Tip of the Week #5: 3 useful "Show" options in the Tools menu

The TotW adventures continue, and this week finds us exploring a trio of lesser-known-but-useful options in Second Life’s Tools menu:

  • Show Hidden Selection
  • Show Light Radius for Selection
  • Show Selection Beam

The Tools menu is laden with options and can be intimidating, but as I’ll show you, once you get the hang of it, you’ll feel much better. Have a look:

I must again emphasize how thankful I am for the abundance of lovely feedback I’ve gotten and suggestions for further progress; in response, there are plenty of ideas re: things like inventory management, social tools, and reducing other annoyances which I definitely want to cover. To those of you who’re curious whether I plan to do a series teaching you how to use the forthcoming WindLight atmospheric rendering atmospheric rendering, absolutely.

For all your fantasy CG art needs ;)

^ Apollo enhanced in WindLight, COMING SOON!

In the meantime, if you’re hungry for more vidtuts, be sure to check out the Video Tutorials page β€” share it with friends if you like it! One of the things that makes me maddest (FREAKIN’ GRR-ARGHHHH!) is when info’s available but hard-to-find, so I’m continuing to get the word out, and if you see opportunities for us to spread these tips further, let me know, because this helps everyone who’s aware.

I also pardon myself that next week, there’ll be no Tip of the Week, because I’m vacationing with my beloved wife Jenny. I shall return refreshed with plenty of knowledge to share! πŸ™‚

Good ideas leading to greater actions,

torleylinden2fj

Torley Linden is a Product Manager & more who regularly contributes to the Official Linden Blog. Read Torley’s previous posts. Curious about making stuff and SL-exclusive features? Visit our Creation Portal.

About Torley

Who am I? See http://torley.com/
This entry was posted in Community, Creativity & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Tip of the Week #5: 3 useful "Show" options in the Tools menu

  1. Juliet Ceres says:

    Would have been cool if you would have been there at your office hour today instead of making fancy blog posts to distract from real issues. But you weren’t, Torley.

    So much for transparency, communication and listening to your residents.

  2. Susannah Clary says:

    Thank you once again Torley for another informative post! They always make me smile! And WOW – you listened to feedback and slowed way down this time! While I knew about some of this week’s tips, I did (as always) find some new tidbits to enhance my SL. Keep up the good work! And enjoy your well-earned vacation – come back rested! We will miss you!

  3. Frahaleah Rhode says:

    Yet another useful tip to enhance our second life as you say Torley. Keep up the excellent work.

  4. Patti Frye says:

    Thanks Torley. Always informative and entertaining all in the same video tip. Have a great vacation and say hello to your lovely wife, Jenny. (Lucky girl!)

  5. Aya Pelous says:

    Yeah Torley thanks for not listening to the residents problems. This was as informative as a door nail. My biggest concern is that there is alot of effort put into a very poorley instruction video. There are MANY way better Machinima’s better than this by the residents. Lindens need to listen to residents more. But I guess it will never happen.

    Feel free to delete this…

  6. Thank you graciously for the comments! =^_^=

    To correct, my office hours are on FRIDAYS PDT as listed here:

    Β» http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/User:Torley_Linden

    I’ll be missing the next couple sessions ‘cuz of vacation as noted above. But if you’ve never been to an office hour of mine before, check out the transcripts, we cover a broad range of eclectic topics.

    I appreciate constructive criticism that makes us all better, so if you’re not happy about something, please state something actionable that we (likely meaning myself, with your help) can move forward on. πŸ™‚

    T’care all and see you in the not-so-distant future!

  7. Moriz Gupte says:

    Hey Torley, keep those wondeful videos coming. But I would prefer to hear your voice without the music in the background. Less is more as usual.

  8. Twirley London says:

    Haha (fake laugh) yes and this week children haha yes we are going to show you how to deal with anything you don’t like about our TOS. You can find examples of our TOS related blog posts by looking for all the funny “shouty” type words people use to get Linden Labs attention on matters.
    But first of all you may notice that you have a “phone” on your desk which is a device you normally use to speak to something called customer service haha, but why use that when we have created a simple tool called “the quit button”, which is located top right of your screen. You don’t need to press any funny key combinations to find this as we have built it in as a feature of every Second Life client. It’s very simple to use and some of you may find this easy to relieve any built up tensions you have about your the future in Second Life or lack of customer service issues.

