[UPDATE] Second Life Sculpted Prim Contest: Show Us Your Sculpties!

We would like to congratulate the following winners of the Sculpted Prim Contest. Make sure to view not only the winning entries, but also the talented sculpted works of other contestants at Luna (MG) and Coelacanth (TG). If you can’t make it to the Luna and Coelacanth displays, don’t worry. The winning sculpties are coming to your Inventory Library soon!


Sculptie Horse by Nomasha Syaka

sculptie-horse.jpg

Skullpty by Locke Cardway

skullpty.jpg

Tazmanian Devil by Artisan Hawks

tazmanian-devil.jpg

Diana the Huntress by Pumpkin Tripsa

diana-the-huntress.jpg

Horse Head by Zazu Zenovka and DonPain Babenko

horse-head.jpg

This entry was posted in -Miscellaneous, Announcements & News, Community, Creativity & Ideas, Events. Bookmark the permalink.

127 Responses to [UPDATE] Second Life Sculpted Prim Contest: Show Us Your Sculpties!

  1. Usagi Musashi says:

    WOohoOOOoo having all kinds of issues on sl and we have a contest!

  2. Sally not so Silly says:

    WOW very nice……..
    oh and btw…. and sorry to bother ye, because you’re supposed to be one of the good guys/girls….. but whatever happened to keeping us posted on the password thingy? TY

  3. Wow, those are incredible. They show a load of talent and skill, but what on earth do I want those in my inventory for?

  4. Aeper Jie says:

    But why wasent Tg allowed to be in the contest in the first place? i think LL only has the TG for money and to keep us off the mg and from them being sued. So yea LL doesent care about Tg at all unless we are about to go into a Grid Death War *again* but i cant wait for the skulls one

  5. Very nice work, but enjoy answering technical help for the rest of your SL existence on these items 🙂

  6. Gogo Vig says:

    So sorry to bump in, Blender is confusing me, I’m trying to make clothes, does Wings have layers? what free program is ok for clothing? TY

  7. Oz Spade says:

    Nice job by all the contributors! I haven’t checked out Luna and Coalwhatevera, but I will be now!

    Anyone else see the obvious situation that will arise when everyone gets a free horse head in their inventory? I know I’ll be reenacting my favorite scene from The Godfather. 😀

  8. Shai Khalifa says:

    Please don’t add these to my inventory – I don’t need them, and have enough inventory loading problems as it is, even though I studiously keep inventory numbers below 6000 as much as possible on both my accounts – in order to reduce lag and loading.

    In fact I’d like to ditch most of the default Library as it’s crap and redundant to me – but I’m not able to do this.

    And I won’t be able to do anything cool with sculpties – as my textures still don’t load into my Edit window making life difficult via just one more problem. This is an issue I’ve reported for 2 weeks now everywhere you’re supposed to but still it remains a problem with one of my accounts.

  9. Partington Gould says:

    Isn’t Tasmanian Devil copyright Warner Bros?

    Bit of a can of worms there.

  10. Kornscope Komachi says:

    Do the textures come with the sculpts?
    Glad I didn’t even attempt it.
    It’s very very difficult to make anything that looks good, even after 150 hours buried in Blender, by being self taught. One needs a real course to benefit I think.

    Congrats to those that won.
    Commiserations to those that tried and failed.

  11. DR Dahlgren says:

    Congratulations to the folks who worked hard to make something with the newest prim class. I truly am looking forward to some of the possibilities these open up.

    I would have loved to compete, but unfortunatel time did not permit. I did not even get a chance to log in last night. No, my password did not get reset, but those of many of my friends did. Gess who they call or email? LL, nope…me. Why, because I can and will help them.

    The other day, a friend called. One of her friends was told by LL she would have to create a new account, because hers had become corrupted (this is the second person I have seen with this issue). What was the source of corruption? They weren’t sure. But I was, it was a female freebie skin that was reported back in 9/07, but is still out there. So what did we do, I had her do Client > Character > Test Female. It dumped the corrupted skin and she was back in business.

    So folks, it is clear we need to help each other. It is the only thing I think we can count on. Stop and spend a few minutes with a noob each time you come in. Share some of the tips and tricks you have learned.

    Again, congrats to the winners. When I do get started working with the sculpties, I will know who to IM. 🙂

    And LL, once more, shame on you for letting all these folks hang out to dry over this password debacle.

    DRD

  12. Partington Gould says:

    Some nice work there, the Horses Head is huge though, how am I going to leave that in someones bed?

  13. DR Dahlgren says:

    Sorry, fat fingers, that skin was reported as corrupt to LL in 9/06 of course, not 07.

    Carry on 🙂

    DRD

  14. Zee Pixel says:

    So, could someone tell me how objects that are not all sculpties and objects with copyright violations in them managed to win this contest that clearly said the objects needed to be 100% sculpties. While I’m stunned that my friends entry didn’t win, I’m equally stunned at the other high quality entries that didn’t win (like the set of china plates), only to see this list? The Palamino and the Diana stature make sense, but please.

  15. Heretic Linden says:

    Aeper, teens did participate in the contest. Visit Coelacanth on Teen Grid to view those entries!

  16. Cocoanut Koala says:

    Please have a sculptie contest for the teen grid too.

    coco

  17. Jayden B says:

    Sculpties will do great things for both furry shapes and also for *cough* human attachments.

    Congratulations to the winners, this is a field of Second Life where your average person will have *no hope* of creating anything themself, so to be able to master 3D sculpting programs is recognised.

    Oh wow DR D… that reminds me off all the inventory I now carry with “This item is not in the database” I’ve lost so many hundreds of thousands of Lindens over the past year.

    I will definately go to Luna and look at the contest! Seeing new features such as these shoehorned into the client is a great thing.

  18. Pingback: SecondLife - How To Make Money In Second Life » [UPDATE] Second Life Sculpted Prim Contest: Show Us Your Sculpties!

