Friends Online is Back!

I know that many of you have been anxiously awaiting the return of the Friends Online functionality.  I am happy to announce that the issues with this service have now been resolved and it is now back online.  Thanks for your patience while we hammered this service back into shape.

About Maurice Linden

Linden Lab
This entry was posted in -Miscellaneous, Announcements & News, Bugs & Fixes, Web Development, Website Status. Bookmark the permalink.

150 Responses to Friends Online is Back!

  1. U M says:

    Woohoooooooooooooo Yes Thank You!

  2. Marianne McCann says:

    What did you have to do to get it back up and working? I only ask ‘cuz I’ve noticed an increased load on my ‘puter when I log in and my friend’s online list “builds,” sometimes causing other important packets (like shape and offline messages) to be lost.

  3. Marianne McCann says:

    Oops – I should have added some message 2 did’t sound so negative. Thankoo for getting the feature back up. I am one of those who uses it pretty regularly, and will be very happy to have it again. 🙂

  4. Callysta Catteneo says:

    @2 That’s been that way for 2 or 3 weeks now…

  5. Doris Haller says:

    Nice.
    Now I can see who of my old friends is online since I am offline for most of the times.

    I’m offline because of the bad performance of SL and LL.
    LL does not to care enough about their customers to prevent them from leaving.

    So now, I can watch a bit from a distance…

  6. Thunderclap Morgridge says:

    Well isn’t this a pleasant surprise. Thank you!

  7. Jayden B says:

    Thankyou! Thankyou! Thankyou!
    See me in world Maurice and I’ll buy you a prim beer.

    Will the month’s outage affect the service metrics? This is a critical item for so many.

  8. Ryder Spearmann says:

    Ah, sorry guys, friends list is NOT BACK.

    Gone again as of 6:14pm SLTime

    There are HORRIBLE problems with asset handling… people visiting my businesses are not getting their goods, friends list is down, there is horrific lag in most sims. The place is falling apart…

    Second Life needs emergency rescue services…

  9. Hina Yifu says:

    Thank you! It always helps to know if my group is online, to save the effort and resource-using to do it from the website instead of logging in. ^^

  10. LordRingsMottoEatMore says:

    Cool thanks! It can be quite handy. 🙂

  11. Kurt Casady says:

    LMAO…I Can’t believe the amount of peeps singing praises for having this feature working again. It’s funny because I compare this issue of the friends list not working for over 2weeks, the same as my RL boss would react to my not doing part of my job for the same amount of time.

    Here’s another thought, do away with this useless feature and fix issues in sl like prims reverting (rubberbanding) back to their original shape while we are trying to create things. I can wait to see if my friends are online when i get in, but i have little patience for losing hours worth of precision workin with several prims that start bouncing back and forth in shape.

    Not meaning to flame here, but dont go throwing your shoulder out of socket patting yourself’s on the back for taking close to 3 weeks to fix the friends list lol.

  12. Uccello says:

    Thanks! Donuts for Everyone! I missed the feature more than I thought I would.

  13. AAAAAAAAAAAAAnyone noticed that the actual (current)residents online number seems to be far lower than it has been recently…….just as the “friends online” feature is restored to the SL wesbite???call me paranoid but, i know im not he only one that has caught the aroma of a slow baked statistical pie in the current climate………………tho it appears that sales and traffic are gathering a promising pace finally. Let me throw this one at you…………….LL actually tour the grid in times of poor economic performace and make bulk purchases,(primarily from retail- as entrepeneurial spirit is the dominant force in one way or another ) in order to boost all circumstantial parameters that effect real world commercial investment within the concept………… Its all a dream………………..or is it……….?????………..,,……..Wheres my lithium……………………?
    one more thing…..for now….

    anyone keeping a log of the blog bloggers? or bloggers blogs logged anywhere? occurance, viewing habits, post contribution responses etc?

  14. Kelly boyington says:

    the fix of freinds online is still not working and i am supposed to have a party and I cant get messages thansk alot SL this is total bs

  15. Jayden B says:

    @8, 14 This is friends online, not in world presence.

    @11 >> “do away with this useless feature ”

    Useless to you maybe, but there are many who have real life jobs or tasks to do at home that use friends online to see when their friends are… strangely enough… online so they know to login. Saves sitting around in an empty shop, club, sim, brothel waiting.

    @13 >> “call me paranoid”…”LL actually tour the grid in times of poor economic performace and make bulk purchases”

    Can you send them to my shop? Sales are no so bad I’m thinking of selling off my land to the landbots tonight and reverting to basic on two accounts. I would have though AFDB’s would sell well. Hmmm… Do you want to buy one? j/k

  16. Dianna Defiant says:

    I find it AMAZING that y’all are so concerned about the things that are wrong in a virtual world. If something doesn’t work big deal – work around it. Friends list doesn’t work – haha so what? Im them and see if they are on how hard is that? DUH! And of all the people I hear talking about losing their inventory and things being screwed up…I have been on SL a year now and NEVER had any of that stuff happen to me. Makes me wonder if it’s operator error in some cases…
    And seriously – who spends REAL $ to be a part of a virtual world anyway? And if you do then that’s your problem and the Lindens can laugh all the way to the bank as far as I’m concerned cause I’m not paying real $ for an online game. Y’all that do think your paltry fee entitles you to perfection every minute of the day and no downtime ever. Hellooooo…you’re dealing with computers and the internet – what do you really expect??

