Brighton Rocks

Like the idea of working on Second Life while living by the sea in a vibrant creative community less than an hour from London and a train ride away from Paris? Then come along to the Virtual Worlds Recruitment Party hosted by Linden Lab and NCsoft in Brighton next Thursday. We’ll provide real food and drink, the chance to talk to senior Lindens and virtual world luminaries and entertainment including Smily Raymaker live for the first time in meatspace. If you think you could be a Linden, fill in your details here and we’ll send you an invitation in the next few days.

UPDATE: If you have problems with the NCsoft URL, please apply here

About babbagelinden

Software Engineer at Linden Lab
This entry was posted in Community, Events. Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Brighton Rocks

  1. Tijn Erde says:

    Never heard of Smily Raymaker before, but that’s actually pretty good. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Psistorm Ikura says:

    nice one ๐Ÿ˜€ – but you should fix the “meatspace” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Cat Gisel says:

    /me cringes at the utterance of “NCSoft”

    Yes “meatspace” isn’t workin’ for me either….

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Deltango Vale says:

    When applying, the following message appears after pressing submit: The specified URL cannot be found. Sigh.

  5. Vic says:

    typically like SL then Deltango!

    Sorry to say this, “less than an hour from London” presumably once you’re actually OUT of london because that in itself can take a couple of hours without the luxury of teleports!!

    Good Luck though, it’s nice to see anyone (including LL) creating jobs in the UK rather than sending them elsewhere!!

  6. Cherry Czervik says:

    Customer Service department in the UK?

  7. Efemera Bisiani says:

    Vic – you need to explore the wonders of public transport! About 50mins on the train London to Brighton – and great for the environment too ;P

  8. For you going, if Richard Garriott is there, you definitely have to meet him.

    Sorry Lindens, but Mr. Garriott is certainly the big sell for this one ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Mark Bennett says:

    50 min by train over 90 min to 2hrs by car.

    the form is not working for the party, tried it a few times now with different Mac browsers. would like to attend.

    M

  10. ramo benedek says:

    meatspace??? as in a butcher shop? Goodness.

  11. Rooke Ayres says:

    Imho, “meatspace” sounds a tad off color. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think the attempt at trying to be cool, hip, and happenin’ fell a short of the mark with that one.

  12. Vidal Tripsa says:

    Ahh, such a shame I’m on the wrong side of games design, then! My lack of programming skill doesn’t stop this sounding like rather an interesting event, though; best of luck with the recruitment drive, and I hope anyone who is going will have fun there.

  13. Lexii says:

    What the hell is meatspace?

    And they prolly limited characters because of whiners.

  14. Gorthain Matzerath says:

    I would kill your Mother for you for a job like that. I’m no hotshot programer or anything but I would gladly take an oath of Fealty and would learn all the neccessary stuff ASAP. um… would you pay for the moving expenses from Oklahoma?

  15. Koroz Kline says:

    Brighton….where the most exciting thing that occurs is watching the traffic signals change colour !!! UNTIL NOW… nice one Linden !!

    BTW… to lovers of Brighton … it was a JOKE ๐Ÿ™‚

    “Meatspace” ??? Hmm… bad choice !!

  16. Spider Mandala says:

    “meatspace” is one of the oldest terms on the internet.

  17. Mark Bennett says:

    actually up Ditchling Road there’s an old apartment block named promently ‘The Lindens’….. is that the staff accomodations?

    M

  18. Alex Edo says:

    Living in Brighton and playing SL for 2 almost 3 years. I’m interested in this but not sure if it’s open to the under 18’s. Would a little more detail be added please? Thanks.

  19. BlackCinders Oh says:

    Why Brighton am all for colourful characters but Brighton is renowned for you having to be of a type and some of us just no matter how hard we try don’t fit the bill!!!! Midlands would be better :-))

  20. Incony says:

    I live by the sea, less than an hour from Paris ( by plane ) and it is a vibrant community. More? the Queen has a residence not far away, The sun sets over the sea, because the land faces west on the east coast.. I dont have to pay to park a car… I`m over two hours from London… and…. i dont work for Second Life….Yippee:)

    Ok.. so there is a drawback… i still have to pay you…

  21. I’d be tea/coffee boy! XD

    I’d have to commute though, from um… Manchester. xD

    ^_^;

  22. Christos Atlantis says:

    OMG whatever the Lindens do they get heat, poor people! You should serve Whine and Cheese at the events!