  19. Musicteacher Rampal says:

    Trying to log on today I got this message:

    “we’ve made some changes to our system and you will need to reset your password”

    Could some Linden please make a blog post explaining wht these changes were and how to re-set the password, and while you’re at it please explain why this was commented on in a forum post but not posted in the blog!

  20. Elissa Bristol says:

    Why don’t you make the sculpties “in-game” so the average person doesn’t have to spend numerous hours reading boring ass tutorials out of the game to learn something. As so many people continually post, SL has enough stability issues as is and instead of spending time creating new “commercialized” content to “make the game better” fix the problems that you have. What about all of your old time players that created the game. Linden Lab is comparable the Wal-mart of the fantasy community….or at least in the 4 months I have been here that is what I’ve seen.

    I thought it was called Second Life for a reason….errrr…ummmm…Second Life 😛

  21. Spikez Stine says:

    Very very good craftsmanship! Rating: A+++ to all!

  22. Annie Malaprop says:

    Very nice! Congrats to all the winners.

  23. Fletcher Rodgers says:

    To all those concerned about these items being added to your inventory. I’m sure they are only being added to the Inventory Library and remember there is only 1 instance of the library, you don’t individually load the library, the library does not lag you.

  24. Ann Otoole says:

    “Aeper Jie Says:
    June 5th, 2007 at 6:19 PM PDT

    But why wasent Tg allowed to be in the contest in the first place? i think LL only has the TG for money and to keep us off the mg and from them being sued. So yea LL doesent care about Tg at all unless we are about to go into a Grid Death War *again* but i cant wait for the skulls one”

    if the teen grid members utter threats of grid attacks then the teen grid needs to be terminated forever end of story.

  25. Jesseaitui Petion says:

    Nice, my favorite is the skeleton set.

    Last horses face very realistic. i can see a new future for prim cocks 😮

  26. The sculpties are impressive. I wish I could figure out how to make them. I can’t wait until the editor comes out with a future SL client.

    Is there a way that we can toggle the library so that our client doesn’t make a request to load it every time we log into SL?

  27. Treacly says:

    Heh, at least my model fell inbetween two of the winners! Yay more exposure for me ;-D I wish they wouldn’t have chosen two similar objects (horses) and Taz, that might be a copyright infringment. None the less I must congratulate the winners and encourage everyone to visit Luna and see all of the models on display. There are many more great examples of what’s to come in the world of sculpties. I keep reading alot of distress in regards to the learning curve with Blender and gotta say, don’t let the software intimadate you. It”s your best bet for making sculpties if you can’t afford any of the expensive alternatives.

  28. Maggie McArdle says:

    13 Heretic Linden Says:

    June 5th, 2007 at 6:57 PM PDT
    Aeper, teens did participate in the contest. Visit Coelacanth on Teen Grid to view those entries!

    THIS you respond to but nothing regardign the password issues?
    gee thanks LL(no offense heretic you ogt caught in the cross fire) for letting me at least know exactly how you are dealing with this.

  29. shifte says:

    hello???? ASSET DATABASE PROBLEMS!!!!! ALL AFTERNOON!!

  30. Wyald Woolley says:

    Oh look! Look! Shiney things! Pay no attention to the teeming mass struggling to get in because of incorrect phone numbers, absent support, incorrect web page directs, and general confusion. The Linden silence is thunderous.

    I’ll wager there was a huge breakin. Why else would there be no explanations, no stipennd payments, and forced password changes?

    But, oh we’ve got a shiny! Pretty pretty shiny! Too bad you can’t get in-world and actually see them… that’s why Heretic posted them here, so you can see a picture of shony you can’t go and see in world. Let’s all thank Heretic for bringing us pictures from where we used to go. Oh, and a special “thank you” to Heretic for not sullying this blog with any actual support…that would be off-topic and LL never talkes about problems and solutions.

    Now, all you whiners, shut up and look at the shiny. Oh look! Look! Shiny!

  31. Ryder Spearmann says:

    Re: Copyright… and the Taz….

    You have to understand what a copyright is. You can’t *copy* the Taz… especially when presented for sale or other commercial use.

    In this case… this sculptie is not a *copy* of anything. (like a copied MP3 file… or copied software). There is no original that was copied FROM. It was produced by an artist… an original work of a familiar thing.

    It is like singing a song… a recording is copyright, but you want to sing it yourself? No problem.

    You want to draw Daffy Duck? Again… no problem.

  32. Pingback: SecondLife - How To Make Money In Second Life » Linden Lab announces sculpted prim winners

  33. Vincent Nacon says:

    Uhhh…. isn’t Tazmanian Devil a copyrighted character issue?

    “The winning sculpties are coming to your Inventory Library soon!”

    Not a good idea for Taz.

    Keep Taz out or trouble other wise. :/

  34. DR Dahlgren says:

    Ryder CHAPTER 1 > § 106 Prev | Next

    § 106. Exclusive rights in copyrighted works

    Subject to sections 107 through 122, the owner of copyright under this title has the exclusive rights to do and to authorize any of the following:

    (2) to prepare derivative works based upon the copyrighted work;

  35. DR Dahlgren says:

    Well, that got murdered when it posted. Here is my post again, sorry.

    Ryder You might want to read up on copyright law before you spout off. Iyou make a statue, a painting, a drawing of a copyrighted character for other than display in your own home for private use, and if the copyright is still in force, you most definately are breaking it. This is referred to as a derivative work. And while there is such a thing as “fair use.” This would likely not qualify.

    Briefly:

    TITLE 17 > CHAPTER 1 > § 106 Prev | Next

    § 106. Exclusive rights in copyrighted works

    Subject to sections 107 through 122, the owner of copyright under this title has the exclusive rights to do and to authorize any of the following:

    (2) to prepare derivative works based upon the copyrighted work;

  36. Vincent Nacon says:

    #25 said “You have to understand what a copyright is. You can’t *copy* the Taz… especially when presented for sale or other commercial use.”

    Yeah… the person who made it is getting a T-shirt, that’s almost as being paid. Plus, with SL using them to “show off” more feature of SL itself is indeed a commercial use of it.

    Lindens, pick up your brain, I don’t want SL to die from a lawsuit.

