Tip of the Week #8: How to deal with some common annoyances

I make my video tutorials candid and upfront, and for the most part, they’re unscripted and quite improvisatory, with brief notes written down in a .txt file. I show Second Life as it is. Most of the content is directly inspired by everyday issues I’ve come across, as you’ve likely too, and I mix the more common knowhow with esoteric tidbits.

Today’s Second Life Tip of the Week β€” #8! β€” is all about how to handle everyday annoyances that tick us off.  It includes:

  • How to stop “triangles coming out of stuff!” (If you’ve seen it, you may very well know what I mean.)
  • How to stop animations
  • How to turn off foot shadows
  • How to mute sounds
  • How to stop viewer-side effects on your objects (like particles and floating text)

What are other annoyances you’d like to see dealt with? Even in the absence of an effective fix (which I’m constantly advocating for), a workaround can help alleviate “ambient suffering”, as I like to call it. I’m sure this is a fertile ground for followup.

And because no good teacher is an island, I extend thank-yous and admiration to:

  • Vlad Bjornson, who recently started doing video tutorials, including sculpties.
     
  • Amras Alder, for continuing to create great vidtuts β€” see his latest, “IM Window Tricks“!
     
  • A growing field of Resident video tutorial makers, some of who’ve organized on sites like SLTutorials.net.
     
  • Douglas Story, for the “Swoosh,Soaring” sound effect I use @ 3:00 min.
     
  • YOU, for watching and hopefully getting something positive out of it!

Do you make video tutorials or have faves? Please be sure to add them to our Video Tutorials page so they’ll get a wider audience of people who’ll be appreciative of the time you took to teach.

Actionables,

torleylinden2fj

Torley Linden is a Product Manager & more who regularly contributes to the Official Linden Blog. Watch more Tips of the Week. Torley is working on communicating the NEW “DAZZLE” LOOK AND FEEL of Second Life!

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Tip of the Week #8: How to deal with some common annoyances

  1. Ric Mollor says:

    A while ago there was a blog post on transparency and I feel it’s time for some in return

    My experience with SL is becoming increasingly frustrating . I am actively looking at every competitor and hoping that one will gather enough a large enough user
    base to become a viable option.

    I will leave Second Life as soon as possible. In 9 months of use *nothing* has gotten better.

    The unstability as gotten *worse*.

    Inventory loss has gotten *worse*.

    Performance has gotten *worse*.

    And despite computer hardware becoming faster and cheaper in that time the exact same limits apply.

    15,000 prims per Sim for avatars? No change.

    15,000 prims per Sim for building? No change.

    Impossible for a small group to gather without crashes, missing textures, and horrible lag?

    No change.

    And finally,

    A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence.

    No Change.

    This certainly has as much meaning as any of the other issues. What sort of people are here anyhow and why are they hiding? Is this a group that a normal person would want to become part of?

    Please. Give us a roadmap of improvements planned for Second Life not yet another tutorial of making the shinies blink.

  2. andrew johnson says:

    it really great i love it

  3. Daten Thielt says:

    Torley u sound ill 😦 Great blog!

  4. Lara Croft says:

    Well Torley, I for one think your are AMAZING and cheer me up every time. Your tutorials are hilarious – and useful. Without you around I think many SLers would give up. Your the bond that keeps us all here.

    Five pink and green stars to you. You go beyond what is expected. They don’t pay you enough.

    Ignore the whiny people – I am a huge fan.

    May all your watermelons grow well.

  5. Raul Crimson says:

    @ Torley: Thanks, as always, for your help and tips πŸ™‚

    @ #1: Ric, I can be with you in all your comments about performance, stability, inventory problems… Anyway i think they are working hard later and the grid seems to be a bit (just a bit) better. Just hope they work even more and give a solution for the problems.

    About RL lives, I think Second Life gives us a lot of tools to talk about our RL lives, in profile there is a tab and you can paste a link to a Webpage. If someone doesn’t want to share RL info the less you can do is respect it, i’m sure most of the SL residents are quite “normal”.

    If you don’t like the platform and you don’t like the people what the hell are you doing in Second Life?

  6. Raul Crimson says:

    Sorry for two things: i wrote twice “lives” for “lifes”. And the last question to Ric can seem aggresive. With the question i mean that i’m sure Ric can find some other platform or virtual world that feet better his/her needs.

  7. Zorin Frobozz says:

    I sometimes get triangles coming out of stuff, but they’re different triangles. They’re polygons that get stretched out of shape due to data corruption in the vertex buffers.

    It’s rare, but toggling VBO in the advanced graphics tab makes it go away. There must be a bug somewhere that causes occasional data corruption as the system sends the polygon data to the graphics card.

  8. Raven Primeau says:

    Another few tips to remember :). Thank you Torley honey.

    These might ease a few frutrations for people at least, I cant wait for the ideas to reduce lag and boost performance. Keep it up.

    No winging from me here, I spent plenty time whining and samping my footsies on other blog topics.

  9. Terry Misfit says:

    @ 1,,,,,and this has exactly what to do with the tip of the week, sorry to see you go have fun. Torley you rock hun keep up the good work i love the tip of the week, me and my boyfriend have played well over a year and we faithfully look for your tips every week.

  10. Dekka Raymaker says:

    I think SL residents born late 2006 and 2007 are always going to have some bitterness towards LL, we all joined and assumed the ‘promise’ that it was our world to do with what we liked was true (naive yes) we joined when LL advertised Linden First Land at L$1 m2 when the present residents had a support service we thought we would have too, when vat was something that sherry and whisky came from, when we had a choice to gamble, when the traffic payment system was in place and allowed some landowners to give that back to community to make it a better place, we joined pre-voice and believed type chat was enough, when it was a ‘world’ for ‘residents’ and not a corporate platform, we joined just before all this was snatched away.

    That bitterness now infiltrates SL, if we could smell here, that would probably be the first thing that greets newcomers, because there is nothing else to do so.