  17. Heleen says:

    That’s great….thanks!!!

  18. Hadley Yoshikawa says:

    @16: Stop making sense. It’s amazing how many people claim to spend 4000 US$ a month. I know they don’t all spend anywhere near that much, unless they are buying L$ to participate in cartoon pixel sex.

  19. LOOOK >..<

    This is completely unacceptable, my toaster buddy 2007 cant deliver his witty additions with the required comic precision and wont TP when wearing purple suede(again) The carpet Master rotation HUD has some kind of rock texture instead of fine gilted tassle edging and worst of all the antigriefer pelican lawnmowers are spewing cheap furniture and noob car ice cream to the north of my estate, also, can we have some verification procedure schedule for the virtual stella burger/patty formation program? We have been waiting long enough!!!!
    Just listen to these disgruntled punters.

    “shocked”. Mrs D Litmuspaper. Barnsley UK

    “truly awful service all round” Sir Kelvin Licking-Basket VII. FL USA

    “sickening” The Cosby Family. Hawaii. France

    “a desperate sweaty tulip” G.Momcanwekeepit. Ibiza NZ

    nuf sed

  20. Jayden B says:

    @16 >> “Friends list doesn’t work – haha so what? Im them and see if they are on”

    Hard to IM your friends when you are not in-world. DUH!

    >> “I have been on SL a year now and NEVER had any of that stuff happen to me.”

    Mmm, the entire metaverse should be running as you see it, from the sounds of your comments, in particular “who spends REAL $ to be a part of a virtual world anyway?” You camp or beg or are still in N00b clothes… so really… I’m not surprised you haven’t lost anything. You buy nothing, you own nothing, you loose nothing.

    @18 >> “It’s amazing how many people claim to spend 4000 US$ a month”

    Doesn’t take much… Own 2 sims and you are up there almost. Let me ask you Hadley… Do you hang out in the welcome areas still… or visit clubs, attractions, etc. These sims are all resident run, the residents pay for them.

    If your “wish” of people not spending real life money was to come true… well… SL would not really be there would it?

  21. hugsalot says:

    @2
    That sounds like you’re logging in to a really busy sim. Don’t think it has anything to do with the friends list working again.

  22. DP says:

    I work most of the day, so this feature up and running again is great, that way I have an idea on who is online before I log on when I get home. There are multiple other problems, glitches, bugs that need to be fixed. LL needs to concentrate on those areas the most. From what I have seen of this new Havok 4, it should reduce a lot of the lag (hopefully) until people see that they can make items with more prims without having to worry about lagging…. I will not place all the blame on LL, I will say that the residents cause many of the problems themselves, loading a SIM with the limit of prims, and people coming with lots of prim attatchments and they wonder why they lag… I mean seriously… Build smarter, low prim is still the way to go, and will probably relieve a lot of the problems we face on a day to day basis… Those are my thoughts, take them or leave them.

  23. Karin Lungu says:

    Great. I didn’t know there was a faeture that makes it possible to see which friends are ihn-world before you log in. But…..would be nice tio have some explanation as to where to find it and how its works. In the search pages i can not find anything about it (this blog aside that is). So if anyone can shine a light on this…plaese…..

  24. Abigail Merlin says:

    @18, one private island already costs 295 usd ex VAT per month, offcourse I get it back from tiers I collect from residents that bought plots at my island but still I need to spend before I can collect.

    Like jayden said, without those user run sims SL would be death.

  25. Helen Dayton says:

    Karin, go to http://secondlife.com/community/, then look in the left-hand column – Friends Online is linked from My Second Life there. 🙂 I am glad to see it back as I use it very regularly – my Friends list is pretty long after over 3.5 years of playing.

  26. Helen Dayton says:

    ugh comma got in there – try this http://secondlife.com/community/

  27. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Thank you friends =)

  28. Eidur says:

    Woooooooooooot! Back to stalking again 😉

  29. Thanks to bring it back!
    friends on line is an important feature, several aspects of our social life on SL depend on it !

  30. Dekka Raymaker says:

    Its great for avoiding your friends too 🙂

  31. Lukas Mensing says:

    Very useful indeed!!
    why don’t you correct the traffic function instead?
    It’s still based on the old “dwell” thing and do not reflect at all the real visits of a place on SL (please compare it to a simple visitors counter). It has also as a direct consequence the famous “camping chairs” making the popular places on SecondLife popular ONLY because they have camping chairs and free money (with few exceptions, bravo!).
    Please think of this to help us do a better SecondLife

  32. shifzr says:

    um, good for those who need that feature … (i don’t)

    which problem i desperately want to see adressed?
    easy: the RUTHing!! don’t know how long it’s been around, but it’s quite annoying every single time it happens.

    i’m not talking about lag, because that’s most probably a very complex phenomenon with a lot of different reasons … but ruthing?
    come on, i know u Lindens can fix that 😉

  33. RacerX Gullwing says:

    Wow first time in years my friends list can see past the M’s. Thats great
    but last night I counted my IM contacts and came up with 925. then when I counted my unique cards I have I come up with around 1,400,
    Not sure what thats about so started going through and finding the ones that weren’t listed in contacts. There profiles still exist. But looks like they may have not logged in in a long time as most of the pictures in there profiles are of non existent places or ( no parcel). Also what’s the deal when you go to friends list photos and half of the pictures are just a line from the top to there name? Could be the people that have large profile pictures? But thanks it’s working better than I’ve ever seen it work before.