  37. Kerik Rau says:

    *listens to crickets chirping in the background* wow LL has such wonderful service! It only took them 2.5 weeks to re enable my account after they disabled it for no reason. Then I get the wonderful pleasure of waking up and freaking out as my password doesn’t work anymore.

    Thank you Linden Labs for waisting several dozen hours of my time, I really appreciate it! All those times I called and no one answered the phones really brought a nice sheltering peace over my life. I will always cherish these memories, Linden Labs.

  38. Dytska Vieria says:

    == This is off topic! ==

    Please fix the Off Topic Posts In The Blogs Bug!

    Thank You!

  39. Ryder Spearmann says:

    Re: taz in the inventory…

    Well, yes… that would be an issue. I was refering only to the original sculptie.

  40. michami says:

    Diana the Huntress is fabulous! I can’t wait to see more sculpty sculptures hitting the art scene.

  41. Zee Pixel says:

    The t-shirt is most definitely payment as they declared it a $25 value and are going to file a 1099 on you for getting it. Besides paying for the work aside (which puts LL in a awkward situation). If they actually include it in the inventory, then they are contributing to the infringement. Someone really better get a second opinion from another lawyer if the one you have is telling you this is OK. It’s not.

  42. Kerik Rau says:

    Well maybe if LL actually cared about their paying consumers they would devote blog space to fixing things instead of staring blankly the other way. Oh snap we just reset half our userbase’s passwords. Quick into this cave we will pretend it never happened!

  43. Pol McLaglen says:

    Yes, well, I loved the horses head.

    And as for adult attachments, I already have my x3 from Xcite! Premier and I am rather impressed…

    Well done to all those who joined in a competition that some of us will never be able to enter (did I mention that the one thing I cannot do in SL is textures? No Photoshop / PSP / GIMP ability whatsoever…). I hope that soon sculpties will find a useful place in our armoury of primes, and that us builders can rely on Photoshop Heads to give us the shapes we need…

    Pol.

  44. Tegg B says:

    Aeper Jie Says:
    But why wasent Tg allowed to be in the contest in the first place? i think LL only has the TG for money and to keep us off the mg and from them being sued. So yea LL doesent care about Tg at all unless we are about to go into a Grid Death War *again* but i cant wait for the skulls one

    So you still planning to start a war? You could be in RL politics one day with that Declare war, info later technique.

  45. @8: Yes, Warner Brothers. I’m certain that Linden Lab would have gotten authorization for the use of the likeness of the Taz… how else could it be considered a winner?

  46. Ravanne Sullivan says:

    Are sculpted Prims the reason we are now down to 5 frames per second or less. Ever since they have been implimented all the gains in FPS tha came from the earlier First Look Viewer have gone away.

  47. Maybe there only were a few entries, and that’s why we have two horses?

    After all, most people don’t have the expensive software, or the technical know-how, to create sculpties that look like… well anything really.

    Until there is an in-SL editor for sculpties, 99% of us won’t be able to even think about using them for anything.

    But, so as not to feel left out, yes, what about passwords please? I had to reset mine and I have no idea why – it’s very worrying. Should I be warning my bank of another potential security breach, and changing my credit card again for the second time this year, thanks to Linden Lab?

    Broccoli

  48. Genevieve Bluecoat says:

    I had to reset my password too. The current rumour is that if you’ve logged a ticket on the new help system (hah, it’s just like the old one, they don’t reply) then it may be causing your password to break.

    At least, that’s what I heard, and I know I had a ticket in progress too, so it may hold up.

    Also – spent over 2 hours in “live” help and got cut off twice before someone explained to me that my payment issue would be LL’s offshore banking being routinely fraud blocked by many banks – if your payment’s broken, try calling your card company and getting them to unblock LL!

  49. Genevieve Bluecoat says:

    PS. The reason is blocks is that LL and the bank are in different countries, which is one of the things the banks automatic systems screen as being a risk, therefore it defaults to stop any transactions with them.

  50. Benja Kepler says:

    These creations are excellent! Were they all 1-prim?

    @2 etc. the Horse Head could come in useful in a pub : ‘Horse and Groom’ etc. or a Mafia role…

    ‘your world, your imagination’

  51. SpaceQ Isan says:

    Well done nice show off of new cool feature.
    I would like to rise attention to missing feature in secondlife: ability to quickly change text on one prim object dynamicaly, 3d equivalent of 2d html javascript:write(
    all kind of SecondLife games info systems needs it and they have to do it hard slow prim extensive way…

    I know html on prim suppos to be comming but we didnt have any update on that for long time… some of us are waiting for it to better interact old 2D web to new 3dWEB==SecondLife?

  52. Domino Marama says:

    Congrats to the winners!

    Might have been a lot more entries if the compression issue ( https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-866 ) had been sorted. I for one won’t be considering any of my sculpties to be in their final uploaded form until that happens.

  53. william Fish says:

    LL can we have a contest on who can get their password back the quickest? and … who has to wait forever and ever cause certain pages dont work, certain emails dont work, certain phonenumbers dont work…. we left with a ticket for support which … probably wont be answered until 3 weeks from now.

    I’m assuming but i bet if the server/internet/isp providers or whatever changed your access to your info you would be all up in arms and demand they give you access right away. That’s how it is in the normal world. Come to OUR secondlife, and we get random password changes with no way to reset OUR passwords… heck i can’t even change my billing info or track my transactions leaving MY customers on standby. THIS IS NOT PROPER business and NO WAY to treat YOUR customers who created secondlife “YOUR WORLD YOUR IMAGINATION” which if i may add… shoudl be changed to “LINDENLABS AND FORTUNE 500’S WORLD, OUR IMAGINATION”

  54. william Fish says:

    btw.. congrats winners! your items look awsome. i can’t wait to see them in world.

  55. TheBlack Box says:

    Grats to all winners !
    You earned it !