    I love SL and I am addicted to it, it is a great place to come, a place to forget the real world if that’s what you want. But I don’t think LL have really thought about what has been taken away and that nothing much has been given anything back in return.

  11. Alisia Student says:

    Great tips as ussual. WTG Torley, keep up the good work. I do not understand how people have all these issues. In my 1 year and 18 days in SL I have NEVER lost a single item from my inventory. And the stability seems much better to me now than when i started (this could be due to the fact that i always stay on my island with a 8 ms total script time)

    And @ #1’s issue with RL info… HUH??. if you want RL info go to a chat room or myspace. SL is a place to escape RL for me and everyone i know.

  12. I’d love to see an end to three of my newest annoyances:
    1. Nearly every time I log in, I get the “downloading clothing” message.
    2. I crash 50% of the time when someone offers me inventory, on log-in or already in-world
    3. I don’t turn all the way around in Appearance Mode

    Keep it up, Torley πŸ™‚

  13. Georgette Whitfield says:

    Wow, really hyper this week Torley!!! Hheeee. Love it! Keep up the good work.

  14. DR Dahlgren says:

    Very Good, one of the better ones you have done that may give info to even some of your more experienced residents. Sad though that two of the tips are handicapped by bugs.

    DRD

  15. Kazuma Onizuka says:

    Oh yeah…I don’t turn all the way around when in appearance mode either…I get stuck in a turning anim, its annoying ~.~

    Anyways, great vid Torley 🐱

  16. Torley, thanks SO MUCH for the stop viewer-side effects script! I had put a firefly script in a hammock [just an experiment :)] and it was driving me crazy that the fireflies didn’t disappear when I deleted the script!

    You are the most delightful watermelon ever grown πŸ˜€

  17. alexwarrior says:

    G’day Torley

    Thanks for the tips – keep ’em coming mate! I am not sure if you did an increase / decrease draw distance tip – but that would certainly help those in the blog that mentioned crashing with small gatherings… after all – when I go to a live music performance, I will always reduce my draw distance to help faster performance when zooming my camera around.

    Also – I don’t know where Ric is hanging out – but I find SL to have lots of wonderful people that do share their RL info too.

    And I don’t crash very often either. Perhaps it’s his ISP, perhaps it’s hardware, perhaps it’s even just his preferences in SL.

    Oh, and Ric – when I started in SL on average there were only about 2,000 people ever online when I was – so I am sure you don’t have to wait to head off to another 3D platform – there are others out there now with that many residents. Good luck and peace out!

    Cheers
    Alex
    aka Janine

  18. Arian Writer says:

    Torley, your videos are fantastic and you provide us with so much useful information . Thank you for your time and concern for the residents of Second Life. You are incredible.

  19. why not do somthin usefull and give us a fix for the url spam???

  20. Bob Wellman says:

    Torley

    Love the tutorials.. most helpful.

    You asked for things to cover.

    My pet annoyance is the one where 2 object with alpha textures get confused as to which one is in front of the other. I used to think this was due to transparent textures but it can happen on all textures that include an alpha channel. I had an opaque bookcase freebie texture (I am sure you know the one) and stood a book case with it on in front of a wall with a texure of brick and glass and the window grinned thoogh the bookcase at certain angles. I would love this to get fixed in SL but dont believe it will ever come. In the meantime as the alhpha channel was not needed in the bookcase I took the bookcase texture out of SL and converted it to a BMP which removed the aplha channel and uploaded it back in to use instead orf the original. This solved the problem in this case. Maybe you could add this to a future tips video and any other tips you have for minimising the effect of the above bug would also be most welcome. Of course a fix would send me into raptures, but I am a realist…LOL

  21. Ari says:

    WOOHOO! Thanks Torley. The mute sound source business is priceless! πŸ™‚

  22. Nickola Martynov says:

    Torley, thank you so much for these wonderful tutorials. They have helped me quite a bit in adapting to life in SL.

    I’ve been a resident for three months and I’m still blown away by the expanse of this project that LL has created. It may not be perfect, but wow, it is such an incredible example of what virtual reality can be and what it might become.

    I’m building and creating art here; I’ve developed an interest in animation and machinima that I’m moving on in my rl life; I’ve met people from all corners of the rl world and I do things that my rl self would never do (like jump out of an airplane with or without a parachute or wander around the bottom of the ocean or ask a handsome guy to dance).

    So heartfelt thanks to everyone who has worked to bring SL into existence and for your efforts to keep it going. And especially to Torley who is such a happy face for LL

    Nikki

  23. mimi says:

    Id like to see a work around fix for the problems that the bug on http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/SVC-273 causes
    Two of our shop items have been stolen by the bug.

    I wonder if you have any good idea on to keep others from selling the items stolen from us by this bug? How can we ensure this bug won’t happen again? This stolen item costs us lots of money, and we are very afraid that together with the amount of textures beeing stolen, and the ineffectivneness of the DMCA we might lose a lot more money than we do now already.

    Any answer would be greatly appreciated!

    Its impossible to file everyone for a DMCA since this is a hugely spread item already .. send everyone a DMCS would be useless since DMCAs take too long in which the item has spread even more

    I ask you this for Secondlifes other major designers too.. Naughty Designs Dante and Alina have been stolen and have become freebie, and they canceled the release of their new Scorpion skin because of this. The male and female X2 skin have been stolen and have become freebie. We were planning ourselves on releasing a nice skin, but we are very hesitant now, since it seems only a matter of time since all skins will be stolen.

    The TOS says you have the copyright over items you created.. why is ist then, that when the copyright is violated, nothing effective is done?

    Help Torley! What can we do?

  24. Ricky Yates says:

    Good tutorial!

    You achieve a good mix of “newbie fodder” and stuff which is new also to intermediate users.

    Thanks.

  25. Gully Miles says:

    @Ric:

    “A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence.”