  34. broads Lindbergh says:

    for once i saying a big thanks for getting it back its not been good not having that feature around
    so thank you lindens for getting it back working
    now can you fix a few more bits and we been more than happy

  35. Abigail Merlin says:

    was about time but still thanks.
    @33, ruth is a form of lag, simply put the packets that contain the shapes and sometimes animations get lost causing the ruthed look and arms wide poses. a simple ride on a deruth rocket or canon fixes it, also tping out and back in helps as wel.

  36. memory says:

    Well it is nice to see who is online but it does open the possibility of being stalked if u trying to avoid someone !!! lol but i guess u can see the ppl u trying to avoid if they in the same group as ya !!! lol

  37. Raul Crimson says:

    Thanks, Maurice. I use it a lot also. Love to be in contact with my friends.

  38. Danzo Mills says:

    @20 Couldnt agree more. Yay for her.. she loses ZIP because she’s never made ANY sort of investment. This is typical of the ignorant attitude that comes from ppl who BEG/camp in SL !

    For those of us who would rather invest our time and money ENJOYING SL and everything it has to offer, this persons comments are indescribably ignorant and malformed. LL ban camping and BAN basic accounts , lighten the load on the server infrastructure and give those of us who are serious about SL (and can afford it) a fair go!

    Those who want to spend hours camping and begging everyone for money (and sex) .. go play the sims or something more suitable ! I dont CARE if you are unemployed or a poor student etc.. i DEMAND good service because I PAY for it. Dont sit here and preach to me about how great you think it when it costs you nothing! I suspect plenty of premium members would concur with me on that 😉

  39. Stoletov says:

    Great. I didn’t know there was a faeture that makes it possible to see which friends are ihn-world before you log in

  40. Raven Primeau says:

    got to totally agree with Danzo @ 39

    Opening the floodgates to everyone screwed so much up the first time, I know it got a lot of residents online but the griefing and crap that came with it Tainted SL for me. I for one would love LL to revert to the old way of subscribing, clear out all the unused accounts and be truthful with us.

    I love friends online though, seeing my friends online at work helps get me through the mundane day LOL.

  41. Dianna Defiant says:

    Oh come on you snobs…I don’t BEG OR CAMP. And I probably have more L$ than you and a bigger inventory oh not “noob” things. I help newbies out when i meet them I hate that hair…
    I have bought TONS of stuff on SL and I even OWN LAND and pay TIER FEES!! Theres ways of doing all that w/out being a “premium member.” So get over yourselves and have a RL in addition to a SL…

  42. JoeDrinkAlota BeerBaum says:

    18 ROFLMAO Toooooooo True!!!!!

  43. mimi says:

    @ 16 dianna
    “I have been on SL a year now and NEVER had any of that stuff happen to me. Makes me wonder if it’s operator error in some cases…”
    “cause I’m not paying real $ for an online game.”

    OMG lol I agree with @20 totally.. 16 and 18s posts sound very very naive..

    Hey but who cares… n00bs who dont spend real money make us lots of money by beeing cheap camping traffic!

  44. memory says:

    Actually it appears that @ 20 is a land owner and has invested in SL. What gets my goat is the campers at a sim which becomes so slow. btw i am a premium member too i also pay. Maybe certain areas should be open to paying members only ? Just a thought so pls dont bite my head off thanks !!! lol

  45. Pingback: Second Life News for October 17, 2007 « The Grid Live

  46. Dusty Runo says:

    LMAO!, the Friends online page is back so, if my mum grounds me from comp i no whos online LOL! it comes in handy when i wish no to speak to a friend….

  47. Cat Gisel says:

    Thanks for fixing it, I enjoyed the mini vacation. So much for the peace and quiet. LOL

  48. Gideon Kappler says:

    Problem fixed????
    Sorry, it’s not working for me …. very sad … 😦

  49. DR Dahlgren says:

    I have been told I am too negative here. Friends, I really try to find things to be positive about. In truth, SL has come a long way since I joined over a year ago.

    I guess it is something to see any broken feature restored, but I am afraid I have to agree with several ppl who posted above, this is so low on the priority scale as to be off it when compared to the issues in-world.

    Rubberbanding in edit: A killer for those of use who build.
    Objects change Pos by tiny amounts in edit: Another major headache for creators.
    Client freezes on camera move: A prob since voice added.
    Client resource hog: Again, since voice. Used to run two clients no prob, now while I can run two, it often takes 15 min for the second client to load.
    Client has issues if Outlook or MS Word is running. Again -Resources??
    Client Resource Hog 2: Right now my client is open, but I am not logged on, and it is using 45% CPU and 90 megs of memory. just waiting for me to press Connect – ?????????????
    LL Land dumping and Bots still control land sales: My investment in SL is now worth 1/3 what it was and I did not buy at peaks of L$30 m2.
    Camping: We have begged for an end to this resource waste and better ways to rate places, but here it sits, eating up recources and making any other parcel in a sim with camping a lag hell.
    BAN Lines: Many have asked for a better way to limit access to land and the end of the general object / avatar BAN. Any progress on that?

    I am afraid it is to me, the same old story. LL simply does not listen to the users who actually use SL to work, or create content as part of their SL experience. Maybe if I go get a griefer, oops – I mean, unauthenticated, account, they will hear me.

    I don’t get it. Voice – overwhelmingly voted least needed addition – but here it is, and def causing probs. Requests to fix issues critical to creators – no responce – but “friends online”, a totally un-needed though nice for some feature, gets resources.