    But in terms of usability of the sculpties, i claim to be the winner !

    keep the t-shirt 😉 (i think i broke some rules anyway)

    My display can be seen at Luna, close to the Skullpty

  56. Zimmy Ginsberg says:

    Excuse me while I yawn. I can see I’ll have a lot of uses for those…

    Shiny, while Rome burns…

    But there’s a link: to the slurl site which is broken inworld for me, that’s if you can login with the password fiasco anyway. The old one-two.

    Well, at least the new bugs and borks are also delayed by a week….

  57. Laetizia Coronet says:

    How unfortunate is it that some people just don’t want to see any fun coming from Linden Lab until all issues everywhere are solved to everyone’s satisfaction.
    Well, all issues are never going to be solved and it is impossible to satisfy everybody anyway, in any given situation.

    We have problems, but SL is not just about problems. There is also the lighter side – enjoy it.

  58. Arwen Lukas says:

    Apologies for off-topic – but I don’t know where else to go. Is anyone else having problems with stipend payments? Mine hasn’t been credited yet – maybe it’s just late and maybe it’s just me, but I’d like to know if this is affecting more users.

  59. Buffy Wilder says:

    Anyone been able to get there password reset ? Im currently locked out of SL since the password reset form failed and wont let me back in to try. How do i get my password reset (i’m in the UK by the way so hanging on the support phone for 30 minutes while they dont answer it isnt an option)

    Anyone, help please 😦

    Buffy

  60. william Fish says:

    48 Laetizia Coronet

    THATS EXACTLY RIGHT! enjoy the lighter side of SL… assuming the masses can log on assuming they were able to reset their passwords.. assuming sims didnt randomly crash or lag.. assuming multiple bugs that affects majority of people were not around… YES PLEASE do enjoy the lighter side of Secondlife… I encourage it!

  61. Saii Hallard says:

    I’d like to add this to the useless discussions (:P) :

    JOIN THE DARK SIDE!

  62. william Fish says:

    and oh btw… my old password WAS 8 CHARACTERS LONG! so why i had to change it is beyond me. my alt’s pw (which is the same) i didnt have to change. GO figure.

  63. TheBlack Box says:

    Ok … at least at slx it seems like i am among the leading commercial sculpters.

    So please don’t discard this information:

    There are easy ways to make complex sculpties !
    But you need a heck of a lot programming before you can use the method and as of now there are no programs available that can do it and export to sculpt-texture.

    For my sculpties i don’t use any of the programs listed here:
    http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Sculpted_Prims:_3d_Software_Guide

    I use my own set of programs (Haskell,Java,Shell Scripts) to make them.
    (buggy, lot of hacks, stitched together from stuff i coded over the past 4 years)

    If you want to know more about the scientific background look up “Algorithmic Botany” (University of Calgary) “Turtle Graphics” (wikipedia) and “Lindenmayer-System” or “L-System” (wikipedia)

    Yes you can use this to make sculptie-animations. Yes this is perfect for organic sculpties. Yes you can simulate processes of biology this way….

    It is possible to hide the complexity of this behind a GUI in different ways.

    Conclusion:
    Learning and buying 3d Modeling Software is a waste of time and money if your goal is just to make Sculpties. Sooner or later there will be easy tools. If no other makes and publishes them within half a year i will try to clean up my stuff.

    ————————————————

    Is LL cool or not ?

    LL is mother … you wont be living your SL without her.
    But almost every child sometimes hates its parents ….. in a way

  64. Zee Pixel says:

    Actually AC3D works exceptionally well and is inexpensive. Using Zora’s plug-in (the same one she used to create her Snake Charmer entry), you can do some pretty sophisticated objects. Oh, and I did I mention the plug-in is free? You can download it from right off the front of http://www.ccccybernetics.com . All that’s there is a link to the plug-in and to AC3D’s homepage. Oh and this “nurbs” thing they keep going on about the wiki is not relevant so don’t get sucked into it.

  65. Vylixan Fallon says:

    “The winning sculpties are coming to your Inventory Library soon!”

    Pelase give me the rights to remove all unwanted stuff from the library , i don;t want it , don;t need it and it will cleanup my Inv big time.

    congrats to the winners.

  66. Cappy Frantisek says:

    I think the sculpties are cool, good job, still not sold on how it will “make the world a beter place”. I m ean afterall to view all these new creations I have to cache more textures. With the current state of affairs, it doesn’t take long for my machine to run out of memory now!

    @TheBlack Box
    “Is LL cool or not ?
    LL is mother … you wont be living your SL without her.
    But almost every child sometimes hates its parents ….. in a way”

    Um, what? So if your mother was only right in the head sometimes, you wouldn’t call the head shrink? And it’s not a case of hating the parents, it’s demamding that the payments the children make to the parents doesn’t go toward shuffleboard but to the milk and cookies we are asking for. See I can use silly analogies also.

    Be glad no update
    Still worried about downtime
    Maybe it will work

    ~GONG~
    Cappy

  67. Shenrock Miles says:

    As with 90% of the original LL inventory, these will be pretty useless and simply add to the glorious database load. I think LL needs to give users an option to add or not add the LL basic inventory to their own (oh, yay, a new feature!).

    I also think it is rather sad that the ONE time I see any sort of Linden response in the last 2 weeks it is merely to point out that Teens were invited and DID participate. There have been plenty of legitimate complaints – many of which appear to have gone thru proper channels prior to speaking here – and all have been ignored (altho, surprisingly, not deleted).

    For those that are still having the CC problems: I know you may own land, among other things, but I simply do not see why you are WORKING so hard to SPEND money. If LL wants your money so bad, make THEM do the work. This ‘not our problem’ line is just not satisfactory, if you want MY money, it IS your problem. The choices you made created this problem, so FIX IT!

    For those with password issues: I would simply call their CS or billing number and simply let them know you will be halting all payments at the credit card until your account is fixed. Then call your credit card and tell them not to process any charges from Linden Labs until further notice. If asked why, simply state it is a dispute over services rendered.

    I stopped putting my 2 cents into the LL pot several months ago and manage to get along just fine. Yeah, having to set my ‘home’ to an info kiosk kinda sucks, but hell, even when I owned land, I rarely spent any time there.