    I’m almost glad you’re leaving! you sound very boring πŸ™‚

    Seriously though, can’t you handle the creative play in here? People put their RL details if they want to; there’s nothing to stop you putting yours in your profile. And there’s nothing to stop you from refusing to talk to anyone who doesn’t have RL details in theirs, if that’s really important to you for some freakishly dull reason.

  26. Jazzman Jibilla says:

    Took only 5 comments before somebody said love it or leave it. That my friends (you would be if I could read the list regularly) must be some sort of record.
    Thanks Torley, another good ToW.

  27. Great, finally I have that problem of the triangles solved… finally.

  28. Deltango Vale says:

    How to deal with common annoyances in October 2006:

    1) anonymous griefers. Set autoreturn to 1, turn off run scripts, ban all ‘no payment info on file’ residents from your land.

    How to deal with common annoyances in October 2007:

    1) anonymous griefers. Set autoreturn to 1, turn off run scripts, ban all ‘no payment info on file’ residents from your land.

    2) ID-based age verification. Do not verify. Continue to use your credit card. Protest against ID-based age verification.

    3) VAT. Sell your land or move tier to a US partner. Do not buy mainland at auction. Buy islands second hand, not from LL. Rent land from a US estate owner.

    4) anti-sex crusade. For mainland, create a skybox at 750m and leave land below barren and empty. Buy an island second hand to avoid VAT and ban everyone except your lover. Retreat from SL society into your own private world.

    5) gambling. Leave SL and go to one of the many international gambling websites. Gambling is legal across most of planet Earth, just not on planet America.

    6) grid instability. Be slow and methodical in all financial transactions. Use TP to avoid crossing sim boundaries. Clear cache to recover lost inventory. Manually delete SL cookies in Firefox/IE browsers. Create an alt (non premium) to test login failures of main avatar. Reboot PC frequently to clear SL conflicts with operating system and other applications.

    7) volatility of LL policies (Tuesday: “gambling is not in conflict with US law”; Wednesday: “gambling is banned in line with US law.” Tuesday: no VAT; Wednesday: VAT. Tuesday: sex is your private affair; Wednesday: sex is our public responsibility. Tuesday: “land prices are too high”; Wednesday: “land prices are too low.”) Avoid long-term financial and commercial investments, be cautious and conservative, do not take entrepreneurial risks, minimize the amount of money you hold in SL, rent instead of buy, play instead of work, be prepared to close your SL account at short notice, be prepared for SL not to exist one fine morning when you try to log in.

  29. McPhenius Swain says:

    As always, great tips with energy = FUN! Keep up the great work Torley… There is always something to learn.

  30. Alexi Dallagio says:

    First time Iv seen your “tip of the week” was v helpful thanx πŸ™‚

    I have a lil annoyance of my own thoough, for some reason I cant sit down…. well I can sit down on chairs and the floor but it takes some doing and if i click on the little balls to do actions my pie doesnt appear :S any advice on that one?

    Also I was wondering if anyone knows how to verify your identity, iv seen the FAQ page about it buuut it doesnt actually tell you how to do it and Iv searched all over and cant find how to do it…..any help would be appreciated πŸ™‚ thanks x

    P.s. I have that problem with the appearance and not turning round thing aswell πŸ™‚

  31. Jackal Ennui says:

    Hey, why not disable the dreaded foot shadows once and for all? It’s not like they serve any practical purpose or have ever looked good .. or even like what they’re supposed to be.

  32. Redemption Summers says:

    Torley, AWESOME that is the first time that I have watched your tips (I need to read the blog more) and found it VERY entertaining as well as informative. Now I need to go back and watch the first 7!

    Thanks to everyone at LL for provided a such great please to play/work and have fun.

  33. Dirk Felix says:

    Torley, what ticks me off is the poor response from customer service, Did anyone at LL ever resolve the issues of being hacked, you know when someone went in and stole credit card numbers? I’m still waiting for response for the $800 USD that was used to order $Lindens that I never received and was billed for. LL Customer Service response was lame and now it’s coming on the 9 month mark with no resolution.

    What also tciks me off is the platform still running on shaghetti code, It seems to me that a few more dollars spent up front would make the experince much better, but what do I know. have only designed software for over 20 years πŸ˜‰

    Lastly, what happened to your entry about being transparent? Seems that promises are made and soon forgotten. Oh, and the Dan McLean copyright issue when you used Starry Night without permission. Time to lead by example and not rip off creatives, wouldn’t you agree ?? πŸ˜‰

  34. Storm Nordwind says:

    Thanks once again Torley.

    Just one other MAJOR everyday annoyance that ticks me off – and your assistance would be sorely appreciated… … …

    How do I get rid of the whingers and whiners that populate these blog comments from time to time? Please show me where the MUTE button is πŸ™‚

    Power to your melons Torley! (Watermelons that is… πŸ˜‰

  35. Chronic Skronski says:

    Jazzman: Took only 5 comments before somebody said love it or leave it. That my friends (you would be if I could read the list regularly) must be some sort of record.

    Yeah, and only one comment before someone craps all over Torley’s useful post with a totally off-topic moanfest. THAT’S no record. πŸ˜‰

    I wanted to make a comment on the foot shadows. They’re just… strange. It’s like you were bitten by a vampire and the change has not reached your feet yet, as they are still casting shadows.

  36. ZeeScarlet Zenovka says:

    A tip I would really like to see: “How to deal with griefers who spam animation requests from objects.”

    Seriously…it crashes my client and the attacks are increasing in number.

  37. Day Oh says:

    Dude, that was AWESOME!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And did you totally push that guy or what?

  38. carolrae pidgeon says:

    Out of 10 or so major irritations I’m going to mention my top 2. Why can’t we minimize our inventory list? I’m constantly having to move it out of the way. Would be an amazing helpful fix for us.
    My top major irritation is the old shoes, hair and jewelry in your butt issue. There are days when it happens so much I just relog which eliminates having to detatch and reattach all of my attachments! Are they ever going to fix this??