  23. Klang Wopat says:

    Meatspace, an oldie but a goodie.

    I occasionally go out and troll through the biomass myself–glad to see some Lindens out and about.

  24. Deltango Vale says:

    OK, so if the application link doesn’t work, how on earth do I apply?

  25. Walker Moore says:

    The problems with words like “meatspace” and “Brighton” in the same post is that it conjures up images of ‘alternative’ nightclubs and Tom of Finland posters.

  26. Kornation Bommerang says:

    can ‘banned for being underage’ people apply aswell?
    I loved my time in sl and would love to return, but as you wont accept my birth certificate i cant come back.

    I was banned almost a year ago..

    Im 24 now..

    Yet i still want to be a linden…..

  27. Bastien Culdesac says:

    Delta – you can always try the “SL” way to apply to be a linden…locate a linden in search (preferrably one in charge of recruitment, like Char), and drop a Notecard on them with your vitals.

    She may have stopped that so perhaps just start by droppping her a line.

  28. tomakefinde says:

    shit:D

  29. Chris says:

    MAN I WISH I WAS ON TEEN GRID IT ONLY LETS ME ON ADITI grid T.T…..my name on secondlife is Sploosh Ribble =p….someone maybe hacked me =(

  30. Brighton Rocks, Party, Entertainment, Luminaries…?? Is this SERIOUS recruitment or a chance to talk to senior Lindens for teenagers? How about blowing Linden Lab’s money on fireworks while you are at it??

    Maybe it’s just me or things have changed in the recruiting world… but this all sounds quite childish to me to be hiring serious professionals…

  31. SL Playerโ„ข says:

    Meatspace sounds kinda nasty!

  32. Droopz says:

    *DNS could not resolve the host name* \o/ \o_ \_o O.O +_+

  33. Jeremy Jester says:

    Meatspace? Works for me. Check out http://www.accelerando.org . I have (from the far north of Scotland) great hopes of the easterly LL outpost in Brighton. Unfortunately, it would be a 14 hour commute from where I am, so I am not personally that concerned about whether the application link works or not. Responsive support during European hours would be a major step forward though.

  34. Tegg B says:

    @3 NCSoft do a damn good job at running CoH/CoV, I personaly think it’s better managed than WoW, Lindens could learn a lot from them…..

  35. Pingback: Finger Food (5) « 88 Days

  36. Droopz says:

    so true

  37. Tillie Ariantho says:

    Uhm, what kind of people are you interested? I am one of those that is not a genius in a specific thing, but can do many different things… I’ve been doing build management (building big j2ee applications with ant, shell, perl) for over 7 years now, can program in perl, ajax, php, shell script, the languages lsl and python are my latest additions.

    I am quite fast at writing scripts for get things done or at automating. All our stuff at work is running all by itself. Need a build for product x? *click* there is comes…

    I never dared to ask for a job elsewhere, but I really would like to get involved with the Lindens. :-/ But it quite hard for me, somehow, to define what I can do.

  38. Tillie Ariantho says:

    Btw. you know that “thursday in a week” is quita a bad timing for something like that? People who currently have a job are more or less left out then. Who can get a day off that fast? “Hey boss, I am looking for another job, so I am off next thursay.” *cry*

  39. nano ashby says:

    19 Walker Moore Says:
    July 19th, 2007 at 4:54 PM PDT

    The problems with words like โ€œmeatspaceโ€ and โ€œBrightonโ€ in the same post is that it conjures up images of โ€˜alternativeโ€™ nightclubs and Tom of Finland posters.
    **********
    Not a problem image for everyone Walker, and I do not think that gay clubs should be described as ‘alternative’ – we ‘alternatives’ now have pretty good legal equality ๐Ÿ˜‰ so perhaps be a bit more considerate about making needless comments about people’s lifestyles and preferences, and we’ll be nice about yours too, eh.