    Take it for what it’s worth… FLAME ON!

  68. Masami Kuramoto says:

    @ Broccoli

    “Maybe there only were a few entries, and that’s why we have two horses?”

    If you were good at making sculpties, would you give them away for a T-shirt? 😉

    “After all, most people don’t have the expensive software, or the technical know-how, to create sculpties that look like… well anything really.”

    Most people don’t have Photoshop to make textures. So what? You can still use GIMP and Blender. Both of them are free and perfectly adequate. They do require skill, but that’s what makes SL a marketplace. You can either make all the stuff yourself or buy it from someone else.

  69. sirhc DeSantis says:

    Oh coming in late – congrats to the winners and nice work. Even I managed to make some simple stuff (champagne anyone?). But off topic – theres nowhere else to go – the password reset and stipend issue. Very annoyed especially as we freeloading alt was not hit. Where is my credit card staement anyway?

  70. sirhc DeSantis says:

    oh and #55 some of us sign up for a year at a time so stopping payment really isn’t an option

  71. Alexa Susanto says:

    Congratulations to anyone who can figure out how to make a sculptie without prior 3d experience.

    I was at a discussion last night where someone put forward the idea that people who would prefer LL to fix the bugs and make the platform stable were luddites and LL should continue to bring out new toys like sculpties and voice.

    I am of the opposing view. Get the platform stable, fix crashes, allow us to again add a texture from edit which seems impossible at the moment unless you know the name of the texture and many many other issues.

    Nice work winners.

  72. Nice work by the artists. Surprised you could accomplish so much given the state of SL these days. Personally, I can’t login without being “Ruthed”, and inventory loading is a joke.

    Bravo, Linden Labs. Bunch of incompetent putzes.

  73. Davina Glitter says:

    I tried to use some 3D editor, can not afford the good ones, Blender is confusing; darn I wanted to win a T-Shirt so bad.

    Will you have them available for purchase please?

  74. Griptape Pro says:

    @ all of you whiners; Seriously? You think the blog is for whining about SL not working as well as you think it should EVERY SINGLE BLOG ENTRY!? Whine in world, whine on the forums, whine ANYWHERE but here. It’s completely off topic, and contributes nothing. LL obviously doesn’t care, especially in blog entries, so go find a more constructive place to whine. It just makes everyone trying to read the blog as miserable as you.

    And LL, PLEASE actually start enforcing this: We value free expression. However, stuff that’s off-topic, abusive, or otherwise busts the rules will be removed without comment.

    As for the contest, I’m really impressed with the texture work, especially on the horse head and taz. Personally I’m just dabbling with blender until I really see benefits as opposed to regular prims that make up for the amount of work. Gives me something to do on update wednesdays. These are great examples of what’s possible with sculpties. Great work everyone.

  75. william Fish says:

    #60

    We will see your responce here too when you are locked out against your will AND doing (another words when LL messes up your account).
    After all your here whinning too…. about us whinning… weird.

  76. Allora Storaro says:

    I am finding it difficult to renew my password as is required. I need assistance with this as soon as possible.

  77. Quiet Sinatra says:

    I echo the sentiments that this shows how primitive my sculptie skill are and how daunting Blender is. So truly impressive work. My only regret is that i guess I had it in my mind that things added to everyone’s library would be of a more generic nature. You know -shapes WE could make something out of. I’m sure some of them could be repurposed with some thinking but this ended up looking more like a sculpture garden then something that would give us some good new shapes to work our magic on.

  78. Cyn Vandeverre says:

    This is very interesting — I’ll go look at them at once! I’ve enjoyed playing with the library sculpies and the free ones available in Caledon Victoria City.

  79. Nomasha Syaka says:

    Dear all we have offended,

    I hope I can speak for all the other contest winners and participants in expressing my sorrow for our participation in such an outrageous waste of resources. I regret ever giving in to a minor and flippant creative impulse in the midst of such troubles.

    I can only bow my head in shame for the turmoil and disruption that these five additions to everyone’s inventory will undoubtedly cause and I will be in sack cloth and prayer for many days in the hope that the Lindens will not withdrawer that scourge of our inventories… the delete button. I will be contacting the rest of the participants forthwith and suggesting, nay pleading, in the strongest terms that we all hold back from logging in to SL for months to come in order to relieve you from the burden or our presence and to enable you all to have a much more satisfactory and enjoyable experience, free from the intrusion of attempts to make something out of something else – which is a process I now understand is very far from the purpose of SL. Please join me in not doing anything… at all, for a long time to come.

  80. Nomasha Syaka says:

    oh – and i’ll be destroying this immediately! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWd9Y65V3CA&NR=1

  81. Daedalus Young says:

    *claps*
    Congratulations everyone! Your sculpties are amazing! 😀

  82. Raban Laborde says:

    Nice… if i’m able to, i’ll look at it after a WORKING LOGIN WITHOUT ANY PASSWORD BINGO… What has happend, Linden? A new Crack and our CC-data is missused by some hackers?

    INFORM YOUR CUSTOMERS BEFORE THEY INFORM YOU ABOUT ANY FRAUDSTERS!

    And, as said above – keep this useless shit out of my inventroy. Even better – as the library keeps only common data, give us the possibility to store it locally and remove it from the online inventory as long as they are unneeded.

  83. Tasrill Sieyes says:

    Well first let me say congrats to winners.

    Now to sl.You seem to not know what the word transparency means. We residents want to know what the hell is going on in second life. People are being locked out at random. There is a ramped fear of witch hunts starting, and it appears the entire grid crashed yesterday. All with no response. Simply give us some information. That is all we ask. Stop leaving us out of the loop.

    Oh and I haven’t put a single dime into sl in months now because of the problems it has been having. I used to pay tier. I used to buy lindens. I don’t any more. I would cancel my premium membership but it is for a year. Everyone else who is mad at how sl is running things I suggest you do the same.