  39. Darien Caldwell says:

    @ #10, That was a very insightful comment, and I couldn’t agree with you more. When I joined SL back in Oct of 2006, I mistakenly thought Live Help actually helped, ARs actually caused action to be taken, and yes, that I could actually own land here. Of course now I’m older and wiser, and realize that world existed back some time in 2004-2005. I’m at peace with that finally. I don’t hold any ill will toward Linden Lab, things change and you can either adapt or perish. But yes, you made some excellent points. πŸ™‚

  40. Yay, another great Torley Show!

    And to #38 carolrae- are you updated to the newest viewer? I just noticed my hubby’s computer lets me minimize my inv (but mine doesn’t!), so I am off to update my own. ^_^

  41. Torley, thank you SO MUCH for the stop viewer-side effects script! It was driving me crazy that deleted scripts inside objects kept on working… Goodbye to those unwanted fireflies around my hammock! [just a little experiment that I didn’t like as much as I thought :)]

    You are the most delightful watermelon ever sprouted πŸ˜€

  42. Aeper Jie says:

    Torley Do you have a Office in the TG? if not get one.

  43. Tijn Erde says:

    Here’s another common annoyance.

    How do we deal with textures and objects which are being sold after Second Life randomly the permissions to full-perm on a random transfer?

  44. David Hultcrantz says:

    That was cool. Thanks Torley. Although, can you make follow cam and that other script available in TSL?

  45. Ihava Question says:

    Thanx for all the hints Torley!

    Could you say with certainty, whether or not this blue window in the lower right corner “the system is currently unable to process your request…” affects money transfers? Means payments in and out…I do have the strong impression it does…

  46. Theodore Folsom says:

    Great tip of the week again, thanks a lot Torley πŸ™‚ You sound a bit … different in it … a bit tired maybe!? Hope your move went well ^_^

  47. Beq Janus says:

    There is one major annoyance above all others for builders in particular, it is an annoying feature that impacts any prim textured with alpha (transparency) known as VWRW-27. You can find the jira bug entry here http://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-27

  48. Gemini says:

    I admittedly haven’t read all of the comments to see if anyone has mentioned this or not (mostly ’cause I’m feeling quite poorly today), but I can’t seem to teleport many places without having all or most of my attachments affix themselves to my crotch or my butt. Once they have, many times, they won’t unattach without a relog. Nothing quite like shopping, with one’s shoes, eyelashes, and even ‘Huddles’ stuck in embarrassing places!

    I’ve noticed it seems to happen after my avie has ‘fallen’ the equivalent of a few inches to a foot, a 10-20 seconds after arriving at the ‘new’ place.

    I don’t know if there’s a fix for it, but it’s embarrassing, and frustrating! It seems sometimes no one else can see the problem, but other times, people will laugh at it, so one never knows.

    Thank you for all the tutorials, and for the kind hearted, warm, and funny dialogs. I can probably speak for many of the physically disabled members of Second Life in saying that it’s a wonderful outlet, and means of vicarious pixelated living! *smiles and hugs*

  49. Pingback: More Second Life Tips and Tricks « The Grid Live

  50. #38 I can minimize the inventory window with my client as well. Also, occaisionally after teleportaion, I will arrive with a “boot in my arse”.. lol I simply laugh and re-attach.

    An annoyance is user specific . Some quirks in SL are minor to me yet apocolyptic to others…and vice versa. My point is too many complainers take these SL quirks way too seriously.

    Griefers are empowered by this. Ignore them and they will poof away.

    Torley showed us how to mute a noise that seemed to really irritate him. I suppose his way to resolve it was simpler than lowering the volume slide or creating distance from the noise source…… ?

  51. Lincoln Lightfoot says:

    The biggest annoyance? The constant crashes. Forget everything but that.

  52. Kaeria Repine says:

    Hyper as usual, but he sounded like he was trying to sound masculine at the start. That’ll never work :p (I thought torley was female before I saw one of these tips)

    Anyway, the rotating bug can be fixed, simply move the object a small amount (.00000001m or something) after stopping the rotation.

  53. zORIE Zuhrah says:

    It use to happen all the time then it stopped now it is happening again. when ever i tp anywhere i arrive with my hair and all accessories between my legs. it’s really puts a kink in my SL experience because i don’t go alot of places simply because i dont want to have to detatch everything and then go through putting everything back on. is there a solution for this?

    thx zORIE

  54. Berry Steinhoff says:

    Thank you Torley. I didn’t know about CTL + ALT + F1. Nice presentation as usual.

  55. bobbyb30 zohari says:

    @51

    I have to agree. There is no other annoyance that bugs me as much as CRASHING. Now if only the Lindens could fix that…

  56. bobbyb30 zohari says:

    @48 & 53

    I too have that problem occasionally. Rebaking your character sometimes helps.

  57. Claps for Torley & a job well done.

    Lag? Did you say lag? *Gets extremely giddy.* I know that we have all done what we can to reduce lag so I am very interested in seeing if there is anything else that can be done. (Waits in anticipation.)

    Keep up the good work!!!

  58. Kyder Ling says:

    Thank you Torley. I already knew pretty much all of these but it is good to see that these features have their spotlight so more folks can use them as they are very useful. ^^

  59. Vahn Dagger says:

    …Ric Mollor..

    @”The unstability as gotten *worse*. Inventory loss has gotten *worse*. Performance has gotten *worse*. And despite computer hardware becoming faster and cheaper in that time the exact same limits apply.

    I agree with all of these, especially the last one. I have no arguments against those, but..

    @15,000 prims per Sim for avatars? No change. 15,000 prims per Sim for building? No change.

    This and stability counteract each other. The more prims in a sim, the more likely the server is going to crash. If you’ve been here this long, you should know how the system works.

    Impossible for a small group to gather without crashes, missing textures, and horrible lag? No change.