  40. Vic says:

    @ Efemera

    Clearly you’re not fully in the picture over the poor maintenance of the lines the trains run on. No wonder they de-rail and crash often, I’m surprised it doesn’t happen even more. I wouldn’t trust them with my life.

    And if you’re digging at me being ‘bad for the environment’ I’ll have you know that I drive once a week and walk everywhere else. The secret to being better for the enviroment is living close enough to walk to work and the shops!

    So ๐Ÿ˜›

  41. Kittie Munro says:

    oh please… not Brighton! Move a little to the north… to Norfolk!!! It’s really beautiful here… it is! it is!

  42. Alex Warrior says:

    G’day Babbage

    WOW… I wish I lived in the UK instead of boring old Brisbane, Australia.

    OH wait… my mum is English… and I have right of abode. (For those that are not aware, it means I can move permanently to the UK, start work immediately and live forever if I choose).

    But what skills does a Business Development Manager with a 12 year background of media planning and buying have?

    Alas I have no University degree (being a 36 year old – hey we didn’t need to go to Uni back then) and I couldn’t script to save myself.

    Actually, I know I could learn scripting fairly easily (and very fast if I did have to save myself in truth), but my forte is in communication with others. Regardless of genre or no genre… furries, transgender, gay and lesbian, straight or even spiders… (actually I am quite partial to spiders…).

    Ohh well, might have to wait until Second Life comes to Australia…

    Please OHHH please pick BRISBANE as your base here in Australia when you come… we have a great laidback city, excellent transport – easy traffic and a lower cost of living than all other states, PLUS we are the fastest growing state in Australia – with over 4,000 new people moving here each week from all the other states. We have all the best beaches and the best weather… in fact… WHY are you not putting your head office here? *giggles*

    Sorry – just love SL and just love The Sunshine State – which is our state motto (along with The Smart State).

    Great to see you recruiting more…

    Happy
    Alex
    xxx

    PS. Philip Linden is hot!
    PPS. It’s FRIDAY night here!!! Happy weekend every one!!!

  43. Toxic Menges says:

    So, I can’t give you my 42 reasons why I should be at your party? The submit url doesn’t seem to work. I was evangelising about online community, and how I would be really great for a role in your company, as I am around 10 years of online community experience.

    Oh, and I wanted to eat all the canapรฉs.

    Please can I have an invite?

  44. bob brown says:

    hehe it’d be nice to have one in the north of the UK, brighton is a pig to get to from up here and i persoanlly havn’t the time for a 6 hour one way trip to end up sleeping on a beach. busy seaside resort in summer?! and i, for one, love ‘meatpsace’… but anyone else remember ‘chipping in’ by johnny sliverhand XD ?

  45. kerunix flan says:

    I requested an invitation.
    IM me ingame if you’re in france and go to brighton too… so we can meet and great eachothers… in french ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. slangel says:

    Aww Brighton?? Manchester is much more exciting. .. not least because I will be living their very soon.
    Move ooop north the folk are much nicer there.

  47. @12 I live in Brighton, very insulted, there’s also traffic cones in Brighton, there exciting too ๐Ÿ™‚
    Actually LL, you’ve been supposed to be phoning my mate back for nearly a month now (who also lives in Brighton) his profession is something like Network Engineer? or something & has for years been running some of your close competitors game servers (kinda guess he’d be pretty ideal!!?) he already passed some test you gave him inworld I think. I didnt even believe him that there was a LL in Brighton. See, he doesnt really care at all and I dont think he’ll bother, but I want him to work for LL so I have an insider friend hehe. To be serious though , the guy is damn good and I think you may have put him off, by not getting in touch :/