    I see the Huge Prims blog posts overwhelmingly were in favor of retaining them in general. I assume now they will be gone soon.

    I don’t get it LL, I simply don’t get it. Who sets the priorities for the work that is done???? Why is it you don’t listen to the ones who are creating the content that makes SL what it is.

    I really do try to find things to be positive about, but LL, you really do make it hard some days.

    DRD

  50. Sedary Raymaker says:

    Yay! I can get back to tracking my pets’ movements.

  51. mimi says:

    @ 45
    Theres several areas for paying members already, and most private sims don’t allow camping so you can best go there. Camping happens mostly on the mainland if you go to most private sims you shouldnt be bothered by campers at all.

    In my experience they dont lag that much really, since most are newbie and don’t wear high prim attachments, listen scripts or AOs. It depends on the type of camping chair though.. dancing chairs lag more than sitting ones.

    I agree, it would be even better when all campers would be gone.. since its impossile to get in the popular places list without them… but i guess they are quite apart of SL economy since they offer newbies the chance to buy items they otherwise wouldnt be able to. (since 90% doesnt seems able to find a job otherwise)

    @42
    I wonder what do you consider to be ‘tons’ of stuff though? (or expect to be more money than other people?)
    No offence, but seeing your profile(s) you wear a freebie skin and haircuts and no AO.

  52. DR Dahlgren says:

    Well, here is a nice little thing I found – CopyBot V/4.2.4 is being sold in-world by Lowmax Papp (No Payment Info on File – surprise surprise) for L$10,000 with the disclaimer – Seller has nothing to do with the use of this item.

    Just another example of the total lack of respect the real content creators and builders of this world receive from LL and the leaches.

    Sorry, I need to go vomit.

    DRD

  53. Anna Eisbar says:

    Maybe it would work better with a bit more “engineering into efficiency” rather than “hammering into shape”…

  54. DR Dahlgren says:

    It appears that Lowmax Papp, BurgerKing Macdonald and the group – A Lingam AdultShop are behind the sales of this item. If this is real, they should all be banned for providing it, and if it is a fraud, they should all be banned for that. Either way, the island should be confiscated and the people behind these accounts and group should all be perm banned to set and example.

    DRD

  55. Digital Digital says:

    @ 55 , I looked at the item, and it is not the real copy bot, it’s simply someone trying to make money stating it is a copybot but it’s not LOL ,

  56. Hi and waves,

    Indeed, it’s not necessarily a high priority issue to see if friends are online, but nice to have.
    Well, I don’t know how the experience of other’s are, but my confident in sl is being restored bit by bit. Lately all seems to function well, response to my questions is quick and effective, and only some crahses I had here and there, but just incidental.
    About value of land. I still seem to sell very strong and still many do.
    Value of land has been decreasing according to sl’s website and inworld market analyses, but ( in my case ) there’s simply no correlation between price and speed of sales to a certain point. Please always make very sure that you know what you are selling and what makes your land above average. And… patience…
    Well, let’s hope that sl will involve in stability.

  57. DR Dahlgren says:

    I should change my name to Blue Boy, since I will be holding my breath, turning blue, waiting for LL to act on any of this.

    LL’s total lack of concern over the needs of the content creators in SL dooms it. In the end, I see a world owned by a few, created by Electric Sheep, populated with adverstising for IBM et al, and enjoyed only by those who desire to create havoc.

    DRD

  58. Digital Digital says:

    @ 58 If you really feel strongly that it is a copy bot etc, you should really abuse report it 🙂 , even thought when I looked at the contents of it and it does not look like copy bot at all, I abuse reported it, linden lab gets thousands and thousands of abuse reports in a day, just best to wait and let it be dealt with apropriatley, it’s not like they are going to do something in 10 mins of you seeing the item your just wasting your time.

    Good luck 😉

  59. JetZep Zabelin says:

    I checkmarked “Only show my online status to my friends”, but still, group s still show my online status. Its not cool anyone in a group can see my online status at all times.

    Being able to see other group members online status should be a group Ability that if filtered even more by Preferences “Only show my online status to my friends” .

  60. richard says:

    my sex bed works ,i dont care about anything else !!

  61. JetZep Zabelin says:

    DRD, let them sell the fake copybot. People who buy copybot deserve it

  62. Ari says:

    JEEZUZ…

    LOL – never know what you’ve got, ’til it’s gone.

    Wholey crappola mans… ain’t THAT the truth! WOOOOHOOOOO!

    Thanks!!!

  63. mimi says:

    @62 good idea ^^

  64. Brett Finsbury says:

    friends list has been down? When was this? mine has been working fine. Must be a region thing.

  65. Brett Finsbury says:

    If friends is down there are products that use a person key number to bypass the friends list to show who is online. Not sure if I like my key number being available like that. Can having a persons key number leave them open to their account being hacked? If so then those need to be locked up and not shown to anyone.

