0 and forget to set the don’t show in search it will never show.

    I never wish for any item to be sold in my national park. I wish to globally turn off search for those.

  13. Jeska Linden says:

    Jayden – Again, only items that have the “Show in search” checkbox will be listed in Search. Also, there is a delay on when items which have the “show in search” checkbox checked will appear in the search results. It is not by any means immediate.

  14. Chica Indigo says:

    Great! Hope that this update end the freaky bug that make me and some plle in SL suddenly split in half and end with our heads touching out feet! It will also be good if this update end with that freaky thing of make my head turn to my back like the exorcist each time i want to use a pose stand. 😦

  15. Jayden B says:

    Jeska, My nature sim is not a shop, the comments everyone made back two blogs ago about your descision to make the object default to list when set to sale means unless I am mega carefull I could loose items.

    I desire to list my Sim. I desire to globally delist all objects, as you mentioned could be done, notwitstanding if they are set to list or not.

    No object in my Sim should ever appear on Search.

    How do I do this? If it can’t be done then you need to make the default to NOT list the item, that is make it a conscious choice, which is what we were asking for a month ago.

  16. Dekka Raymaker says:

    @ Jayden B,

    I get your point and understand where your coming from, but how about this as a solution, set your land to show in search, wait a while, go to search and search your parcel, see what pops up, if its there and shouldn’t be, you’ll know which items need ‘switching off’ 🙂

  17. U M says:

    Giga yes “SOME” most or all. You mean they never seen three green lights? Thats hard to believe. “VWR-2803: Lag Meter network ping metric doesn’t account for residents outside the USA” As i read this is says and is assuming most if not all outside users. It makes you think if its personal firewalls or over user side issues causing this.

  18. Danball Tureaud says:

    I see the old PacketLoss and Bandwidth meters are now gone and in its place is a search bar. Also, what happened to the friend glyphs in the mini-map showing yellow? Did that get code get overwritten when trying to fix everything else? It was a nice feature while it lasted.

  19. Norgan says:

    bout time, maybe correct software development proceedure will follow now.

  20. Bobo Decosta says:

    Yeah Jeska make us run around our sims to deselect all non-trnasfer items that are not for sale but are shown as for sale in search. The for sale search feature will never work when everything is set for search by default. I saw what search has included for sale and none of these items are for sale. I refuse to go deselect them, wich means people thinking something is for sale on my land will be very disappointed and won’t trust search anymore just like I don’t trust the results in search anymore after checking my land in search.

    So this new feature will fail just because you started off the wrong way by putting everything for sale in search by default.

  21. Jeska Linden says:

    @ Bobo – I understand your concerns about non-transferable items, as I mentioned in another comment, the behavior you are describing sounds like a bug.

    Also remember, if you do not want to include your objects from your land in search, the easiest way to do this is to not include your parcel in search.

  22. Bobo Decosta says:

    show in search should not be activated by default this is a huge mistake. LL really thinks we will do their job. It has no logic at all and makes search unusable for such searches as on my sim 100% of the for sale information was incorrect.

    I have no problem with marking what needs to be for sale but i’m not planning to search my sim for wrong listed items. I didn’t list them so i’m not gonna fix mistakes made by LL.

  23. Jayden B says:

    Maybe Dekka, but in the future if I buy a new item and it carries the for sale flag and I forget to change it (assuming I can) or if I’m doing collaboritive work with someone on a script (which needs buy for $0 to do) and forget to set then I could loose my items.

    Privacy like this and our names appearing on the web need to be addressed.

    [x] Show place in search
    [ ] Show objects for sale in search

  24. Pingback: The Grid Live » New Release Candidate, New Search and How to Use It

  25. SL Player™ says:

    Why would anyone be interested in the Source code? Maybe hackers?

  26. katykiwi moonflower says:

    This is an incredible invasion of privacy. I had a prefab build rezzed on my land that was created by another member. A search of my name lists each item used in that build as an item for sale on my land which was not the case. I removed the prefab build and the items are still listed. I cannot find the option to hide my profile from public listing. How inconvenient to have to go to every item existing on a sim to hide it from show in search. Please be specific about where the option to hide profile is located.

  27. U M says:

    what the!!!!!!!!!!! why in the world would you want people to know things about you without first getting promission from said people?!