  48. Sorry, my mate means – my friend in England, suddenly realised that could get misread with me living in Brighton lol

  49. Klaatu Congrejo says:

    @26 Sorry Alex, I have to disagree with you. Cairns in the tropical Far North would be the place to open an office here in Australia. But let’s not get territorial about this. Dear Lindens, how many Australian SL members would it take for you to open up an office in this beautiful country? (or maybe you work on percentages of population?).
    Standing by to start actively recruiting here once you give me he nod!
    Re: the party at Brighton (oops, nearly forgot the subject of this blog!) I hope you guys have a fantastic time – I’ve been to Brighton and it’s a beautiful town. Also, congrats to you Poms for getting your own SL branch office!
    Will there be any feedback/blogpage to SL residents about this party? I want to see lotsa pictures of drunken ppl making fools of themselves please. LOL. :))

  50. Pol McLaglen says:

    Not enough warning for me to come due to actually having a real, “meatspace” job. Please arrange another one ASAP with at least a month’s warning so I can arrange the time off and attend.

    Pol.

    BTW, I thought “meatspace” referred to how much room you have in your pants….

  51. kerunix flan says:

    lol @29 ๐Ÿ™‚

  52. Gryff says:

    @29: you have room in your pants?! lol

  53. nina says:

    well, obviously melbourne is the city they would be after. melbourne is the cultural and artistic capitol of australia.

  54. Walker Moore says:

    @nano ashby: “Not a problem image for everyone Walker, and I do not think that gay clubs should be described as โ€˜alternativeโ€™ – we โ€˜alternativesโ€™ now have pretty good legal equality ๐Ÿ˜‰ so perhaps be a bit more considerate about making needless comments about peopleโ€™s lifestyles and preferences, and weโ€™ll be nice about yours too, eh.”

    Hello nano. Some spectacular assumptions there. You think somebody throwing Tom of Finland references around is likely to be heterosexual? (@_@) I was actually indulging in a little camp humour with a handkerchief code of text, but you well and truly blew that out of the water didn’t you?

    I’m not even going to explain what’s so funny about “meatspace” and “brighton” being mentioned in the same post, and the traffic that will be drawn to this page as a result. Sheesh. Thanks for the drama. That’s one less forum I have to visit tonight.

  55. Inigo Chamerberlin says:

    Oh dear – looks like the cat’s out of the bag then, shock horror (yawn).

    Yes, Brighton IS well known as the ‘Gay Capital of Britain’ – sometimes of Europe too…
    It’s also got a nasty drugs problem.

    Not a lot else to recommend it really. It’s 40 miles from where I live and would take between 3 hours a day (by car) and 4 hours a day (by public ‘transport’)

    An hour from London – what a joke! Or are you planning on a corporate helicopter service? Besides, who, living in London and earning London wages and paying London living expenses wants to add massive travel costs to go and work in Brighton – at South Coast rates of pay – of all places?

    Only a bunch of Yanks could have engineered this one! Still, I guess someone thinks the sea, and the ‘bohemian’ populace, and the plentiful supplies of drugs will make the guys from head office feel right at home when they breeze into town?

  56. Walker Moore says:

    @Inigo: I don’t think the opening sentence is soliciting employees from London any more than it is Paris (which is also mentioned). Brighton has down-sides like any heavily populated area, but it also has a high density of businesses, two universities, a strong arts scene, plenty of entertainment, and lots of ‘new media’ companies — hence the nickname ‘Silicon Fen’. As virtual worlds are a type of new media (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_media), Brighton actually seems like the most natural spot in the United Kingdom for Linden Lab’s UK HQ to be positioned.

    They can’t be on everybody’s doorstep, and Brighton is actually a very desirable area. Affluent Londoners have been flocking there in droves — to live — for decades.

  57. Walker Moore says:

    Bah, “Silicon Beach” not “Silicon Fen”. =P

  58. The Todd says:

    I think I’m hooked on the “meatspace” now. Hmm, how can I slide that into a casual conversation at the office ๐Ÿ˜€

  59. Walker Moore says:

    /me sees an industrial tribunal in The Todd’s near future. ๐Ÿ˜€

  60. Inigo Chamerberlin says:

    @34

    Oh well – seeing as the Silicon Fen is actually Cambridge – which, incidentally would have been a FAR more sensible location for any number of reasons – I can only assume you aren’t a local.