    Until next week! haha this is Twirley London…

  9. Kyder Ling says:

    Another great tutorial, Torley. Have a good vacation. Remember to throw the alarm clock out the window and sleep in good and proper. πŸ˜‰

  10. Hydrogen Excelsior says:

    This is great! thank you for tips! and WindLight really kicked my ass going to build something now!

  11. Mike1 Shepherd says:

    Torley
    Very helpful tips. One suggestion, you state that what makes you made is where information is available but hard to get. Why not create in world classes. NCI, TUi and the others are pretty good but the biggest complaint I hear is there are no real tutorials on how the base interface works. People often complain about simple to fix things, where the fix is available. It’s my understanding that LL used to pay teachers. The public relations help might be beneficial in getting some of your more vocal critics educated.

  12. Blinders Off says:

    I love these videos, but still no TEXT SUMMARY, which would be really helpful (note, note word for word text.. a summary).

    WINDLIGHT: UGH! WHAT A MESS! I dread when Windlight shows up and turns all our bright and shiney textures to mud.

    LAG LAG LAG: Is anyone aware of what all these new features do? They LAG. If you doubt this, try a couple of experiments:

    Set out bout 3 dozen SCULPIES around you, and see what happens to your performance.

    Set out about 3 dozen constantly moving FLEXIS around you and see what happens to your performance.

    These items are pretty, but they ADD LAG to the system, not just a little lag… MAJOR lag.

    Thanks for the tips Torley. Please forward a tip to Linden Lab for all of us: STOP ADDING STUFF TO THE SYSTEM THAT INCREASES LAG. Flexis and Sculpties are nice, but lag-free performance is nicer.

  13. myeimmortal karura says:

    You sound so funny and cheerful. I alway’s get a kick out of watching your tips and learn new things at times too. Thanks for the smile!

    BTW my new puter died on me and I am on my old old old Imac, but when the new puter is up and running again I am really looking forward to windlight it LOOKS GORGEOUS!

  14. Coon Surya says:

    Wow, this was really informative. Thank you Torley! ^_^

    Also, I’ve been looking at your Windlight screenshots, and I have to say it looks very good so far. It rather reminds me of the weather Bethesda programmed into Oblivian. Will SL get dynamic weather patterns with Windlight? Might be neat if you could locally control them too, like with the Force option for day and night.

  15. Vida Nemeth says:

    Thank you Torley! I really enjoy your tuts and always learn something new! Have a wonderful vacation!

  16. Amanda Ascot says:

    Hi, Torley (and all you other Torley fans)!

    Pay not a shred of attention to the people who are griping and listen to the rest of us, instead. Complaints are a L$ a dozen (which makes them worth about three one hundredths of a U.S. penny, give or take a tiny shaving of copper).

    Um … I knew all that stuff. Tell me something I don’t know how to do, like keeping prims from snapping back, instead. πŸ™‚ Seriously, I love your videos, even when I don’t learn anything new from them. They’re a bright spot in my week, and I look forward to each and every installment of your Tip of the Week. I wish someone had been doing something like this when I was a newb. It would have made my early days here in Second Life so much more enjoyable. Not that they weren’t. I had a wonderful time, but I spent a lot of it in the School of Hard Knocks just playing with things until I figured out how it worked.

    I’m glad to see you seem to be making an attempt to explain the UI (“User Interface” for all you new people I keep sending here to read Torley’s blog). The documentation on this is worse than abyssmal. I think “non-existent” qualifies for that tag, anyway. Keep it up. Maybe in a year or so you will have covered most of it. Now if we could just get someone to actually write a viewer-enabled help system that at least touches upon the meanings/uses of that bewildering array of tools and options at our disposal.