  84. Darth Juniper says:

    Lots of people going on about Taz being a copyright infringement… have you lot got any idea how many thousands of images and logos are being made and used by the residents that are the copyright of RL organisations? How many people making cartoon character avatars have asked Disney etc for permission? How many Star Wars content creators have the explicit blessing of Lucasfilm? Now is not the time to yelp about a sculptie of Taz unless you want the rest of that stuff to be cleaned up as well.

  85. Trilobite Reisman says:

    Yknow what I’d like to see?

    Some total 3d wizard making a SL avatar, with top, bottom and head, that can wear clothing designed for the avatar UVmap.

    Script ’em up, and hey, it’s a vendor mannequin!

    /me shouts: Or you could just make it for us, LL!

  86. Dekka Raymaker says:

    @ 64 Nomasha Syaka

    I really really think this isn’t directed personally to you all the other players who took part in this. I am sure even the players who are complaining here, would in an ideal ‘Second Life’ be congratulating you instead.

    I think you all should be very proud of your achievements and I also think all contestants should have been rewarded with something a little bit more exciting than a t-shirt. 🙂

  87. Argent Stonecutter says:

    @42: HTML is pretty heavy overhead. The feedback I got from Lindens is that they’re probably only going to support *at most* only a few HTML objects per parcel, like they do video streaming. My suggested alternative was for a simpler, cheaper text on a prim mechanism… even one string per face or texture would be an enormous improvement.

    @68: You mean “there are many other copyright infringements on the grid”? Sure, and when Linden Labs gets notified of them by the copyright owners they take them down. This one’s *endorsed* by LL. That’s a BIG difference.

  88. Argent Stonecutter says:

    PS: I suggest everyone change their password again as a matter of course, just in case there’s more than simply paranoia behind this recent “password verification” flap.

  89. Uccello Poultry says:

    Many congratulations to the winners. Like with regular prims, texturing is very important. Zazu’s and DonPain’s Horse Head demonstrates that beautifully.

    Whiners, please stop raining on the parade. No company can focus on ONE thing at a time. If that were the case even Microsoft would never innovate. They’d be busy patching all thier bugs. Celebrate the accomplishments of others once in a while. It feels good. This post from the Lindens was meant to do that.

    Thanks to LL for sculpties. I don’t see myself using them as they go “out of focus” and become blobs depending on how the camera is set, but I’m sure that will improve.

  90. Argent Stonecutter says:

    PPS: If you want some useful sculpies… the sculpy ears (suitable for elves, werewolves, catgirls, and furries) I made are now available in Yadni’s Junkyard (or will be when the grid comes back up).

  91. Joonie Jatho says:

    omg peeps…LL does something a little bit creative and all you can do is bitch. crikey. There are only 5 things…just delete them if you don’t want them. They are very cool, btw!

    And no, I don’t work for LL and I did sign the petition. It sems bitching and moaning and complaining about LL is all thje rage now. Just remember, if it weren’t for LL, you wouldn’t have any of this to enjoy. Yes, I know, someone else would have done it…but someone else didn’t do it!

    Thanks…off my soapbox now.

  92. Argent Stonecutter says:

    @73: “If that were the case even Microsoft would never innovate.”

    Microsoft innovates? I would *much* rather Microsoft did some serious bug clearance than release even one more “innovation”. Ye gods, could you have possibly picked a worse example?

    Sculpies *are* useful, for small, mostly concave organic shapes. I thought I’d be able to make much better wings and body for my jet glider, but the jpeg compression artifacts ruin the lines. Apart from the previously mentioned ears, I’ve made some really nifty rocks and plush pillows. I’m *amazed* at the competition winners…

  93. william Fish says:

    since LL wont post it i’ll post it.. cause im sure there’s still people out there like me that can’t even get to the “reset password” page as it redircts you to a support page that stats “we are sorry we can not proccess your request” and the phone number is so busy waiting 30 mins for a voice recording to state “no reps available” and hangs up on you.. so here’s what REALLY happened to the passwords…… and no it wasnt as stated on the login page when you first discovered your password was bad

    “Robin Linden: some passwords were reset because of a glitch in the support system”

  94. Max Kleiber says:

    Sculped prims are interesting curiosities, but i really don’t see any practical use for them.
    At least, not until there are in-world editing tools for them.

    As for adding the winning entries to my inventory library… why? I have very limited use for what’s there now and would really enjoy the ability to delete some of those items to reduce my inventory size.

  95. kath McGill says:

    I had only been on half an hour before I broke the first sculpted prim *note lindens “SCULPTIE* is a form of modeling clay that is baked in the oven

    yes broke, its easy, fun, and free, and no program to download. you pop ANY texture where the sculpted texture is, and it breaks…
    really. Why would any one want to break it? well, given the RIGHT texture (one that has a balance of colors) in it, it becomes Single Prim 3 D Crystals that are very cool. Drop in a smooth animation and the crystals sparkle. Note, you can add light to them and they glow. One of the sculpted Crystals that a friend gave me had a script in it that made it change shapes every so often.

    Btw, Please don’t add things to my invetory ether. Not a clue where I would put things anyway.
    thanks,
    Kath

  96. Christiana Sands says:

    Well, I like sculpties. They are nice and funny.
    But: I want only a functional and working SL.
    How many manhours are wasted for this sculptie-project and not for important things like bugfixing?

    Fix the bugs and I have time to look at sculptie-art.

  97. Locke Cardway says:

    So far people have denigrated the work of the participants as useless eye candy, inventory clutter, an unnecessary load on resources, held up as an example of copyright infringement and used as a flashpoint to voice all gripes about Linden Labs operations.

    I thought this blog entry and this contest is about celebrating the accomplishments and creativity of your fellow Second Life citizens— NOT just the winners but ALL who participated— and who without a doubt, worked hard to create their entries.

    The participants in this contest have no direct hand in the day-to-day operations and decision making of Linden Labs. All we did was build build stuff.

    But I can’t help but feel like we’ve done something wrong by participating in this contest and I, the villain, for being fortunate enough to win a spot.

  98. Blackwell Huet says:

    LL, enjoy your mountain of cash. Please consider investing some of it in database security.