    Confusing Cambridge, which is just a tiny bit more central, better connected (i.e. on the motorway network rather than 25 miles off it – not to mention it’s data link to name only two points of superiority) and a far nicer place to live and work, with one of that sad string of failed Victorian seaside towns strung along the Sussex coast is pretty strange.
    Especially as the Fens (AKA Fenlands) are in East Anglia – Brighton is in Sussex

    Think you’ll be able to find your way to the recruitment pissup? I could knock you up a map?

    As for affluent Londoners flocking there in droves for decades – affluent? Hardly – hordes of retiring office workers in the main.
    The decades in question being the ’20s, ’30s and ’50s. And they flocked there to die – the local saying at the time being, ‘they came here do die, then forgot what they came for’.

  61. Pingback: Jeff Barr’s Blog » Links for Saturday, July 21, 2007

  62. Walker Moore says:

    Goodness Inigo. I corrected the Silicon Fen comment within seconds of the post. Look at the timestamps. Don’t let that stop your three paragraph rant though.

    I guess we’ll have to disagree on affluent Londoners moving to Brighton. Joe Orton and numerous other 20 and 30 something playwrights who relocated there in the 1960s and 70s were (contrary to suggestion) being totally unfashionable then…as was the luvvie explosion that followed. As for your “local saying”, I think you’ll find that’s attributed to Worthing dear boy…11/12 miles along the coast. Perhaps I could knock you up a map?

  63. Kyyanno Reymont says:

    Dear lord, people, either go to the recruitment, or don’t. Why does everything on the internet have to turn into an e-peenor size comparing contest? sheesh.

    It’s in Brighton. Like it or lump it ๐Ÿ˜›

  64. Broccoli Curry says:

    What about “work from home” positions? There are some advertised on the employment page – one of these would be ideal for me, but I would in no way wish to move to Brighton. Is it worth me trying to get a day off of work, or am I just wasting my time?

    Broccoli

  65. Spurt Renoir says:

    Hey talk about steal my thunder, Linden have just ripped off the name of my land in SL Brighton Rocks was my idea !!! Give me some Credit Linden

  66. Robert Edstrom says:

    I posted my resume at your site last week but still haven’t got a response – does this mean I’m not welcome or that an invitation is still to come..? ๐Ÿ˜›

  67. Nite Page says:

    @19 I’m sure they do. They also did, and still do, absolutely nothing in regards to the farming of in game money in their games such as Lineage II, and all the while spouting that ‘botting is against the TOS’…yet do nothing about the hoardes of payed farming clans from China and Korea who have been the sole cause of the downfall of L2’s in game economy. Resulting in a loss to gameplay, devaluation of in game currency, and loss of the customer and player base. Oh yeah. NCsoft is just full of integrity. *Insert dripping sarcastic tone here.*

  68. Mavromichali Szondi says:

    My goodness what a lot of Southerners replied to this one. Kudos to the guy in M’cr who replied for being Northern enough to be real. I still believe everything south of Birmingham doesn’t actually exist. Which makes that last trip to London all the more surreal ๐Ÿ˜›

    Anyway, I have been to Brighton a couple of times and it seemed an okay sort of place. Bit expensive I guess, certainly to those of us not rich Southerners like the rest of you ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I agree with the comments about travel. The M25 is a nightmare road, and getting in and out of London always gives me a headache.

    My main point anyway was that I kind of wish that more companies would not automatically head south. We have some of the best IT universities up here and lots of graduates looking for work. We have great transport connections (especially since the M6 toll freed up that snarly road) and good local businesses. I’m not going to pretend that all the areas are amazing but we sure could do with an injection of fresh new industry, and there are a lot of good parts of the country up here. Manchester is a great city, the Peaks, the Lakes, the Yorkshire Moors… beautiful.

    I certainly think there were better potential locations around the country than Brighton, and of course I’m biased to a more Northern based solution. So if you need to expand or extend, Linden… think a little further up eh?