    I think she meankatykiwi on the bottom of the profile straightup from “DROP INVENTORY ITEM HERE”

  28. Heather Betsen says:

    Why fix things that aren’t broken? The right click menu on a LM in my inventory used to have a selection Teleport to LandMark that would immediately initiate the TP. That has been replaced by a selection About Landmark that pulls up an information dialogue of the location using information similar to the search result information for that location with a button to teleport to that location. A one step process is now a two step, and most of us already know why we have our landmarks, especially for properties that we already own or clubs and stores that we frequent. I would rather see an ability to search for a location having a the attributes of my search parameters and not having to go there to set a landmark, but be able to select directly from my search results a set landmark so I can visit the locations at a later date without rerunning the search.

  29. Doris Haller says:

    Heather said: “The right click menu on a LM in my inventory used to have a selection Teleport to LandMark that would immediately initiate the TP. That has been replaced by a selection About Landmark that pulls up an information dialogue of the location using information similar to the search result information for that location with a button to teleport to that location. A one step process is now a two step”

    Oh no! I hope that is not true! This would be a step backward. The left-click options on inventory objects need improvement (like “show on map” instead of open and then show on map), they should be better thought depending on the inventory type and status (e.g come that the option to take off items I don’t wear is not greyed out?).

  30. shifzr says:

    WTF! i no longer find “teleport” in the right-click options on my landmarks – instead i find “about landmark”.
    what the hack is that for?

  31. Sir Defiant says:

    Well this is a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. Normally I use the level of rantitude on the blogs to determine whether or not to change viewer. This round of rants is useless to me, so could you good folks bitch about the viewer so as I can tell if its better than the old one or not?

    Seriously though, is this release an improvement on the last, or buggier than a bikers teeth?

  32. shifzr says:

    dear sir defiant,
    i wont be of any help to you, as i will not continue evaluating this particular release version –
    crashing after 5 mins of doing about nothing is just not encouraging 😉
    oh but i found out u can tp to a landmark by double-clicking it … i would prefer having it in right-click, dont see why it was eliminated – the “about” could have just added, no?

  33. Deeta Baroque says:

    @Why one would be interested in the SourceCode?

    Many Reasons:
    a) to make sure there is no malicious code in it
    b) to be able to continue the client if LL goes poof
    c) to be able to fix bugs or adjust the viewer to ones own needs
    d) to be able to compile SL on different cpu architectures
    e) to optimize SL to your own CPU architecture
    d) to redistribute the changes of code one made and thus help the developement of the viewer

    and when you say hacker you likely mean someone who circumvents security measures with malicious intent.
    Tis defines not hackers but black hat crackers. (‘black hat’ for the malicious intent and ‘cracker’ for the security circumvention)

  34. fenwick flow says:

    hmm kindoff missing the linux client..
    seems i cant login anymore with the oldone

  35. Nulflux Negulesco says:

    Just wanted everyone to know that the entire grid is failing, we’re down to 11,000 users online and it’s going down fast.

  36. DOG Bracken says:

    @Nulflux: they´re working on it… http://blog.secondlife.com/2007/11/14/difficulties-logging-in/

    so be hopefull and drink a coffee 😉

  37. DOG Bracken says:

    8000 user online… still going down…

  38. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Thank you Bridie! Being able to use the RC’s and help iron out the problems is OSSM (for me at least).

    /me waves at Katykiwi. Hi =) I don’t think you can hide your profile from public listing. What you can hide is what groups you are a member of and whether or not people can use the group listing to see if you are online or not.

    I agree that NOT listing an object in search should be the default. Then, if someone wants a listing, they have to manually enable it by editing their object.

    Either way, people are going to complain. Maybe take a vote and ignore and burn any complaints?

    Are we still going to see friends on the minimap in a different color? Can that different color also be applied to friends on the world map?

  39. Amanda Ascot says:

    Listen up Linden Lab. The new viwer is an abomination. No, that language is not too strong. I was looking for a stronger description, but to use it would probably get me banned, so I won’t.

    You have broken things that we’ve relied upon for a long time, thinking that we want this. The absurd new way landmarks work is an excellent example of this lack of common sense. Yes, you can double-click to initiate a teleport, but do not remove a feature everyone is so used to that it’s second nature. If you want us to be able to access landmark information then introduce that as new feature — do not replace the old feature that we all know with it. You have introduced “features” that complicate our lives immeasurably. The default-for-sale stupidity is an excellent example of this failing of Linden Lab internal logic, as is the utterly crazy decision to not allow us to block *all* profile information from getting published on the web.

    Why don’t you ask your users what WE want? And I’m not talking about the corporate giants you want to get into Second Life. I’m talking about the average John and Jane Avatar. We didn’t ask for this. In fact, we’ve been telling you since you first announced it that we *don’t* want it. And you proceed, as though the desires of your paying customers are of no concern to you.