    Unlike a lot of people I’m anxiously awaiting the return of Windlight. We’ve been assured that the things that *did* make it awful have been fixed, and if that’s the case I’ll never look back at Second Life’s “official” clouds, again. Actually I usually have them turned off. They just get in the way. I found WindLight to be nearly incomprehensible, until I just took several hours one day and played with it, and with a little tweaking I was able to create some very nice, realistic presets. I’m delighted, though, that you’re planning on tutoring us in WindLight. I still don’t have the foggiest idea why what I did had the effects it had, and I’m afraid it’s just going to be dumped on us without sufficient documentation to do any more than thoroughly frustrate the users.

    Have a good vacation, Torley. I’ll miss your post, here, but like I tell people. First Life has the highest priority. Relax (if you ever actually *do* slow down enough to relax), unwind, enjoy yourself, and have some quality time with your wife. We’ll be waiting here for the next round of Tip of the Week.

  17. Oceanna Shannon says:

    I remember the windlight demo…the presttiest i’ve ever seen the world πŸ™‚ no muddy textures, no increased lag. This I am wating for with a fervor.

    OC

  18. Kyder Ling says:

    To Binder: I don’t know man, my computer runs the latest optional release pretty well. It’s been fairly stable, looks good, and isn’t choking my system up in any way. Maybe try and update drivers as well as defrag. Maybe also try cleaning up background programs. These all can add up real easily.

  19. HA! Gotcha! Your inventory is tidy. It is visible in the video.

    Enjoy your holidays! Have fun!

  20. Have a wonderful time Torley and leave your laptop at home!

  21. I hope most of the LL employees work more than a few hours in a entire week (would explain a few things though)? Wish I had those hours. πŸ™‚

    Keep up the good work. These tutorials are pretty useful for people new to SL.

  22. Tetrae Turner says:

    Another thank you. Can’t wait for Windlight to return. Upgraded my video card just so I could see it!

  23. Raul Crimson says:

    Enjoy holidays, Torley, and thanks for sharing this.

  24. Karyn says:

    (5) Enjoy the vacation.

    This was a excellent tutorial! πŸ™‚

  25. Abigail Merlin says:

    @blinders,
    windlight, flexies and sculpties are all rendered localy, this means that if they create lag the problem is in your local system and can be fixed there with the expeption of the double rez time of sculties, this is simple due to the fact to having to get twice as many textures send to you.

    back on topic, torley, how dare you go on vacation hehe, just kidding, enjoy your time and don’t forget to bring valium to combat the withdrawl symptoms.

  26. IamJacksImbalanced Chemistry says:

    What I would really like to see is some tutorials or explanation pages put up that cover all of the options/tools available in the client and server menus. I’ve been able to figure some of the stuff out, but sure would be nice if there was a page with a detailed explanation of each thing, what it does etc. Is there one out there and I’ve just missed it? Thanks.

  27. Lance Corrimal says:

    Just a suggestion: take the “Tip of the week” out of this blog, and give it its own site.

  28. Hi Torley,
    Your tutorials I do like very much.
    Every week I’m looking forward to the next one.
    Have a nice holiday and keep your computer powered off, hihih.
    Linda

  29. Martin Magpie says:

    Thanks Torley your vids are always entertaining πŸ™‚

    CatMar

  30. zephy toshihiko says:

    Great fun to watch as always and now I understand what those menu items do – thanks! One comment though, I had to rewind a couple of times near the end so I could read that on screen text as it did not stay for long. Maybe put the text at least as part of the blog?

  31. Jimbo Hefferman says:

    Hi,

    I’m really enjoying this video tutorial series, v. cool, keep it going!
    In fact I feel inspired to have a go myself, so can you (or anybody else) give me some pointers or links on what software you are using or would recommend. Then I can try and satisfy my creative urges, lol.
    Can I suggest you do a tutorial on creating video tutorials!!!

    Cheers
    Jim

  32. Mowgli Soy says:

    Torley, thank you for the video tutorials…Very well thought out, and even if sometimes they’re not as relevant to my current needs, I find them highly informative and entertaining. I know down the road you will cover something I will desperately need to know.

    This vidtut shows you DO listen. You Did slow down a bit. I must say, with the energy and enthusiasm you showed in the early tutorials, i found I didn’t need that big a cup of coffee to start my day.