  69. Jason Nolan says:

    Watch out for Jeff Noon. He lives there somewhere, and is probably the best writer on cyberspaces, if you take Gibson and Stephenson as benchmarks.

  70. Kiki Stardust says:

    Yep the day off work is a problem, I wish I had read this when my boss was in a good mood, but with half the workforce taking a ‘monday morning sicky’ now is really not a good time to ask for a day off to go on a jolley to Brighton. Given the current weather conditions wouldn’t it have been better to organise this event when half the country wasn’t doing their bestest duck impressions? Good luck to everyone brave enough to brave enough public transport in order to get there!

  71. Kiki Stardust says:

    Yep the day off work is a problem, I wish I had read this when my boss was in a good mood, but with half the workforce taking a ‘monday morning sicky’ now is really not a good time to ask for a day off to go on a jolley to Brighton. Given the current weather conditions wouldn’t it have been better to organise this event when half the country wasn’t doing their bestest duck impressions? Good luck to everyone brave enough to brave public transport in order to get there!

  72. Jazzman Jibilla says:

    Brighton ! Close to London ! As Canadian Broadcasting Corporation listeners will surely ask, “How far is that from Reading, measured in basic prims?”.

  73. Pingback: Going Global w/ Linden Lab « …up & down….

  74. Ruby Tsure says:

    Smily Raymaker is great!!…she plays at little britain and is defo worth while making a trip out to go see her!!

  75. kerunix flan says:

    i’m planning paris->brighton … it’s like *at least* 4h of train. (2h heading to north. 2h heading to south. how fun, huh ?! )

  76. Laine says:

    Blah blah why not my town blah blah blah ๐Ÿ™‚

    Did wonder why not London, more central – all train services go there etc; but Brighton is nice; hope theres a sea view ๐Ÿ˜‰

  77. kerunix flan says:

    Hello from brighton, see you in a few hours. cool city ๐Ÿ™‚

  78. Deltango Vale says:

    Hmmm, second attempt at this post.

    Because of LL’s disastrous policy announcement today (26 July) to ban ‘wagering’ (otherwise known as gambling to the English-speaking population of planet Earth), there is no longer any point to attending the Brighton meeting. The CORE of the SL business model was personal liberty. It is what drove SL’s success. Without that core, SL becomes simply an interactive Disneyworld (perfect for kids). Therefore, my advice is to dismantle the main grid and sell the teen grid to Disney/Pixar before all the money flows out of SL.

    As for the future, now that LL has abandoned its golden egg, there is an opportunity for another company to pick it up. If anyone out there wants to create Third Life and reap all the goodies that LL is throwing away, send me an IM. I’d be delighted to work for a company with vision and courage.

  79. Jimbo Goalpost says:

    What a waste of time, only saw one Linden staff and he quickly disappeared. Apart from the really nice and helpful NCsoft ppl, this was a really badly executed event by LL.

  80. Pingback: » Friday Photo Blogging: gatecrashing a Second Life recruitment party » Velcro City Tourist Board » Blog Archive

  81. kerunix flan says:

    Back in south of france. yay !
    The meeting was fun and cool (and very noisy).
    Thx to all the people that listened my poor, ugly, spoken english ๐Ÿ™‚

    Total time of travel : 24h.
    Meeting : 2h

    – No watermelon. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    – Wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiind ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    – the only french ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    + cool city ๐Ÿ™‚
    + cool meeting ๐Ÿ™‚
    + lot of linden, mostly developers ๐Ÿ™‚

    @79 : Gambling ? The core of SL business model ? BWAHAHA ! c’mon … Secondlife is more than 8500 private island… how many casino run an island ?

  82. Deltango Vale says:

    @80

    Gambling was NOT the core of SL’s business model. Personal liberty was the core of SL’s business model.

  83. Pingback: Sweet Second Life - Today’s Top Blog Posts on Second Life - Powered by SocialRank

  84. Thomas says:

    I have domain SecondMySpace.com and I want create good website were you can create profile. Sorry I have bad English

Comments are closed.