    It’s possible to gather like that. I have an old peice-of-crap computer but still head to Maximillion Kleene concerts which always loads mainland sims to the limit, and on island sims, he averages about 50-60 people at the concerts he plays at. But I have no problem server-side. It’s only that my hardware can’t keep up with that many people around and it causes “performance lag” as I put it. It’s a perceived vision of lag and most blame SL servers when it’s actually their own computers that can’t keep up with it.. Regardless, though.. SL eats memory up like nothing else and something tells me you wouldn’t be able to play it without a framerate drop for any comp nowadays.

    And finally… =)

    @A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence. No Change.

    This is left FULLY up to the residents. And besides, I’ve been to several areas where people share a lot about their real lives. You haven’t been looking in the right areas, more than likely. Besides, the ones that don’t usually do after you get to KNOW them. It’s just like if you’re walking down the street. Do you think a random stranger will come up to you and go “HI, I’M URSULA! I’M 22! I LIKE SWEET WALKS IN THE PARK!”.

    I don’t mean to be impolite if this is abusive, but if you don’t like it so much, stop complaining and leave. Most of us are waiting patiently, but hearing complaining just makes it worse. Live with what you got and make the best out of it. Or you can go for second-rate options like There or IMVU.

    P.S. For someone so interested in people showing RL aspects, how come you don’t have a link to your website?

  60. Vahn Dagger says:

    Gah.. I hate to double-post.. but one last thing about it going slow, I’ll quote this from a help-site.

    Why is this so slow?
    “Second Life is a very complex 3D application which consumes much of your computer’s CPU, memory, video, and network resources, more so than nearly all other 3D programs; this is because the world that you see is completely dynamic, and must be updated in real-time for everyone anytime something changes.

    Most 3D games have pre-compiled β€œmaps” that have everything set in stone so that much of the difficult processing has been pre-computed ahead of time. These maps are large files which describe what is mostly a static non-moving non-dynamic scene. However, Second Life has no pre-compiled maps.”

    A little explanation for people who complain about perceived lag.

  61. Virrginia Tombola says:

    @ #20. Alpha stacking is very annoying, I agree. Until a fix is found, you can troubleshoot a bit by trying to decide if ALL sides of your prim need an alpha texture. I’ve found that I can decrease the alpha issues on dresses, for example, by painting the inside of the dress a light grey. You can also use faux transparencies, such as having a lace texture that uses black instead of transparency, which will hardly be noticed against a dark fabric.

    But yes, many things would be improved if that glitch were fixed. I do hate seeing entire walls of houses disappear because it sports one or two windows!

  62. alexwarrior says:

    G’day Torley

    I went to bed after making my post and then remembered that you have already shown people how to zoom their camera!

    My apologies – plus I forgot to say – muting objects is sooo good.

    Cheers
    Alex

  63. Two thumbs up for your video tutorials – even “older” guys in the online business and 3d worlds like me still can find some usefull hints in there. πŸ™‚

    The same goes out to all the non-Lindens who do the same on youtube and other places: Me thinks that besides inworld tutoring videos are the best medium to present knowledge – in some cases even the better one (everyone who once tried how to find a speciffic button somewhere to a complete newbie knows what I mean – in a Vid you can SHOW it. :)) Great job, all of you (and the videos I found are in Francais and Deutsch and Espanol etc…, so not knowing English isn’t too big of a handicap if you know where to look).

    Torley: Love your speciffic style, fresh, funny and informative, allthough sometimes you’re a bit fast – I had to rewind 4 times until I actually got what you meant by those blue triangles… πŸ˜‰ Think of, in such cases, focussing on the matter a little longer (we’ll watch you anyways) and maybe utilizing post production markers (superimposed arrows or sthg).

    regards – Kruge

  64. Olivia Cascabel says:

    Torley,

    All I can say is you RAWK! I’ve yet to see one of your Tip of the Week videos that I haven’t learned something new and useful and you do it in a way that is fun and makes me laugh. LOVE LOVE LOVE your work, the devotion you show us ‘resi’s, as well as all the wonderful things you offer us at your ‘in world office’. Thank you for all the hints, tips, and watermelon! *laughs*

  65. Drako Nagorski says:

    yeah @1:

    well if youve been here for 9 months you oughta know by now that SL is a SECOND LIFE (note the second)… people not talking about their RL is normal here. not everyone has to tell you where they live, what they do, and what they look like.

  66. Torley: another solid tutorial! And I loved the avatar.

    @38: In older viewers, you couldn’t minimize the inventory window. However, closing it was nearly as good, because it reopens in the same state that it had when you closed it… so unless you had two or more inventory windows, you were fine. In 1.18.3 and any viewer derived from it, you can minimize inventory windows.

    @1: It’s true that the culture of Second Life is different from many other virtual worlds and social networking spaces. The name “Second Life” says it: many of us are here to build an alternate existence and identity, not extend our First Life identity. The Community Standards also reflect that, with their prohibitions about disclosure of First Life information. If you’re really looking for First Life social connection, Second Life might not be the world you’re looking for, but the world you want is NOT what some of the rest of us are looking for; I hope you the place you want and are happy there.

  67. Bau Ur says:

    Hey Torley thanks for the good help.

  68. Caemlyn Witherspoon says:

    Thank you for the tip of the day Torley, and thank LL for maintaining SL for us.
    In my 18 months on SL, this is the first time I have posted but just could not resist adding my vote to Carol’s.
    YAY!
    Someone besides me has “Hair up the Butt Syndrome”.
    (carolrae pidgeon Says: My top major irritation is the old shoes, hair and jewelry in your butt issue. There are days when it happens so much I just relog which eliminates having to detatch and reattach all of my attachments! Are they ever going to fix this??)
    If that were the solution, it wouldn’t be THAT bad – but – frequently you relog to no inv, ruthed, no music and a plethora of other ailments that cause you to relog yet again.
    To avoid relogging sometimes as much as 3 or 4 times, I’ve recently been just letting my hair and jewelry up my but. One never knows – it may be the next SL fashion trend.