    Have an amazing vactation with the Mrs., ignore the nay sayers, and I definitely look forward to the next installment.

    PS. I dig the female avatar.

  33. Yo Torley … I’m learning new things every day (didn’t even know you could tear off the menus). Also saw your tiny-prim tutorial on youtube recently … keep going and have a nice vacation!

  34. trubblat mills says:

    Susannah thinks you’ve slowed down?!! wowowow!!!

    Please could you also address an information overload issue – the onscreen printed asides that are visible for a blink of a second (while you are talking 16 to the dozen in the background) are often not readable in the time available, and rewinding 3 or 4 times to catch them in full can be a pain.

    But your heart’s in the right place, Torley. Keep up the good work!

  35. Etheria Parrott says:

    I would like to be able to edit with no outline showing at all. When working on tiny areas, the selection outline dominates everything and often masks what I’m trying to work on. Also, on smallish areas, it is difficult or impossible to assess whether the colour I have applied looks right until I close the edit box. I find it extremely irritating and would love to see that option added.

  36. Kiana Hamsun says:

    Torley, Thank you for making these videos..There is always so much to learn, especially with building, and your tips of the week are sooo helpful. Keep up the good work! I look forward to more of your tips of the week when you return from your vacation. πŸ™‚ Have a good one!

  37. Shellsea Bailey says:

    Thank you so much for explaining things and showing us visually what to do. I’m a visual person and to see it along with detailed instructions means a lot to me.

  38. Votslav Hax says:

    .. oh by the way…thx for your effort…

  39. Zephy Toshihiko says:

    One sort of linked question – how come some people have little picture icons against their name in these blog posts and how do I set one?

  40. Donovan Darcy says:

    WHOOHOO – awesome Torley!

    Okay – knew the show selection and stuff – but never experimented with the light one. AWESOME. THANK YOU! πŸ™‚

  41. Justa Koba says:

    Keep it up Torley,

    Besides the helpfulness of these tutorials, you give a voice if not a face to LL. It’s great that you have been focusing on the interface and it’s hidden if not forbidden pleasures. Building, scripting and whatnot are all available tutorials. Only thing I would be disappointed in is if you changed your avatar in order to conform to peoples preconceptions. Wear what you wear and do what you do, if someone can’t pull their head out of their uhh, well just let them leave it there.

    Blinders, lower your options, draw distance – disk cache – number of particles -yadda yadda- then upgrade some hardware when you can and pump them back up πŸ™‚ In other words, everyone wants a perfect SL, but not everyone has a perfect gaming computer. As far as a Text summary, I’m sure someone in world would be more than happy to transcript that just for you, for a fee of course. Oh you just want it all handed to you on a silver platter.

    Amanda, Torley has quite a few other videos posted on Youtube where these tips are being hosted, just head on over and search for Torley, there has been helpful building tutorials posted there for ages with the information you requested. Same goes for others that are wanting an indexed page of these tips, search Youtube for Torley Tips, there they are, in full screen too.

    Aya, feel free to delete your account mmkay. Oh wait that’s not constructive and probably won’t help a thing, hmmm think about it.

  42. Janie Matahari says:

    yesterday was inventory loss day

  43. Anansi Gondwana says:

    You’re my favorite Linden, Torley.

  44. AWM Mars says:

    These TIPs are great… despite many complianing off topic.

    My onl;y real comment, is why oh why do you insist on hosting the movies on YouTube?
    Apart from it producing fuzzy content, it is also a place riddled with the media maleware, stated by the likes of Apple, Microsoft, Adobe even the US Government as being of a CRITICAL nature.

    Rather than see the SL community become infected, we (WBA-Advertising) have a few spare terra bytes of host space and bandwidth. We would rather off a service, than see many of the community potentially get infected by those script kiddies uploading their nasties onto YouTube.

  45. Daniel Voyager says:

    Have a nice break on vacation πŸ™‚

    Great Tutorial, thanks for sharing the tip this week

  46. Becky Tardis says:

    You probably already gone, but have a great vacation. And as #17 said, leave your lap top at home, no computer for you!