  66. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Brett, no one can hack an account with just an avatar key and it is easy to get the key# of someone. no secret really

  67. Thanks for all your hard work you guys are saints! Its nice to see important things like this getting back to normal. =^.^=

  68. Kelly boyington says:

    YOU KNOW IT WOULD BE NICE TO SEE THE FRIENDS LIST WORK IN SECONDLIFE VIEWER, AS A BUSINESS PERSON I CANT MESSAGE CLIENTS AND NOR CAN THEY SEE ME ON LINE THIS IS RUNING MY BUSINESS FOR 4 DAYS NOW, i MESSAGE SOME ONE AND IT SAYS SORRY OFFLINE WHEN i AM STANDING RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM AND CAN CHAT IN OPEN CHAT. WHY WOULD I PAY FOR SECONDLIFE WHEN THESE ISSUES GET BLOW PAST LIK ETHEY ARE NOT THERE. THIS IS WHY I WILL NEVER BECOME A PAYED MEMEBER NEVER SEEN JUST DELAY BULL ON THIS GAME EVER IN MY LIFE POOR SUPPORT IF ANY EVERY ONE USES THIS AS OH POOR ME BLA BLA BLA STORY

  69. Anonymous says:

    @ Dianna Defiant…
    Operator error; the audacity of some of you…I was just charged DOUBLE for my monthly tier (BUT, it was returned within 2 days I must say)…It must have been a user error on my end; must have clicked pay twice…Sheesh…(obtuseness fills the air like fog in a packed nightclub) Oh, and the two people that purchased items from me that were not delivered today; MUST be their fault… ROTFLMAO!
    You “know it alls” keep me in stitches!

    Truly; I was taught that if I didn’t know WHAT I was talking about, to KEEP my mouth shut. (Maybe good advice some of you should take to heart)

    Anon…

    Too many end losers that think they know what going on..

  70. Brett Finsbury says:

    I went and looked at that machine. If anything it copies you when you land. message from the machine. ” STOOOOP Your a*s is WAY too big for this machine to handle… please rezz some more.”
    So I may have been copied. Oh well all they got a copy of thats worth anything is my Dante skin from naughty designs. Since I’m still waiting for over 5 weeks now for the other skin I bought from them to arrive and sent countless notecards to have them replace it. I dont feel bad.

  71. Jaciilyn Thatcher says:

    Its broken again.

    😐

    “Friends Online is temporarily disabled due to technical difficulties. We’ll re-enable it as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience.”

  72. KL says:

    Yup, It’s broken again…as of a few minutes ago…

  73. Ronan Docherty says:

    Friends Online is back?

    WED, 7:41pm CET (10:41am PDT)
    Let me see:

    “Friends Online is temporarily disabled due to technical difficulties. We’ll re-enable it as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience.”

    Should I really comment on this …. ?

  74. Maite McMahon says:

    Yes, true… worked fine til just now…

    What the heck…

  75. Shraud Deadlight says:

    it’s STILL hosed.. (expletive intended)..
    i know some don’t care.. but at least if you SAY the thing is fixed it SHOULD be fixed.

    come ON… is it REALLY that hard? open up some of the server side code and let us help.

  76. LapisLazuli Tomorrow says:

    Thank you .. it worked for me for about 10 minutes .. now is disable again. GRRRRRRRRRRR .. please bring this feature back, it reduces the # of uncecessary logins (e.g. if I know my friends are not inworld, I won’t bother logging in). This reduced traffic on the server farm …

  77. pantaiputih korobase says:

    hehe, pantai looks amused..
    who are these my friends in world who are called ‘(waiting)’?
    LL: keep on the good work to amuse us with new features every day

  78. Bellini Cazalet says:

    I’ve just tried Friends Online, and I’m afraid it’s still down. I really miss this feature, and I do appreciate your efforts to restore it.

  79. quiet thunders says:

    YYYAAAAAAAA it is fixed ……… oh I said that too soon. Well I did get to see it for a bit today so that is progress. Good luck finding that bug.

  80. Chris says:

    Fixed? I must of blinked: Wed 17 October.
    “Friends Online is temporarily disabled due to technical difficulties.”

    Oh well…C’est la Second vie

  81. karrie decosta says:

    Friends On Line back again yeh!!!!! Pity it didn’t stay on, been off again since around 17.00 GMT. Come on SL sort it out

  82. Marcus Antonelli says:

    Thou speakest too soon, there LL. FOL is offline again. Perhaps let it run a day or so next time before claiming “Mission Accomplished.”

    Now where have I heard that before…..

    Marcus

  83. nou corleone says:

    hahahahahahaha!!! not :/

  84. SqueezeOne Pow says:

    Sorry, try again.

  85. June Oh says:

    NOT back for me.
    Love June

  86. Fiona Carson says:

    Fission Mailed.

    Do over.

  87. AvaTulip says:

    Psych….and now it’s back down again. 😦 Any idea for how long?

  88. netty streeter says:

    well it still doesnt work for me :((

  89. soeager Beaver says:

    if it is back up then how come i can’t see my friends online still and all my friends are on sl at the moment!

  90. Felexcia Taurog says:

    NOT back for me either. 🙂 I have faith that it will be though….I’ll just be patient a lil longer.

  91. Kaya says:

    It was so great to actually see it working for the few minutes I tested it… I know your techies can make it STAY online… 🙂 Please…

  92. Nauka Umaga says:

    Friends online is STILL not working for me as of Oct 17, 11:30am SLT. And personally, I would much rather see inventory loss decreased, and the harmless but SO annoying “shoes and hair in butt when teleporting” bug fixed. SL is great fun, but I’ve decided with all its issues, it is not worth paying for a premium account. Wish I could get a refund for this year. Ah well, silly me, definitely won’t pay for a full year again.

  93. How can this thing be so protracted? “Friends online” was working yesterday but it seems that its already down again. BTW, shouldn’t it be “Friends Inworld” ?