  69. KMeist Hax says:

    From Ric:

    “A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence.”

    Second Life users are a lot different from other users, first of all. We like to pretend, we like to cosplay, we like to roleplay. A big part of Second Life is expected privacy – you should be able to remain Anonymous with respect to your RL identity. Not to say that you cannot reveal stuff on your profile page – in fact, there’s a whole page, “1st Life”, for your RL information if you want to oblige. Me? I wouldn’t recommend it especially if you end up being griefed or trolled.

  70. Constantine Giugiaro says:

    How about when your trying to set something to group and all you get is (???) or (waiting)where the group name would be?

  71. Karyn says:

    Thanks for the excellent tutorial! I loved the mute tip. Wish it worked on my cat! πŸ™‚

  72. alf lednev says:

    Good Video Torely. Perhaps you could do a library and organise into categories for newbies, intermediate and advanced users? So its a ready reference for all.

    No 1 certainly set the tone, I agree with most of it and its interesting how many focus on his last part only and side step the main arguement.

    I see we have the usual, “if you don’t like it, leave” posts.
    Simple economics, there are a finite number of paying users online, each one that goes, will tell all their friends and work assocites etc of their BAD experience. Net result is, an increase of non paying members who will come and see and not invest. In turn as paying members go down, Lindens must increase costs to those who remain. So never tell anyone to leave, offer positives why they should stay.

    LL is trying these past weeks, to create that atmosphere Torely ( tirelessly advocating above), other Lindens posting, some talk on looking at stability and fixing some common bugs. Its a start, time will tell if its enough. Robin’s apparant contempt in not addressing the overwhelming concerns in the Transparany debate was a bigger backstep though, reinforcing the view that LL doesn’t really listen or care for its members concerns.

    The commercial world is harsh, LL will be facing competitors soon enough. Their track record of listening and dealing with user issues to date has been absymal. Thats the death knell for any company once a monopoly is broken. Hopefully they will lift their game dramatically, they really need to.

    Cute videos are a step in the right direction but Torely, I am still trying to figure out why you wasted time explaining how to colour a pie chart last week. I’m still waiting on “how to oil my SL fishes bicycle”. Keep them actually useful and I shudder to think of those wh get off on colouring a piechart. they would argue about the colour of their parachute to.

  73. Dekka Raymaker says:

    maybe Torley would eventually get around to ‘oiling SL fishes bicycles’ if you spelt his name correctly, also I can imagine that someone who does a tutorial on how to colour your pie chart would actually demand that his parachute be pink and green!

  74. StepChaffe says:

    Great job Torley, I love your videos, keep them coming.

    To: Ric Mollor, Please don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out! lol

  75. Thank you, Torley. =)

  76. Maklin Deckard says:

    #1 “A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence.”

    Agreed with you up until this point. ‘Nero fiddled while Rome Burned’ is an old saying, and Torley is famous for blowing sunshine (and cutesy videos/pictures) up our collective backsides. However, on identity, you are WAY offbase! Let me list a few points for you to consider.

    1) This is not a 3D Avatar-based version of MySpace or an AOHeller chatroom, but a virtual world. Most of us do NOT come here to ‘meet people and talk RL’ or to ‘have an RL profile’. I frankly do not give a flying f*** about your RL and am not telling you about mine….when I am in SL, I am a Quasi-victorian inventor, who spends most of his time in a series of victorian/steampunk themed sims. That is ALL you need to know about me and all you are going to get told. Again, this is not some MySpace or other teen/college aged social site.

    2) Not sure what other 3D wolds you are referencing, the FEW I have seen are glorified chatrooms, not true 3D worlds like SL. You need to remember, SL attracts folks who WANT a bit of escapism, to Role-play or build, to BE in a second life. How DULL and UNIMAGINATIVE you must be to come here and be your first life self! A 3D chatroom attracts a different kind of person (thankfully) than SL.

    3) And here’s the biggie… NO ONE IS UNDER ANY OBLIGATION TO TELL YOU ANYTHING ABOUT THEMSELVES. You really need to get over yourself and your desire to poke into others business and accept that folks do not have to share identity info with you. A desire for privacy does not mean they have anything to hide (that is a common misperception of those with a police state mentality), it merely means you are not automatically entitled to the info and they choose not to satisfy your curiousity.

  77. Jayden B says:

    Thanks Torley, keep up the communications and keep pushing the other Lindens to also keep it up.

    Even I learnt something in this one, Ctrl-Opt-F1 to turn the interface off so that I can take movies.

    >> “Robin’s apparant contempt in not addressing the overwhelming concerns in the Transparany debate was a bigger backstep though, reinforcing the view that LL doesn’t really listen or care for its members concerns.”

    Robin has shown time and time again her contempt for us. This one one lady who needs to be moved out of the position of communications director.

    She just doesn’t get it, and so much of the fall of SL that has been happening and the anger so many residents feel can be traced back to her.

    Fire Robin Linden!
    Vote 1 for Torley Linden communications director.

  78. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Thanks again Torley, your tips are always very helpful and your your style brightens up people. =)

  79. I heart Torley! ^_____________________^

  80. Michael Timeless says:

    Another great video Torley

    #1 The only reason I can think of for your post is that you are some type of budding stalker. Why would you want any information about people’s real life without knowing the person.
    Do you read the news about the people who get fired over their myspace accounts? Who have been visited by pedaphiles and other less than savory characters.
    Did you run out of other things to rant about.

    I might have agreed to some of your other stuff, but it was so off topic and just plain….off topic. My only regret is that after reading this we probably made you feel important.

    One last thought, Torley is trying to help people. What are you doing to help the people you want to know so much about?

    Mike

    Oh yeah, Mike is my RL name. Hope it helps you.