  47. Astin Miles says:

    Hi gr8 tips they realy help. Any chance you could do a tip of the week on scripts? ps Have a gr8 vacation πŸ™‚

  48. Samuel Frost says:

    I’ve never really had any problems with sculpties, flexies, or any of the major lag inducing problems people complain about. Those arn’t really lag anyway, just client side problems. Try, as other posters have suggested, getting new drivers, defragmenting, or cutting down background programs. Or better yet, see how your computer compares against the average computer a gamer has. Valve/Steam runs a yearly survey of their customers at steampowered.com/status/survey.html that gives a pretty decent summary of what specs the average gamer plays at.

    If you’re not at the average or close to it, maybe you just need to upgrade? Computer programs do get more advanced as time goes on and that means getting a better rig to enjoy things like SL more…

  49. Tony says:

    You really need your own section for tips Torley. These are great, put them all together somewhere.

  50. karalee Larsson says:

    Thanks so much for your tutorials. I get some thing from each one and encourage you to continue with this as there is so much that can be covered. Thanks again.

  51. anonymous says:

    What good are the vidoes when the client is now crashing more often than a test vehicle at the Automotive Research Institute??? PLEASE MAKE A STABLE CLIENT; sheesh, after about 10,000 posts asking for stablility we figure you MIGHT listen, but as many others have said;you ignore the populous in general…

  52. Ron Crimson says:

    Oh, that’s really big of you, whining about stability while you hide behind an ‘anonymous’ tag. You got a problem, step forward with it. πŸ˜›

  53. Brenda Maculate says:

    @13: YOU might have known all of today’s tips, but there are some (like me) who didn’t know them all. Like any of the ToTWs, there’s some stuff I knew already, some things I didn’t know, and some things that I *thought* I knew, but didn’t know as well as I thought…

    Torley, you’re doing a FANTASTIC job with the ToTW. Keep up the good work. It’s good to see something that isn’t in the class of “There’s this issue, but we’re not going to let you comment on it, even though it affects you deeply” notices that we’ve seen…

    Have fun on your vacation!

  54. anonymous says:

    It’s my RIGHT to remain anonymous Ron; if YOU dont like it; too bad πŸ˜‰ Im not here to entertain a rhetorical squabble with you or anyone else for that fact of the matter. I merely state my opinion, and if that be in an anonymous form so be it; Who are you; GOD? sheesh…

  55. sue says:

    Hey that was good to know, I have so many options to try and never really knew any of them, cheers Torley and to those whingers, give the guy a chance folkes. Have a good holiday, Im gonna keep looking for these tips

  56. Distilled1 Rush says:

    Great Video as usual πŸ™‚ knew it all but so glad you do things for those that don’t πŸ™‚ and always entertaining and fun to watch!

    Cant wait for Windlight to be back, I ran the first look version fine, no lag heck sculpties don’t cause me any lag either… do you all complaining have very slow processors or a bandwidth issues, or a cluttered computer??? …I digress

    Have a Great Holiday πŸ™‚

  57. Berry Steinhoff says:

    When’s the “Tip Of The Week DVD” coming out? πŸ˜€

    Loving them so far. Thanks Torley.

  58. TigroSpottystripes Katsu says:

    Hi Torley πŸ™‚

    I see the tips of week continue to have lots of quality, congrats πŸ™‚

    about the complaints from some, I think the issue is that it seems (I’m not saying that is the true, just saying it looks like it is) that whenever a polemic post is within the first 4 positions of the blog (and somtimes it also happens till it is outside the first page) there is a bunch of other blog posts being posted talking about stuff that many consider less important than the topic of the polemic post, and some people think that you guys intentionally try to bury the polemic post out of the bolg entries on the login screen or even the whole first page of the blog to make it less probable that people will read it, I think perhaps the action about this would be either to keep the polemic post in the 4 most recent posts, make it a sticky for some period (like on foruns) or perhaps subdivide the blog so there would be a blog for tips, a blog for vacation, a blog for security, a blog about policy changes etc, that way at least posts that sre off-topic in relation to a polemic one wouldn’t bury it.

    that would solve part of the problem, the other part is that people want you guys to work like robots, not having fun nor exploring things, and they want everyone from the guy the cleans the toilets, passing thru the guy who makes coffee, thru artists, pr etc reaching to the CEO and the actionists, to work on bug fixing and not work on anything else (not even what they are paid to do

  59. JetZep Zabelin says:

    Thanks for video Torley. Although I already knew about these features, I didnt know that the viewer was limited to 6 lights on-screen. Maybe in the future, we can have an option to increase this amount.
    Have a good vacation!