  94. Sparkle Junot says:

    Yes, it was nice while it lasted for a matter of hours.

  95. Petra Carpenter says:

    It was back for me this morning but now it appears it has been taken down again.
    Pity that was a fix so short lived.

  96. Jack Sakigake says:

    Is it that hard to mantain “Friends online”??

  97. Seca Skosh says:

    Just now, i too, i become the message : “(…) temporarely disabled (…)”

  98. Vex Streeter says:

    Hrm – wasn’t agreeing with in-world friends online even while it was up, and the profile photos were mostly missing.. sigh.

  99. Abby Callisto says:

    Back up and working?? Funny…its still not working for me :/

  100. Zephy Toshihiko says:

    And most of the web team was working on it to – it must be a complex thing!

  101. Sharrah Brendel says:

    Unfortunately it is NOT back on line. ;(…….
    I’ve reported this issue twice and never hear back…also they have said twice that it’s back..and its not 😦

    We really love this service…please bring it back…….

  102. J2 Yoshikawa says:

    “I am happy to announce that the issues with this service have now been resolved”.
    Fortunately, the issues with the services I make aren’t resolved this way lol.
    Hope you get lucky solving that because it’s a great tool.
    B.R., J2.

  103. Saraya Laval says:

    Awww, I blinked and missed it when it was up and running again. Oh well, back to the log-and-hope approach again. The in-world list isnt exactly working well either it seems though…. Thank the Goddess (or the linden labs, I guess) for the ability to check the calling cards list in the inventory. Good luck with sorting it guys, hope you enjoy the endless work! But hey, without you, we wouldn’t all be here in the first place (well, in SL at least), and I for one am grateful for the SL experience. Bright Blessings )))

  104. I don’t get it..ppl using that on the web?

  105. Thili Playfair says:

    “And most of the web team was working on it to – it must be a complex thing!”

    That made me laugh : p they still havnt fixed bbcode in forum and it been moonths , so yeah they havnt got a clue and ‘lo and behold im not shocked that friend list broke after they said “resolved”

    …and the wheels on the busses go ’round and round… same old story :zzz:

  106. Ann Otoole says:

    We need serious permissions control. We need to be able to flag objects in a manner that does not allow access to the texture. We need to be able to flag an item that it can be transferred but not set for sale. We need to flag an object so it’s parameters cannot be accessed by scripts. We need the system to automatically disable accounts that use scripts to access content flagged as no script access. We need to specify parcels, and content inside parcels, cannot be accessed by “bots” so companies using bots to mass copy content such as Electric Sheep Company cannot conduct mass content theft. We need LL to step up and do something about corporate efforts to drive out small business competition. We need LL to get serious about intellectual property rights. We need an end to traffic period. Just disable traffic counting and remove traffic columns from search queries. We need SL to be stable so LL needs to stop hacking at it and do a complete rewrite and do it correctly this time. Above all we need SL to be secure so the idea that open source clients is allowed needs to be reconsidered. It just isn’t working out.

  107. Rex Cronon says:

    Hi everybody.
    The “CopyBot” was an external program that you had to use it to log in SL. Once you logged in you could copy the appearance of another avatar, and his/hers attachments. It wasn’t perfect, it had problems copying some things(for more details you have to talked to somebody that used it). I don’t think that LL supports the use of such program.
    There is one thing that I am sure of. If somebody tries to sell you an object on the grid that they say is a “CopyBot”, they are pulling your leg.
    p.s.
    If somebody does indeed provide a link to downloading page, or sends you a program called “CopyBot”, you should think twice before using such program. You could give away your id and password.

  108. bobbyb30 zohari says:

    @109, Do you honestly think SL will listen? It’s taken them ages to fix a simple feature,(friend’s online). Have any clue how long it will take to implement a permission’s change?

    Cmon people. By now, we should all be familiar with how LL runs. It runs on its own agenda and pays NO HEED to what other people have to say.

  109. Darien Caldwell says:

    Nice to have it back. Thanks. 🙂

  110. @ 109 Ann Otoole..

    ESC is doing exactly what robots are doing on the web…indexing!
    Plz pass on some of what ya smoking…must be v e r y good 🙂

  111. Michael Fairplay says:

    Everyone wants to blame the Lindens for the shoddy service. The Lindens are only half of the blame. The Lindens have had tremenous preassure from the right wing groups to enforce morality. If the Lindens didn’t have to go around policing everything they’d have more time to work on the grid. Place half the blame where it lies on the ones trying to shove their version of morals down everyon’es throats.

  112. U M says:

    100 said “The “CopyBot” was an external program that you had to use it to log in SL. Once you logged in you could copy the appearance of another avatar, and his/hers attachments.”

    Well did you also know that copybot had to be used on a English OS based system as well? Othewise i did not work.

  113. U M says:

    Ann, If they have not fixed the promission issues now what makes you think they will fix them in the future? Grant you they have fixed things in some aspects. It just seems to be that LL has reached the point or limit of what they can do . Given the flexibilty of the UI and how content can be controlled. I don`t think LL can really fix the promission issues to everyone happy spot, if they could they would . But until there is major change in how the UI is makeup and how its runs between the asset server and the UI. Nothing will change.

  114. Sarge says:

    Massive trouble since last night. Sims are slow, many things won’t rez at all. Objects remain gray even hours later.

    This is on a top of the line computer, broadband connection.