  81. Thanks Torley!
    All the issues are caused by one thing. SL is like a bus with 50 seats and 1500 passengers trying to board.

    If you all log out so i can be in SL with like 500 online at a time (like 3 years ago) i will have no problems!
    Don’t look at me like that! LL said it was MY world!
    *grins*
    Can someone at LL finaly pick up the phone ??

  82. Natsuki Morigi says:

    The thing that bugs me the most is after a teleport prim hair and shoes sometimes find themselves not on my head and feet but between my legs! – why? What can I do to fix this?

  83. knitemarco0731 Tripsa says:

    Well haha to another funny reading post!!!

    Torley? great tips as usual!! Love your tips keep it up!!! (Whatever the are giving you that makes you laugh the way you do, I want some!)

    Please help with :
    #12’s Nearly every time I log in, I get the β€œdownloading clothing” message.
    #1, You just need to not have a Second life. Some of us love what we are doing and trying to do in SL, regardless of the hard platform. WE are the innovators that will help the future define what 3d VW is all about, or at least that is what I have been programmed to say. πŸ™‚

    I wasn’t here for the traffic payout thingy I keep hearing about. I like what I hear. Bring it back.
    The small marketing I am doing makes a difference, and I make things fun for my guests as well.

    We could all yell about something here, but Torley? This blogs for you! Thanks for trying to help us make our SL lives easier!

  84. knitemarco0731 Tripsa says:

    #48 HINT!!!!!!

    I’ve noticed it seems to happen after my avie has β€˜fallen’ the equivalent of a few inches to a foot, a 10-20 seconds after arriving at the β€˜new’ place.

    I don’t know if there’s a fix for it, but it’s embarrassing, and frustrating! It seems sometimes no one else can see the problem, but other times, people will laugh at it, so one never knows.

    KNITEMARCO0731 TRIPSA HINT: STAND on something like a posing stand!! this will straighten you out!

  85. Lillith Canning says:

    Torley, LOVE your tutorials, haven’t missed one! They are GREAT!

    I just wanted to comment on the lag comments as well. I have a great video card, it made all the difference, expensive fix I know, but hey, this is a graphical game – so a good graphics card would be logical.

    I have been playing for a few months now and rarely have any of these issues. Maybe you just all need to move to Australia! LOL.

  86. Visigoth Junot says:

    “A user base that seems determined to hide all aspects of their RL lives while *every* other 3D world has profiles full of RL photos and comments about the users RL existence.” posted by Ric Mollor.

    I agree with most of what he said, but I think you’re ridiculous to expect or require any RL information to be public in SL. SL is totally fantasy based, anyone can be anything they want; a unicorn, a rock, furry, neko, vampire… What business is it of yours or anyone else’s who I am, what I do for a living, where I live, my age (over 18, of course) or any other aspect of my RL. That is what the 1st Life tab is for in your profile. It is up to the individual to conduct themselves appropriately and its not up to you or SL/LL to verify that personal information. What next, you will have to prove your gender before creating an avatar or wearing a shape? I have to prove I’m 80 before I can dress up like an elderly person? And verify my species before I can be a unicorn? >purses lips in disgust< That’s way overstepping personal boundaries by *miles.* If someone wants you to know, they will tell you or show you. Other than that, keep your nose in your own business.

  87. TonyEMS Heying says:

    Great work Tory. You make it all very interesting and practical. Ignore the likes of Ric Mollor and the other naysayers. SL has improved tremendously over the past year and it is VERY stable, compared to most programs out there including Microsoft Windows and Office. There is something for everyone in SL and every day I meet interesting people, some with incredible talents. Its a great 3D world for both business and fun.

  88. Kulalyle Anatine says:

    thanks torley for all your help wow we should have a torley party,
    for the things you have done, for thouse who need to know.
    O yeah can i have a cookie..

  89. Ossified Ogre says:

    [quote]Ric Mollor Says:

    I will leave Second Life as soon as possible. In 9 months of use *nothing* has gotten better.
    [/quote]

    ok. Bye.

    [quote]
    The unstability as gotten *worse*.
    [/quote]
    No it hasnt. Its vastly improved since I joined in 2005. And its improved in all that time.
    [quote]
    Inventory loss has gotten *worse*.
    [/quote]
    No it hasnt. I recall the old days when ENTIRE inventories would vanish.
    [quote]
    Performance has gotten *worse*.
    [/quote]
    No it hasnt. I remember in 2005 when the big whine fest was that SL couldnt handle 4 000 people online. Now I see 58 000 at times? People used to say SL was broken then. Obviously it wasnt. It still isnt.

    At the time, a sim limit was 20 avatars, and at that point, mobility was zero. Even the concierge parties with 100 people in a sim are not as bad as those days.

    Torley, keep up the great work.

  90. Argos Hawks says:

    A big annoyance for me is the way the payment notifications steal the cursor away from whatever you are trying to do. If you’re moving, you stop. If you’re typing, you get interupted. If you are running some free games and your place is busy, you get interupted with every 2 or 3 letters you type and communicating with someone is so frustrating that you want to reach through the screen and throttle whoever thought that was a good idea.

  91. Creuset Rau says:

    This is LindenTips’s Japanese translation page.
    It is to seven now.

    ζ—₯本θͺžγ§γƒͺンデンチップスを解θͺ¬γ—ています
    http://www.secondlife-milky.com/lindentip/lintipmain.html

  92. FallenAngel Erato says:

    I a paying resident agree with * Ric Mollor *, i have been in sl since jan of 2005, the game is getting worse and worse, the only improvements made are clouds and other things that should be put last on the list and fix the problems at hand first, my comp rocks no reason i should be lagging at all, and yes i have high speed net so its not the net either, sick and tired of teleporting and ending up with my hair and boots up my arse, constantly packet loss red line, you people who say oh it has improved, why cuz you have cute lil clouds now? have been a 3d gammer for over 5yrs, sure sl is kewl, but has far too many issues that never get cleared up and report the bugs all the time with no fix…….. try some other 3d games think all you suck ups just might change your mind once you see how they dont lag or loose things or have packet loss issues or have to pay tons of money just to be a resident…. most of you don’t have a clue of whats going on, and its not just me alot of old game timmers are seeing this game get increasingly worse.