  60. Aeneas Beaumont says:

    /me luvs Torley

  61. mimi says:

    Wow Torley your video is great again! I’m a fan of your videos ever since I saw one of them at youtube! I was very pleased to see them here too! You really deserve a page of your own here on secondlife.com too! I was very happy to find the Video Tutorial page it’s a great place to show to people with questions!

    I love your enthusiastic and straight to the point style of explaining the things and the text emphasizing what you are doing! Do you make all of the video yourself? How long does it take to create a video like that?

    I wish you could do all of the help files this way, its’s so much more understandable when you see things happening then just read them. I think your videos make a very valuable addition to secondlife and will help a lot fo people who are new or not new to understand things quickly and in a very enjoyable way!

    Greetings to your wife and a lovely vacation!

  62. DivaDaVida Eros says:

    Please add more latency to the yellow information boxes in the flicks.

    I can’t read the contents of the yellow information boxes fast enough so I have to repeatedly rewind the flick till my eyes can take all the content in.

    Thank you.
    da Vida

  63. Kate Sakai says:

    Hi Torley,

    I would really appreciate a text summary of the tutorials. There are more than 10,000 deaf residents in SL. It would be great if you could be the first to think about that section of the SL population. Thanks for taking the time to do so much for SL and its residents.

    Have a terrific vacation!

  64. Al Sonic says:

    Set out about 3 dozen SCULPTIES around you, and see what happens to your performance.

    Last I heard, Qarl Linden’s already on it, and he made a fix so that distant sculpties can downsample all the way to a simple 4Γ—4-ish mesh. I believe it’s in the Release Candidate viewer.

    Set out about 3 dozen constantly moving FLEXIS around you and see what happens to your performance.

    There’s a slider in Edit > Preferences > Graphics Detail available specifically for fixing that. I hope it works for you.

    I dread when Windlight shows up and turns all our bright and shiney textures to mud.

    Which might help to explain why they have the watermelon eye of Torley closely watching over the Windlight project to keep our world looking as bright as ever. Judging by his taste (or shall I say his history with observation of color… lots and lots of color), it seems he’d be one to notice if anything in Second Life lost its vibrancy under the new lighting (and his Project Updates seem to reflect this). Though if you have had a good look over the recent Windlight screenshots and still found them lacking in some way, that could be nice to point out.

    Do keep in mind that the Lindens are hoping our new lighting will be every bit as computationally efficient, if not even more so, than our old one. Pretty much for sure, there will always be “Preferences” settings to turn off enough graphical features that SL can run as well as it always did.

  65. The reason for Torley’s super-cheery laughter-filled voice is revealed!

    “Mmm, love.”

    I think I got a cavity just listening to that! ^_^

  66. I can’t wait to see what windlight will do for the Ginsberg sim, after seeing the great looking sample pics. Thanks Torley for helping bring Windlight to our wonderful world we call Second Life…

  67. pantaiputih korobase says:

    enjoy you holiday!

  68. Christi Maeterlinck says:

    Being a grumpy old Brit I do find your manic style a bit much to take esp. at 9am with a hangover: have you no pity man? BUT this tutorial was _fantastic_ Torley. It showed just how powerful the SL medium is, how much thought and ingenuity has gone into it; and your presentation was engaging, clear, and precise. Thank you!

  69. Dr Boyoma says:

    Toley,

    Although I have been a resident since 2005 and know enough to get myself in trouble, I adore your weekly tutorials. Every week I actually learn something – in one way shape or another.

    Thank you again for taking the time.

    Dr Boyoma

  70. Fernan Tomcat says:

    Hey Torley, you seem to be the only one doing something interesting, ty for the tips and as someone commented before, please put them together to learn to do something more between crashes. Ty again.