  115. Doris Haller says:

    Yes Sarge, look here: https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-2565
    “Won’t Finish”

  116. U M says:

    @118 did you see the system specs of that issue? its nowonder.

  117. Ann Otoole says:

    right Doris. They have plainly stated they have no intention of fixing the new mass of performance defects they have been sliding in for the past week. Obviously Linden Research does not use the product they sell.

    They just don’t care and when people use LL’s procedures to report problems LL responds with a big F U.

  118. U M says:

    Again did you see those system specs they were basing it on? If would never work even if they wanted it to. Don`t expect a gold when all there is Tin. :/

  119. Doris Haller says:

    U M: read the system requirements.

  120. U M says:

    Doris :

    Environment: « Hide CPU: AMD K7 (Unknown model) (1050 MHz)
    Memory: 1536 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (Build 2195)
    Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    Graphics Card: GeForce 6600 GT/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
    OpenGL Version: 2.0.1
    LLMozLib Version: 1.1.0 (Mozilla GRE:1.8.0.12_0000000000)
    Packets Lost: 83/111359 (0.1%)

    I did….. enough said

  121. WendyOfNeverland Fussbudget says:

    @120: Actually, Lindens do use the product they sell. I’ve recently had the pleasure of hanging out with a few Lindens in-world (note, this was during their time off!). They didn’t “talk shop” around me, but I can safely contradict your statement that they don’t use “the product”. On the contrary they enjoyed their time at our sim, experiencing the 3D art installation created by Strawberry Holiday.

  122. U M says:

    Also look at those posting their own specs. Some would never even withstand some conditions given their low specs. What LL needs to do and they should have done this over 1+ year ago is rewrite the specs needed to run the SL UI. Trying to force some very low spec computers to run on a hevey traffic or porrly maintained server will result in nothing more then all the issues people are reporting.

  123. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Please also fix `Only show my online status to friends’ so that Group memberlisting DOES NOT show my online status. Change the Group member “Last Login” so that it follows that policy per individual. As it is now, the group listings allows for abuse and is forcing people to leave groups which works against the community and ultimately weakens the economy.

  124. Hadley Yoshikawa says:

    @118: That is a weak system. If for no other reason than the OS you are using has been unsupported for almost three years and your CPU has been oudated for seven years.

    Get a real system and try again. Odds are, you see drastic improvement.

  125. U M says:

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (Build 2195)? you joking right?

  126. Ryu Darragh says:

    Hmm.. my machine is not “bleeding edge”, but is a damn sight further beyond the recommendations by a comfortable margin. Duo core 2.1GHz P4, 2G DDR2, WinXP, nVidea GeoForce 7900 GS (with the latest drivers). I still get low frame rates now and turning freezes my screen almost every time, sometimes for 5 minutes. SOmetimes until I get logged out or crash. At times I don’t even have to move.

  127. U M says:

    129 said “I still get low frame rates now and turning freezes my screen almost every time, sometimes for 5 minutes”

    I too have been getting this happening. Ever since changed from the non voice SL verion client to this voice version has been nothing but problems like this for me. The coders just need to go back and totaly redo this client. At its present state we will continue to have nothing but old bug reoccuring at this point. No matter waht they do this will reoccure over and over again.

  128. Jayden B says:

    @126 There is a Jira for this *new* feature that you can vote for.

    In my eyes at least a group is for friends so this is fair game. If you don’t want that group to know you are online, then, leave the group or create an Alt for the group and redirect notices to your email.

    Just as you expose yourself to all friends you should also expose yourself to your group, and also everyone who has obtained a calling card… plus anyone with the skills to write a 10 second program.

    Your UUID for example is: c819dd8e-c87e-4286-9f81-78c2522d0020

    Knowing that, and using the freely obtainable code from any online indicator, well, you can be tracked even if you have closed off every possible other avenue.

  129. concerned says:

    Wow friend re-enabled i am pleased but how many times has it gone down im not gonna sing praises for this as it happens way to often.

    @109 ann if a branded company is ripped off Lindens act without a thought but if we have an issue we have to file a snail mail DMCA,This forward thinking company feels the best way for you to report a digital rights infringment is on paper and by post,i mean e-mail where you could mail original layered textures etc is a bit forward thinking for the lindens,Maybe they will get better legal advice when big companys think hold on someones copied our designs.

    But i guess now VAT is included that means we are legit so if we file our own infringments Lindens are gonna need to double thier staff just for the legal side to handle requests from courts.

  130. Doris Haller says:

    U M said:
    “Ever since changed from the non voice SL verion client to this voice version has been nothing but problems like this for me. The coders just need to go back and totaly redo this client.”

    You’re right. I agree. No matter how you (dare to) laugh at my computer, it was running SL nicely before the upgrade. (U M, you still haven’t read the official requirements??)

    So?? I should buy a new one? Even though even U M has problems?

    Don’t you think there is some other thing to fix (instead of “Won’t Finish”) beside my hardware?

    Remember, this funny computer meets the requirements (and some parts even the recommendations!), has been field-proven to run SL and then suddenly after a client upgrade you tell me it is not young enough, too weak?
    I may have no clue of computers but this is not logical.

    Anyway, even if so, it would have been okay if LL just had said “Our requirements are wrong, your system seems to be too weak”. But no, they gave me the F U (as Ann said). This is what really makes me want to quit: to be treated like an %?&!.

    BTW, I am #133 now, seems there is no 100-limit this time, I wonder if they ever will let us get away with that again..