  93. Amanda Ascot says:

    Excellent video, as usual, Torley! I have a funny story about object updating. Well, funny, now, but not funny then. One of my friends was heavily “into” poofers, particles, and things like that, which I really don’t much like, except for necessary applications. All these triangles were rising around me, from several different places, so I immediately pointed my virtual finger at him and accused him of intentionally trying to annoy me with a particle effect. It took us awhile to figure out what was actually happening, since, of course, I was the only one able to see this. I had obviously hit the key combination accidentally, as, earlier that day, I found myself suddenly and inexplicably notified (according to a message I got in my viewer) that I was being reported for trying to access administrative mode, or something like that (a server menu function that we are apparently not supposed to attempt to use). Do not rush your typing when you have Debug menus open. It isn’t safe!

    Annoyances I’d like to see eliminated:

    1) Prim snap-back
    2) Texture snap-back
    3) “Spastic” behavior of inventory folders (they should stay closed until intentionally opened and stay opened until intentionally closed) — none of that mouse-over BS.
    4) *All* menu selections should be persistent. If Nicholaz can fix this in his patch to the viewer I’m sure the Linden coders can. Or we can all just the Nocholaz edition, I suppose.
    5) Blue notification boxes. Let me delay them until I’m ready to see them. Please!

    Ric @1: If you want to know Real Life details about Real Life people, go meet them in Real Life … if you have one. Enough said.

  94. Cat Gisel says:

    Hey can we make stop all animations into a keystroke? LOL
    I am also curious why the menu version doesn’t always work, and the object and or HUD versions do. (Sometimes though ONLY the menu version that works).

    Also with mute, I can’t figure out how to mute chat any more.
    “Ima Noying spanks Ira Tating on the posteror” once upon a time it was right there in chat history as an object. How do we find it now?

  95. Raban Laborde says:

    As usual, a lot of eyecandy about how to solve minor things. it seems someone wants to hide the fact some thingss getting worse and beeing far, very far from being resolved.

    Read the very fist post, he’s right.
    Lag, high cost of servers getting better (or cheaper) today with no change of limits. Inventory loss, and a newer thing, loss from the parcel. ive lost about 10.000 Linden of items which evaporated without a tryce from my parcel (No group rights or something so it can’t be deletd accidently b another one, nothing in “lost&found”).
    A friend has lost about halve of his objects on the parcel, his neighbour got the same…

    Don’t cover big problems with some nittygritty eyecandy.
    Get it solved!

  96. Deltango Vale says:

    @ 1, 10, 28, 33, 39, 51, 55, 72, 87, 89, 92, 95

    I believe the CORE problem is that SL began as a brilliant idea implemented by a handful of engineers without an overarching, executive-level strategic plan for technological, legal and social scaling.

    The introduction of anonymous accounts triggered an explosion in population and media coverage far beyond the competence of ‘engineering-based’ management. The situation deteriorated when the engineer-managers’ hired lawyers to solve the mounting structural and functional problems.

    The saddest part is the loss of the original idea: “Your world. Your imagination” and the founding principle of individual liberty. Without this, SL becomes just another game instead of the social revolution envisioned by its founder.

    My advice (I will waive my $1000 per day fee) is for an immediate reorganization of the Board of Directors. Hire an economic historian, an economist, a science-fiction writer, a physicist, a lawyer, a hedge fund manager, a systems engineer, a sociologist, a political/media strategist, a cultural anthropologist and, most important, a visionary leader with the courage to stand up against the political establishment.

    Without an immediate reorganization of the company, LL will be behind the curve on all levels when Third Life and Fourth Life enter the market for virtual worlds. Remember, your competitors have the huge advantage of copying your vision while avoiding your mistakes.

  97. Zilla Larsson says:

    Torley, for next week’s tips on performance and lag could u pls address:
    – can u see how much of a sims’s avatar prim limit is used up at any moment? (in the same way u can see the land prims used up in about land.)
    – what exactly happens as u get closer to the avatar prim limit?
    – a water sim has 1875 land prims — does this mean it also has 1875 avatar prims? so that effectively u cant be much more than 5 avs in a water sim?

  98. Maximilliano Minnelli says:

    Tutorials are nice but SL is terrible and has been for the longest. Performance sucks and nothing gets fixed and if by luck something does get fixed, it breaks down again in no time.
    SL’s tech team is very shoddy in it’s work. These guys need to be replaced by a team that actually knows what it’s doing. Ateam that gets results and is not constantly telling sl residents they doing the best they can. Their best stinks!!!!!

  99. Dan The Dragon says:

    I have an ideea. It will be more easy and fun if we have the interaction between SL people with a right click just like in The Sims… (kiss, dance, slap… etc.) and it will atract more people I think that in a month will join more people than they join in a trimester (4 months). I whant an response from the administration please… and thank you for taking your time reading this message.

  100. Hank Hill says:

    @89: Wow, what is the color of the sky in your world, SL is one messed up place that seems with each fix breaks 9 more. Anyone looking to but SL (and there are talks) DON’T. You are better off taking those bucks and starting your own.

    Paying out of work college kids below minimum wage and outsourcing customer service gets you excatly what we have.

  101. We measured caterpillar densities at the start of the growing season and damage levels to apples at harvest in two similar areas of 2 ha each, one of which was randomly assigned to the nest box treatment, in 12 Dutch apple orchards over a period of four years (1997– 2000). Plots were at least 500 m apart, too far for great tits breeding in the nest box plot to forage in the control plot. In Dutch apple orchards there are two management regimes, and we used orchards under both types of regimes. We used six…

Comments are closed.