  99. Chipps says:

    well I think it is kinda cool to have the sculpties and they will undoubtedly get better offer time, but I have to say I have been a 3d modeler for 20 years using Maya mostly these days and I found it taxing, so lets hope it gets easier for people with not a lot of experience, with regard to adding them to my inventory, how dumb? why not juts make them available for those that want them?
    its just more overhead and crap for most people that will never use them.

    with regard to the issues of SL and there continuing abuse of users and failure to respond to problems will just add more nails to the coffin of SL, another rival will come along and then they will have to pull socks up or die, I have to admit though I kind get the impression that they would be happy if the number of users were half what they are now, it’s almost like they are culling the users to ease the strain on the old steam driven servers.

  100. Chipps says:

    griptape, most of your post is off topic so I suggest you abide by your own idealism and just post the last paragraph of your post, words like kettle and pot black spring to mind!

  101. Nad Gough says:

    @60
    Grip,my friend. Instead of whining about off topic posts and telling people they should find more constructive places to express [legitimate] [my word] concerns, perhaps you could suggest such a place so that we can go there. The problem [as I see it] is the places one might think of as legitimate places either no longer exist or are not responsive [dead]. When my password was made invalid I had no where to turn for help. Where will you go, should this happen to you? Any insight you can provide would be most uh… insightful.

  102. jdtrue writer says:

    @ Shai Khalifa

    About your texture problem when the box that should show your inventory shows up place your curser in the search box and hit enter twice. If you are having the same problem I am that is my work around….

    I did not get any replies to my bug reports either but it may only be a few having the problem.

  103. Aeper Jie says:

    well yea we did come in but after u guys changed your rules on it. at first it said 18 years or older.

  104. Griptape Pro says:

    Sup Nad? Hope to catch you at the Hummingbird tomorrow. It’s not that I don’t understand the frustration, and the lack of a place to vent it.

    But I do get equally frustrated that EVERY blog entry turns into “who cares about this when my -insert currently trendy thing to bitch about that has nothing to do with the posted topic- is broken”.

    I just feel that (Second)Life is too short for complaining that is obviously being ignored and not going to change anything. I think the negativity could be turned down a few notches. I think the sculpties are neat, that this is a really nice showcase of what can be done, and I don’t think they’ve caused the current issues LL has.

  105. Kenny Devoix says:

    @64 Don’t let them get you down you people done a great job with your creations. Seems that some have to find fault and nitpick everything to death. Makes a person wonder if they are that unhappy and miserable in RL also.

    (sarcasm follows):Contrary to popular belief the Lindens do read the blog and have selected those that complain on the blog to often and have fubared their passwords as punishment. (again points out sarcasm intended)

  106. Zimmy Ginsberg says:

    @ 7 Shai Khalifa – re the textures in Edit window bug (another new bug introduced with yet another relentless update) there are several work arounds. Either type a letter in the search field at the top then back space, or put a texture in the root level of your inv, and it works again. Of course, it doesn’t jump to the current texture like it used to (that was broken a couple of updates ago, still awaiting a fix), but that’s SL: kewl and useless new stuff, while old and useful stuff gets broken and goes backwards….

    @ 73: Microsoft don’t innovate, they copy (mostly from Apple) or steal (witness the number of patent infringement cases they lost), or mess with open standard stuff like Java (until Sun took them to court and stopped them).

    @ 83: No sarcasm needed. A friend of mine used to criticise here, but she can no longer post. No messages, nothing, the blog just loses her comments after she’s typed them in…

    It would be nice to visit the places shown above, but for me the slurl site is now broken. Boots SL okay, but no longer sends me there. Still I can copy and paste it in chat inworld then it works. Another step backwards….

  107. Kira Zobel says:

    Grats to the winners 🙂
    What makes me mad, at the time those pics were taken, somebody’s junk was NOT removed from my entry! I hope they took that into account that somebody just plopped some stuff on my entry, and I hope it didn’t take away from the judging.

  108. Eveneye says:

    Now all we need are shaders and sl will actually look half decent…
    and softbodies too, and like, sub-surface scattering, maybe hdr lighting, whenever you get a chance.

  109. CAPTAIN NORALUNGA says:

    talking off-topic………now after a maintenance day…yet again we have prolific crashing, search not working and tp’s failing……so who gives a hoot about the damned sculpties…….. as always…no-one at LL listens to the constant requests to get a stable platform before putting new stuff in all the time……..just carry on ignoring everyone , regardless……way to go ……..

  110. Avatar Federal says:

    Tegg B Says:

    June 5th, 2007 at 11:42 PM PDT
    Aeper Jie Says:
    But why wasent Tg allowed to be in the contest in the first place? i think LL only has the TG for money and to keep us off the mg and from them being sued. So yea LL doesent care about Tg at all unless we are about to go into a Grid Death War *again* but i cant wait for the skulls one

    So you still planning to start a war? You could be in RL politics one day with that Declare war, info later technique.
    ——————————

    I’m sorry but you have’nt seen the teen grid, or if you have you’ve gotten a tiny glimpse.

    We’ve got a huge almost WWII huge war going on in that grid.

    You can all thank New Rome and Black Talon for that.

    But seriosuly the Teen Grid is in the middle of a Huge Death War.

  111. Pingback: Bubble Trouble « Torley Lives

  112. Bleu Drake says:

    I’ve added a feature request for the ability to filter out the default Library from your inventory. Please vote for it if you want this feature implemented. https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/VWR-1107

  113. Emanuel Schiltsky says:

    You kan oll

  114. Lozlo Peng says:

    Usagi Musashi Says:

    June 7th, 2007 at 3:19 AM PDT
    Lozlo Peng well i never said i was a native english person did I? NO! now go back to the hole in the ground and bury your sorry little life ok little boy :/ You don`t understand do different languague do you? So please save you trolling yahoo chat remarks…..

    98 Usagi Musashi Says:

    June 7th, 2007 at 3:20 AM PDT
    Lozlo Peng I assume you don`t have a life do you? look at you? and your a adult? You post like a child?