  71. Ron Crimson says:

    #37: Me, God? πŸ˜€ No, Torley is God… I’m just same ol’ me, Ronnie. πŸ˜€

    And sure you have the right to remain anonymous, I just think you’re afraid to come out, that’s all. Anyway, squabble on *snickers evilly* πŸ˜‰

  72. I’ve posted text summaries for Tips 4 and 5 at http://otenth.homefries.org/archives/227

  73. Amanda Ascot says:

    U must readz blogz. ‘k?

    So much for my attempt at … whatever that’s called. I’m so not up-to-date with all this new Internet lingo. Give me the good old days before the advent of netspeak and memes — and I’m really not *that* old, either.

    It’s all about communication, folks, and Torley is a communicator, albeit a rather rapid one. Use the replay button if you didn’t get it all the first time. His videos are entertaining enough for a second, third, or even fourth play, you know. Honestly, I don’t have any problem keeping up with him, although a cup of cappuccino helps.

    Did I say you must read the blogs? Or at least something to that effect. Even a lot of on-topic complaints in Torley’s blog seem to indicate a lack of understanding about the topic of the complaint. WindLight, for example … Yes, it thoroughly screwed up the appearance of some things. Then it was taken out of the viewer and sent back to the drawing board. Those of us who kept up with this issue already know that those rendering issues were among the things being worked upon. Those of us who didn’t are still complaining about them. This is like complaining about the asteroid believed by some to have wiped out the dinosaurs. It happened. It’s in the past. We’re here because they’re gone. The new WindLight will not be the old WindLight. It will not have those issues. I suspect that Torley’s eye is one of the reasons he’s in that project. Trust him to do the job right. And read his Project updates page at http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/User:Torley_Linden/Project_updates . If you had I wouldn’t have had to write this paragraph. πŸ™‚

    Tommy @47: My recent, completely accidental, visit to the Ginsberg sim was one of those “finds” I occasionally stumble upon when blipping around Second Life. I went there searching for traces of the elusive, legendary creator of most of the megaprims in use in Second Life (Gene Replacement) and I found … beauty. I will definitely be back, camera in hand and L$ in pocketbook, to take some snapshots when WindLight comes back. It can only make it better. Heads up, Torley! If you’ve never been to Ginsberg it is a must-see.

    Justa @28: I’ve seen all of Torley’s videos, as well as the other ones hosted on Youtube. I wasn’t making any specific requests for information, but pointing out that Linden-supplied documentation (with the salient term being “document”, meaning something that can be read) simply doesn’t exist in any form that is actually useful. Yes, there are tutorials and lists and explanations and such scattered here and there all over the Internet, but nothing in one place, organized in any way that can be referred to as “documentation”. Nobody else releases major-level software like this without at least a comprehensive “help” application accessible from within the software itself.

  74. Marianna Vita says:

    Hello everyone,
    I’m totally new here. I just downloaded Second Life and I think I did everything the right way, but when I try to enter I get connected for only a few seconds and then everything is frozen and I can’t go on. Could anyone help me and tell me what might be wrong or where I can get some help?
    thanks

  75. Alecia janus says:

    Torley for some reason I always thoguth you were a woman!

  76. pantaiputih korobase says:

    sorry, it’s off topic (and pls do not refer me to Jira):
    do you also experience to walk about 30 cm below the soil, i.e. you are stuck with your shoes in the soil ADN
    do you also expereince that if you stand, you stand with X-legs?

  77. Amanda Ascot says:

    Pantaiputih @54: Yes, and yes.

    If you’re wading in the terrain try teleporting to a different sim and then back again. That usually fixes the problem for me. If it doesn’t a re-log may be your only solution.

    The “X-legs” thing can usually be fixed by overriding current animations on your avatar, either through the menu selection “Stop all animations” or doing something like using a pose-ball or pose-enabled furniture.

  78. estupido says:

    como se uea

  79. Franja Russell says:

    Unfortunately I’m on the scale end with those who know next to nothing about how the inside of a computer works. So usually the SL blog announcements and even the replies are extremely confusing.

    The pretty skies and picture post card scenery are nice features BUT yesterday I still had 5-8 screen freezes per hour in SL. Lag is marginally better. There are still TP problems.