    Wake up and smell the coffee — before we dump the whole pot right in your laps and leave for greener pastures, because a lot of people are upset enough with the new search, alone, to be talking about just that.

  40. Shyan Graves says:

    Why must every RC dump on simple things that where already fixed? 😦 – Turning AV -> crash – been in edit mode and zoom out -> crash – just start walking after login -> crash!!! I am always so keen to test the latest RCs, but can not cuz most of the time it crashes! 😦

    @39: I can understand your concern in this changes, but I do not agree that all us do not want to have a new search function ;). I for sure do want a new better search. The results of the old one, are to bad and you need alot of time.

  41. Raven Primeau says:

    Oh My I was downloading the said viewer as I read this, methinks I may just leave it a while. The good things seem a bit outweighed by the bad……File sits on desktop waiting to be unpacked/deleted after a few more have posted.

    Sounds like LL have still got their blinkers on and do not listen though SL HAS BEEN CRAP SINCE VOICE WAS INTRODUCED.

  42. Amanda Ascot says:

    Shyan @40: I’d love to have a better search function, but please read all the posts here, as well as the other blog entries that deal with the new search, and it will be clear that the new search completely borks the whole reason for search in the first place — to find things of relevance. The system is already being abused in ways that puts what most of us are actually looking for so far down the search results that it will never be found. People with lots of money and who use little “tricks” are going to be the ones appearing on the first page, and they might not even have what you were actually searching for.

    The bottom line is that the new search is a disaster. There’s adequate documentation from people who have already attempted to use it to prove that conclusively.

  43. Khamudy Mannonen says:

    I dislike the unessecary changes in this lastest viewer release – the search box being in the top bar is handy, but it has replaced the latency and packet loss bars, why? Those two bars are more important, as far as I am concerned, than a convenient search box.

    Also I really dislike the way the landmarks now work, I don’t *need* to see all the information about the place I am going to, if I have the landmark, I generally already *know* what is there. This just adds additional layers of unneeded clutter and objects to load.

  44. Kittie Munro says:

    Have to agree with most things here, I miss the latency and packet loss bars, and judging from the reduction in graphics quality there appears to be some kind of trade off for the search function, which looks pretty good and has great potential.

    I’d prefer smoother graphics without having to upgrade to a platinum class broadband connection please! Not everyone lives in an area where 20mb connections are available 😦 I’m stuck with a measly 2mb 😦

  45. Sean Heying says:

    The new RC has suffered 5 kernel faults in one night. I would strongly suggest mac users realise this.

    I note that doing a search on my name brings up the profiles of those that have included me in their picks. So, if someone decides to grief me they now have simple access to my closest friends.

    Japanese characters are not escaped in your profile, so int he search they show as unreadable garbage,

  46. L3X says:

    hi =] i know this isnt the place for this.. sorta.. but im having trouble with the version 1.18.4 .. i cant teleport anywhere, will this new version fix that?

  47. shifzr says:

    jayden b., i dont really get your point:
    if ur items show up in search – they are obviously set to “for sale”, no?
    so anyone who stumbles upon them can buy them anyway … which would make the new search a reminder for you to turn them to not for sale … or did i miss something? objects that are not for salew arent listed anyway, right?

    and about your home in ur public park: why dont u just divide that land from the rest and set it to not in search?

  48. Pingback: CandyFlanagan.com » The Latest News

  49. Raven Primeau says:

    sean @45 that is a dreadful thing to find, what if you have friends who are now bitter enemies who don’t know you are still friends with the other party. Or friends you dont want other friends to know of, does that mean you have to ask them to remove you from their profile to keep a certain balance or mystique.

    Nice FU LL :((((((((

  50. Pingback: Second Life 1.18.5 Viewer RC1 Release Candidate Update « Official Linden Blog

  51. Rascal Ratelle says:

    The following issue has not been addressed:

    http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-2997

  52. elvis woodget says:

    its time for the new search i cant no more seen all the camping and all the bots like some ppl what called skin designer and using 80 bots unter the ground to spam the region in the chartslist.
    thats the same with all the spam like make money with your own bot…

  53. Mandy Aya says:

    I’ll just wait for the Release Candidate to stabilize. Still so upset I lost lots of inventory items, after “returning” them from the “OBJECTS TAB”. Lost all of the items and LL said they won’t answer to my complaint… this should be fixed once and for all. Totally unfair to lose things you bought or even built, either losing it after having returned it or someone buying what is not for sale. FIX IT!

Comments are closed.