    99 Usagi Musashi Says:

    June 7th, 2007 at 3:21 AM PDT
    this thread has out lived it usefulness

    100 Usagi Musashi Says:

    June 7th, 2007 at 3:22 AM PDT
    closed!

    101 Usagi Musashi Says:

    June 7th, 2007 at 3:22 AM PDT
    THE END!

    ____________

    Erm, I am female. I understand you perfectly, but there are times I have to read over what you say to understand the point you’re getting at. If you, yourself, had a life, you wouldn’t be getting so worked up over someone replying late to one of your posts 🙂 I am here at college, upgrading my RL life, waiting for an exam in a few hours, whilst laughing at your sorry-ass.
    I don’t care what your background is, who says I am a totally english person?

  115. Lozlo Peng says:

    Usagi you can expect a reply on the newest blog entry too, don’t get heart broken over it =)

  116. Jack Hathor says:

    ORIGINALLY POSTED UNDER THE RIGHT TOPIC, BUT WHILE TYPING IT USAGI TOOK ALL(!!) AVAILABLE SLOTS!!!!!!

    I like to add 3 things;

    1,
    I cant understand you mess up and then you go home, leaving it to “more qualified people” to clean it up later, meanwhile the basics not functioning. Based on priorities one would think that problems with chat, money, inventory, teleporting, IMs, and building are reason for the LindenLabs to remain on the site 24/7, at least till the level where it doesnt do damage no more. In the worst case you put a sign up reading OUT OF ORDER, not that we like it, but at least its clear.

    And really, was this something totally unexpected ? Reading the posts tells me;
    ” were going to update”
    ” were not going to update”
    ” were gonna do maintenance, but no server and/or client update”
    ” were done with maintenance and we wanna do a little more”
    Doesnt look really stable to me, worrying more over the vague descriptions given along with it, if you cant tell me what youre about to do in simple words, then im doubting if you can tell yourself.

    What i see is that with your urge to push out an ” update” weekly, youre putting some important systems under stress:

    Customers, for they cant use the grid as its meant to be, not to mention business dropping badly over your update efforts, resulting in a flood of supportcalls, blog-ll-bashing and unhappy people, showing less and less patience;

    Support, for they must be getting flooded and tired over hearing and fixing the same old problems every week and getting yelled at over it on top, resulting in unmotivated, burned out co-workers, subsystems running on overload or not running at all (pabx, ticketing system, jira ..);

    Development, for not getting the job done, or at least not the job the customers expects/believes them to do, not getting the reward they deserve over the things actually done, as they get covered in the ever repeating problems, they get, indirectly yelled at and openly people wonder about their abilities;

    3rd-parties, for you continiously put the blame on others when things go wrong;

    Q&A, *laughs hysterically*, must be hell working there, as theyre on a tight weekly schedule too and theyre seriously expected to tackle all the trash out of the code, preferably up front;

    Its my opinion that youre simply driving this in a too high pace that many cant follow. Where in other environments the userbase cries out for more content, here were crying out for less content, and more stability first, bring us an overall plan to bring (back?) stability and performance, define the simple essentials, and make them work according to a plan and take your time to do so. Youre lucky enough to have very accepting and forgiving users.
    ————————————————
    2. funny email
    I received a funny email from LindenLabs@parature.com on the topic that i need to reset my password. For all i know i could be rootkitted or otherwise keylogged and someone wants me to go type my password.
    —————————————–
    3. Website changed looks
    In relation to 2, the looks of the secondlife website changed. Blog is no longer available on the left side, no biggie, or I either missed the announcement of it, or you didnt bother to announce it.

    Regards,
    Jack Hathor

  117. Usagi Musashi says:

    Lozlo Peng You indeed are the a brain and the rest of us poor people are trash!……….How stupid can you be? You hate me this much to cute and past a 3 day old blog remark and then flame me again in this blog remark? Why?

  118. Lozlo Peng says:

    Avatar, why is it in the middle of a huge death war? What is a second life death war? Sejr interessant 😮

  119. Lozlo Peng says:

    I did not “flame” you, I posted what I tried to post until you spammed the last 5 blog comments, which is selfish, since other people were trying to post too 🙂
    I hate you? I do not know, therefore I do not hate you at all. All I did was explain what fiddle-faddle meant, and if you did not know what it meant do not say “it is not”.
    Calm yourself, “little boy”.

    I am female, stop making judgments over people 😮

  120. Usagi Musashi says:

    Someone really needs a break from sl……I don`t know you and since i don`t post with any other name then mine, and you indeed are hidding i never know. frankly i don`t care. If you need to troll me and try to be a ass so be it. But your just wasting your time and others that need this blog space.

  121. Lozlo Peng says:

    You need to learn when to shut up, Usagi. Also stop going on about whether someone has a life or not and recommending them a break from second life. I’m chilled, but you, you’ve taken someone who corrected you, who explained what a word meant as falming and offensive. “How stupid can you be?”

  122. Usagi Musashi says:

    When you hate someone you flame them in every location they post? I have a child and i deal with everyday. What surprizes me is how much time people liek yourself have to attack others and try to get a raise out of them. Is it worth it? Or is it that you just have no repect for others…..

  123. Usagi Musashi says:

    Where are the mods for the forums or the blogs these days?86 Lozlo Peng you are indeed a sad little boy.

  124. Lozlo Peng says:

    Oh and mr/miss HYPOCRITE, once again.

    Don’t give me that crap about people needing “blog space” when you just spammeda load of the newest blog entry’s posts.

  125. Usagi Musashi says:

    Sorry little boy look at yourself…..

  126. Usagi Musashi says:

    anotehr blog closed because of Lozlo Peng

  127. Lozlo Peng says:

    96 – I agree, where are they?
    Still calling people names, Usagi? Uncalled for.

    Once again, I am a female.

    There are two types of genders in this world.

    FEMALE AND MALE

    I am FEMALE/GIRL/LADY/WOMAN =)
    Noone is judging your gender, stop being an ass.

    Goodbye!

Comments are closed.