  131. U M says:

    @133 133 Doris Haller Says:

    October 17th, 2007 at 6:28 PM PDT
    U M said:
    “Ever since changed from the non voice SL verion client to this voice version has been nothing but problems like this for me. The coders just need to go back and totaly redo this client.”

    You’re right. I agree. No matter how you (dare to) laugh at my computer, it was running SL nicely before the upgrade. (U M, you still haven’t read the official requirements??)

    Nobody is laughing at your computer I was stating that the windows 2000 really does not do it on sl. Even when i started i had xp pro that was back in 2004 on sl.

    Yesi have read the LL requirements. bare bones and more useable. Been here since 2004 i better know.

    “So?? I should buy a new one? Even though even U M has problems?”

    nothing i repeat myselve yet again “125 U M Says:

    October 17th, 2007 at 3:36 PM PDT
    Also look at those posting their own specs. Some would never even withstand some conditions given their low specs. What LL needs to do and they should have done this over 1+ year ago is rewrite the specs needed to run the SL UI. Trying to force some very low spec computers to run on a hevey traffic or porrly maintained server will result in nothing more then all the issues people are reporting.”

    as you can tell computers with lower specs will result in said crashed. look —>Environment: « Hide CPU: AMD K7 (Unknown model) (1050 MHz)
    Memory: 1536 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (Build 2195)
    Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    Graphics Card: GeForce 6600 GT/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
    OpenGL Version: 2.0.1
    LLMozLib Version: 1.1.0 (Mozilla GRE:1.8.0.12_0000000000)
    Packets Lost: 83/111359 (0.1%) <—————–
    These specs would never never work in todays game ( or atleast never stay stable enought ”
    All i did was explain from what i have been through with a very low spec computer i had ( but i had atleast xp pro on it ).

  132. Naz Fride says:

    I keep getting group notices from groups that I am members of, but have UNCHECKED the “Receive Group Notices” box.

    Also, I have been seeing an ongoing issue (for several weeks) where, if I click on a SLURL in the Chat History box, I always have to check the coordinates in the Location on the map before I TP, since 8 times out of ten the region changes but the numbers stay the same as your current coordinates (or last TP coordinates.) This effectively means that, every time I do this, I have to click on the SLURL, then close the map, go back to Chat History, click on it to get it on top, then scroll back up to the original link that I clicked on the first time, before I can TP. Dumb. And it didn’t used to do that.

  133. Sarge says:

    My system is a dual CPU, 3 gig processor, 640 gig hd, 2 gigs ram, geforce 7300 video card.

    Explain to me why I’m still getting crap performance in SL?

  134. Ann Otoole says:

    @136 – Because it is server side and they keep sticking untested stuff in. it gets worse and worse ever so slowly. we are back to textures randomly reverting on objects that have been rezzed for a while, on prims in linked sets contained in boxes that have been rezzed in world or in inventory. seems like data corruption is in progress. but the point is this just started again so someone changed something and, in traditional LL form, brought an old defect back to life. this is but one case of erroneous behaviors that have sprung up in the last 2 weeks. performance when more than a few avatars is in view has dropped horrendously. and it isn’t my PC. I run dual SLI and have plenty of power to run lots of stuff at the same time as sl so don’t try to tell me its my pc. everything was fine until the last round of changes.

  135. U M says:

    @136 because you are at alittle higher then bare bones for playablity. If you are getting more then 12 fps (for example ) you are lucky. I am assuming you have xp pro.

  136. Ann Otoole says:

    i get 45 fps. because thats what the sim fps maximum is locked at. but fps is meaningless when the sim is choking and coughing over database and/or server to server network performance combined with odd erroneous behavior such as mangled inventory transactions resulting in lots of bizarre behaviors such as the texture reversions.

  137. Jayden B says:

    What has this conversation got to do with friends online? Take it to IM please.

    It is the banal chatting that makes LL enforce the 100 post blogs, we have only just gotten them to give us 50 more, now you two want to push us back.

    Stay on topic, or if you really wanna winge keep it to one post.

    (I know I’m doing the same thing by writing this, but it needs to be said.)

  138. U M says:

    Is anyone happy friends are back? Well I am Thank You LL

  139. Doris Haller says:

    Hey, Jayden, LL says: “However, stuff that’s off-topic, abusive, or otherwise busts the rules will be removed without comment.”

    Shhhh!! Either we’re on topic, or they just don’t listen to us…. 😉

  140. Broccoli Curry says:

    If it’s all fixed, why do I get “Waiting” and “Hippos” most days still?

    Broccoli

  141. Thili Playfair says:

    This is about web friends not the one in SL , those havnt been stable for a long time , they mean these.

    V

    http://secondlife.com/community/friends.php
    http://secondlife.com/community/friends.php?view=photos

  142. U M says:

    oh oh My friend are missing. but my friends cards are showing themn online so no biggie. I can see view them from te friends cards.

  143. Red Lime says:

    I would like you to look at how long it took you to get Friends Online back up. It’s an important Web site feature for us residents, but it doesn’t appear it was much of a priority for your developers.

  144. abd alla says:

    we must have that to look around with our frined in our beauty site

  145. Ravanne Sullivan says:

    Now when is someone going to fix the BBCode?

  146. U M says:

    it seems forever for my friends to work. Maybe 30 mins before they loaded .

  147. U M says:

    In the future with friend listing, I would like to see a “refresh button” that I use each time i see the friends not loading correctly. Is this possible?

Comments are closed.