    By the way, last month I spent about $600. to upgrade my computer. The Technician put in 2GB more RAM in addition to what was there and he put in an ATI Radeon X 1650 Pro Video card.

    Yes, am consistently following advice to–
    1) Lower the Draw Distance number– thereby causing most of those pretty scenes to fade away.
    2) I’ve cleared cache every other day.
    3) I’ve defragmented my computer and cleared cookies regularly.
    4) I’m not wearing any blinging or particle stuff and don’t use them on my property.

    I participate in some very worth-while, non-profit groups in SL. I’m not just playing games there.

    I really feel that the small property holder Resident with limited computer background is being left in the dust as SL expands and becomes a big business.

  80. Amanda Ascot says:

    Franja @56: I feel your pain … more than you probably realize. If you think it’s tough for a “small property holder Resident” you should step into the shoes of a nopie (No Payment Info resident). I struggled with that stigma for a long time and I will never forget my roots in that sector of Second Life society (and if I ever do, somebody please zap my account, because I don’t deserve to be here if I give into the class snobbery that pervades Second Life). I’ve done the same things you’ve done, except for upgrading my computer. Unfortunately, Second Life is growing faster than I can keep up with. I cannot afford to buy new hardware every six months just so I can comfortably run the viewer, and there are a lot of other residents in the same boat.

    Sadly, Second Life is rapidly becoming a playground for people with 1) blazingly fast Internet connections, 2) state-of-the-art computers, and 3) money. I don’t see this trend reversing, or even halting. You need a big pipeline for the data flowing. I know this only too well, since I have to deal with an agonizingly inconsistent wireless connection when I’m not at home with access to cable. To fully enjoy Second Life you need a video card that supports all the eye candy, and the viewer, itself, is such a resource hog that it almost won’t run on many computers with other software (like the Vista operating system, also a resource hog). And then there’s money. As a nopie your support level is so low as to be virtually non-existent. Go to Help Island Public and hope for the best. As a concierge user you can actually get timely assistance, but you’re paying a price for that — to the tune of $125 or more a month.

    I spend a lot of time in Second Life with my viewer degraded to the point where the world is just plain ugly, but I don’t need it to look pretty to do most of the building, counseling, scripting, socializing, and the volunteer work that I do. The only scripted attachment I wear any more is my walk AO (which I put in my hair), unless I absolutely need something else like my Skidz belt and HUD. I don’t wear bling. I don’t use poofers. The only prim-heavy thing about me is my hair. I’m very dull, I’m afraid, but at least Second Life is usable for me, and I don’t contribute to lag for other people, either.

    There is light on the horizon, though, and I don’t just mean WindLight. Linden Lab is working hard to keep ahead of the rising population. Things will get better and, I hope, they won’t get worse first. They’re upgrading servers. We’re going to a new system of software upgrades that is definitely a step in the right direction. Now if they could just get off the VPN bandwagon, they could probably eliminate some other performance issues. And let me run my own server on my own network, but that’s going to be well into the future, if ever.

    Second Life is a mixed bag. The Good, the Bad, the Ugly are all mixed together into a single package. Focus on the Good and let the people working behind the scenes work on the Bad and the Ugly.

  81. Beloved Misfit says:

    Where have you been all my second life. Wow, talk about an enlightment. Keep up the FANTASTIC instructional videos. My life is so much easier thanks to you. I had no idea and I love the fact that if I forget a step, I just zip back over here and watch it again to get the shortcuts. WOW, now I can finish some projects I didn’t know how to finish. (Or didn’t have the time to read the instructions.) Love your short video tutorials. Thank you, thank you again. Can’t wait for the next one.

  82. marcov says:

    Have good vaccations dear Torley .. my hero ^^ lol

  83. Btzaleil Freenote says:

    Hello! I really enjoy all these tutorials!Like somone else had said,”Even when I do not Learn from them,they are a bright spot in my week!”It is a bit late to wish you a happy vaction…:( how sad) anyways,I really enjoyed these turorials.why is it that in these videos Second Life looks clearer and more relistic then when I am acutly playing it!

Comments are closed.